[Mod] Reworked signs from xyz [signs]

User avatar
PilzAdam
Member
Posts: 4026
Joined: Fri Jul 20, 2012 16:19
GitHub: PilzAdam
IRC: PilzAdam
Location: Germany

[Mod] Reworked signs from xyz [signs]

by PilzAdam » Post

Hello everyone!
I have reworked the signs mod from xyz (http://minetest.net/forum/viewtopic.php?id=2736).

Changelog:
  • A new input system; There is only one line and it is split up into lines automatically; you can force a newline with " | "
  • Remove the shadows under the sign
  • It overrides the default signs so you dont have 2 different signs in the creative inventory
GitHub:
https://github.com/PilzAdam/signs

Download:
https://github.com/PilzAdam/signs/zipball/master

License:
Same as in the mod from xyz; my changes are also WTFPL

Dependencies:
None.

Screenshot:
Image
Last edited by PilzAdam on Sun Jan 27, 2013 15:01, edited 1 time in total.

BZab

by BZab » Post

Nice, i need to check it

User avatar
cHyper
Member
Posts: 842
Joined: Fri May 06, 2011 08:49
GitHub: cHyper-0815OL
IRC: cHyper
In-game: cHyper cHyper_0815
Location: Austria
Contact:

by cHyper » Post

nice work... it should be added with the next mt-version... awesome...

User avatar
jordan4ibanez
Member
Posts: 1895
Joined: Tue Sep 27, 2011 18:44
GitHub: jordan4ibanez
IRC: jordan4ibanez
In-game: jordan4ibanez
Location: Rhode Island, USA

by jordan4ibanez » Post

I think i might just use this!
I've been gone for a long time

User avatar
cornernote
Member
Posts: 844
Joined: Wed Jul 11, 2012 15:02

by cornernote » Post

If you do clear objects, do you lose the sign text?

User avatar
PilzAdam
Member
Posts: 4026
Joined: Fri Jul 20, 2012 16:19
GitHub: PilzAdam
IRC: PilzAdam
Location: Germany

by PilzAdam » Post

cornernote wrote:If you do clear objects, do you lose the sign text?
Yes. But rightclick the sign and hit enter will create a new object (this is also a fix i have done).

User avatar
cornernote
Member
Posts: 844
Joined: Wed Jul 11, 2012 15:02

by cornernote » Post

can you make it restore the letters when i punch it?

User avatar
PilzAdam
Member
Posts: 4026
Joined: Fri Jul 20, 2012 16:19
GitHub: PilzAdam
IRC: PilzAdam
Location: Germany

by PilzAdam » Post

cornernote wrote:can you make it restore the letters when i punch it?
Done: https://github.com/PilzAdam/signs/commi ... fab1fdaf9e

User avatar
Rickmor
Member
Posts: 26
Joined: Tue Jun 19, 2012 16:10

by Rickmor » Post

this is AWESOME

User avatar
cornernote
Member
Posts: 844
Joined: Wed Jul 11, 2012 15:02

by cornernote » Post

PilzAdam wrote:
cornernote wrote:can you make it restore the letters when i punch it?
Done: https://github.com/PilzAdam/signs/commi ... fab1fdaf9e
+1000

i tried to do it when signs was 1st around, but gave up. thanks PilzAdam

mauvebic
Member
Posts: 1550
Joined: Fri Jan 27, 2012 11:32

by mauvebic » Post

Can you extend this into a standalone text printing api? (or a seperate mod entirely?). Sans the sign (the node itself is irrelevant to me, i just want to print text dynamically with different items, resolutions and axis, ). Could also be handy for mods like mailboxes and such :-)
Last edited by mauvebic on Thu Oct 11, 2012 15:14, edited 1 time in total.

Guest2

by Guest2 » Post

I love this mod :D
Image

User avatar
VanessaE
Moderator
Posts: 4529
Joined: Sun Apr 01, 2012 12:38
GitHub: VanessaE
IRC: VanessaE
In-game: VanessaE
Location: Western NC
Contact:

by VanessaE » Post

PilzAdam: There is a new version of the font work we were doing on IRC. This one fixes some missing characters from my previous copy, and also fixes the messed up sizes and alignment of some characters. All eight font sets have been reworked accordingly.

http://digitalaudioconcepts.com/vanessa ... 1010-3.zip

(note the -3 in the filename)
You might like some of my stuff: Plantlife ~ More Trees ~ Home Decor ~ Pipeworks ~ HDX Textures (64-512px)

User avatar
prof-turbo
Member
Posts: 518
Joined: Mon May 07, 2012 17:02
Location: MinetestForFun or Teeworlds master server list

by prof-turbo » Post

+ 3 for this mod ;). I love it!
You should take a look at http://www.xorhub.com

User avatar
Inocudom
Member
Posts: 3096
Joined: Sat Sep 29, 2012 01:14
IRC: Inocudom
In-game: Inocudom

by Inocudom » Post

Are there any plans to update this mod for the present builds of minetest? This mod has a few issues with the text messages on the signs. Sometimes, objects and even other messages get stuck to them. Other times, the messages will not show up. If it helps, Zegatron's Server uses this mod, not the one this is based on.

