Page 1 of 1

[Mod] Armor and Weapons [armor]

Posted: Tue Nov 13, 2012 05:10
by Nubelite
Modified versions of
cornernote's Armor Mod

License: WTFPL (on my modifications. The rest is all on the others license)

Download: Click Here

No picture is needed.

Details:
This is all balanced, including the default weapons. Items are the following in order of greatest to least titanium > damond > mithril > steel > bronze > wood. The higher armor offers more protection, the high weapons offer higher dmg. weapon and armor of the same ore do the same dmg for every armor. They also do the same one armor higher and lower. Titanium sword hitting diamond armor is like a diamond sword hitting mithril armor. but titanium sword hitting mithril does more dmg then to the diamond.

Armor details:
each piece of armor offers some protection where as the original did not, for weapon dmg. a full suite is required for its full protection, you can mix and match.

recipes are the same as in the two mods.


depends:
inventory_plus
InfinityProject's Diamonds
Aqua's Titanium
Calinou's MoreOres


Edit notes:
11/13
Changed stone so it does the same dmg as bronze, but can only last for 30 uses, where as bronze 100.
Added on MoreOres, which i forgot to add into the zip file.

Posted: Tue Nov 13, 2012 05:17
by Aqua
I haven't tried this yet but this sounds wicked. Question: since it includes diamonds, titanium
and armor shouldn't it depend on those mods?

Posted: Tue Nov 13, 2012 06:07
by Nubelite
The folder includes those mods so no :)
I modified the weapons in those mods along with a few other minor things. mostly just uses so all tools and items have the same use for the ore. Diamond has 700, diamond steel has 1000. the weapons do the same dmg just has more use. stone sword does same dmg as steel but far less uses.

Posted: Tue Nov 13, 2012 06:08
by terminalerror
Why does stone do the same damage as steel?

Posted: Wed Nov 14, 2012 02:44
by InfinityProject
I like it. Question: how does the game know when armour is in one of the slots of the formspec?

Posted: Wed Nov 14, 2012 03:04
by Nubelite
terminalerror wrote:Why does stone do the same damage as steel?
Sorry, was editing 4 mods along with default and got a little mixed up lol. It is all good now, it does what bronze does but does not last as long.


InfinityProject wrote:I like it. Question: how does the game know when armour is in one of the slots of the formspec?
In the Armor folder api.lua it uses "armor.get_armor_level(player_inv:get_stack("armor_helmet", 1),"armor_helmet")" to get the players slot from the armor menu.

Posted: Wed Nov 14, 2012 03:09
by InfinityProject
Hmmmmm... I wonder if there's a way to add armor to the player's texture. *Goes to code*

Posted: Wed Nov 14, 2012 03:22
by InfinityProject
Just a quick thing I made. If it works right it will just work for the helmet right now. Just a test to see if it can be done. Has not been tested though.

Code: Select all

minetest.register_on_joinplayer(function(player)
    if armor.get_armor_level(player_inv:get_stack("armor_helmet", 1),"armor_helmet") then
        player:set_properties({
            textures = {"player.png^'armor_diamond_helmet.png"},
        })
    end
end)

Posted: Sat Nov 17, 2012 18:15
by qwrwed
Aren't there gold and silver weapons and armour?

Posted: Sat Nov 17, 2012 22:32
by Nubelite
qwrwed wrote:Aren't there gold and silver weapons and armour?
I decided to not have them because gold and silver is more for jewelry then dmg and protection. Maybe gold encrusted armor might be better, if the player changed pictures.

Posted: Sun Nov 18, 2012 21:21
by Iqualfragile
please try to get your changes merged back into the main projects
or try to transform your mod into an addition to the other mods (i think that might be impossible)

Posted: Mon Nov 19, 2012 18:35
by Nubelite
That can be done for all the mods except the armor. I had to edit the code itself in the armor mod. I will make it a fork of the armor mod.

Posted: Thu Nov 22, 2012 21:20
by Nubelite
It is now a stand alone mod. It just replaces the Armor Mod.

Posted: Wed Dec 05, 2012 05:02
by Chinchow
Is it possible to add an image to this so 3d players can wear it?

Posted: Thu Dec 06, 2012 07:31
by Nubelite
I am not even sure how to even proceed with that. If you can overlay one image with another and change it by checking the armor slots i guess it would work then.