[Modpack] 3D Armor [0.4.13] [minetest-3d_armor]

User avatar
davidthecreator
Member
Posts: 359
Joined: Mon Aug 18, 2014 19:48
GitHub: daviddoesminetest
In-game: DavidDoesMinetest
Location: Lithuania

Re: [Modpack] 3D Armor [0.4.9] [minetest-3d_armor]

by davidthecreator » Post

stu wrote:
ExeterDad wrote:This is good news! Hopefully you guys nail it down. The armor being OP when it comes to mobs is why I was resistant to adding armor to our server in the beginning. But of course player demand made me cave and add it. Heh heh... this is gonna be fun :)
It's really quite a tricky problem to overcome because decreasing armor effectiveness makes it useless against players, while increasing mob damage would be unsuitable for those not using armor. The only real solution is for the mob writers to either self-adjust for armor or at least expose some sort of global damage coefficient, much like this mod does ;)
taking away 2 points of protection, from each piece of diamond armor, so full set's protection value is 75% instead of 85% should be just fine, cause for now, diamond armor is too OP, even in PVP, as even a diamond sword only deals 1HP of damage... + don't forget the 60% heal...

User avatar
stu
Member
Posts: 923
Joined: Sat Feb 02, 2013 02:51
GitHub: stujones11
Location: United Kingdom

Re: [Modpack] 3D Armor [0.4.9] [minetest-3d_armor]

by stu » Post

Aerozoic wrote:stu, support for your 3d armor was completely removed from xdecor's enchanting: https://github.com/minetest-mods/xdecor/issues/81
Well that's just a shame, I was not aware of any breakage and if people are not willing to report such issues then there's not a great deal I can do about it.
davidthecreator wrote:taking away 2 points of protection, from each piece of diamond armor, so full set's protection value is 75% instead of 85% should be just fine, cause for now, diamond armor is too OP, even in PVP, as even a diamond sword only deals 1HP of damage... + don't forget the 60% heal...
Sorry, I've still not had a chance to have a proper look at this but reducing the levels of the higher tier armor might be good idea anyway. However, there may be a bug here, maybe even be the cause of the xdecor breakage :P

User avatar
stu
Member
Posts: 923
Joined: Sat Feb 02, 2013 02:51
GitHub: stujones11
Location: United Kingdom

Re: [Modpack] 3D Armor [0.4.9] [minetest-3d_armor]

by stu » Post

Edward wrote:Hello,

I'm having an issue with this mod, where the damage received from mob attacks is always reduced to 0 and the durability of armor parts isn't affected. This happens to me in Minetest 0.4.16-stable (Linux amd64), using just minetest_default, 3d_armor(from git in this topic), mobs_redo and ... well... mobs.

My tests with git bisect showed me the very first commit where this problem happens to be this one. If I had more information about the concept and inner workings of the armors it might help me pinpoint the problem and issue a pull request sooner.
I have done some testing and the only difference I can see in the player armor is that the 'level' group was removed at this point, the 'fleshy' damage groups are identical for the armor I've tested. However, I can see no mention of a 'level' group in the official documentation regarding the player damage mechanism and I don't even remember why it was ever included but perhaps it does make a difference?

I am having difficulty seeing the effect on mobs and was wondering if there was a specific mob/armor combination that demonstrates the difference in a practical and reproducible way.

User avatar
stu
Member
Posts: 923
Joined: Sat Feb 02, 2013 02:51
GitHub: stujones11
Location: United Kingdom

Re: [Modpack] 3D Armor [0.4.10] [minetest-3d_armor]

by stu » Post

Version update: 0.4.10
  • Replace deprecated methods by @AntumDeluge
  • Add complete intllib support by @fat115
  • Include Italian local by @H4mlet
  • Fix image sRGB profile warnings
  • Various other bug-fixes by myself and @bell07
I have now included the offset models required for latest development builds in a temporary feature branch for convenience, however, this is not yet officially supported. MT_0.5.0-dev

BBmine
Member
Posts: 3475
Joined: Sun Jul 12, 2015 22:51
GitHub: BBmine
IRC: BBmine
In-game: Baggins
Location: USA

Re: [Modpack] 3D Armor [0.4.10] [minetest-3d_armor]

by BBmine » Post

I am having a problem with the 0.4.16-stable version of this mod.

