[Mod] More Trees! [git][moretrees]

Post Reply
User avatar
dsalt
Member
Posts: 12
Joined: Wed Feb 20, 2013 13:13

by dsalt » Post

VanessaE wrote:Moving a whole tree down is doable and not too terribly hard to detect when it needs to happen, but it would be slow given the sheer number of nodes in a tree, even if the engine did all the work.
Could very well be…
Bushes should be easy to fix, just add "plantslib:" in front of that function call, e.g. "plantslib:spawn_on_surfaces(...."

Actually, the furnaces are fine - I just needed to add fuel recipes for the leaves (and saplings). Fixed in git.
Those seem fine now ☺

User avatar
VanessaE
Moderator
Posts: 4572
Joined: Sun Apr 01, 2012 12:38
GitHub: VanessaE
IRC: VanessaE
In-game: VanessaE
Location: Western NC
Contact:

by VanessaE » Post

2013-02-23: Added support for spawning small fir trees in snow biomes. Made jungletrees and palms require at least +15°C to grow. This is supposed to keep them away from snow biomes, but the engine doesn't let me tell the snow mod to always run first. Also please note that due to the load that snow biomes + moretrees adds to the map generator, well... stuff will look cut off, broken, etc. due to bugs in the map generator.

You must get today's of update plantlife/plants_lib to take advantage of this feature, but I don't think anything will break if you don't.
You might like some of my stuff: Plantlife ~ More Trees ~ Home Decor ~ Pipeworks ~ HDX Textures (64-512px)

User avatar
dsalt
Member
Posts: 12
Joined: Wed Feb 20, 2013 13:13

by dsalt » Post

Yes… dependency issues are Fun™.

I have a patch which does two-pass initialisation – first pass (hooks.lua) for things which don't depend on other mods, then the second pass (init.lua) for the rest.

That said, I think that that splits things in the wrong way for what you want, which would appear to be soft dependencies.

User avatar
VanessaE
Moderator
Posts: 4572
Joined: Sun Apr 01, 2012 12:38
GitHub: VanessaE
IRC: VanessaE
In-game: VanessaE
Location: Western NC
Contact:

by VanessaE » Post

Well something like that. Ideally I'd just want snow mod's mapgen hooks to be executed before mine, so that my mod doesn't have things like palm trees in the middle of a snowy beach, etc.
You might like some of my stuff: Plantlife ~ More Trees ~ Home Decor ~ Pipeworks ~ HDX Textures (64-512px)

User avatar
Mito551
Member
Posts: 1271
Joined: Sat Jun 16, 2012 15:03

by Mito551 » Post

so, it's me again. it decided that something's wrong, but i have no idea why.

Code: Select all

02:30:05: ERROR[main]: ========== ERROR FROM LUA ===========
02:30:05: ERROR[main]: Failed to load and run script from 
02:30:05: ERROR[main]: E:\Dropbox\minetest-2013.02.20-b29834ab02\bin\..\games\dwarves_simple\mods\moretrees\init.lua:
02:30:05: ERROR[main]: ...\..\games\dwarves_simple\mods\moretrees/saplings.lua:10: attempt to index field '?' (a nil value)
02:30:05: ERROR[main]: stack traceback:
02:30:05: ERROR[main]:     ...\..\games\dwarves_simple\mods\moretrees/saplings.lua:10: in main chunk
02:30:05: ERROR[main]:     [C]: in function 'dofile'
02:30:05: ERROR[main]:     ...\bin\..\games\dwarves_simple\mods\moretrees\init.lua:31: in main chunk
02:30:05: ERROR[main]: =======END OF ERROR FROM LUA ========
...and by "?" it means "surface"
plants_lib latest.
Last edited by Mito551 on Sat Feb 23, 2013 22:45, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
VanessaE
Moderator
Posts: 4572
Joined: Sun Apr 01, 2012 12:38
GitHub: VanessaE
IRC: VanessaE
In-game: VanessaE
Location: Western NC
Contact:

by VanessaE » Post

I can't be sure either, unless either moretrees or plants_lib is not actually current with this afternoon's updates. They work fine on my end, and I don't see anything about the code in either mod that would do this normally.
You might like some of my stuff: Plantlife ~ More Trees ~ Home Decor ~ Pipeworks ~ HDX Textures (64-512px)

