[Mod] More Trees! [git][moretrees]

User avatar
VanessaE
Moderator
 
Posts: 4239
Joined: Sun Apr 01, 2012 12:38
Location: Waynesville, NC
GitHub: VanessaE
IRC: VanessaE
In-game: VanessaE

Re: [Mod] More Trees! [git][moretrees]

by VanessaE » Fri Aug 14, 2015 17:25

Update: This mod now uses default nodes wherever possible: jungle tree sapling, trunk and leaves (green; red and yellow are still separate), pine sapling, trunk and needles, and acacia sapling, trunk and leaves.

The regular saplings for those three trees will grow randomly into either their default models as seen in a basic Minetest install with jungles enabled, or their Moretrees counterparts (at least, they should!). Note that the "_ongen" saplings always grow into the Moretrees versions of these trees.

Plantlife modpack also required a small update in its trunks and woodsoils components to account for this change.

Another update: finally made birch, spruce, fir, and the Moretrees versions of jungle trees work again! Also, changed the biome def for those jungle trees to use the same settings as plantlife's giant ferns.
You might like some of my stuff: Plantlife ~ More Trees ~ Home Decor ~ Pipeworks ~ HDX Textures (16-512px)
 

User avatar
VanessaE
Moderator
 
Posts: 4239
Joined: Sun Apr 01, 2012 12:38
Location: Waynesville, NC
GitHub: VanessaE
IRC: VanessaE
In-game: VanessaE

Re: [Mod] More Trees! [git][moretrees]

by VanessaE » Sat Aug 15, 2015 21:18

This mod now uses the engine/game's default leaf decay code for all of its leaves.

In the process, I turned the radius for palm leaves down to 10 (from 15). If you have a moretrees_settings.txt in your world folder, delete it. It will not be recreated, so if you have a custom setting you want to keep, copy and paste as needed.
You might like some of my stuff: Plantlife ~ More Trees ~ Home Decor ~ Pipeworks ~ HDX Textures (16-512px)
 

DoyleChris
Member
 
Posts: 181
Joined: Sat Jul 25, 2015 19:54
In-game: DoyleChris

Re: [Mod] More Trees! [git][moretrees]

by DoyleChris » Sat Oct 17, 2015 19:54

Is there a way to add a craft item to the rubber trees. That besides extracting Latex off the trees or grinding the trunk them extract the grindings to get the latex. Can you cook the Leaves and get the latex.
 

User avatar
Fixer
Member
 
Posts: 854
Joined: Sun Jul 31, 2011 11:23
Location: Ukraine
IRC: Fixer
In-game: Fixer

Re: [Mod] More Trees! [git][moretrees]

by Fixer » Mon Nov 16, 2015 23:45

I've tried dreambuilder on minetest-0.4.13-this-friday-git and right away I got shadow under more trees bug :), also, what is funny, there is snow biome (tundra or taiga, don't know) and it contacts with water with tiny strip of sand... on which palm trees grow (suddenly!) :) minetest_game was 1 or 2 days old.
 

DoyleChris
Member
 
Posts: 181
Joined: Sat Jul 25, 2015 19:54
In-game: DoyleChris

Re: [Mod] More Trees! [git][moretrees]

by DoyleChris » Tue Feb 02, 2016 02:25

Problems with growing rubber trees. I started a new world and upon exploring i find the rubber tree and found a sapling, took it back to base and planted it but it has not grown at all still a sapling. I have not changed anything to the trees mod, I have even reinstalled it started a new world and they still wont grow. Other saplings will grow.
 

User avatar
JoshMars
Member
 
Posts: 106
Joined: Sat May 17, 2014 23:24
In-game: rubber UbuntuJosh

Re: [Mod] More Trees! [git][moretrees]

by JoshMars » Tue Feb 02, 2016 14:17

DoyleChris wrote:Problems with growing rubber trees. I started a new world and upon exploring i find the rubber tree and found a sapling, took it back to base and planted it but it has not grown at all still a sapling. I have not changed anything to the trees mod, I have even reinstalled it started a new world and they still wont grow. Other saplings will grow.


Check that you planted it at the right elevation, otherwise it will not grow:
https://raw.githubusercontent.com/VanessaE/moretrees/master/tree_biomes.txt
 

User avatar
JoshMars
Member
 
Posts: 106
Joined: Sat May 17, 2014 23:24
In-game: rubber UbuntuJosh

Re: [Mod] More Trees! [git][moretrees]

by JoshMars » Tue Feb 02, 2016 14:19

Two really annoying things about this mod:
1. Planting and growing trees is impossible if you built out of elevation.
2. If you want saplings, better plan a day or two of mining leaves.
 