Code: Select all

2017-10-25 21:16:32: ACTION[Server]: singleplayer [127.0.0.1] joins game. 
2017-10-25 21:16:32: ACTION[Server]: singleplayer joins game. List of players: singleplayer
2017-10-25 21:16:32: ERROR[Main]: ServerError: AsyncErr: environment_Step: Runtime error from mod '3d_armor' in callback environment_Step(): /home/user/.minetest/mods/3d_armor/3d_armor_ui/init.lua:16: attempt to index field 'current_page' (a nil value)
2017-10-25 21:16:32: ERROR[Main]: stack traceback:
2017-10-25 21:16:32: ERROR[Main]: 	/home/user/.minetest/mods/3d_armor/3d_armor_ui/init.lua:16: in function 'func'
2017-10-25 21:16:32: ERROR[Main]: 	/home/user/.minetest/mods/3d_armor/3d_armor/api.lua:156: in function 'run_callbacks'
2017-10-25 21:16:32: ERROR[Main]: 	/home/user/.minetest/mods/3d_armor/3d_armor/api.lua:173: in function 'update_player_visuals'
2017-10-25 21:16:32: ERROR[Main]: 	/home/user/.minetest/mods/3d_armor/3d_armor/api.lua:295: in function 'set_player_armor'
2017-10-25 21:16:32: ERROR[Main]: 	/home/user/.minetest/mods/3d_armor/3d_armor/init.lua:200: in function 'init_player_armor'
2017-10-25 21:16:32: ERROR[Main]: 	/home/user/.minetest/mods/3d_armor/3d_armor/init.lua:242: in function 'func'
2017-10-25 21:16:32: ERROR[Main]: 	/usr/local/share/minetest/builtin/common/after.lua:18: in function </usr/local/share/minetest/builtin/common/after.lua:4>
2017-10-25 21:16:32: ERROR[Main]: 	/usr/local/share/minetest/builtin/game/register.lua:412: in function </usr/local/share/minetest/builtin/game/register.lua:392>
2017-10-25 21:16:32: ERROR[Main]: stack traceback:
2017-10-25 21:17:32: ERROR[Main]: Please choose a name!

User avatar
stu
Member
Posts: 923
Joined: Sat Feb 02, 2013 02:51
GitHub: stujones11
Location: United Kingdom

Re: [Modpack] 3D Armor [0.4.10] [minetest-3d_armor]

by stu » Post

BBmine wrote:I am having a problem with the 0.4.16-stable version of this mod.

Code: Select all

2017-10-25 21:16:32: ACTION[Server]: singleplayer [127.0.0.1] joins game. 
2017-10-25 21:16:32: ACTION[Server]: singleplayer joins game. List of players: singleplayer
2017-10-25 21:16:32: ERROR[Main]: ServerError: AsyncErr: environment_Step: Runtime error from mod '3d_armor' in callback environment_Step(): /home/user/.minetest/mods/3d_armor/3d_armor_ui/init.lua:16: attempt to index field 'current_page' (a nil value)
2017-10-25 21:16:32: ERROR[Main]: stack traceback:
2017-10-25 21:16:32: ERROR[Main]: 	/home/user/.minetest/mods/3d_armor/3d_armor_ui/init.lua:16: in function 'func'
2017-10-25 21:16:32: ERROR[Main]: 	/home/user/.minetest/mods/3d_armor/3d_armor/api.lua:156: in function 'run_callbacks'
2017-10-25 21:16:32: ERROR[Main]: 	/home/user/.minetest/mods/3d_armor/3d_armor/api.lua:173: in function 'update_player_visuals'
2017-10-25 21:16:32: ERROR[Main]: 	/home/user/.minetest/mods/3d_armor/3d_armor/api.lua:295: in function 'set_player_armor'
2017-10-25 21:16:32: ERROR[Main]: 	/home/user/.minetest/mods/3d_armor/3d_armor/init.lua:200: in function 'init_player_armor'
2017-10-25 21:16:32: ERROR[Main]: 	/home/user/.minetest/mods/3d_armor/3d_armor/init.lua:242: in function 'func'
2017-10-25 21:16:32: ERROR[Main]: 	/usr/local/share/minetest/builtin/common/after.lua:18: in function </usr/local/share/minetest/builtin/common/after.lua:4>
2017-10-25 21:16:32: ERROR[Main]: 	/usr/local/share/minetest/builtin/game/register.lua:412: in function </usr/local/share/minetest/builtin/game/register.lua:392>
2017-10-25 21:16:32: ERROR[Main]: stack traceback:
2017-10-25 21:17:32: ERROR[Main]: Please choose a name!
It looks like you are using an outdated or incompatible fork of Unified Inventory, it is working fine with the latest version here: https://github.com/minetest-technic/unified_inventory

