[Mod] Specialties [3.5] [specialties]

User avatar
durtective6
Member
Posts: 186
Joined: Sun Aug 12, 2012 14:19
In-game: derplez or BlockFrog
Location: a shed in the desert

by durtective6 » Post

how do u use the condenser ive tried lots of ways, such as putting a wanted item in top right and items to convert with in bottom but cant get it to work

(using technic and its dependencies)
I'm still here, last time I checked at least.

ashenk69
Member
Posts: 230
Joined: Tue Jul 03, 2012 00:08

by ashenk69 » Post

durtective6 wrote:how do u use the condenser ive tried lots of ways, such as putting a wanted item in top right and items to convert with in bottom but cant get it to work

(using technic and its dependencies)
The condenser can only convert items it knows about. Open the file "tables.lua". At the bottom, it contains all the nodes that can be converted. It covers most of the things in the default game, but does not include any mod support. Hence technic items won't work.

Jouster27
Member
Posts: 117
Joined: Fri Mar 29, 2013 14:16

by Jouster27 » Post

I've not seen anyone else mention this yet: Whenever I place a block, it stays in my inventory. I like the idea of this mod and I'd like to use it but if I wanted infinite blocks, I'd play in creative mode. Since nobody else has reported this issue, any ideas what would be causing it?

saranas
New member
Posts: 1
Joined: Fri Oct 25, 2013 21:09

by saranas » Post

I have found, downloaded, installed this nice mod today and got the same bug as Jouster27 (infinite blocks in non creative mode). So I started some "hacking the code".
Here the result:

Code: Select all

--- specialties-master/init.lua   2013-07-20 05:22:23.000000000 +0200
+++ specialties/init.lua    2013-10-25 23:02:39.747297591 +0200
@@ -242,10 +242,11 @@
         specialties.changeXP(name, "farmer", 5)
     end
 end
 local place_node = minetest.item_place_node
 function minetest.item_place_node(itemstack, placer, pointed_thing)
-    place_node(itemstack, placer, pointed_thing)
     specialties.changeXP(placer:get_player_name(), "builder", 1)
+    -- minetest.item_place_node returns an itemstack back to user. Do not let it disappear.
+    return place_node(itemstack, placer, pointed_thing)
 end

Sorry for my bad english.
 minetest.register_globalstep(function(dtime)
     if time+dtime < 10 then
I can say: it works for me but, I don't know if it is working for others.
Maybe it will help.

__

Sorry for my bad english

Jouster27
Member
Posts: 117
Joined: Fri Mar 29, 2013 14:16

by Jouster27 » Post

saranas wrote:I can say: it works for me but, I don't know if it is working for others.
Maybe it will help.

__

Sorry for my bad english
Saranas gets the WIN!!! Thank you, that fixed the mod for me.

Jouster27
Member
Posts: 117
Joined: Fri Mar 29, 2013 14:16

by Jouster27 » Post

When you add superheat to a feller, the resulting block (specialties:axe_diamond_superheat_feller) shows to be unknown.
Last edited by Jouster27 on Sun Oct 27, 2013 07:30, edited 1 time in total.

viv100
Member
Posts: 80
Joined: Sat Aug 10, 2013 16:36

by viv100 » Post

when we play, we break a block and put it on when you ask it always marks the same block cipher

Jouster27
Member
Posts: 117
Joined: Fri Mar 29, 2013 14:16

by Jouster27 » Post

I'm using a bronze greenthumb hoe but won't harvest anything. I can plow with it but it won't harvest.

falsegrayburger
Member
Posts: 158
Joined: Sat Aug 03, 2013 15:16
In-game: naro

by falsegrayburger » Post

Proposal of a new profession!

(Experience points each time you defeat the Mob) warrior
(Experience value by to craft a dish) cook
(Experience value to craft the weapons) blacksmith

User avatar
BrunoMine
Member
Posts: 1082
Joined: Thu Apr 25, 2013 17:29
GitHub: BrunoMine
Location: SP-Brasil
Contact:

by BrunoMine » Post

the player should access the menu (/spec) trough a node.
My small square universe under construction ... Minemacro
Comunidade Minetest Brasil
www.minetestbrasil.com

