[Mod] Specialties [3.5] [specialties]

ashenk69
Member
 
Posts: 230
Joined: Tue Jul 03, 2012 00:08

by ashenk69 » Sun Jun 30, 2013 20:07

After fixing the errors and bugs with the code I have run Technic and this mode together and they don't seem to cause any issue now. I did notice that the first time you load with Technic and Specialties superheat may not work. All you have to do is reload the world and it should work properly. The reason is that Specialties writes some code into Technic's item drop mod to handle the superheat drops. Otherwise it would cause 2 different drops to occur. Sometimes this is done after Technic loads so the game won't read the change. The relog allows the game to read the code added.

I also fixed the purchasing of the Feller upgrade and the XP gain from it. Now you will gain 1 XP for each block it digs instead of just 1 overall.
 

ashenk69
Member
 
Posts: 230
Joined: Tue Jul 03, 2012 00:08

by ashenk69 » Mon Jul 01, 2013 23:08

Added HUD display for XP. Works on small and large displays. Also, it is not very intensive because it is only called when XP is changed. I would have liked to use the hud_change function but it was returning wierd results like changing the color of the text even though I input to change "text". I had to end up doing a remove and add sequence to get it to work correctly.
 

keyxmakerx
Member
 
Posts: 104
Joined: Mon Apr 08, 2013 23:53

by keyxmakerx » Tue Jul 02, 2013 01:49

18:18:29: ACTION[ServerThread]: krist punches object 2355: LuaEntitySAO at (-7.1,4.51,-9.9)
18:18:29: ACTION[ServerThread]: LuaEntitySAO at (-7.1,4.51,-9.9) punched by player krist, damage 2 hp, health now 3 hp
18:18:29: ACTION[ServerThread]: krist punches object 2355: LuaEntitySAO at (-7.1,4.51,-9.9)
18:18:29: ACTION[ServerThread]: LuaEntitySAO at (-7.1,4.51,-9.9) punched by player krist, damage 1 hp, health now 2 hp
18:18:30: ACTION[ServerThread]: krist punches object 2355: LuaEntitySAO at (-7.1,4.51,-9.9)
18:18:30: ACTION[ServerThread]: LuaEntitySAO at (-7.1,4.51,-9.9) punched by player krist, damage 1 hp, health now 1 hp
18:18:31: ACTION[ServerThread]: krist punches object 2355: LuaEntitySAO at (-7.1,4.51,-9.9)
18:18:31: ACTION[ServerThread]: LuaEntitySAO at (-7.1,4.51,-9.9) punched by player krist, damage 1 hp, health now 0 hp
18:19:03: ACTION[ServerThread]: Blaster places node flowers:dandelion_yellow at (-4,5,-7)
[PrivilegeAreas] Saving data
18:19:04: ERROR[main]: ServerEnvironment::deactivateFarObjects(): id=2295 m_static_exists=true but static data doesn't actually exist in (2,0,-2)
WARNING: StaticObjectList::remove(): id=2295 not found
18:19:04: ERROR[main]: ServerEnvironment::deactivateFarObjects(): id=2348 m_static_exists=true but static data doesn't actually exist in (-1,0,2)
WARNING: StaticObjectList::remove(): id=2348 not found
18:19:04: ERROR[main]: ServerEnvironment::deactivateFarObjects(): id=2352 m_static_exists=true but static data doesn't actually exist in (-4,-1,-2)
WARNING: StaticObjectList::remove(): id=2352 not found
18:19:04: ERROR[main]: ERROR: An unhandled exception occurred: ServerError: LuaError: error: ...minetest/games/minetest_game/mods/specialties/xp.lua:33: attempt to perform arithmetic on local 'current' (a nil value)
18:19:04: ERROR[main]: stack traceback:

In thread 7ff548694740:
/build/buildd/minetestc55-201306300858/src/main.cpp:2179: int main(int, char**): Assertion '0' failed.
Debug stacks:
DEBUG STACK FOR THREAD 7ff548694740:
#0 int main(int, char**)
(Leftover data: #1 Dedicated server branch)
(Leftover data: #2 virtual void ServerMap::save(ModifiedState))
(Leftover data: #3 virtual void ServerMap::saveBlock(MapBlock*))
(Leftover data: #4 void ItemStack::serialize(std::ostream&) const)
Aborted
joshua@joshua-p6774y:~$


I don't know what had happened, and this is the first time it has messed up, just thought you would want to see this.
 

ashenk69
Member
 
Posts: 230
Joined: Tue Jul 03, 2012 00:08

by ashenk69 » Tue Jul 02, 2013 02:06

I never had that error occur before but I committed a check that should disallow that to occur from now on.

Thanks for reporting errors, it is really helpful.
 

keyxmakerx
Member
 
Posts: 104
Joined: Mon Apr 08, 2013 23:53

by keyxmakerx » Tue Jul 02, 2013 02:18

ashenk69 wrote:I never had that error occur before but I committed a check that should disallow that to occur from now on.

Thanks for reporting errors, it is really helpful.