BBmine
Member
Posts: 3475
Joined: Sun Jul 12, 2015 22:51
GitHub: BBmine
IRC: BBmine
In-game: Baggins
Location: USA

Re: [Modpack] 3D Armor [0.4.10] [minetest-3d_armor]

by BBmine » Post

stu wrote:It looks like you are using an outdated or incompatible fork of Unified Inventory, it is working fine with the latest version here: https://github.com/minetest-technic/unified_inventory
I'm using the fork that uses sfinv, the new inventory.

User avatar
Lone_Wolf
Member
Posts: 2380
Joined: Sun Apr 09, 2017 05:50
GitHub: LoneWolfHT
IRC: Lone_Wolf or LoneWolfHT
In-game: Lone_Wolf
Location: Not there, THERE!

Re: [Modpack] 3D Armor [0.4.10] [minetest-3d_armor]

by Lone_Wolf » Post

Could you add an option to enable a /armor cmd? Some mobile users' phones cut off the top of the inventory. Which prevents them from putting on armor

User avatar
stu
Member
Posts: 923
Joined: Sat Feb 02, 2013 02:51
GitHub: stujones11
Location: United Kingdom

Re: [Modpack] 3D Armor [0.4.10] [minetest-3d_armor]

by stu » Post

Lone_Wolf wrote:Could you add an option to enable a /armor cmd? Some mobile users' phones cut off the top of the inventory. Which prevents them from putting on armor
Surely there is a much bigger issue here, assuming you are using the default sfinv then the game would unplayable if the tabs were cut off. Or do you mean only the armor tab is inaccessible? I am not against adding an optional command but it doesn't fix the real problem.

Maybe this mod can help: Armor stand

User avatar
Lone_Wolf
Member
Posts: 2380
Joined: Sun Apr 09, 2017 05:50
GitHub: LoneWolfHT
IRC: Lone_Wolf or LoneWolfHT
In-game: Lone_Wolf
Location: Not there, THERE!

Re: [Modpack] 3D Armor [0.4.10] [minetest-3d_armor]

by Lone_Wolf » Post

That mod will work. Thanks!
This is what the mobile user sees
Image
The problem was fixed by following the steps here. http://hometownserver.com/viewtopic.php?f=14&t=428

miloszs
Member
Posts: 184
Joined: Thu Jul 07, 2016 21:20
GitHub: miloszs
IRC: miloszs mmmm
In-game: miloszs mmmm
Location: Poland

Re: [Modpack] 3D Armor [0.4.10] [minetest-3d_armor]

by miloszs » Post

I think older textures of armors were better.

Chem871
Member
Posts: 954
Joined: Sat Aug 19, 2017 21:49
GitHub: Chemguy99
In-game: Chem Nyx
Location: My Basement's Attic

Re: [Modpack] 3D Armor [0.4.10] [minetest-3d_armor]

by Chem871 » Post

I think newer textures are better; but maybe stu should add an option to give whoever downloads the mod a choice of what textures they want.
What is SCP-055?

User avatar
stu
Member
Posts: 923
Joined: Sat Feb 02, 2013 02:51
GitHub: stujones11
Location: United Kingdom

Re: [Modpack] 3D Armor [0.4.10] [minetest-3d_armor]

by stu » Post

miloszs wrote:I think older textures of armors were better.
It's all a matter of taste really, I personally prefer the new ones. However, you can easily override them client-side by applying a simple texture pack containing your own preferred images.

