[Mod] locks [locks]

User avatar
addi
Member
 
Posts: 620
Joined: Thu Sep 20, 2012 03:16
Location: Black-Forest, Germany

by addi » Sun Dec 15, 2013 13:52

due the new feature of minetest 0.4.8 the text of the shared locked signs dose change if the formspec is canceled with the ESC key.
it dose also happen to the other shared locked stuff
 

Sokomine
Member
 
Posts: 3334
Joined: Sun Sep 09, 2012 17:31

by Sokomine » Tue Dec 17, 2013 02:10

Thanks for the bug report. I've fixed it and uploaded a new version to github. Aborting input ought to work now as before.
A list of my mods can be found here.
 

Sokomine
Member
 
Posts: 3334
Joined: Sun Sep 09, 2012 17:31

by Sokomine » Sat Jan 11, 2014 02:25

Upon request, I've added support for pipeworks. Tubes from that mod can be used with the shared locked chest and furnace like with a normal chest and furnace (i.e. tubes can connect to them). There's also a command
Code: Select all
/pipeworks

which you can enter into the command window of shared locked chests/furnaces to toggle output to tubes on or off. Right now this does not work because pipeworks epects another return value than what the MT documentation says, so watch out for new versions of pipeworks.
A list of my mods can be found here.
 

Nore
Developer
 
Posts: 487
Joined: Wed Nov 28, 2012 11:35
GitHub: Ekdohibs

by Nore » Sat Jan 11, 2014 06:59

Sokomine wrote:Upon request, I've added support for pipeworks. Tubes from that mod can be used with the shared locked chest and furnace like with a normal chest and furnace (i.e. tubes can connect to them). There's also a command
Code: Select all
/pipeworks

which you can enter into the command window of shared locked chests/furnaces to toggle output to tubes on or off. Right now this does not work because pipeworks epects another return value than what the MT documentation says, so watch out for new versions of pipeworks.

Done ;)
 

User avatar
Achilles
Member
 
Posts: 247
Joined: Sun Dec 15, 2013 11:55
Location: Excuse Me???? -_-
In-game: Achilles

by Achilles » Sat Jan 18, 2014 17:41

WOW, i really like this mod. Thanks for doing it.
Can you only use keys to open shared locked doors, chests and etc, or can you also:
1) set a password/passwords
2) Add a clients name to the shared locked door/chest so that he/she can open it.
The Ironic Thing About Common Sense Is That It Isn't Very Common
 

Sokomine
Member
 
Posts: 3334
Joined: Sun Sep 09, 2012 17:31

by Sokomine » Tue Jan 21, 2014 18:52

Achilles wrote:Can you only use keys to open shared locked doors, chests and etc, or can you also:
1) set a password/passwords
2) Add a clients name to the shared locked door/chest so that he/she can open it.

You always need the keys. For shared locked objects owned by other players, you do need a keychain. This will also open your own objects. The one keychain you have will open *all* locked objects you have been granted access to.
To gain acces to a chest, you can either type in the password (if the owner of the chest did set one), or use it like normal if the owner added you with "/add Achilles" to his/her locked object. Typing "/help" in the input window gives you a list of commands.
A list of my mods can be found here.
 

Sokomine
Member
 
Posts: 3334
Joined: Sun Sep 09, 2012 17:31

Re: [Mod] locks

by Sokomine » Thu May 08, 2014 23:43

A bug that showed up with the new animated fire in the furnace has been fixed. Please update your version of the mod if you're using a newer version of MT/minetest_game!

The pictures in the thread have been re-added from a diffrent source.
 

User avatar
Evergreen
Member
 
Posts: 2131
Joined: Sun Jan 06, 2013 01:22
Location: A forest in the midwest
GitHub: 4Evergreen4
IRC: EvergreenTree
In-game: Evergreen

Re: [Mod] locks

by Evergreen » Thu May 08, 2014 23:56

Sokomine wrote:A bug that showed up with the new animated fire in the furnace has been fixed. Please update your version of the mod if you're using a newer version of MT/minetest_game!

The pictures in the thread have been re-added from a diffrent source.

Hm? What's this about a bug with the animated furnace fire? I was the one who added it after all.
 

Sokomine
Member
 
Posts: 3334
Joined: Sun Sep 09, 2012 17:31

Re: [Mod] locks

by Sokomine » Fri May 09, 2014 01:38

The mod just wasn't prepared for the new way of doing the animation and had to be adjusted. The furnace showed all the images of the animation cramped together in one image instead of an animation. But that's solved now. The pipe overlay had to be removed for the front picture anyway (VanessaE complained about that and she was right - it really didn't look well there). So nothing to worry :-)
 

User avatar
nman3600
Member
 
Posts: 168
Joined: Fri Feb 07, 2014 17:06
GitHub: nman3600
IRC: nman3600
In-game: nman3600

Re: [Mod] locks

by nman3600 » Wed May 14, 2014 06:38

This is a very cool mod Sokomine keep up the good work :)
 

Sokomine
Member
 
Posts: 3334
Joined: Sun Sep 09, 2012 17:31

Re: [Mod] locks

by Sokomine » Thu May 15, 2014 02:56

Thanks :-) My other mods need some maintenance as well.
 