User avatar
BrunoMine
Member
Posts: 1082
Joined: Thu Apr 25, 2013 17:29
GitHub: BrunoMine
Location: SP-Brasil
Contact:

by BrunoMine » Post

I do not want the player to be flying or racing.
My small square universe under construction ... Minemacro
Comunidade Minetest Brasil
www.minetestbrasil.com

User avatar
BrunoMine
Member
Posts: 1082
Joined: Thu Apr 25, 2013 17:29
GitHub: BrunoMine
Location: SP-Brasil
Contact:

by BrunoMine » Post

There was a critical error. The nodes are infinite in inventory. the player can put infinite nodes, with only one in the inventory.
Last edited by BrunoMine on Thu Oct 31, 2013 19:24, edited 1 time in total.
My small square universe under construction ... Minemacro
Comunidade Minetest Brasil
www.minetestbrasil.com

Jouster27
Member
Posts: 117
Joined: Fri Mar 29, 2013 14:16

by Jouster27 » Post

Bruno - It's a known issue but there is a fix. Check posts 78 and 79 above.

User avatar
BrunoMine
Member
Posts: 1082
Joined: Thu Apr 25, 2013 17:29
GitHub: BrunoMine
Location: SP-Brasil
Contact:

by BrunoMine » Post

Jouster27 wrote:Bruno - It's a known issue but there is a fix. Check posts 78 and 79 above.
Sorry but ... How will I fix the mod? can explain to me exactly?
My small square universe under construction ... Minemacro
Comunidade Minetest Brasil
www.minetestbrasil.com

Jouster27
Member
Posts: 117
Joined: Fri Mar 29, 2013 14:16

by Jouster27 » Post

brunob.santos wrote:
Jouster27 wrote:Bruno - It's a known issue but there is a fix. Check posts 78 and 79 above.
Sorry but ... How will I fix the mod? can explain to me exactly?
Find the init.lua mod and make the changes mentioned above. A line that has a minus sign (-) in front of it means delete the line. A line with a plus sign (+) in front of it means add the line. Save the file after you make the changes and it should fix the problem the next time you load the world.

User avatar
JPRuehmann
Member
Posts: 334
Joined: Fri Mar 21, 2014 21:40
Location: Germany
Contact:

by JPRuehmann » Post

Hello
I get the following error.

15:38:18: ERROR[main]: ========== ERROR FROM LUA ===========
15:38:18: ERROR[main]: Failed to load and run script from
15:38:18: ERROR[main]: /usr/local/share/minetest/mods/specialties/init.lua:
15:38:18: ERROR[main]: ...l/share/minetest/mods/specialties/externalmodify.lua:33: attempt to index local 'file' (a nil value)
15:38:18: ERROR[main]: stack traceback:
15:38:18: ERROR[main]: ...l/share/minetest/mods/specialties/externalmodify.lua:33: in main chunk
15:38:18: ERROR[main]: [C]: in function 'dofile'
15:38:18: ERROR[main]: /usr/local/share/minetest/mods/specialties/init.lua:5: in main chunk
15:38:18: ERROR[main]: ======= END OF ERROR FROM LUA ========
15:38:18: ERROR[main]: Server: Failed to load and run /usr/local/share/minetest/mods/specialties/init.lua
15:38:18: ERROR[main]: ERROR: An unhandled exception occurred: ModError: Failed to load and run /usr/local/share/minetest/mods/specialties/init.lua

I have tried the workaround with disabling drop_item
and the fix from saranas nothing works.

By the way could you add the mod to either /m modmenu or the unified_inventory?

Thanks,
JPR

User avatar
JPRuehmann
Member
Posts: 334
Joined: Fri Mar 21, 2014 21:40
Location: Germany
Contact:

Re: [Mod] Specialties [3.5] [specialties]

by JPRuehmann » Post

Since this thread seams dead.
just for Information and if there is anyone out there who can help.
Specialties is incompatible to the voltbuild mod,
viewtopic.php?id=7118
It stops countin iv voltbuild is enabled.
Thanks,
JPR

u34

Re: [Mod] Specialties [3.5] [specialties]

by u34 » Post

why does the back-button dont work?