DoyleChris
Member
 
Posts: 181
Joined: Sat Jul 25, 2015 19:54
In-game: DoyleChris

Re: [Mod] More Trees! [git][moretrees]

by DoyleChris » Tue Feb 02, 2016 16:43

I have a feeling that it is the temperature doing it. Is there a way to disable i or see what temp is around you.
 

ssieb
Member
 
Posts: 14
Joined: Mon Apr 08, 2013 19:51
GitHub: ssieb
IRC: ssieb

Re: [Mod] More Trees! [git][moretrees]

by ssieb » Tue Feb 02, 2016 18:00

I think the temperature is only used during worldgen. The temperature values aren't stored anywhere.
 

DoyleChris
Member
 
Posts: 181
Joined: Sat Jul 25, 2015 19:54
In-game: DoyleChris
 

User avatar
Minetestforfun
Member
 
Posts: 936
Joined: Tue Aug 05, 2014 14:09
Location: On earth
GitHub: Darcidride
IRC: Darcidride + MinetestForFun
In-game: Darcidride + MinetestForFun

Re: [Mod] More Trees! [git][moretrees]

by Minetestforfun » Thu Feb 04, 2016 14:57

JoshMars wrote:Two really annoying things about this mod:
1. Planting and growing trees is impossible if you built out of elevation.
2. If you want saplings, better plan a day or two of mining leaves.


Leafdecay and treecapitator are your friend
 

DoyleChris
Member
 
Posts: 181
Joined: Sat Jul 25, 2015 19:54
In-game: DoyleChris

Re: [Mod] More Trees! [git][moretrees]

by DoyleChris » Sat Feb 06, 2016 16:31

So i started a new world and found a place that did not have any ice or snow. So i found about 6 rubber trees near by where i put my home base, but i put down some dirt then planted some rubber trees but there not growing. I have a picture of it below.
Rubber.jpg
(294.43 KiB) Not downloaded yet
 

User avatar
burli
Member
 
Posts: 1608
Joined: Fri Apr 10, 2015 13:18

Re: [Mod] More Trees! [git][moretrees]

by burli » Sun May 22, 2016 05:54

more trees is completely unusable now. I use the latest versions of minetest, v7 mapgen, moretrees, moreblocks and biome_lib and it never was that worse. No other mods used for this screenshot

Image
Attachments
screenshot_20160522_074919.jpg
(174.43 KiB) Not downloaded yet
 

User avatar
VanessaE
Moderator
 
Posts: 4239
Joined: Sun Apr 01, 2012 12:38
Location: Waynesville, NC
GitHub: VanessaE
IRC: VanessaE
In-game: VanessaE

Re: [Mod] More Trees! [git][moretrees]

by VanessaE » Sun May 22, 2016 10:27

This is a known engine problem, happens with mapgen v7 and most others except for v6.

It is not a Moretrees bug.
You might like some of my stuff: Plantlife ~ More Trees ~ Home Decor ~ Pipeworks ~ HDX Textures (16-512px)
 

User avatar
paramat
Developer
 
Posts: 3176
Joined: Sun Oct 28, 2012 00:05
Location: UK
GitHub: paramat
IRC: paramat

Re: [Mod] More Trees! [git][moretrees]

by paramat » Mon May 23, 2016 01:45

See https://github.com/minetest/minetest/issues/3421 for explanation.

Not a mod bug, l-system currently causes lighting bugs, subtle in mgv6, extreme in all other mapgens.
L-system may have been merged because no-one noticed the subtle shadows in water during testing, or changes to lighting code over the years created the subtle bugs later.
Then the new mapgens came along with 1 up 1 down overgeneration which makes the bug more extreme.

If you can cope with subtle shadows in water use the moretrees option to place trees as saplings, in all non-mgv6 mapgens.
 

User avatar
Fixer
Member
 
Posts: 854
Joined: Sun Jul 31, 2011 11:23
Location: Ukraine
IRC: Fixer
In-game: Fixer

Re: [Mod] More Trees! [git][moretrees]

by Fixer » Mon May 23, 2016 14:13

Vanessa, could you just make growing them via saplings by default to avoid these questions until bug is fixed in engine? People are using it on server with those broken shadows all over it and don't even know about this method.
Last edited by Fixer on Mon May 23, 2016 18:53, edited 1 time in total.
 