Is it possible to make a larger version of this sign so that there is more room for text? Can there be locked versions of this sign?
You can now find my videos at BitChute: https://www.bitchute.com/channel/some_cheeky_jinuskian/

User avatar
PilzAdam
Member
Posts: 4026
Joined: Fri Jul 20, 2012 16:19
GitHub: PilzAdam
IRC: PilzAdam
Location: Germany

by PilzAdam » Post

Inocudom wrote:Are there any plans to update this mod for the present builds of minetest? This mod has a few issues with the text messages on the signs. Sometimes, objects and even other messages get stuck to them. Other times, the messages will not show up. If it helps, Zegatron's Server uses this mod, not the one this is based on.
This is an bug in the object attachment code in the engine. It is already (hopefully) fixed in the latest dev-version of Minetest.
Inocudom wrote:Is it possible to make a larger version of this sign so that there is more room for text? Can there be locked versions of this sign?
Smaller text isnt that good because it makes it unreadable on long distances.
And I am not a friend of locked signs, furnaces etc.

User avatar
Inocudom
Member
Posts: 3096
Joined: Sat Sep 29, 2012 01:14
IRC: Inocudom
In-game: Inocudom

by Inocudom » Post

I wasn't referring to changing the size of the text, but to making an additional type of sign that has double the width and double the length (thus room for more letters.) The sign would have to be made up of more than one block, just like your beds.
You can now find my videos at BitChute: https://www.bitchute.com/channel/some_cheeky_jinuskian/

User avatar
jojoa1997
Member
Posts: 2890
Joined: Thu Dec 13, 2012 05:11
Location: Earth

by jojoa1997 » Post

Inocudom wrote:I wasn't referring to changing the size of the text, but to making an additional type of sign that has double the width and double the length (thus room for more letters.) The sign would have to be made up of more than one block, just like your beds.
So instead of four signs on a wall you would have a 4*4 sign on the wall
Coding;
1X coding
3X debugging
12X tweaking to be just right

User avatar
Inocudom
Member
Posts: 3096
Joined: Sat Sep 29, 2012 01:14
IRC: Inocudom
In-game: Inocudom

by Inocudom » Post

jojoa1997 wrote:
Inocudom wrote:I wasn't referring to changing the size of the text, but to making an additional type of sign that has double the width and double the length (thus room for more letters.) The sign would have to be made up of more than one block, just like your beds.
So instead of four signs on a wall you would have a 4*4 sign on the wall
I was thinking of more of a 2x2 sign. I don't know if it is possible for PilzAdam to make a 4x4 sign (nor how one could be placed accurately.)
You can now find my videos at BitChute: https://www.bitchute.com/channel/some_cheeky_jinuskian/

User avatar
jojoa1997
Member
Posts: 2890
Joined: Thu Dec 13, 2012 05:11
Location: Earth

by jojoa1997 » Post

Inocudom wrote:
jojoa1997 wrote:
Inocudom wrote:I wasn't referring to changing the size of the text, but to making an additional type of sign that has double the width and double the length (thus room for more letters.) The sign would have to be made up of more than one block, just like your beds.
So instead of four signs on a wall you would have a 4*4 sign on the wall
I was thinking of more of a 2x2 sign. I don't know if it is possible for PilzAdam to make a 4x4 sign (nor how one could be placed accurately.)
yeah a 2*2 i was thinking of 4 square blocks
Coding;
1X coding
3X debugging
12X tweaking to be just right

User avatar
luk3yx
Member
Posts: 66
Joined: Sun Oct 21, 2012 18:14
GitHub: luk3yx
IRC: luk3yx
In-game: luk3yx
Location: Earth
Contact:

by luk3yx » Post

I like the idea of this mod, and in my opinion, something similar should be added to minetest_game.
Last edited by luk3yx on Tue Dec 27, 2016 04:39, edited 1 time in total.
git_undo() { [ -e .git ] || return 1; local r=$(git remote get-url origin); cd ..; rm -rf "$OLDPWD"; git clone "$r" "$OLDPWD"; cd "$OLDPWD"; }

User avatar
luk3yx
Member
Posts: 66
Joined: Sun Oct 21, 2012 18:14
GitHub: luk3yx
IRC: luk3yx
In-game: luk3yx
Location: Earth
Contact:

by luk3yx » Post

Does this mod work on Minetest 0.4.4?
Last edited by luk3yx on Tue Dec 27, 2016 04:41, edited 2 times in total.
git_undo() { [ -e .git ] || return 1; local r=$(git remote get-url origin); cd ..; rm -rf "$OLDPWD"; git clone "$r" "$OLDPWD"; cd "$OLDPWD"; }

User avatar
PilzAdam
Member
Posts: 4026
Joined: Fri Jul 20, 2012 16:19
GitHub: PilzAdam
IRC: PilzAdam
Location: Germany

by PilzAdam » Post

luk3yx wrote:um... does it work on 0.4.4
Yea.

User avatar
luk3yx
Member
Posts: 66
Joined: Sun Oct 21, 2012 18:14
GitHub: luk3yx
IRC: luk3yx
In-game: luk3yx
Location: Earth
Contact:

by luk3yx » Post

It didn't work when I tested it.
Last edited by luk3yx on Tue Dec 27, 2016 04:41, edited 1 time in total.
git_undo() { [ -e .git ] || return 1; local r=$(git remote get-url origin); cd ..; rm -rf "$OLDPWD"; git clone "$r" "$OLDPWD"; cd "$OLDPWD"; }

User avatar
luk3yx
Member
Posts: 66
Joined: Sun Oct 21, 2012 18:14
GitHub: luk3yx
IRC: luk3yx
In-game: luk3yx
Location: Earth
Contact:

by luk3yx » Post

It may be just me, maybe a corrupt download, a missing file, or something else on my end. I hope the mod developer fixes this issue.
Last edited by luk3yx on Tue Dec 27, 2016 04:42, edited 1 time in total.
git_undo() { [ -e .git ] || return 1; local r=$(git remote get-url origin); cd ..; rm -rf "$OLDPWD"; git clone "$r" "$OLDPWD"; cd "$OLDPWD"; }

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 8 guests