Hey I should be thanking you for making such an awesome mod! ^^
 

tinoesroho
Member
 
Posts: 570
Joined: Fri Feb 17, 2012 21:55
Location: Canada

by tinoesroho » Tue Jul 02, 2013 03:10

Hi ashen!

Love the mod to death. Honest, I do. 0.4.7 broke it somehow, and since I didn't have net access, I simply replaced the farming mod with 0.4.5's (!). Works fine, now. I rely on inventory_plus, so I'll probably just wind up forking off. Optional compatibility is nice, but if a person doesn't have inventory_plus, it's just wasted text.

Not that it's an issue with modern hardware.

Anyways. Love the update. Props, dude.
We are what we create.

I tinker and occasionally make (lousy) mods. Currently building an MMO subgame and updating mods. Pirate Party of Canada member. Sporadic author. 21 years old.

My github:
https://github.com/tinoesroho/
 

ashenk69
Member
 
Posts: 230
Joined: Tue Jul 03, 2012 00:08

by ashenk69 » Tue Jul 02, 2013 14:53

Added compatibility with Inventory Plus
 

tinoesroho
Member
 
Posts: 570
Joined: Fri Feb 17, 2012 21:55
Location: Canada

by tinoesroho » Tue Jul 02, 2013 20:46

Thanks!
We are what we create.

I tinker and occasionally make (lousy) mods. Currently building an MMO subgame and updating mods. Pirate Party of Canada member. Sporadic author. 21 years old.

My github:
https://github.com/tinoesroho/
 

keyxmakerx
Member
 
Posts: 104
Joined: Mon Apr 08, 2013 23:53

by keyxmakerx » Tue Jul 02, 2013 21:54

I don't want to rush you, just curious if there was a time frame for the new abilities you was planning on adding?
 

ashenk69
Member
 
Posts: 230
Joined: Tue Jul 03, 2012 00:08

by ashenk69 » Wed Jul 03, 2013 02:06

keyxmakerx wrote:I don't want to rush you, just curious if there was a time frame for the new abilities you was planning on adding?

That is kind of something that I have there to say that more skills will and can be added. Some things I have planned for more skill is double drop, 3x3 digging size, golden hand. The golden hand will be a builder skill which will allow you to define the size of area you want to build, the node to fill the area, and where you want to place it from.
 

keyxmakerx
Member
 
Posts: 104
Joined: Mon Apr 08, 2013 23:53

by keyxmakerx » Wed Jul 03, 2013 03:32

That would be really awesome! I wish they would add this to the main gameplay. It would seem to be a much better gameplay functionality. Also 2 things just ideas I'm just curious

1. Could u make something like iron to steel a few hundred points compared to mess to even better much higher like a thousand?

2 could you add other mods like gems which is what I use on mine test server.us.to. so it will go from mess to emerald?
 

ashenk69
Member
 
Posts: 230
Joined: Tue Jul 03, 2012 00:08

by ashenk69 » Wed Jul 03, 2013 13:48

keyxmakerx wrote:That would be really awesome! I wish they would add this to the main gameplay. It would seem to be a much better gameplay functionality. Also 2 things just ideas I'm just curious

1. Could u make something like iron to steel a few hundred points compared to mess to even better much higher like a thousand?

2 could you add other mods like gems which is what I use on mine test server.us.to. so it will go from mess to emerald?

1. Are you asking if I could change the upgrade amount to steel a couple of hundred and the amount to mese about a thousand?

2. It's really easy to add new mod items to the system. I would have to check on emerald tools and if they are better than mese.
 

tinoesroho
Member
 
Posts: 570
Joined: Fri Feb 17, 2012 21:55
Location: Canada

by tinoesroho » Wed Jul 03, 2013 17:40

keyxmakerx wrote:That would be really awesome! I wish they would add this to the main gameplay. It would seem to be a much better gameplay functionality. Also 2 things just ideas I'm just curious

1. Could u make something like iron to steel a few hundred points compared to mess to even better much higher like a thousand?

2 could you add other mods like gems which is what I use on mine test server.us.to. so it will go from mess to emerald?


Open up the code in WordPad. It's simple to add features- but not fun to make large changes for a small segment of- oh, how hypocritical of me. Anyways, like I was saying. Easy to add in yourself, but making changes that could affect a large amount of people isn't fun.

Whatever. I'll see what I can do.

Anyways, take a look at the code. Adding support for other mods is really, really simple.
We are what we create.

I tinker and occasionally make (lousy) mods. Currently building an MMO subgame and updating mods. Pirate Party of Canada member. Sporadic author. 21 years old.

My github:
https://github.com/tinoesroho/
 

ashenk69
Member
 
Posts: 230
Joined: Tue Jul 03, 2012 00:08

by ashenk69 » Fri Jul 05, 2013 01:53

Miscellaneous code fixes and cleanup
Added condenser node

Condenser:
  • Designed like the Equivalent Exchange energy condenser. This converts one type of node or item into another. Currently the condenser is flawless meaning there is no energy loss but I will add in a small random loss every time a conversion occurs so it doesn't feel too OP. Also, not all items and nodes work in the system. Don't worry that won't crash your game. I'm working on the conversion amounts for each node and item.

