[Modpack] 3D Armor [0.4.13] [minetest-3d_armor]

nolombic
New member
Posts: 9
Joined: Sat Mar 28, 2020 19:06
In-game: nolombic
Location: Germany

Re: [Modpack] 3D Armor [0.4.13] [minetest-3d_armor]

by nolombic » Post

davidthecreator wrote:
nolombic wrote:
davidthecreator wrote:Each point of heal gives 1% chance to completely block damage...

Full diamond armor has 60 heal...

So there's 60% chance you'll completely block any kind of damage while wearing full diamond armor.
Further investigation on 5.0.0 and 5.0.1 showed me that damage only starts to show up at a minimum height of 200-250 (diamond).
However I thought this would just decrease the damage dealt or increase the maximum health or something like this.
As it seems that it just gives you a chance to maybe block the dealt damage I would like to reccomend a setting:
  • A toggle to either have the armor block damage with a predefined chance (as in the current system) or a decrease in the damage dealt by the amount of heal (60% for diamond for example) - if this is within the realm of possibility

Armor "level" decreases damage intake... Only if the player is attacked though... Falling, drowning and DPS blocks dosen't count...

But heal does work with any kind of damage...
But then shouldn't fall damage be reduced too?
I get why drowning isn't reduced, but falling?
Shouldn't fall damage be reduced too?

User avatar
davidthecreator
Member
Posts: 359
Joined: Mon Aug 18, 2014 19:48
GitHub: daviddoesminetest
In-game: DavidDoesMinetest
Location: Lithuania

Re: [Modpack] 3D Armor [0.4.13] [minetest-3d_armor]

by davidthecreator » Post

MineTest handles attack ("punch") and non-attack damage a bit differently...

Basically, damage done by other players and in most cases, damage done by entities is dealt by "punching" the player and when player gets damage from a "punch", player's "fleshy" armor group changes the taken damage value to the same percentage as the value of your "fleshy" armor group, which is 100 by default, so you take 100% of the damage you get from a punch. But wearing armor reduces that percentage, for example, full diamond set has 85 protection levels, so it reduces your fleshy armor group by 85 points to 15 points, so with the armor, you only take 15% of that punch damage...

But falling, drowning and being damaged by blocks does not count as being punched, thus your "fleshy" armor value has no effect on it, thus for the armor to protect from those, damage reduction should be handled in a similar way as "heal"... But of course, for that to happen, the maker of this mod would have to apply some changes to the code...

And the maker of this mod seems to have been gone for a while... So IDK if this will happen...

nolombic
New member
Posts: 9
Joined: Sat Mar 28, 2020 19:06
In-game: nolombic
Location: Germany

Re: [Modpack] 3D Armor [0.4.13] [minetest-3d_armor]

by nolombic » Post

davidthecreator wrote:MineTest handles attack ("punch") and non-attack damage a bit differently...

Basically, damage done by other players and in most cases, damage done by entities is dealt by "punching" the player and when player gets damage from a "punch", player's "fleshy" armor group changes the taken damage value to the same percentage as the value of your "fleshy" armor group, which is 100 by default, so you take 100% of the damage you get from a punch. But wearing armor reduces that percentage, for example, full diamond set has 85 protection levels, so it reduces your fleshy armor group by 85 points to 15 points, so with the armor, you only take 15% of that punch damage...

But falling, drowning and being damaged by blocks does not count as being punched, thus your "fleshy" armor value has no effect on it, thus for the armor to protect from those, damage reduction should be handled in a similar way as "heal"... But of course, for that to happen, the maker of this mod would have to apply some changes to the code...

And the maker of this mod seems to have been gone for a while... So IDK if this will happen...
Ah I see. I was wondering what the "fleshy" value was for.
Now I see why it handles the damage in the way that it does right now.
I still hope that the dev can somehow make it respect fall damage too if the dev even considers making such a change.

User avatar
Lone_Wolf
Member
Posts: 2412
Joined: Sun Apr 09, 2017 05:50
GitHub: LoneWolfHT
IRC: Lone_Wolf or LoneWolfHT
In-game: Lone_Wolf
Location: Not there, THERE!

