[Mod] In-game skin switching [skins]

TG-MyinaWD
Member
Posts: 356
Joined: Thu May 08, 2014 21:22
GitHub: Maddie-Myina
IRC: Maddie-Myina
In-game: .
Location: Far Eden

Re: [Mod] In-game skin switching [skins]

by TG-MyinaWD » Post

Hey Zeg9 I liked to have a way when you change your, skin you can have a different wieldhand.

So I made this:
Spoiler

Code: Select all

--New Hand when change skin
---For skins by Zeg9---
minetest.register_item(":", {
	type = "none",
	wield_image = "character_"..id.."_wieldhand.png",
	wield_scale = {x=1,y=1,z=2.5},
	tool_capabilities = {
		full_punch_interval = 0.9,
		max_drop_level = 0,
		groupcaps = {
			crumbly = {times={[2]=3.00, [3]=0.70}, uses=0, maxlevel=1},
			snappy = {times={[3]=0.40}, uses=0, maxlevel=1},
			oddly_breakable_by_hand = {times={[1]=3.50,[2]=2.00,[3]=0.70}, uses=0}
		},
		damage_groups = {fleshy=1},
	}
})
But when I went to test it, didn't work. tried all the skins and only one of them worked. that was Skin 8. Idk what to do to make, it work with all the skins and I really liked it work so I can have not just default all the time.

And if anyone else know what to do to get this working thanks for the help.
I'm a Transgender no shame about it.
I prefer to be considered as a "Girl/Lady/Miss/Madam/Female" for now on.

User avatar
Krock
Developer
Posts: 4650
Joined: Thu Oct 03, 2013 07:48
GitHub: SmallJoker
Location: Switzerland
Contact:

Re: [Mod] In-game skin switching [skins]

by Krock » Post

Alt. Tester wrote:Hey Zeg9 I liked to have a way when you change your, skin you can have a different wieldhand.
That's a setting for all players, not just one.
Look, I programmed a bug for you. >> Mod Search Engine << - Mods by Krock - DuckDuckGo mod search bang: !mtmod <keyword here>

TG-MyinaWD
Member
Posts: 356
Joined: Thu May 08, 2014 21:22
GitHub: Maddie-Myina
IRC: Maddie-Myina
In-game: .
Location: Far Eden

Re: [Mod] In-game skin switching [skins]

by TG-MyinaWD » Post

So there no way I can change the Hand Skin when they pick a skin?
I'm a Transgender no shame about it.
I prefer to be considered as a "Girl/Lady/Miss/Madam/Female" for now on.

User avatar
Krock
Developer
Posts: 4650
Joined: Thu Oct 03, 2013 07:48
GitHub: SmallJoker
Location: Switzerland
Contact:

Re: [Mod] In-game skin switching [skins]

by Krock » Post

Alt. Tester wrote:So there no way I can change the Hand Skin when they pick a skin?
If it's not possible over the HUD API, then it's impossible.
Look, I programmed a bug for you. >> Mod Search Engine << - Mods by Krock - DuckDuckGo mod search bang: !mtmod <keyword here>

TG-MyinaWD
Member
Posts: 356
Joined: Thu May 08, 2014 21:22
GitHub: Maddie-Myina
IRC: Maddie-Myina
In-game: .
Location: Far Eden

Re: [Mod] In-game skin switching [skins]

by TG-MyinaWD » Post

Oh. ok. well I did got it to work as a different number. well was stuck on 8. but maybe I will try to change around the code of Skins and make a way can pick a Hand. so Here goes nothing later. since busy with something else.
I'm a Transgender no shame about it.
I prefer to be considered as a "Girl/Lady/Miss/Madam/Female" for now on.

Daven
Member
Posts: 26
Joined: Mon Jan 20, 2014 21:51
Location: Inside the white whale

Re: [Mod] In-game skin switching [skins]

by Daven » Post

Can this be used in your single player world?