With the condenser I also want to make a way for players to gain experience from the energy the condenser stores. I'll work on that a little bit later though.
The Builder has actually been downgraded to nothing right now, but I am going to add a fly and fast skill purchase which'll make it easier for building.
 

ashenk69
Member
 
Posts: 230
Joined: Tue Jul 03, 2012 00:08

by ashenk69 » Fri Jul 05, 2013 18:34

Added fly and fast builder skill. They are just the fly and fast privelege from the default game.
 

keyxmakerx
Member
 
Posts: 104
Joined: Mon Apr 08, 2013 23:53

by keyxmakerx » Sat Jul 06, 2013 00:27

ashenk69 wrote:
keyxmakerx wrote:That would be really awesome! I wish they would add this to the main gameplay. It would seem to be a much better gameplay functionality. Also 2 things just ideas I'm just curious

1. Could u make something like iron to steel a few hundred points compared to mess to even better much higher like a thousand?

2 could you add other mods like gems which is what I use on mine test server.us.to. so it will go from mess to emerald?

1. Are you asking if I could change the upgrade amount to steel a couple of hundred and the amount to mese about a thousand?

2. It's really easy to add new mod items to the system. I would have to check on emerald tools and if they are better than mese.


I mean up the requirements based on upgrades of items per individual items. Because bronze to mese is a HUGE step and should take more then just 500 xp to upgrade. At least in my thoughts, correct me if im wrong. ^^
 

ashenk69
Member
 
Posts: 230
Joined: Tue Jul 03, 2012 00:08

by ashenk69 » Sat Jul 06, 2013 00:40

I can make the upgrade amount per item to work but since there isn't a way to read if an item is put or taken from an inventory when it is just a formpsec shown to a player. I'll need to add a refresh button which'll recalculate the formspec to show proper XP costs. The other way is to just increase the amount it costs overall which'll in turn make it more useful for higher level tools. Since you won't want to upgrade from stone to steel for a lot.
 

keyxmakerx
Member
 
Posts: 104
Joined: Mon Apr 08, 2013 23:53

by keyxmakerx » Sat Jul 06, 2013 00:58

ashenk69 wrote:I can make the upgrade amount per item to work but since there isn't a way to read if an item is put or taken from an inventory when it is just a formpsec shown to a player. I'll need to add a refresh button which'll recalculate the formspec to show proper XP costs. The other way is to just increase the amount it costs overall which'll in turn make it more useful for higher level tools. Since you won't want to upgrade from stone to steel for a lot.


True, that does sound like a good idea. Which ever is easiest for you!
 

linkukun
New member
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Mon Jun 24, 2013 19:48

by linkukun » Fri Jul 19, 2013 20:57

I'm having a small problem. When I try to start a world with specialties enabled it stops right after "connecting" saying there's an error and something about a nil value.
 

ashenk69
Member
 
Posts: 230
Joined: Tue Jul 03, 2012 00:08

by ashenk69 » Fri Jul 19, 2013 23:26

linkukun wrote:I'm having a small problem. When I try to start a world with specialties enabled it stops right after "connecting" saying there's an error and something about a nil value.

Can you post the error from the console?
 

linkukun
New member
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Mon Jun 24, 2013 19:48

by linkukun » Sat Jul 20, 2013 02:30

ashenk69 wrote:
linkukun wrote:I'm having a small problem. When I try to start a world with specialties enabled it stops right after "connecting" saying there's an error and something about a nil value.

Can you post the error from the console?

ServerError: LuaError: error: ...st-04.7\minetest-0.4.7\bin\..\mods\specialties\init.lua:65: attempt to index a nil value
 

ashenk69
Member
 
Posts: 230
Joined: Tue Jul 03, 2012 00:08

by ashenk69 » Sat Jul 20, 2013 03:24

I committed a fix that should stop that issue.
 

derpswa99
Member
 
Posts: 78
Joined: Sun Mar 24, 2013 21:26

by derpswa99 » Sun Aug 11, 2013 18:15

When ever I hoe land using this mod it breaks the default farming mod and doesnt let me farm. Unless I get rid of all my Minetest Stuff. Is there anyway to fix this?
 

User avatar
Ikishida
Member
 
Posts: 107
Joined: Sat Aug 17, 2013 08:02
Location: (secret)

by Ikishida » Sat Aug 17, 2013 11:39

failed to load and run C:\Minetest\bin\..\mods\specialties-master\init.lua
Check debug.txt for details

how can i make the mod work?
When life hands you lemons,throw it back at life saying "I don't need your goddamn lemons!" =D
 

User avatar
Mossmanikin
Member
 
Posts: 599
Joined: Sun May 19, 2013 16:26
Location: where we don't speak english.

by Mossmanikin » Sat Aug 17, 2013 11:46

Maybe you'll just have to rename the mod folder to "specialties".

Noob 4 life!
My stuff
 

PreviousNext

Return to Mod Releases



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: MSN [Bot], universales and 4 guests