Chem871
Member
Posts: 954
Joined: Sat Aug 19, 2017 21:49
GitHub: Chemguy99
In-game: Chem Nyx
Location: My Basement's Attic

Re: [Modpack] 3D Armor [0.4.10] [minetest-3d_armor]

by Chem871 » Post

Do you think there should be mese armor?
What is SCP-055?

BBmine
Member
Posts: 3475
Joined: Sun Jul 12, 2015 22:51
GitHub: BBmine
IRC: BBmine
In-game: Baggins
Location: USA

sfinv has error and game crashes

by BBmine » Post

Code: Select all

2017-11-13 09:58:55: ERROR[Main]: ServerError: AsyncErr: ServerThread::run Lua: Runtime error from mod 'sfinv' in callback on_playerReceiveFields(): /home/user/.minetest/games/noob_academy/mods/sfinv/api.lua:111: invalid value (table) at index 4 in table for 'concat'
2017-11-13 09:58:55: ERROR[Main]: stack traceback:
2017-11-13 09:58:55: ERROR[Main]: 	[C]: in function 'get_formspec'
2017-11-13 09:58:55: ERROR[Main]: 	/home/user/.minetest/games/noob_academy/mods/sfinv/api.lua:111: in function 'set_player_inventory_formspec'
2017-11-13 09:58:55: ERROR[Main]: 	/home/user/.minetest/games/noob_academy/mods/sfinv/api.lua:127: in function 'set_page'
2017-11-13 09:58:55: ERROR[Main]: 	/home/user/.minetest/games/noob_academy/mods/sfinv/api.lua:160: in function </home/user/.minetest/games/noob_academy/mods/sfinv/api.lua:140>
2017-11-13 09:58:55: ERROR[Main]: 	...m9FA/usr/bin/../share/minetest/builtin/game/register.lua:412: in function <...m9FA/usr/bin/../share/minetest/builtin/game/register.lua:392>
I am using 0.4.16 stable engine, and the sfinv from 0.4.16 stable game. I have 3d_armor installed, and when I click the armor tab is when it happens.

Subgame here: https://github.com/BBmine/noob_academy

miloszs
Member
Posts: 184
Joined: Thu Jul 07, 2016 21:20
GitHub: miloszs
IRC: miloszs mmmm
In-game: miloszs mmmm
Location: Poland

Re: [Modpack] 3D Armor [0.4.10] [minetest-3d_armor]

by miloszs » Post

I have put textures from older version instead new textures in the latest version and it works good.

User avatar
stu
Member
Posts: 923
Joined: Sat Feb 02, 2013 02:51
GitHub: stujones11
Location: United Kingdom

Re: sfinv has error and game crashes

by stu » Post

BBmine wrote:

Code: Select all

2017-11-13 09:58:55: ERROR[Main]: ServerError: AsyncErr: ServerThread::run Lua: Runtime error from mod 'sfinv' in callback on_playerReceiveFields(): /home/user/.minetest/games/noob_academy/mods/sfinv/api.lua:111: invalid value (table) at index 4 in table for 'concat'
2017-11-13 09:58:55: ERROR[Main]: stack traceback:
2017-11-13 09:58:55: ERROR[Main]: 	[C]: in function 'get_formspec'
2017-11-13 09:58:55: ERROR[Main]: 	/home/user/.minetest/games/noob_academy/mods/sfinv/api.lua:111: in function 'set_player_inventory_formspec'
2017-11-13 09:58:55: ERROR[Main]: 	/home/user/.minetest/games/noob_academy/mods/sfinv/api.lua:127: in function 'set_page'
2017-11-13 09:58:55: ERROR[Main]: 	/home/user/.minetest/games/noob_academy/mods/sfinv/api.lua:160: in function </home/user/.minetest/games/noob_academy/mods/sfinv/api.lua:140>
2017-11-13 09:58:55: ERROR[Main]: 	...m9FA/usr/bin/../share/minetest/builtin/game/register.lua:412: in function <...m9FA/usr/bin/../share/minetest/builtin/game/register.lua:392>
I am using 0.4.16 stable engine, and the sfinv from 0.4.16 stable game. I have 3d_armor installed, and when I click the armor tab is when it happens.