User avatar
Mito551
Member
Posts: 1271
Joined: Sat Jun 16, 2012 15:03

by Mito551 » Post

both latest, i downloaded them from github just yesterday evening. i suspect it might be happening because i have a russian system with jap locale set? :D

UPD: did a clean install, now works
Last edited by Mito551 on Sun Feb 24, 2013 11:06, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
VanessaE
Moderator
Posts: 4572
Joined: Sun Apr 01, 2012 12:38
GitHub: VanessaE
IRC: VanessaE
In-game: VanessaE
Location: Western NC
Contact:

by VanessaE » Post

Good deal. glad to know it wasn't my code ;-)
You might like some of my stuff: Plantlife ~ More Trees ~ Home Decor ~ Pipeworks ~ HDX Textures (64-512px)

User avatar
Mito551
Member
Posts: 1271
Joined: Sat Jun 16, 2012 15:03

by Mito551 » Post

VanessaE wrote:Good deal. glad to know it wasn't my code ;-)
but i ran into something AGAIN. sorry, this isn't even funny.

Code: Select all

ERROR[main]: ERROR: An unhandled exception occurred: ServerError: LuaError: error: ...bin\..\games\dwarves_simple\mods\plants_lib\init.lua:376: attempt to index global 'p_top' (a nil value)
i don't what why or when that happened, i was out. i come back - i see this. server loads fine, but sometimes carshes with that.
Last edited by Mito551 on Sun Feb 24, 2013 17:03, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
VanessaE
Moderator
Posts: 4572
Joined: Sun Apr 01, 2012 12:38
GitHub: VanessaE
IRC: VanessaE
In-game: VanessaE
Location: Western NC
Contact:

by VanessaE » Post

GAH! Sorry about that. I suck. p_top should be pos in those lines. Fixed in git.
You might like some of my stuff: Plantlife ~ More Trees ~ Home Decor ~ Pipeworks ~ HDX Textures (64-512px)

User avatar
Mito551
Member
Posts: 1271
Joined: Sat Jun 16, 2012 15:03

by Mito551 » Post

VanessaE wrote:GAH! Sorry about that. I suck. p_top should be pos in those lines. Fixed in git.
roger.

User avatar
doyousketch2
Member
Posts: 115
Joined: Tue Feb 05, 2013 16:06
GitHub: doyousketch2
In-game: Sketch2
Location: Ohio
Contact:

by doyousketch2 » Post

Was trying to figure out why seedling wouldn't grow, so I set

Code: Select all

-- Sapling settings

moretrees.sapling_interval = 0
moretrees.sapling_chance = 100
so it would sprout right away -

Perhaps this is the wrong way to go about doing it, I dunno, but it would crash when a tree grew.

Code: Select all

22:09:20: ERROR[EmergeThread]: ERROR: An unhandled exception occurred: LuaError: error: ...t/bin/../mods/minetest/plantlife/plants_lib/init.lua:111: attempt to concatenate field 'surface' (a table value)
Here's the full debug if you need more info:
http://wikisend.com/download/607126/debug.txt

there was also a huge shadow under trees that seemed more than it should be...
- tho that's 'ptolly moreso the game engine.

And I was having some kinda trouble with Unified Inventory, so I disabled that-
along with all the other mods, just to be certain they weren't interfering.
Last edited by doyousketch2 on Thu Mar 14, 2013 02:35, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
VanessaE
Moderator
Posts: 4572
Joined: Sun Apr 01, 2012 12:38
GitHub: VanessaE
IRC: VanessaE
In-game: VanessaE
Location: Western NC
Contact:

by VanessaE » Post

Can you re-check that you have the latest plants_lib (and moretrees)? Line 111 of my current plants_lib code doesn't use that variable (in fact it's in the middle of the mapgen-based spawner).
You might like some of my stuff: Plantlife ~ More Trees ~ Home Decor ~ Pipeworks ~ HDX Textures (64-512px)

User avatar
doyousketch2
Member
Posts: 115
Joined: Tue Feb 05, 2013 16:06
GitHub: doyousketch2
In-game: Sketch2
Location: Ohio
Contact:

by doyousketch2 » Post

ty, yeah. That seems to clear everything up.
Still dunno why they weren't sprouting on 12Me21's house.