User avatar
SAMIAMNOT
Member
Posts: 416
Joined: Wed Sep 03, 2014 00:51
In-game: notanewbie
Location: Desert

Re: [Mod] In-game skin switching [skins]

by SAMIAMNOT » Post

I'm totally getting this.
EDIT 1: I'm planning on making a skin. How do you change the description of your skin?
EDIT 2: Is there a way to do animated skins? I wanna make one with blinking eyes.
I test mines.

theoluk
Member
Posts: 21
Joined: Sun May 11, 2014 18:24

Re: [Mod] In-game skin switching [skins]

by theoluk » Post

Is there a way to add your own skin? I have the texture in the right format. What would I have to change in the lua files or add to folders?

User avatar
benrob0329
Member
Posts: 1341
Joined: Thu Aug 06, 2015 22:39
GitHub: Benrob0329
IRC: benrob0329
In-game: benrob03
Location: Michigan
Contact:

Re: [Mod] In-game skin switching [skins]

by benrob0329 » Post

@theoluk Yes, there is. You can use the install skin script in the mod directory.

@zeg9 I get the following error when i run the update script included in the skinsbd branch:

Code: Select all

Traceback (most recent call last):
  File "/home/ben/.minetest/mods/minetest-skins-skindb/update_from_db.py", line 39, in <module>
    addpage(p+2)
  File "/home/ben/.minetest/mods/minetest-skins-skindb/update_from_db.py", line 16, in addpage
    r = c.getresponse()
  File "/usr/lib/python3.4/http/client.py", line 1171, in getresponse
    response.begin()
  File "/usr/lib/python3.4/http/client.py", line 351, in begin
    version, status, reason = self._read_status()
  File "/usr/lib/python3.4/http/client.py", line 321, in _read_status
    raise BadStatusLine(line)
http.client.BadStatusLine: ''

User avatar
Caerulean
Member
Posts: 68
Joined: Wed Apr 22, 2015 16:20
In-game: Caerulean

Re: [Mod] In-game skin switching [skins]

by Caerulean » Post

Hello. This is a nice mod and works perfectly in 4.12, but recently I tried this in 4.13 and it doesn't work. The button in the inventory appears and it does lead me to the selection page but the previews don't appear and I can't click anything. I have the Inventory Plus mod on.

User avatar
TenPlus1
Member
Posts: 3722
Joined: Mon Jul 29, 2013 13:38
In-game: TenPlus1
Contact:

Re: [Mod] In-game skin switching [skins]

by TenPlus1 » Post

This is quite an old mod that isn't maintained any longer, try using one of the newer one's:

viewtopic.php?id=9100

User avatar
Caerulean
Member
Posts: 68
Joined: Wed Apr 22, 2015 16:20
In-game: Caerulean

Re: [Mod] In-game skin switching [skins]

by Caerulean » Post

All right, thanks!

bbaez
Member
Posts: 51
Joined: Wed Jul 09, 2014 15:24

Re: [Mod] In-game skin switching [skins]

by bbaez » Post

This may be an older mod, but still works great. The kids like the simplicity of it. There was some discussion on app dependencies so I will post what was required on Ubuntu 14 LTS:

Need pngcrush, blender and convert (comes with imagemagick) to install/create preview images.

Code: Select all

sudo apt-get install pngcrush
sudo apt-get install blender
sudo apt-get install imagemagick
Also need YAD:

Code: Select all

sudo add-apt-repository ppa:webupd8team/y-ppa-manager
sudo apt-get update
sudo apt-get install yad

Also, tried using minecraftskins.com to create a 3D skin but there is an extra set in the png (overlay?) throwing this and all MT skins mods off. Tried searching the web but not sure what do to to resolve.
Hinata.png
Hinata.png (1.49 KiB) Viewed 1112 times

User avatar
Neuromancer
Member
Posts: 964
Joined: Tue Jun 12, 2012 22:28
GitHub: Neuromancer56

Re: [Mod] In-game skin switching [skins]

by Neuromancer » Post

bbaez wrote: Also, tried using minecraftskins.com to create a 3D skin but there is an extra set in the png (overlay?) throwing this and all MT skins mods off. Tried searching the web but not sure what do to to resolve.
I noticed the same thing. You can crop off the bottom image, but you also need to move the face and the back. This is a pain. I think the minetest player model should change to match this.

User avatar
Neuromancer
Member
Posts: 964
Joined: Tue Jun 12, 2012 22:28
GitHub: Neuromancer56

Re: [Mod] In-game skin switching [skins]

by Neuromancer » Post

You can still get some minecraft 1.7 compatable skins on planetminecraft.com. Filter format to Universal Skin 64x32. These should work in minetest for now, but I think they are going away.

