[Mod] NonCubic Blocks Mod [1.4] [noncubic]

Nore
Developer
 
Posts: 501
Joined: Wed Nov 28, 2012 11:35
GitHub: Ekdohibs

by Nore » Sun Jan 06, 2013 17:36

So you can't do any shape, just a shape in a list. I understand better...
 

Sokomine
Member
 
Posts: 3869
Joined: Sun Sep 09, 2012 17:31
GitHub: Sokomine

by Sokomine » Sun Jan 06, 2013 17:50

yves_de_beck wrote:I think its time to create a 'cnc milling machine' block.

by right click on the cnc block open an furnance like menu.
Then you put in the material and by clicking on different shape buttons you get the noncubic material you want.

That sounds like an excellent idea. Not only for those shapes in your mod but for stairs+ as well. Especially for creative mode but also for normal operations. stairs+ fill up craft guide and creative inventory and make it difficult and slow to find the needed things. Yet they are very useful for building.

A machine (=node with a formspec) where you put x nodes in the input form and can draw a fitting amount of stairs, slabs etc. from the selection formspec would be fine. It doesn't require a seperate output form (all available shapes would be output forms). If you provide several input fields, mixed unused blocks (e.g. 3 stairs, 5 slabs, 4 microblocks)) could be recycled more easily than with normal crafting receipes. They just have to be the same material.
A list of my mods can be found here.
 

User avatar
yves_de_beck
Member
 
Posts: 65
Joined: Wed Jan 02, 2013 10:45
Location: Germany Herford

by yves_de_beck » Mon Jan 07, 2013 15:55

Status:

- Normal height elements (straight, cross, edge, t, end ) added.
- Sticks of many default materials
- code cleaned and some recipes optimized.
 

kazzam
 

by kazzam » Mon Jan 07, 2013 17:47

I downloaded the zip and put it in the mod folder but it would only allow me to craft the new objects with glass.
 

User avatar
yves_de_beck
Member
 
Posts: 65
Joined: Wed Jan 02, 2013 10:45
Location: Germany Herford

by yves_de_beck » Mon Jan 07, 2013 22:10

kazzam wrote:I downloaded the zip and put it in the mod folder but it would only allow me to craft the new objects with glass.


Hello kazzam,

Which recipe dosn't work in detail?

When you craft from Stone / Cobblestone / Brick / Sandstone or Wood you need first to craft stairs. With these stairs you can craft the shapes in this mod.

When you craft with leaves, dirt or glass, then you can use the normal blocks to craft the shapes.

Sticks you can craft from all normal blocks.
Last edited by yves_de_beck on Mon Jan 07, 2013 22:16, edited 1 time in total.
 

kazzam
 

by kazzam » Tue Jan 08, 2013 17:43

Thanks for clearing this up. I didn't know you had to use stairs to craft the recipes.
 

User avatar
yves_de_beck
Member
 
Posts: 65
Joined: Wed Jan 02, 2013 10:45
Location: Germany Herford

by yves_de_beck » Tue Jan 08, 2013 20:25

kazzam wrote:Thanks for clearing this up. I didn't know you had to use stairs to craft the recipes.



Hi kazzam,

No Problem.
In the next Mod Update, stairs mod is no longer needed.

The Milling Machine Block works very well and makes the recipes unnecessary =)

Status:
Image
Last edited by yves_de_beck on Tue Jan 08, 2013 20:40, edited 1 time in total.
 

Sokomine
Member
 
Posts: 3869
Joined: Sun Sep 09, 2012 17:31
GitHub: Sokomine

by Sokomine » Tue Jan 08, 2013 22:32

Based on your idea and after having trouble with too many slabs and panels filling up my inventory, I wrote a mod for stairsplus. The circular saw mod only covers stairs from stairsplus.
A list of my mods can be found here.
 

User avatar
yves_de_beck
Member
 
Posts: 65
Joined: Wed Jan 02, 2013 10:45
Location: Germany Herford
 

kazzam
 

by kazzam » Wed Jan 09, 2013 18:16

When will the milling machine be available?
 

User avatar
addi
Member
 
Posts: 658
Joined: Thu Sep 20, 2012 03:16
Location: Black-Forest, Germany
GitHub: adrido

by addi » Wed Jan 09, 2013 19:36

i prever this version where the milling menu is transparency :(

its more modern than the background image

and it looks uniform, better suited to other menus
 

User avatar
yves_de_beck
Member
 
Posts: 65
Joined: Wed Jan 02, 2013 10:45
Location: Germany Herford

by yves_de_beck » Wed Jan 09, 2013 20:07

addi wrote:i prever this version where the milling menu is transparency :(

its more modern than the background image

and it looks uniform, better suited to other menus



Hi Addi,

let us vote!

Alternatively, I could also add a option in the init.lua

Might look something like:
....
-----------------
detail level = 32
old_style_menu = true
-----------------
....
 

User avatar
yves_de_beck
Member
 
Posts: 65
Joined: Wed Jan 02, 2013 10:45
Location: Germany Herford

by yves_de_beck » Wed Jan 09, 2013 20:12

kazzam wrote:When will the milling machine be available?


Hey Kazzam,

It is already available =)

Download new Version of NonCubic BLocks Mod

Recipe:
Image
Last edited by yves_de_beck on Wed Jan 09, 2013 20:13, edited 1 time in total.
 

