[Modpack] 3D Armor [0.4.13] [minetest-3d_armor]

Spartacuscat
New member
 
Posts: 9
Joined: Fri Nov 25, 2011 20:37

Re: [Modpack] minetest-3d_armor [0.4.1] [minetest-3d_armor]

by Spartacuscat » Sun May 11, 2014 21:41

stu wrote:You will need to provide a bit more information than that i'm afraid, pastebin the relevant section of your debug.txt file, also tell me what version of minetest and what version of this modpack you are using. It is important that you choose the correct one.


Chose the newest one, for 4.9, running Ubuntu 12.04 and for some reason I'm not getting a debug.txt file when the error happens.

How do I get the debug.txt?
 

User avatar
stu
Member
 
Posts: 923
Joined: Sat Feb 02, 2013 02:51
Location: United Kingdom
GitHub: stujones11

Re: [Modpack] minetest-3d_armor [0.4.1] [minetest-3d_armor]

by stu » Sun May 11, 2014 21:50

Spartacuscat wrote:
stu wrote:You will need to provide a bit more information than that i'm afraid, pastebin the relevant section of your debug.txt file, also tell me what version of minetest and what version of this modpack you are using. It is important that you choose the correct one.


Chose the newest one, for 4.9, running Ubuntu 12.04 and for some reason I'm not getting a debug.txt file when the error happens.

How do I get the debug.txt?

You should find debug.txt in your minetest/bin directory, when you find it, delete it and run the program again to reproduce the error. debug.txt will now contain only relevant information, thanks.
 

Spartacuscat
New member
 
Posts: 9
Joined: Fri Nov 25, 2011 20:37

Re: [Modpack] minetest-3d_armor [0.4.1] [minetest-3d_armor]

by Spartacuscat » Sun May 11, 2014 21:57

Okay here it is

+ Spoiler
 

User avatar
stu
Member
 
Posts: 923
Joined: Sat Feb 02, 2013 02:51
Location: United Kingdom
GitHub: stujones11

Re: [Modpack] minetest-3d_armor [0.4.1] [minetest-3d_armor]

by stu » Sun May 11, 2014 22:20

Are you by any chance using a different game to minetest_game? If so then there is a chance it's version of default player.lua may not be compatible.

I can think of no other reason you would get that error, player_register_model should not be a nil value in minetest 0.4.9 stable.
 

Spartacuscat
New member
 
Posts: 9
Joined: Fri Nov 25, 2011 20:37

Re: [Modpack] minetest-3d_armor [0.4.1] [minetest-3d_armor]

by Spartacuscat » Sun May 11, 2014 23:01

Well I used these command parameters on my terminal to install it.

sudo add-apt-repository ppa:minetestdevs/stable
sudo apt-get update
sudo apt-get install minetestc55

So that's a big no.
 

User avatar
stu
Member
 
Posts: 923
Joined: Sat Feb 02, 2013 02:51
Location: United Kingdom
GitHub: stujones11

Re: [Modpack] minetest-3d_armor [0.4.1] [minetest-3d_armor]

by stu » Sun May 11, 2014 23:12

Spartacuscat wrote:Well I used these command parameters on my terminal to install it.

sudo add-apt-repository ppa:minetestdevs/stable
sudo apt-get update
sudo apt-get install minetestc55

So that's a big no.

So you will also need to download minetest game
Code: Select all
cd minetest/games
git clone git://github.com/minetest/minetest_game.git

This mod does not work with minimal, I guess I should make this more clear in the top post.
 

Spartacuscat
New member
 
Posts: 9
Joined: Fri Nov 25, 2011 20:37

Re: [Modpack] minetest-3d_armor [0.4.1] [minetest-3d_armor]

by Spartacuscat » Sun May 11, 2014 23:18

Aw shyucks, I'm sorry man, I joined this community nearly 3 years ago so I wasn't able to keep up with stuff like that, which mostly everyone knows about by now.
 

Vazon
Member
 
Posts: 191
Joined: Sat Aug 17, 2013 17:20
Location: Tennessee, U.S
IRC: Vazon
In-game: Vazon

Re: [Modpack] minetest-3d_armor [0.4.1] [minetest-3d_armor]

by Vazon » Sun May 11, 2014 23:57

Hey I thought this would be cool, if the wield hand was a 3d item like in the built_items when they are droped, in stead of just a flat image. But its just a idea.
 