User avatar
LazerRay
Member
Posts: 147
Joined: Sun Jul 27, 2014 01:32
GitHub: LazerRay

Re: [Mod] In-game skin switching [skins]

by LazerRay » Post

If you are still looking for Minetest compatible skins, the MC Skin Viewer program can help, you type in a username to see the skin related to it and you can save a copy through the same program.

(Note most older MC players still use the original skin format which happens to be what Minetest is compatible with)

User avatar
TheReaperKing
Member
Posts: 531
Joined: Sun Nov 22, 2015 21:36
Contact:

Re: [Mod] In-game skin switching [skins]

by TheReaperKing » Post

Is there any information available on how to install new skins on windows with this mod? The scripts are linux I believe. Hopefully I didn't miss a post in my searching and any help would be appreciated :) I really like the way this mod is set up!
Become A Real Life Superhero - http://SuperheroHill.com
Project Lead of the Doom 3 Mod Last Man Standing - http://Doom3Coop.com
Project Lead of Platinum Arts Sandbox Free 3D Game Maker - http://SandboxGameMaker.com
Youtube Channel - https://www.youtube.com/user/PlatinumArtsKids

User avatar
LazerRay
Member
Posts: 147
Joined: Sun Jul 27, 2014 01:32
GitHub: LazerRay

Re: [Mod] In-game skin switching [skins]

by LazerRay » Post

Adding new skins to this mod is super easy, you first get the image file and name it

Code: Select all

character_#
with the # being what ever the highest one is in the "textures" folder, then in the "meta" folder you make a text file with the same name as the new image file and write

Code: Select all

name = "skin name",
author = "author name (if any)",
After that you're done and the new skin should work once you run Minetest, just bring up the switcher and select your new skin

Note: The two folders mentioned are inside the folder for this mod

User avatar
TheReaperKing
Member
Posts: 531
Joined: Sun Nov 22, 2015 21:36
Contact:

Re: [Mod] In-game skin switching [skins]

by TheReaperKing » Post

Thank you so much kind sir! I really appreciate your help :) I will test it out this weekend! Take care and have a wonderful day.
-Mike
Become A Real Life Superhero - http://SuperheroHill.com
Project Lead of the Doom 3 Mod Last Man Standing - http://Doom3Coop.com
Project Lead of Platinum Arts Sandbox Free 3D Game Maker - http://SandboxGameMaker.com
Youtube Channel - https://www.youtube.com/user/PlatinumArtsKids

inkoia
New member
Posts: 1
Joined: Wed Mar 30, 2016 09:56

Re: [Mod] In-game skin switching [skins]

by inkoia » Post

Hi!

I've came to an error due to the name of this skin, which is an Integer: http://minetest.fensta.bplaced.net/#name=3252353

So I've made the following changes to the "update_from_db.py" script, in the lines 31, 32, 33:

f.write('name = "'+str(s["name"])+'",\n')
f.write('author = "'+str(s["author"])+'",\n')
f.write('comment = "'+str(s["license"])+'",\n')

Just added str(...) so it can transform the name from Int to Str.

Thanks for the mod!

DaRealEmazCam
New member
Posts: 1
Joined: Thu Nov 30, 2017 22:35
GitHub: DAREAWSOME
In-game: EMAZCAM

Re: [Mod] In-game skin switching [skins]

by DaRealEmazCam » Post

it says skins mod unsatisfied dependency inventory_plus

User avatar
Lone_Wolf
Member
Posts: 2578
Joined: Sun Apr 09, 2017 05:50
GitHub: LoneWolfHT
IRC: LandarVargan
In-game: LandarVargan

Re: [Mod] In-game skin switching [skins]

by Lone_Wolf » Post

DaRealEmazCam wrote:it says skins mod unsatisfied dependency inventory_plus
You need to also enable the inventory_plus mod. If you don't have it you need to get it.
Although I would recommend you use viewtopic.php?f=11&t=9100 instead.
My ContentDB -|- Working on CaptureTheFlag -|- Minetest Forums Dark Theme!! (You need it)

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 62 guests