User avatar
JPRuehmann
Member
Posts: 334
Joined: Fri Mar 21, 2014 21:40
Location: Germany
Contact:

Re: [Mod] Specialties [3.5] [specialties]

by JPRuehmann » Post

As I´ve stated,

===>It stops counting if voltbuild is enabled.<===

Thanks,
JPR

User avatar
JPRuehmann
Member
Posts: 334
Joined: Fri Mar 21, 2014 21:40
Location: Germany
Contact:

Re: [Mod] Specialties [3.5] [specialties]

by JPRuehmann » Post

Hello
with the new Version of Voltbuild everything works.
Thanks,
JPR

User avatar
JPRuehmann
Member
Posts: 334
Joined: Fri Mar 21, 2014 21:40
Location: Germany
Contact:

Re: [Mod] Specialties [3.5] [specialties]

by JPRuehmann » Post

Hello
Me again.
Local everything works fine
But if I try to use it on my Server the following error occurs.

14:02:30: ERROR[main]: ERROR: An unhandled exception occurred: /home/minetest/.minetest/mods/specialties/xp.lua:40: attempt to index local 'hudItem' (a nil value)
14:02:30: ERROR[main]: stack traceback:
14:02:30: ERROR[main]: /home/minetest/.minetest/mods/specialties/xp.lua:40: in function 'changeXP'
14:02:30: ERROR[main]: /home/minetest/.minetest/mods/specialties/init.lua:229: in function </home/minetest/.minetest/mods/specialties/init.lua:212>
14:02:30: ERROR[main]: (tail call): ?

anyone out there who could help?
Thanks,
JPR

tinoesroho
Member
Posts: 570
Joined: Fri Feb 17, 2012 21:55
Location: Canada

Re: [Mod] Specialties [3.5] [specialties]

by tinoesroho » Post

Breaks in a different way on mine.

User avatar
JPRuehmann
Member
Posts: 334
Joined: Fri Mar 21, 2014 21:40
Location: Germany
Contact:

Re: [Mod] Specialties [3.5] [specialties]

by JPRuehmann » Post

Hello
Found the Problem and fixed it
Now it works like a charm.
At least for me. ;-)

Here is my changed xp.lua
in the init.lua I have changed only the tostr(num) to num.

Code: Select all

--File Manipulating
specialties.writeXP = function(name)
	local file = io.open(minetest.get_worldpath().."/"..name.."_XP", "w")
	for skill,num in pairs(specialties.players[name].skills) do
		file:write(skill.." "..tostring(num).."\n")
	end
	file:close()
end
specialties.readXP = function(name, specialty)
	local file = io.open(minetest.get_worldpath().."/"..name.."_XP", "r")
	if file == nil then
		specialties.writeXP(name)
		local empty = {}
		for skill,_ in pairs(specialties.skills) do
			empty[skill] = 0
		end
		return empty
	end
	local xp = {}
	local line = file:read("*l")
	while line ~= nil do
		local params = line:split(" ")
		xp[params[1]] = tonumber(params[2])
		line = file:read("*l")
	end
	file:close()
	return xp
end

--Table Modification
specialties.changeXP = function(name, specialty, amount)
	local current = specialties.players[name].skills[specialty]
	if current == nil then current = 0 end
	local newAmount = current+amount
	if newAmount >= 0 then
		specialties.players[name].skills[specialty] = newAmount
		local player = minetest.get_player_by_name(name)
		local id = specialties.players[name].hud[specialty]
		player:hud_change(id, "text", newAmount)
		return true
	else
		return false
	end
end
Have fun,
JPR

User avatar
Inocudom
Member
Posts: 3121
Joined: Sat Sep 29, 2012 01:14
IRC: Inocudom
In-game: Inocudom

Re: [Mod] Specialties [3.5] [specialties]

by Inocudom » Post

4aiman did make a fork of this mod, but it crashes with the following error:

Code: Select all

20:21:43: ACTION[ServerThread]: Inocudom places node default:cobble at (-42,8,-8)
20:21:43: ERROR[main]: ServerError: caught (...)
20:21:43: ERROR[main]: stack traceback:
20:21:43: ERROR[main]: 	[C]: in function 'get_meta'
20:21:43: ERROR[main]: 	/home/derek/.minetest/mods/specialties/init.lua:281: in function </home/derek/.minetest/mods/specialties/init.lua:274>
The only exception to this is if the fork is in Magichet. Below is a link to the fork:
https://github.com/4aiman/specialties

keyxmakerx
Member
Posts: 104
Joined: Mon Apr 08, 2013 23:53

Re: [Mod] Specialties [3.5] [specialties]

by keyxmakerx » Post

So looks like this mod is dead? :(

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 11 guests