Re: [Modpack] 3D Armor [0.4.13] [minetest-3d_armor]

by Lone_Wolf » Post

If you fall off a cliff in full armor you'd probably take a ton more damage if anything

User avatar
Krock
Developer
Posts: 4572
Joined: Thu Oct 03, 2013 07:48
GitHub: SmallJoker
Location: Switzerland
Contact:

Re: [Modpack] 3D Armor [0.4.13] [minetest-3d_armor]

by Krock » Post

Good news!


Stu seems to be busy, thus 3d_armor hasn't seen any update for a year (not good news). Luckily the unofficial mt-mods team continued the development. This repository has now been moved to an official minetest-mods repository to ease contributions due to the larger team.

Please feel free to report bugs and submit Pull Requests to maintain this mod - and resulting from that - to keep it popular.
Look, I programmed a bug for you. >> Mod Search Engine << - Mods by Krock - DuckDuckGo mod search bang: !mtmod <keyword here>

User avatar
acidzebra
Member
Posts: 75
Joined: Sun Sep 10, 2017 09:11

Re: [Modpack] 3D Armor [0.4.13] [minetest-3d_armor]

by acidzebra » Post

Oh sweet, and the textures look amazing!

User avatar
Miniontoby
Member
Posts: 438
Joined: Fri Mar 01, 2019 19:25
IRC: Miniontoby
In-game: Miniontoby
Location: The Netherlands

Re: [Modpack] 3D Armor [0.4.13] [minetest-3d_armor]

by Miniontoby » Post

I have translated this mod to dutch myself and if you want the translation plz contact me. :-)
My English isn't very good because I'm Dutch ---- Check my mod "Doorbell" Vote your gang

User avatar
AFCM
Member
Posts: 16
Joined: Tue Jun 30, 2020 12:21
GitHub: AFCMS
IRC: AFCM
In-game: AFCM

Re: [Modpack] 3D Armor [0.4.13] [minetest-3d_armor]

by AFCM » Post

Hi every one,
I want to create a mod who need to know if a player is wearing a special part of armor.
Do you know if it's possible ?

User avatar
Nathan.S
Member
Posts: 1045
Joined: Wed Sep 24, 2014 17:47
GitHub: NathanSalapat
IRC: NathanS21
In-game: NathanS21
Location: Bigsby Texas
Contact:

Re: [Modpack] 3D Armor [0.4.13] [minetest-3d_armor]

by Nathan.S » Post

Armor has an equip and unquip callback, you should be able to use those to achieve what you want.
I record Minetest videos, Mod reviews, Modding tutorials, and Lets plays.
Check out my website, and brand new Minetest Modding Course

User avatar
thunderdog1138
Member
Posts: 64
Joined: Sun Dec 08, 2019 00:45
GitHub: thunderdog1138
In-game: thunderdog
Location: Venator-class Star Destroyer in the Xanadu System

Re: [Modpack] 3D Armor [0.4.13] [minetest-3d_armor]

by thunderdog1138 » Post

Where are the textures for the actual armor stand entities held? The texture folder in the 3d_armor_stand mod only includes textures for the armor slots.
Check out my Star Wars subgame.

User avatar
BuckarooBanzay
Member
Posts: 397
Joined: Tue Apr 24, 2018 05:58
GitHub: BuckarooBanzay
IRC: BuckarooBanzai
In-game: BuckarooBanzai

Re: [Modpack] 3D Armor [0.4.13] [minetest-3d_armor]

by BuckarooBanzay » Post

thunderdog1138 wrote:
Sat Sep 12, 2020 17:47
Where are the textures for the actual armor stand entities held? The texture folder in the 3d_armor_stand mod only includes textures for the armor slots.
They are in the "models" folder: https://github.com/minetest-mods/3d_arm ... and/models