Spartacuscat
New member
 
Posts: 9
Joined: Fri Nov 25, 2011 20:37

Re: [Modpack] minetest-3d_armor [0.4.1] [minetest-3d_armor]

by Spartacuscat » Mon May 12, 2014 02:41

stu wrote:So you will also need to download minetest game
Code: Select all
cd minetest/games
git clone git://github.com/minetest/minetest_game.git



So I ran that code and installed it and compiled it to the best of my abilities twice and the armor pack still doesn't work. Care to tell me what I'm doing wrong?

+ Spoiler


Should I just uninstall everything and start fresh?

I also followed this wiki entry's directions http://dev.minetest.net/Compiling_Minetest

If you can't help me please redirect somewhere where I can receive help, please.
 

User avatar
Topywo
Member
 
Posts: 1721
Joined: Fri May 18, 2012 20:27

Re: [Modpack] minetest-3d_armor [0.4.1] [minetest-3d_armor]

by Topywo » Mon May 12, 2014 08:31

cd minetest-minetest-286edd4 (or similar), cd minetest-minetest-286edd4

-->

286edd4 is the example directory. You need another letter/number combination. It's in a directory/folder you created seconds before. Look in your home directory for the right number/letter combination after minetest- and copy it from there. It could be something like cd minetest-minetest-15740ff.
 

User avatar
Inocudom
Member
 
Posts: 3072
Joined: Sat Sep 29, 2012 01:14
IRC: Inocudom
In-game: Inocudom

Re: [Modpack] minetest-3d_armor [0.4.1] [minetest-3d_armor]

by Inocudom » Thu May 15, 2014 02:01

I have an interesting idea. How about the ability for a player to make his/her armor invisible?
You can now find my videos at BitChute: https://www.bitchute.com/channel/some_cheeky_jinuskian/
 

User avatar
stu
Member
 
Posts: 923
Joined: Sat Feb 02, 2013 02:51
Location: United Kingdom
GitHub: stujones11

Re: [Modpack] minetest-3d_armor [0.4.1] [minetest-3d_armor]

by stu » Thu May 15, 2014 21:49

Vazon wrote:Hey I thought this would be cool, if the wield hand was a 3d item like in the built_items when they are droped, in stead of just a flat image. But its just a idea.


Sorry, I missed this post. I already did that with my wield3d mod, unfortunately I am currently unable to get both bone attachment and multiple materials to work together. The former works in .b3d and the latter only in .x, from what I can gather, the blender exporters may be to blame in both cases. I am still looking into it, however.

Inocudom wrote:I have an interesting idea. How about the ability for a player to make his/her armor invisible?


Seems a little counter productive for a modpack entitled 'Visible Wielded Items & Player Armor'
I guess I could call it 'Air Armor', it would make a nice match for the 'Air Sword' ;-)
 

Glünggi
Member
 
Posts: 126
Joined: Wed Apr 16, 2014 08:13
Location: Switzerland

Re: [Modpack] minetest-3d_armor [0.4.1] [minetest-3d_armor]

by Glünggi » Sun May 18, 2014 16:13

Vote for Nyan Cat Armor :P... in rainbowcolors of curse ;)

Edit:
And is there a way to suspend Breathdamage under Water from Armordamage?
 

User avatar
Inocudom
Member
 
Posts: 3072
Joined: Sat Sep 29, 2012 01:14
IRC: Inocudom
In-game: Inocudom

Re: [Modpack] minetest-3d_armor [0.4.1] [minetest-3d_armor]

by Inocudom » Sun May 18, 2014 20:55

stu wrote:
Inocudom wrote:I have an interesting idea. How about the ability for a player to make his/her armor invisible?


Seems a little counter productive for a modpack entitled 'Visible Wielded Items & Player Armor'
I guess I could call it 'Air Armor', it would make a nice match for the 'Air Sword' ;-)

I know, but sometimes players want to look at their skins and have protection at the same time. The option could apply to all types of armor. It would be a step up from Minecraft.
You can now find my videos at BitChute: https://www.bitchute.com/channel/some_cheeky_jinuskian/
 

User avatar
nman3600
Member
 
Posts: 168
Joined: Fri Feb 07, 2014 17:06
GitHub: nman3600
IRC: nman3600
In-game: nman3600
 

Nubelite
Member
 
Posts: 161
Joined: Mon Jul 16, 2012 23:10

Re: [Modpack] minetest-3d_armor [0.4.1] [minetest-3d_armor]

by Nubelite » Thu May 22, 2014 23:30

Question:
This might be more server config related but how can you limit the attack range so both players have to be close to each other?

Issue:
With armor on an empty hand attack does more damage then a sword would. This is mostly noticeable with the steel armor.
 