Subgame here: https://github.com/BBmine/noob_academy
This error has nothing to do with 3d_armor, at a guess i'd say it was a mismatch between engine and game, otherwise a sfinv bug.

BBmine
Member
Posts: 3475
Joined: Sun Jul 12, 2015 22:51
GitHub: BBmine
IRC: BBmine
In-game: Baggins
Location: USA

Re: sfinv has error and game crashes

by BBmine » Post

stu wrote:This error has nothing to do with 3d_armor, at a guess i'd say it was a mismatch between engine and game, otherwise a sfinv bug.
I didn't post this here. I had posted it in "Bugs and Problems", where it ought to go, but rubenwardy moved it here.

paradigm
Member
Posts: 10
Joined: Mon Nov 13, 2017 12:53

3d_armor_ip causes internal error

by paradigm » Post

Hi! I'm fairly new at this. Just installed my server 2 days ago.

Whenever I allow load-mod_3d_armor_ip, users get kicked off the server before the scene finishes loading. I get the message "Access denied. Reason: This server has experienced an internal error. You will now be disconnected."

Background: I spent yesterday building a house with my son and spent today looking for mods. I installed "scifi mobs" and then X-Wings and giant robots destroyed our house and set all the trees on fire and put potholes all over the place. Fortunately I made a copy of the entire "world" directory and was able to easily overwrite the horrible destruction of the world.

However after that, when I logged in I would get kicked immediately with that error message. I deleted all the mods and that seemed to fix the issue. Then I installed all the mods again but only enabled them one at a time. The one that is causing the error is "load_mod_3d_armor_ip = true". That's the part that embeds the armor menu into Inventory Plus. So with it disabled I can't use the armors :-(

Below is the output from the client. I would like to see what output minetest-server is giving also, but I don't know where to look for that.

Code: Select all

Loaded texture: /usr/share/games/minetest/textures/base/pack/blank.png
Loaded texture: /usr/share/games/minetest/textures/base/pack/server_flags_favorite.png
Loaded texture: /usr/share/games/minetest/textures/base/pack/server_ping_4.png
Loaded texture: /usr/share/games/minetest/textures/base/pack/server_ping_3.png
Loaded texture: /usr/share/games/minetest/textures/base/pack/server_ping_2.png
Loaded texture: /usr/share/games/minetest/textures/base/pack/server_ping_1.png
Loaded texture: /usr/share/games/minetest/textures/base/pack/server_flags_creative.png
Loaded texture: /usr/share/games/minetest/textures/base/pack/server_flags_damage.png
Loaded texture: /usr/share/games/minetest/textures/base/pack/server_flags_pvp.png
2017-11-13 18:21:18: WARNING[Main]: Irrlicht: PNG warning: iCCP: known incorrect sRGB profile
2017-11-13 18:21:19: ERROR[Main]: Access denied. Reason: This server has experienced an internal error. You will now be disconnected.
Is there anything I can do get it up and running again?
Thanks

BBmine
Member
Posts: 3475
Joined: Sun Jul 12, 2015 22:51
GitHub: BBmine
IRC: BBmine
In-game: Baggins
Location: USA

Re: 3d_armor_ip causes internal error

by BBmine » Post

paradigm wrote:Hi! I'm fairly new at this. Just installed my server 2 days ago.

Whenever I allow load-mod_3d_armor_ip, users get kicked off the server before the scene finishes loading. I get the message "Access denied. Reason: This server has experienced an internal error. You will now be disconnected."

Background: I spent yesterday building a house with my son and spent today looking for mods. I installed "scifi mobs" and then X-Wings and giant robots destroyed our house and set all the trees on fire and put potholes all over the place. Fortunately I made a copy of the entire "world" directory and was able to easily overwrite the horrible destruction of the world.

However after that, when I logged in I would get kicked immediately with that error message. I deleted all the mods and that seemed to fix the issue. Then I installed all the mods again but only enabled them one at a time. The one that is causing the error is "load_mod_3d_armor_ip = true". That's the part that embeds the armor menu into Inventory Plus. So with it disabled I can't use the armors :-(

Below is the output from the client. I would like to see what output minetest-server is giving also, but I don't know where to look for that.