As far as I can tell, most only need a single block of dirt_with_grass underneath 'em.

Can be out in the ocean, floating 5 blocks up, in the middle of the night, and still spring up.
Image

Just needs lots of time, even with it cut down like that.

N e way, think it would be smooth to add in another texture block for each tree,
that's got more transparent holes in 'em with some branchy looking lines.

I was originally thinking it'll mostly fluff up the outside
- dense bits inside, lighter open branches outside,

but it'd be cool just to generate the trees by randomly flipping between the two,
and let the branchy bits be inside too.

Might try it out with one tree and show you what I mean, then you can lemme know what'cha think.

Edit: oh, I suppose some kinda small bush-like entities would be smooth to add too.
Last edited by doyousketch2 on Thu Mar 14, 2013 05:24, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
VanessaE
Moderator
Posts: 4572
Joined: Sun Apr 01, 2012 12:38
GitHub: VanessaE
IRC: VanessaE
In-game: VanessaE
Location: Western NC
Contact:

by VanessaE » Post

Well I used to require a 3x3 flat area under a tree to spawn, early in this mod's development, but the way Minetest's maps usually are, that caused large portions of the map to remain bare of the new trees because of the hills being usually 1 node wide per step in elevation.

Bush-like trees would be easy: the default trees, as compared to even a willow. Hell even the beech trees (disabled by default) are larger. :D
You might like some of my stuff: Plantlife ~ More Trees ~ Home Decor ~ Pipeworks ~ HDX Textures (64-512px)

Sokomine
Member
Posts: 4184
Joined: Sun Sep 09, 2012 17:31
GitHub: Sokomine

by Sokomine » Post

The missing flat area is less of a problem. Let's better stick to speed there. Bushes are something diffrent. They would be great if they could be done convincingly! They ought to be far less heigh than the default trees and start further down at the ground. Plus the thrunks need to be much smaller. Those leave-nodes containing branches as suggested by doyousketch2 might fit well.
A list of my mods can be found here.

User avatar
jojoa1997
Member
Posts: 2890
Joined: Thu Dec 13, 2012 05:11
Location: Earth

by jojoa1997 » Post

I think it would be awsome to have a bush that hangs off the side of a cliff.likeImage
Coding;
1X coding
3X debugging
12X tweaking to be just right

User avatar
doyousketch2
Member
Posts: 115
Joined: Tue Feb 05, 2013 16:06
GitHub: doyousketch2
In-game: Sketch2
Location: Ohio
Contact:

by doyousketch2 » Post

Been playing this game too much, started my reply by typing T...

lols, well thought about it while I slept.

It's 'prolly too much to make leaves_2 for every tree,
'cuz then you'd have to register all of 'em,
and carry around a seperate leaf-type for every tree.

However, we could make one block and simply call it branches.
It could have, say a 35-40% chance of replacing any leaf on a tree
(other than palm trees.)

It could be quite open, with just a little bit of green and some brown twiggy lines,
then when you chop it, it gives you a stick or two.

Everybody likes sticks, they're usable.
Plus you wouldn't have to register a whole lotta extra nodes, or create graphics for every tree type.

Gonna do the shower thing. The graphic should be easy.
Coding shoudln't be too difficult. Maybe do a final loop where it scans from ceiling to ground again,
swapping out a leaf for a branch here and there. Might take a min to put it together tho.