User avatar
thunderdog1138
Member
Posts: 64
Joined: Sun Dec 08, 2019 00:45
GitHub: thunderdog1138
In-game: thunderdog
Location: Venator-class Star Destroyer in the Xanadu System

Re: [Modpack] 3D Armor [0.4.13] [minetest-3d_armor]

by thunderdog1138 » Post

BuckarooBanzay wrote:
Sat Sep 12, 2020 18:24
thunderdog1138 wrote:
Sat Sep 12, 2020 17:47
Where are the textures for the actual armor stand entities held? The texture folder in the 3d_armor_stand mod only includes textures for the armor slots.
They are in the "models" folder: https://github.com/minetest-mods/3d_arm ... and/models
Thanks!
Check out my Star Wars subgame.

User avatar
sirrobzeroone
Member
Posts: 214
Joined: Mon Jul 16, 2018 07:56

Re: [Modpack] 3D Armor [0.4.13] [minetest-3d_armor]

by sirrobzeroone » Post

Tried track this down myself but no luck, not sure if the armor mod has changed or its just me...probably me

Just trying to access the players equiped inventory armor - I tried the below listed froma reply of Stu's from 2018, at the moment I'm just sending the output to the chat window. however all I get with the below is 6x nothing (I did equip some armour :)):

Code: Select all

local inv = player:get_inventory()
	for i = 1, 6 do
		local stack = inv:get_stack("armor", i)
		minetest.chat_send_all("item "..tostring(stack:get_name()))
	end
As a test of my code I thought i'd try getting the names of the 1st 6 item names from "main" which using the below code works as expected and I get output.

Code: Select all

local inv = player:get_inventory()
	for i = 1, 6 do
		local stack = inv:get_stack("main", i)
		minetest.chat_send_all("item "..tostring(stack:get_name()))
	end
Any help as to whats wrong? Checking over the 3d_armor code it all looks correct and like the armor inv is still called "armor" so im stumped - help much appreciated.

Edit: I found a handy get list command and ran it against inv:get_lists() and no sign of armor in there....either I have some odd conflict or armor has moved or stored somewhere odd in singleplayer?

Code: Select all

2020-11-09 19:00:46: [Server]: thirsty_hydro table: 0x49d7cbd8
2020-11-09 19:00:46: [Server]: main table: 0x49d7be48
2020-11-09 19:00:46: [Server]: craftpreview table: 0x49d7ca78
2020-11-09 19:00:46: [Server]: craft table: 0x49d7c7a0
2020-11-09 19:00:46: [Server]: craftresult table: 0x49d7cb40

User avatar
BuckarooBanzay
Member
Posts: 397
Joined: Tue Apr 24, 2018 05:58
GitHub: BuckarooBanzay
IRC: BuckarooBanzai
In-game: BuckarooBanzai

Re: [Modpack] 3D Armor [0.4.13] [minetest-3d_armor]

by BuckarooBanzay » Post

sirrobzeroone wrote:
Mon Nov 09, 2020 07:14
Tried track this down myself but no luck, not sure if the armor mod has changed or its just me...probably me

Just trying to access the players equiped inventory armor - I tried the below listed froma reply of Stu's from 2018, at the moment I'm just sending the output to the chat window. however all I get with the below is 6x nothing (I did equip some armour :)):

Code: Select all

local inv = player:get_inventory()
	for i = 1, 6 do
		local stack = inv:get_stack("armor", i)
		minetest.chat_send_all("item "..tostring(stack:get_name()))
	end
As a test of my code I thought i'd try getting the names of the 1st 6 item names from "main" which using the below code works as expected and I get output.

Code: Select all

local inv = player:get_inventory()
	for i = 1, 6 do
		local stack = inv:get_stack("main", i)
		minetest.chat_send_all("item "..tostring(stack:get_name()))
	end
Any help as to whats wrong? Checking over the 3d_armor code it all looks correct and like the armor inv is still called "armor" so im stumped - help much appreciated.

Edit: I found a handy get list command and ran it against inv:get_lists() and no sign of armor in there....either I have some odd conflict or armor has moved or stored somewhere odd in singleplayer?