Code: Select all

Loaded texture: /usr/share/games/minetest/textures/base/pack/blank.png
Loaded texture: /usr/share/games/minetest/textures/base/pack/server_flags_favorite.png
Loaded texture: /usr/share/games/minetest/textures/base/pack/server_ping_4.png
Loaded texture: /usr/share/games/minetest/textures/base/pack/server_ping_3.png
Loaded texture: /usr/share/games/minetest/textures/base/pack/server_ping_2.png
Loaded texture: /usr/share/games/minetest/textures/base/pack/server_ping_1.png
Loaded texture: /usr/share/games/minetest/textures/base/pack/server_flags_creative.png
Loaded texture: /usr/share/games/minetest/textures/base/pack/server_flags_damage.png
Loaded texture: /usr/share/games/minetest/textures/base/pack/server_flags_pvp.png
2017-11-13 18:21:18: WARNING[Main]: Irrlicht: PNG warning: iCCP: known incorrect sRGB profile
2017-11-13 18:21:19: ERROR[Main]: Access denied. Reason: This server has experienced an internal error. You will now be disconnected.
Is there anything I can do get it up and running again?
Thanks
Which version of Minetest do you have, and which version of 3d_armor?

Chem871
Member
Posts: 954
Joined: Sat Aug 19, 2017 21:49
GitHub: Chemguy99
In-game: Chem Nyx
Location: My Basement's Attic

Re: [Modpack] 3D Armor [0.4.10] [minetest-3d_armor]

by Chem871 » Post

Could you add moderator armor?
What is SCP-055?

User avatar
Lone_Wolf
Member
Posts: 2380
Joined: Sun Apr 09, 2017 05:50
GitHub: LoneWolfHT
IRC: Lone_Wolf or LoneWolfHT
In-game: Lone_Wolf
Location: Not there, THERE!

Re: [Modpack] 3D Armor [0.4.10] [minetest-3d_armor]

by Lone_Wolf » Post

Chem871 wrote:Could you add moderator armor?
What attributes would that have? Why not just use admin armor? :P

User avatar
stu
Member
Posts: 923
Joined: Sat Feb 02, 2013 02:51
GitHub: stujones11
Location: United Kingdom

Re: sfinv has error and game crashes

by stu » Post

BBmine wrote:
stu wrote:This error has nothing to do with 3d_armor, at a guess i'd say it was a mismatch between engine and game, otherwise a sfinv bug.
I didn't post this here. I had posted it in "Bugs and Problems", where it ought to go, but rubenwardy moved it here.
He did? Well I can see no mention of 3d_armor in that backtrace, only sfinv :P)

I should point out, however, that this mod is only officially compatible with minetest-0.4.16-stable, not 0.4.17-dev or whatever they are calling it. I do usually try to stay compatible with development builds but this is becoming increasingly difficult to maintain.
Chem871 wrote:Could you add moderator armor?
I agree with Lone_Wolf, admin armor or diamond armor should be sufficient for moderators, though you can always add your own custom armor via a small mod.

@paradigm Could you could show the relevant contents of the server's debug.txt at the time of the crash, the client output is not much help in this particular case.

User avatar
Andrey01
Member
Posts: 2415
Joined: Wed Oct 19, 2016 15:18
GitHub: Andrey2470T
In-game: Andrey01
Location: Russia, Moscow

Re: [Modpack] 3D Armor [0.4.10] [minetest-3d_armor]

by Andrey01 » Post

Chem871 wrote:Could you add moderator armor?
What will this armor be and what is it for?

User avatar
stu
Member
Posts: 923
Joined: Sat Feb 02, 2013 02:51
GitHub: stujones11
Location: United Kingdom

Re: [Modpack] 3D Armor [0.4.10] [minetest-3d_armor]

by stu » Post

Andrey01 wrote:
Chem871 wrote:Could you add moderator armor?
What will this armor be and what is it for?
You guys crack me up, okay maybe when I eventually implement ItemStack Meta it could be possible to dye your armor, moderators could then dye their admin armor a different colour to be distinctive. Don't hold your breath though, this will likely be a 0.5.x feature.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 7 guests