User avatar
webdesigner97
Member
Posts: 1327
Joined: Mon Jul 30, 2012 19:16
GitHub: webD97
IRC: webdesigner97
In-game: webdesigner97
Location: Cologne, Germany
Contact:

by webdesigner97 » Post

Great mod! I installed it and I'm speechless! :)

User avatar
VanessaE
Moderator
Posts: 4572
Joined: Sun Apr 01, 2012 12:38
GitHub: VanessaE
IRC: VanessaE
In-game: VanessaE
Location: Western NC
Contact:

by VanessaE » Post

Actually rendering two types of leaves is trivial - jungle trees do this. Now, getting them to only show up in certain places is more difficult. One could register one type as a fruit and use L-systems commands to explicitly place them (palm trees do this), leaving the other kind of leaves as the main filler.
You might like some of my stuff: Plantlife ~ More Trees ~ Home Decor ~ Pipeworks ~ HDX Textures (64-512px)

User avatar
legumev
Member
Posts: 52
Joined: Thu Feb 21, 2013 11:43

by legumev » Post

Tree variety is nice, but, in my opinion, this mod goes a little overboard with tree height and trunk thickness.
Also, the building time at game startup is very long.

User avatar
VanessaE
Moderator
Posts: 4572
Joined: Sun Apr 01, 2012 12:38
GitHub: VanessaE
IRC: VanessaE
In-game: VanessaE
Location: Western NC
Contact:

by VanessaE » Post

The height and size of the trees is deliberate and the world startup time is as good as I can do short of porting plants_lib (the part that does all the heavy lifting) to C++.
You might like some of my stuff: Plantlife ~ More Trees ~ Home Decor ~ Pipeworks ~ HDX Textures (64-512px)

User avatar
VanessaE
Moderator
Posts: 4572
Joined: Sun Apr 01, 2012 12:38
GitHub: VanessaE
IRC: VanessaE
In-game: VanessaE
Location: Western NC
Contact:

by VanessaE » Post

Update 2013-03-19: Moretrees no longer redefines/overrides jungle tree nodes et.al, except for red/green/yellow leaves. Instead, the default minetest_game nodes will be used to grow a jungle tree. Aliases are provided for backwards compatibility with existing maps made with previous versions of moretrees.
You might like some of my stuff: Plantlife ~ More Trees ~ Home Decor ~ Pipeworks ~ HDX Textures (64-512px)

User avatar
VanessaE
Moderator
Posts: 4572
Joined: Sun Apr 01, 2012 12:38
GitHub: VanessaE
IRC: VanessaE
In-game: VanessaE
Location: Western NC
Contact:

by VanessaE » Post

Update 2013-04-07:

Multiple changes in the master branch:

Fix replacement of default trees so that it works correctly. Beeches now use default tree nodes, but L-systems models. This redefines the default tree, wood, leaves, and saplings so that they use Moretrees' textures and the word "Beech" in their descriptions, but only if replacement of default trees is enabled (which is the default).

Added backward-compat aliases for this change.

Moved tree replacement mapgen->air aliases to a more logical spot in the code.

Also, changed out all leaf decay dig_node() calls for nodeupdate(), since the former calls the latter anyway, and the latter is what does the job.

Increased the palm leaf decay radius to 12.

Newstuff branch:

Newly-added branch containing experimental support for stairs/slabs/etc via More Blocks' circular saw, and so unlike the master branch, newstuff depends on the More Blocks mod. Notice: it adds a crapload of nodes, and may cause your server to crash if you're already near the limit of defined nodes (4096, due to an engine limitation).
You might like some of my stuff: Plantlife ~ More Trees ~ Home Decor ~ Pipeworks ~ HDX Textures (64-512px)

User avatar
Jouster27
Member
Posts: 117
Joined: Fri Mar 29, 2013 14:16

by Jouster27 » Post

VanessaE wrote:Update 2013-03-19: Moretrees no longer redefines/overrides jungle tree nodes et.al, except for red/green/yellow leaves. Instead, the default minetest_game nodes will be used to grow a jungle tree. Aliases are provided for backwards compatibility with existing maps made with previous versions of moretrees.
Tried the newstuff branch and now I'm able to craft with wood again. Thank you.

Oh and I have no idea how many nodes I'm running at the moment but yeah, it did crash my server the first time I started my game with the new version of the mod. Tried again, though and it seems to be running ok. *knock on wood*

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: hlqkj and 7 guests