User avatar
Hybrid Dog
Member
 
Posts: 2522
Joined: Thu Nov 01, 2012 12:46

Re: [Mod] locks

by Hybrid Dog » Fri May 16, 2014 18:39

Sokomine wrote:Thanks :-) My other mods need some maintenance as well.

Mine too.
 

Sokomine
Member
 
Posts: 3334
Joined: Sun Sep 09, 2012 17:31

Re: [Mod] locks

by Sokomine » Sat Aug 16, 2014 17:00

Fixed a bug reported by Addi regarding the sign. The sign now works with 0.4.10 again.
A list of my mods can be found here.
 

User avatar
fireglow
Member
 
Posts: 91
Joined: Fri Mar 28, 2014 11:36
Location: Germany
IRC: fireglow
In-game: fireglow

Re: [Mod] locks

by fireglow » Wed Feb 04, 2015 08:55

Hi, I've just hit a bug with this mod, 100% reproducible server crash: https://github.com/Sokomine/locks/issues/9
Can anybody else confirm that?
 

AccidentallyRhine
Member
 
Posts: 146
Joined: Sun Aug 02, 2015 05:43

Re: [Mod] locks [locks]

by AccidentallyRhine » Mon Sep 26, 2016 15:28

If there is anyone like myself who prefers mods to complement the Vanilla game design as much as possible, then I have made a customization to this locks mod. Ultimately, I've only provided any work because I needed a locked furnace mod for my server and kotolegokot's Locked Furnace mod has fallen out of support. I hope that somebody might find some of these changes useful.

Changes:
- Fixed on-ground image for Shared Locked Wooden Door.
- Light now passes through Shared Locked Wooden Doors.
- Improved Shared Locked Wooden Door textures.
- Added default door sounds to Shared Locked Wooden Door.
- Realigned the smelting grid in Shared Locked Furnace formspec.
- Redrew Lock, Key and Keychain textures.
- Changed Key, Keychain and Lock crafting recipes to better reflect their item.
- Unified art style to match default Minetest Game, removed custom formspec backgrounds.
- Fixed Active Furnace showing up in creative inventory (Removed item description).
- Other miscellaneous polish, retested against Minetest 0.4.14.

Image

Image

Image

Download:
Attachments
locks.zip
Extract into your mods directory.
(224.34 KiB) Downloaded 20 times
Last edited by AccidentallyRhine on Sat Oct 01, 2016 22:08, edited 2 times in total.
 

User avatar
azekill_DIABLO
Member
 
Posts: 6540
Joined: Wed Oct 29, 2014 20:05
Location: Inside the Box
GitHub: azekillDIABLO
In-game: azekill_DIABLO
 

kahnack
New member
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Tue Sep 27, 2016 19:27
In-game: kahnack

Re: [Mod] locks [locks]

by kahnack » Wed Sep 28, 2016 18:24

Hello

in first thank you for this mod.

I meet some probleme with it, when I add an other player to my shared locked object, the message is good (xxx are now allowed to use/access ...) but the function doesn't work.
Even if I tape "/list", it shows me a blank list.


- I've downloaded from github
- I have a key and keychain in my inventory
- the other player had key/keychain too
- nothing in log for give me information (aside "assignement to undeclared global "name")

if anyone had an idea to solve that, i would appreciate it !
 

AccidentallyRhine
Member
 
Posts: 146
Joined: Sun Aug 02, 2015 05:43

Re: [Mod] locks [locks]

by AccidentallyRhine » Tue Nov 08, 2016 05:01

kahnack, in my time giving locks mod a "face lift", I discovered the same issue you encountered. Right now, only passwords can be used to share locked objects with other players.

Locks mod is in some serious need of love and I think Sokomine is gone. The forum doesn't even show his last login date.

I will look into fixing /add <player> functionality and also fixing a serious flaw that allows players to place shared locked doors on protected areas. Maybe even fork it considering all the work I already did.

UPDATE: To temporarily fix /add <player> functionality change the line in ~/locks/init.lua that looks like:
Code: Select all
meta:set_string("allowed_users", meta:get_string("allowed_users")..","..help[2] );

to instead look like:
Code: Select all
meta:set_string("allowed_users", help[2]);


It will allow you to add one person to the access list at a time. More updates will be shared in this thread as I work on them.
 