Code: Select all

2020-11-09 19:00:46: [Server]: thirsty_hydro table: 0x49d7cbd8
2020-11-09 19:00:46: [Server]: main table: 0x49d7be48
2020-11-09 19:00:46: [Server]: craftpreview table: 0x49d7ca78
2020-11-09 19:00:46: [Server]: craft table: 0x49d7c7a0
2020-11-09 19:00:46: [Server]: craftresult table: 0x49d7cb40
Looks like the 3d_armor inventory is in a detached inventory now and can be accessed with:

Code: Select all

local _, armor_inv = armor:get_valid_player(player, "[modname]")
See: https://github.com/minetest-mods/3d_arm ... i.lua#L599

This isn't documented yet, PR's welcome ;)

User avatar
sirrobzeroone
Member
Posts: 214
Joined: Mon Jul 16, 2018 07:56

Re: [Modpack] 3D Armor [0.4.13] [minetest-3d_armor]

by sirrobzeroone » Post

Thanks BuckarooBanzay

I'll see if I can add something meaningful to the 3d_armor/README.txt and submit a pull request.

User avatar
daret
Member
Posts: 37
Joined: Tue Nov 12, 2019 20:36
GitHub: daretmavi
In-game: Daretmavi

Re: [Modpack] 3D Armor [0.4.13] [minetest-3d_armor]

by daret » Post

Hi,

is it possible to activate armor damage, so player can loose/break their armor?

Or is there any mod fort this?

User avatar
Nathan.S
Member
Posts: 1045
Joined: Wed Sep 24, 2014 17:47
GitHub: NathanSalapat
IRC: NathanS21
In-game: NathanS21
Location: Bigsby Texas
Contact:

Re: [Modpack] 3D Armor [0.4.13] [minetest-3d_armor]

by Nathan.S » Post

Daret, armor should already take damage, mobs, players, and I think environment damage should all effect the armor. If you're not seeing the armor take damage, make sure that you have damage enabled on the world.
I record Minetest videos, Mod reviews, Modding tutorials, and Lets plays.
Check out my website, and brand new Minetest Modding Course

User avatar
daret
Member
Posts: 37
Joined: Tue Nov 12, 2019 20:36
GitHub: daretmavi
In-game: Daretmavi

Re: [Modpack] 3D Armor [0.4.13] [minetest-3d_armor]

by daret » Post

May be I'm missing something.
I tested it with Minetest Game. Installed mods hbarmor+hudbars to see armor bar.

I added mobs + mobs_monster and let attacking me.

I only lost some health, but armor info was intact. No change in the hudbar, no info on armor icon. Level and Heal remains the same.

Damage is enabled and armor_punch_damage is enabled in the setting as well (default).

User avatar
daret
Member
Posts: 37
Joined: Tue Nov 12, 2019 20:36
GitHub: daretmavi
In-game: Daretmavi

Re: [Modpack] 3D Armor [0.4.13] [minetest-3d_armor]

by daret » Post

It looks like there is a local variable "damage" sometimes set to false.
I changed this on line 358 in api.lua and it started to work (just a test, not a solution).

Code: Select all

			if damage == true and tool_capabilities then
				local damage_groups = def.damage_groups or default_groups
				local level = damage_groups.level or 0
				local groupcaps = tool_capabilities.groupcaps or {}
				local uses = 0
				damage = true --original was damage = false

User avatar
daret
Member
Posts: 37
Joined: Tue Nov 12, 2019 20:36
GitHub: daretmavi
In-game: Daretmavi

Re: [Modpack] 3D Armor [0.4.13] [minetest-3d_armor]

by daret » Post

The mob has no groupcaps, so it can not enter the next code and damage stays false.

Like oerkki groupcaps:

Code: Select all

{
	max_drop_level = 1,
	groupcaps = {
		
	},
	damage_groups = {
		fleshy = 4
	},
	full_punch_interval = 1,
	punch_attack_uses = 0
}

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot], LibraSubtilis and 9 guests