User avatar
addi
Member
 
Posts: 658
Joined: Thu Sep 20, 2012 03:16
Location: Black-Forest, Germany
GitHub: adrido

by addi » Wed Jan 09, 2013 20:51

-----------------
detail level = 32
old_style_menu = true
-----------------
....

thats might a solution on singleplayer but whats with multiplayer?
this config shuld be in mintest.conf
may: allow_menu_background = false
so each player can chose for itself if it want to use the background image

btw: it works in 0.4.3 and there is no background (yippie)

what i mean with the background is the chat menu is transparent and the main menu, chest menu, furnace menu, inventory,hud with selected block ,...
so i think it fits better to the other menus

but thats realy a great mod!

this is a mod that minetest makes a lot better! i realy like it
 

User avatar
yves_de_beck
Member
 
Posts: 65
Joined: Wed Jan 02, 2013 10:45
Location: Germany Herford

by yves_de_beck » Thu Jan 10, 2013 05:28

addi wrote:-----------------
detail level = 32
old_style_menu = true
-----------------
....

thats might a solution on singleplayer but whats with multiplayer?
this config shuld be in mintest.conf
may: allow_menu_background = false
so each player can chose for itself if it want to use the background image

btw: it works in 0.4.3 and there is no background (yippie)

what i mean with the background is the chat menu is transparent and the main menu, chest menu, furnace menu, inventory,hud with selected block ,...
so i think it fits better to the other menus

but thats realy a great mod!

this is a mod that minetest makes a lot better! i realy like it



Hi Addi,

Ok, you're right. Its much better to config that in the minetest.conf.
I will implement it one of next updates.

Thank you! =)
Last edited by yves_de_beck on Thu Jan 10, 2013 08:44, edited 1 time in total.
 

User avatar
Likwid H-Craft
Member
 
Posts: 1113
Joined: Sun Jan 06, 2013 14:20
Location: Lost in Crypt

by Likwid H-Craft » Thu Jan 10, 2013 14:35

WOW THIS LOOKS EPIC! Image
My Domain's/others:
http://likwidtest.hj.cx/ (Not Done)
 

Ragnar
Member
 
Posts: 850
Joined: Thu Oct 25, 2012 15:19
Location: Estonia

by Ragnar » Fri Jan 11, 2013 14:42

umm...how long did it take to minetes.register_* all of those?
Are you saying that I put an abnormal brain into a seven and a half foot long, fifty-four inch wide GORILLA?
 

User avatar
yves_de_beck
Member
 
Posts: 65
Joined: Wed Jan 02, 2013 10:45
Location: Germany Herford

by yves_de_beck » Sat Jan 12, 2013 11:03

Ragnar wrote:umm...how long did it take to minetes.register_* all of those?



Hi Ragnar,

not very long on my eeepc (it's a very slow machine - Intel Atom 1,6GHz 1Gb Ram) it takes about 10 sec to load from main menu into the game.
Last edited by yves_de_beck on Tue Jan 15, 2013 12:52, edited 1 time in total.
 

User avatar
yves_de_beck
Member
 
Posts: 65
Joined: Wed Jan 02, 2013 10:45
Location: Germany Herford

by yves_de_beck » Wed Jan 16, 2013 16:20

NonCubic Blocks V1.3 out

- Glass temporarily removed:
It looks not good with the default texture. Comes back in one of the next versions

- Milling machine now has transparent menu as default:
But you can change it back in the init.lua

- make some restrictions with dirt:
Make a bit more realism. You can't make spheres or sticks from dirt.

- Mod Code optimized

- Crafted NonCubics with Dirt now have the grass texture on top and sides

Take a look:
Image

Let's implement it in the Map Generator =D =D =D
Last edited by yves_de_beck on Wed Jan 16, 2013 16:50, edited 1 time in total.
 

M@
 

by M@ » Thu Jan 17, 2013 16:00

M@ wrote:could you add this block that fits in a corner and makes it smooth?

______
| | |
|___ |__|
| | ∕
|___ |∕ <---


sorry about the mess it looked better in the message box. below is a link to a better picture.
 

M@
 
 

User avatar
yves_de_beck
Member
 
Posts: 65
Joined: Wed Jan 02, 2013 10:45
Location: Germany Herford
 

User avatar
Likwid H-Craft
Member
 
Posts: 1113
Joined: Sun Jan 06, 2013 14:20
Location: Lost in Crypt

by Likwid H-Craft » Thu Jan 17, 2013 16:42

You should add lava and, water but water, flows odd so as lava.
My Domain's/others:
http://likwidtest.hj.cx/ (Not Done)
 

User avatar
yves_de_beck
Member
 
Posts: 65
Joined: Wed Jan 02, 2013 10:45
Location: Germany Herford

by yves_de_beck » Thu Jan 17, 2013 17:46

Likwid H-Craft wrote:You should add lava and, water but water, flows odd so as lava.


Hi Likwid H-Craft

I do not think that makes sense. xD

Fluids flowing away simply, Just after the the shape has been created... ;)
Last edited by yves_de_beck on Thu Jan 17, 2013 19:06, edited 1 time in total.
 

M@
 
 

PreviousNext

Return to Mod Releases



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: jeremyericson, Odracir and 7 guests