User avatar
addi
Member
 
Posts: 620
Joined: Thu Sep 20, 2012 03:16
Location: Black-Forest, Germany

Re: [Mod] locks [locks]

by addi » Wed Nov 09, 2016 09:43

AnxiousInfusion wrote:Maybe even fork it considering all the work I already did.

If you start a fork of this mod, I would be happy if you could merge my pull request for this into your fork. https://github.com/Sokomine/locks/pull/12

It gets rid of the command field and instead displays a nice and user friendly formspec. Of course its still compatible for the old command fields for existing nodes. It made a lot of work, so it would great if it was not for nothing. Btw your changes are also great :)
 

AccidentallyRhine
Member
 
Posts: 146
Joined: Sun Aug 02, 2015 05:43

Re: [Mod] locks [locks]

by AccidentallyRhine » Thu Nov 10, 2016 05:34

addi, that is fantastic! Thank you. Not only does it clean up the discordant "command line" placement but it also resolves the issue that kahnack was talking about.

I applied another update which fixes an issue where players would need to enter a password every time they used a password protected door. But I will not be updating the download I provided in this thread anymore. Instead, I have forked the mod here:

https://gitlab.com/AnxiousInfusion/padlocks/tree/master

addi, I want to incorporate your changes but the code has changed a bit since you opened that pull request. Do you think you can tweak it and open another at the new Gitlab fork?
 

User avatar
addi
Member
 
Posts: 620
Joined: Thu Sep 20, 2012 03:16
Location: Black-Forest, Germany

Re: [Mod] locks [locks]

by addi » Thu Nov 10, 2016 12:36

hmm you renamed the mod to padlocks, thats imo a bit bad, because you cannot easy update from existing mod to your updated one. Also the whole commit history is gone in your fork.

I think its not a problem to write a patch for your fork. But I have some questions: If you want to keep "padlocks" as name should I still try to keep it compatible with the old api or woud it be ok if I only support the new? (this would probably save a lot of work)
Should I write a lbm that converts the nodes of "locks" mod to avoid unknown nodes?
If you want to keep that api cange I would also change the OOP ":" to "." since this mod api was never OOP. would that ok?
 

AccidentallyRhine
Member
 
Posts: 146
Joined: Sun Aug 02, 2015 05:43

Re: [Mod] locks [locks]

by AccidentallyRhine » Thu Nov 10, 2016 13:32

Moderators here take issue to using common shortnames so I renamed to padlocks to differentiate from existing locks. My "fork" derives from my customized version found earlier in this thread. Just want to avoid conflict...

If these are problems, I can try importing locks from Github to Gitlab and then adjust my changes to that.

Anyone want to chime in on whether it is okay for me to use the name "locks"?
 

mase
Member
 
Posts: 42
Joined: Tue Feb 21, 2017 20:16
In-game: mase

Re: [Mod] locks [locks]

by mase » Tue Feb 28, 2017 15:47

Support for mesecons would be nice!
 

User avatar
muhdnurhidayat
Member
 
Posts: 245
Joined: Wed Nov 16, 2016 22:55
Location: Sg Petani, Kedah, Malaysia
GitHub: MuhdNurHidayat
IRC: muhdnurhidayat
In-game: muhdnurhidayat

Re: [Mod] locks [locks]

by muhdnurhidayat » Tue Mar 21, 2017 20:41

AnxiousInfusion wrote: ... I have forked the mod here:

https://gitlab.com/AnxiousInfusion/padlocks/tree/master


Can you make new thread for it now? ... or maybe no ...

Some other mods could still make theirs compatible with older mods, eg. signs_lib can still use alongside default signs and display_lib could be use alongside signs_lib because the authors made it compatible

so I wonder if your padlocks mod could be made to be compatible with original locks mod? so the previous settings of shared locked door, and stuffs inside shared locked chest & furnace would reappear instead of just unknown nodes?

EDIT: I've opened issue in their Gitlab for that backward compatibility since they did not reply to this post yet.
[ Full signature ] - UTC+8 here, contributing to Minetest Wiki. I'm muhdnurhidayat in IFS (mod), HOMETOWN & others. / Twitter / MT Offtopic ✂️- - - - - -
 

User avatar
christoferlevich
Member
 
Posts: 234
Joined: Thu Dec 01, 2016 23:44
Location: Athol, Massachusetts
GitHub: ChristoferL

Re: [Mod] locks [locks]

by christoferlevich » Thu Jun 29, 2017 14:41

Having some trouble:

First of all - I can set up a wooden locked door no problem. It works great with the owner (so long as the owner has a key) but how do I give the proper key to someone else? I have tried dropping the key as owner to user. I have tried grabbing a key in creative for the user.

Does the door not work with just a key - just a code - or does it have to be both?

Is the key something I could do away with entirely as it seems its only real function is to add a step to enabling others to unlock a door.
everything can be a learning experience...
 

PreviousNext

Return to Mod Releases



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot] and 6 guests