User avatar
VanessaE
Moderator
 
Posts: 4239
Joined: Sun Apr 01, 2012 12:38
Location: Waynesville, NC
GitHub: VanessaE
IRC: VanessaE
In-game: VanessaE

Re: [Mod] More Trees! [git][moretrees]

by VanessaE » Mon May 23, 2016 14:17

At one time, that was the default setting, and I am not about to change it back to just to accommodate an engine glitch. :-P

Look in your world directory for a file named "moretrees_settings.txt" (if it doesn't already exist, create it), and add this to it:

Code: Select all
moretrees.spawn_saplings = true
You might like some of my stuff: Plantlife ~ More Trees ~ Home Decor ~ Pipeworks ~ HDX Textures (16-512px)
 

User avatar
Fixer
Member
 
Posts: 854
Joined: Sun Jul 31, 2011 11:23
Location: Ukraine
IRC: Fixer
In-game: Fixer

Re: [Mod] More Trees! [git][moretrees]

by Fixer » Mon May 23, 2016 15:41

At one time, that was the default setting, and I am not about to change it back to just to accommodate an engine glitch. :-P


First page actually says it is planted as saplings by default, my point is people (including admins) rarely read README.TXT or whatever and just enable it in mods and rage how minetest so itty and mods unstable, bug on bug la-la-la, better generate them as saplings, you will wait for bugfix of shadow for years probably :}
Last edited by Fixer on Mon May 23, 2016 18:54, edited 1 time in total.
 

User avatar
VanessaE
Moderator
 
Posts: 4239
Joined: Sun Apr 01, 2012 12:38
Location: Waynesville, NC
GitHub: VanessaE
IRC: VanessaE
In-game: VanessaE
 

User avatar
burli
Member
 
Posts: 1608
Joined: Fri Apr 10, 2015 13:18

Re: [Mod] More Trees! [git][moretrees]

by burli » Mon May 23, 2016 15:45

Naj wrote:You can also use this mod : https://github.com/minetest-mods/mapfix

It gives a /mapfix command that fixes shadows (and fluids) around the player issuing it.

Mapfix is not a solution if you have to type /mapfix every minute. Maybe it can be called in the background every 10 seconds, but it is still... crap

I tryed the sapling option. Better than nothing. But it is scary if a Sequoia grows right in front of you and you see nothing and it is dark :-D

I really hope that this bug will be fixed soon. It's annoying
 

User avatar
Fixer
Member
 
Posts: 854
Joined: Sun Jul 31, 2011 11:23
Location: Ukraine
IRC: Fixer
In-game: Fixer

Re: [Mod] More Trees! [git][moretrees]

by Fixer » Mon May 23, 2016 15:47

VanessaE wrote:Oops, fixed.

Whats wrong with planting saplings instead? :/ Abm should not be that heavy. Also, add red text with warning about shadow issue.
Last edited by Fixer on Mon May 23, 2016 18:54, edited 1 time in total.
 

User avatar
VanessaE
Moderator
 
Posts: 4239
Joined: Sun Apr 01, 2012 12:38
Location: Waynesville, NC
GitHub: VanessaE
IRC: VanessaE
In-game: VanessaE

Re: [Mod] More Trees! [git][moretrees]

by VanessaE » Mon May 23, 2016 15:49

The word is "sapling" :P anyway it's because I simply prefer to have the mod spawn the trees already grown.
You might like some of my stuff: Plantlife ~ More Trees ~ Home Decor ~ Pipeworks ~ HDX Textures (16-512px)
 

User avatar
Fixer
Member
 
Posts: 854
Joined: Sun Jul 31, 2011 11:23
Location: Ukraine
IRC: Fixer
In-game: Fixer

Re: [Mod] More Trees! [git][moretrees]

by Fixer » Mon May 23, 2016 15:51

I wonder if it is possible to enable instant spawning on mgv6 and sapling-like spawning on other mapgens automatically?
 

User avatar
VanessaE
Moderator
 
Posts: 4239
Joined: Sun Apr 01, 2012 12:38
Location: Waynesville, NC
GitHub: VanessaE
IRC: VanessaE
In-game: VanessaE

Re: [Mod] More Trees! [git][moretrees]

by VanessaE » Mon May 23, 2016 15:59

I think that's possible but I've never looked into it, since it's so trivial to change the setting.
You might like some of my stuff: Plantlife ~ More Trees ~ Home Decor ~ Pipeworks ~ HDX Textures (16-512px)
 

User avatar
JoshMars
Member
 
Posts: 106
Joined: Sat May 17, 2014 23:24
In-game: rubber UbuntuJosh

Re: [Mod] More Trees! [git][moretrees]

by JoshMars » Tue Jan 31, 2017 15:28

Have you ever considered adding maple? They are quite popular here in the states.
 

PreviousNext

Return to Mod Releases



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 6 guests