Vazon
Member
 
Posts: 191
Joined: Sat Aug 17, 2013 17:20
Location: Tennessee, U.S
IRC: Vazon
In-game: Vazon

Re: [Modpack] minetest-3d_armor [0.4.1] [minetest-3d_armor]

by Vazon » Sun May 25, 2014 04:06

stu wrote:
Vazon wrote:Hey I thought this would be cool, if the wield hand was a 3d item like in the built_items when they are droped, in stead of just a flat image. But its just a idea.


Sorry, I missed this post. I already did that with my wield3d mod, unfortunately I am currently unable to get both bone attachment and multiple materials to work together. The former works in .b3d and the latter only in .x, from what I can gather, the blender exporters may be to blame in both cases. I am still looking into it, however.


Ok, ya I found it and started working with it along side unified_skins, and 3d_armor. I managed to get the item in the right place I just cant get the item to attach to his hand but other wise it seems to work fine. If there was anyway just to attach the two then it would be fine.
 

User avatar
stu
Member
 
Posts: 923
Joined: Sat Feb 02, 2013 02:51
Location: United Kingdom
GitHub: stujones11

Re: [Modpack] minetest-3d_armor [0.4.1] [minetest-3d_armor]

by stu » Sun May 25, 2014 13:34

Vazon wrote:
stu wrote:
Vazon wrote:Hey I thought this would be cool, if the wield hand was a 3d item like in the built_items when they are droped, in stead of just a flat image. But its just a idea.


Sorry, I missed this post. I already did that with my wield3d mod, unfortunately I am currently unable to get both bone attachment and multiple materials to work together. The former works in .b3d and the latter only in .x, from what I can gather, the blender exporters may be to blame in both cases. I am still looking into it, however.


Ok, ya I found it and started working with it along side unified_skins, and 3d_armor. I managed to get the item in the right place I just cant get the item to attach to his hand but other wise it seems to work fine. If there was anyway just to attach the two then it would be fine.


There is but it's a bit messy, you need to 'doctor' the model so that is can be exported with the right handed coordinate system.
Unless you are a wizard with blender, this will not be a trivial matter for the 3d_armor model.

This post on gamedev.net is about the best info I have found so far.
http://www.gamedev.net/topic/627603-strange-problem-with-irrlicht-and-attaching-objects-to-bone-nodes/
 

Vazon
Member
 
Posts: 191
Joined: Sat Aug 17, 2013 17:20
Location: Tennessee, U.S
IRC: Vazon
In-game: Vazon

Re: [Modpack] minetest-3d_armor [0.4.1] [minetest-3d_armor]

by Vazon » Sun May 25, 2014 14:18

Ya, I'm not a blender person, so I would have no idea how to do that.
 

User avatar
ak399g
Member
 
Posts: 160
Joined: Tue Jul 30, 2013 02:36
In-game: SAFR

Re: [Modpack] minetest-3d_armor [0.4.1] [minetest-3d_armor]

by ak399g » Sat Jun 07, 2014 18:59

Is there any way to get this to work with Unified Inventory instead of Inventory++?
 

Vazon
Member
 
Posts: 191
Joined: Sat Aug 17, 2013 17:20
Location: Tennessee, U.S
IRC: Vazon
In-game: Vazon

Re: [Modpack] minetest-3d_armor [0.4.1] [minetest-3d_armor]

by Vazon » Sat Jun 07, 2014 19:22

ak399g i have done that on my server, i merged Carbones settings and removed some code and now its in the unifed inv.
 

User avatar
stu
Member
 
Posts: 923
Joined: Sat Feb 02, 2013 02:51
Location: United Kingdom
GitHub: stujones11

Re: [Modpack] minetest-3d_armor [0.4.1] [minetest-3d_armor]

by stu » Sat Jun 07, 2014 19:24

ak399g wrote:Is there any way to get this to work with Unified Inventory instead of Inventory++?

The current git master already has support for UI
https://forum.minetest.net/viewtopic.php?p=137509#p137509
I guess it's about time I updated the top post, sorry about that.
 

User avatar
ak399g
Member
 
Posts: 160
Joined: Tue Jul 30, 2013 02:36
In-game: SAFR

Re: [Modpack] minetest-3d_armor [0.4.1] [minetest-3d_armor]

by ak399g » Sat Jun 07, 2014 19:51

as I had recalled. Thanks Vazon and stu!

followup Q: I put on some armor and it did show up on the player model. when I went to change it, it disappeared and wouldn't show, no matter what armor I put on. If it's of any concern, I did create my own armor (essentially registering a new set of textures - same levels as diamond armor)

edit: it's strange because depending on the order or spacing I put a helmet, chestplate, and boots in, it may or may not display. not sure what's happening.

edit: scratch that. it's strange because it randomly happens, no matter the configuration. if I switch to another wielditem, there's a chance the armor will stop displaying. fiddle a bit and it may come back. totally random.
Also running player_textures, but this happens to a player who doesn't have a personal texture either. Not sure if it's because I'm running 3 instances of minetest on one machine.

edit: under further examination, it's definitely something strange going on with wieldview. Either I can see the armor but not the item a player is holding, or I can see the item but not the armor. Exclusivity problem.
 

User avatar
stu
Member
 
Posts: 923
Joined: Sat Feb 02, 2013 02:51
Location: United Kingdom
GitHub: stujones11

Re: [Modpack] minetest-3d_armor [0.4.1] [minetest-3d_armor]

by stu » Sun Jun 08, 2014 15:06

ak399g wrote:as I had recalled. Thanks Vazon and stu!

followup Q: I put on some armor and it did show up on the player model. when I went to change it, it disappeared and wouldn't show, no matter what armor I put on. If it's of any concern, I did create my own armor (essentially registering a new set of textures - same levels as diamond armor)

edit: it's strange because depending on the order or spacing I put a helmet, chestplate, and boots in, it may or may not display. not sure what's happening.

edit: scratch that. it's strange because it randomly happens, no matter the configuration. if I switch to another wielditem, there's a chance the armor will stop displaying. fiddle a bit and it may come back. totally random.
Also running player_textures, but this happens to a player who doesn't have a personal texture either. Not sure if it's because I'm running 3 instances of minetest on one machine.

edit: under further examination, it's definitely something strange going on with wieldview. Either I can see the armor but not the item a player is holding, or I can see the item but not the armor. Exclusivity problem.


This sounds like a mod or version conflict somewhere, are you using this with something other than minetest_game,
if so then it may not have a compatible version of player.lua

Custom textures should be fine as long as you followed the naming convention, besides they would either work or not, they would not just work sometimes.

When you say that some armor does not show up, are you talking about the preview, the second person veiw (another client) or the third person view (F7) and does it affect all three?

Can you test this with all other mods disabled (except for player_textures and your chosen inventory mod)
Also please let me know your exact minetest engine version, ie the git head it was built from so I can try to reproduce this myself, thanks.
 

User avatar
ak399g
Member
 
Posts: 160
Joined: Tue Jul 30, 2013 02:36
In-game: SAFR

Re: [Modpack] minetest-3d_armor [0.4.1] [minetest-3d_armor]

by ak399g » Sun Jun 08, 2014 16:54

stu wrote:This sounds like a mod or version conflict somewhere, are you using this with something other than minetest_game,
if so then it may not have a compatible version of player.lua

Custom textures should be fine as long as you followed the naming convention, besides they would either work or not, they would not just work sometimes.

When you say that some armor does not show up, are you talking about the preview, the second person veiw (another client) or the third person view (F7) and does it affect all three?

Can you test this with all other mods disabled (except for player_textures and your chosen inventory mod)
Also please let me know your exact minetest engine version, ie the git head it was built from so I can try to reproduce this myself, thanks.


I am using the game "minetest_server", but that's just me copying "minetest_game" with bones removed.

When I say the armor does not show up, I mean: I have creative inventory previews and textures for the armor. I have not made on-character previews for the armor menu (that's not the problem). When looking at Player A from a second client (Person B), Player A can put on armor and it is displayed. When Player A switches the active item in his inventory hotbar, wieldview will kick in but the armor will stop displaying. When Player A goes back into his armor menu and moves some stuff around, the armor (usually) shows up again, but wieldview then stops working. This goes back and forth ad infinitum.

My version of minetest is 0.4.9, out of the minetestc55 PPA. https://launchpad.net/~minetestdevs/+archive/stable/ -- I do not have F7 third-person functionality. I do not know the git head it was built from or where to find that out. (Should I be using the minetestc55 ppa, or the standard minetest ppa that shows up in Synaptic? I run Xubuntu 14.04)

I tried it under a test world using "minetest_server" with player_textures and unified inventory. There is no glitching. Makes me think it's a world mod conflict. The mods I'm using in the world that glitches are:
+ Spoiler


I'll let you know if I can solve it.

EDIT: For some reason, two submods of a duplicate universal 3d_armor modpack were enabled (also why I couldn't see them earlier, being only partially enabled), and turning those off seems to have solved the problem. Regular nodes do not show up in the wieldview still, but the armor no longer glitches out and tools do show up.
 

PreviousNext

Return to Mod Releases



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 6 guests