[Mod] travelnet teleporters/bookmarks [2.0][travelnet]

User avatar
Mihobre
Member
Posts: 101
Joined: Tue Oct 30, 2012 08:45
Location: In your mouth

by Mihobre » Post

Sokomine wrote:
Mihobre wrote: I had many of those travelnet boxes and removed three. I punched all other boxes but the removed ones didn't get removed from the list. What should I do now?
Install the latest version from github :-) I fixed that bug yesterday. In order to remove stations that got removed in the meantime, travel via travelnet to these places once. The net will notice that the receiving station is no longer there and delete it.

Several players asked for a way to attach their stations to the networks of other players. You can do so now if you have the travelnet_attach priv. In that case, you can supply the name of the owner of the network you want your box attached to and it will be added to that players' network.

VanessaE suggested to set pitch and yaw of the player after teleport. This is included now. Regardless of where you did look at previously, you will look out of the receiving box and can see where you ended up (at least in new versions of MT). There is also a simulated teleporter effect VanessaE wished for. It does not look as good as intended and may require changes. Just try it out and tell what you think of it. Any leftover "beam" entities can be removed by punching.

If there are few stations on a network, they now get centered in the menu.
Thank you, thank you, thank you so much! Yay! Maraming salamat!(Tagalog of "Thank you")
I wanna fly!!!
I wanna have feathery wings of silver, blue, and white!!!
I wanna soar high and touch the sky!!!
I wanna fly!!!

deivan
Member
Posts: 452
Joined: Fri Feb 15, 2013 10:16
Location: Brazil. :D

by deivan » Post

Very nice, I will test it. :D

kpo
Member
Posts: 38
Joined: Sun Mar 31, 2013 19:01

by kpo » Post

My 5 year old suggested we use these as elevators at the hotel we are building instead of stairs. It works nicely with 1st floor, 2nd floor etc. stations.
Thanks for this mod!
.. of course now we just need a cheaper version and some animated elevator doors and/or textures .-) Oh, and VanessaE to create some more awsome high rez textures for this one too.

Sokomine
Member
Posts: 4289
Joined: Sun Sep 09, 2012 17:31
GitHub: Sokomine
IRC: Sokomine
In-game: Sokomine

by Sokomine » Post

That's a nice way of using it, and I can see why you'd want a diffrent texture for that. Can you do one? I'm extremly bad at texture making.

As for the elevator doors, the window shutters from my cottages mod might do, provided they where extended to two blocks height (not a problem). They're not animated but would look and behave fitting once they'd got a more elevator-door-like texture.

The receipe can be changed to anything you want. Perhaps an entire mese block is a bit expensive now. A single crystal might be enough as well. Or a microcontroller from technic if that's installed. Or wood to make it cheap.
A list of my mods can be found here.

kpo
Member
Posts: 38
Joined: Sun Mar 31, 2013 19:01

by kpo » Post

Sokomine wrote:That's a nice way of using it, and I can see why you'd want a diffrent texture for that. Can you do one? I'm extremly bad at texture making.

As for the elevator doors, the window shutters from my cottages mod might do, provided they where extended to two blocks height (not a problem). They're not animated but would look and behave fitting once they'd got a more elevator-door-like texture.

The receipe can be changed to anything you want. Perhaps an entire mese block is a bit expensive now. A single crystal might be enough as well. Or a microcontroller from technic if that's installed. Or wood to make it cheap.
Thanks. I did some textures with a brass lining at the bottom, marble surface and steel like sides. Of course it seems the textures are just stacked twice so I was wondering if you would mind if I did something like PilzAdam's beds mod in respect to registering two nodes so that the box can have a top and a bottom?

Anyway I'll make an attempt which adds to your mod instead of rebasing it and post it later here. If you like it it is all yours. I am just hacking away on what everyone else thought up :-)
I'll probably use a recipe like (if technic is installed)

Code: Select all

steel  ; technic:motor           ; steel
steel  ; technic:microcontroller ; steel
copper ; copper                  ; copper
If no technic mod I'll use something like this:

Code: Select all

steel     ; stone     ;   steel
steel     ; stone     ;  steel
mese frag ; mese frag ; mese frag
or maybe use brass instead of copper...

kpo
Member
Posts: 38
Joined: Sun Mar 31, 2013 19:01

by kpo » Post

I added a pull request for you at github.
I have implemented the elevator - it works in exactly the same way as the travelnet except it looks like an elevator (with no door though) and.
Licensing is the same as the one you are using. The textures were done by me in Gimp. 16x16 and 512x512 texture (for VanessaEs HD pack) included.
The recipes are like this:

Code: Select all

if( minetest.get_modpath("technic") ~= nil ) then
        minetest.register_craft({
                output = "travelnet:elevator",
        recipe = {
                        {"default:steel_ingot", "technic:motor", "default:steel_ingot", },
                    {"default:steel_ingot", "technic:control_logic_unit", "default:steel_ingot", },
                    {"default:steel_ingot", "moreores:copper_ingot", "default:steel_ingot", }
                }
        })
else
    minetest.register_craft({
            output = "travelnet:elevator",
            recipe = {
                {"default:steel_ingot", "default_sandstone", "default:steel_ingot", },
            {"default:steel_ingot", "default_sandstone", "default:steel_ingot", },
            {"default:mese_crystal_fragment", "default:mese_crystal_fragment", "default:mese_crystal_fragment", }
                }
    })
end


incentive
Member
Posts: 33
Joined: Tue May 07, 2013 15:12

by incentive » Post

I made many mistakes believing that I should use Mese Crystals and it wasted lots of my time. If I had known this image from the beginning instead of reading the text(which can be misinterpreted) then things wouldn't have been confusing. Hope this helps to others who may do the same mistake I did :)
Image

User avatar
Mihobre
Member
Posts: 101
Joined: Tue Oct 30, 2012 08:45
Location: In your mouth

by Mihobre » Post

kpo wrote:I added a pull request for you at github.
I have implemented the elevator - it works in exactly the same way as the travelnet except it looks like an elevator (with no door though) and.
Licensing is the same as the one you are using. The textures were done by me in Gimp. 16x16 and 512x512 texture (for VanessaEs HD pack) included.
The recipes are like this:

Code: Select all

if( minetest.get_modpath("technic") ~= nil ) then
        minetest.register_craft({
                output = "travelnet:elevator",
        recipe = {
                        {"default:steel_ingot", "technic:motor", "default:steel_ingot", },
                    {"default:steel_ingot", "technic:control_logic_unit", "default:steel_ingot", },
                    {"default:steel_ingot", "moreores:copper_ingot", "default:steel_ingot", }
                }
        })
else
    minetest.register_craft({
            output = "travelnet:elevator",
            recipe = {
                {"default:steel_ingot", "default_sandstone", "default:steel_ingot", },
            {"default:steel_ingot", "default_sandstone", "default:steel_ingot", },
            {"default:mese_crystal_fragment", "default:mese_crystal_fragment", "default:mese_crystal_fragment", }
                }
    })
end

Can you please post this mod, please please please? Pretty please?
I wanna fly!!!
I wanna have feathery wings of silver, blue, and white!!!
I wanna soar high and touch the sky!!!
I wanna fly!!!

Sokomine
Member
Posts: 4289
Joined: Sun Sep 09, 2012 17:31
GitHub: Sokomine
IRC: Sokomine
In-game: Sokomine

by Sokomine » Post

I'll take care of the elevator as soon as I get the time and figure out how to handle the pull request technicly.
A list of my mods can be found here.

kpo
Member
Posts: 38
Joined: Sun Mar 31, 2013 19:01

by kpo » Post

Sokomine wrote:I'll take care of the elevator as soon as I get the time and figure out how to handle the pull request technicly.
At github you go to pull requests and perform the merge right there. There should not be any conflicts.
One thing I did not implement is that the elevator should/could check that it is exactly aligned above/below another elevator for it to work. I did not do it because it simply latches on the your clever travelnet imlpementation, so why limit it that way. It is instead in the hands of the world designer to do these kinds of cosmetics :-D
Thanks for wanting to merge this.

User avatar
DeepGaze
Member
Posts: 332
Joined: Fri May 10, 2013 00:49
GitHub: DeepGaze
IRC: DeepGaze
In-game: DeepGaze
Location: Take your best guess

by DeepGaze » Post

can i use the code for my "project mod" please= http://forum.minetest.net/viewtopic.php?id=6328
there's no place like 127.0.0.1
The deep life Minetest text page
minetest cards

Sokomine
Member
Posts: 4289
Joined: Sun Sep 09, 2012 17:31
GitHub: Sokomine
IRC: Sokomine
In-game: Sokomine

by Sokomine » Post

The travelnet box behaves diffrent compared to a tardis. You'd certainly want to change the name of the node and the textures. If you want that behaviour you described in your thread, there'd have to be changes to the code as well. The problem I see here is that it would be difficult to remove the (previous) end-point of your tardis once the player enters a new one - the old end point may not be loaded, and in that case you can't remove the previous end point. Unless you send a player there to pick it up (perhaps even automaticly).
The code is GPLv3, so you ought to have no problem with using it for your project as long as you use the same liscense or a compatible one.

I'll soon release a new version of travelnet. It has been on github for some days already and is beeing tested/used on VanessaEs server already. The only thing that kept me from announcing it here is a problem with the screenshots. Fortionately, I found at least a place/person that is willing to host the images.
A list of my mods can be found here.

User avatar
DeepGaze
Member
Posts: 332
Joined: Fri May 10, 2013 00:49
GitHub: DeepGaze
IRC: DeepGaze
In-game: DeepGaze
Location: Take your best guess

by DeepGaze » Post

Sokomine wrote:The travelnet box behaves diffrent compared to a tardis. You'd certainly want to change the name of the node and the textures. If you want that behaviour you described in your thread, there'd have to be changes to the code as well. The problem I see here is that it would be difficult to remove the (previous) end-point of your tardis once the player enters a new one - the old end point may not be loaded, and in that case you can't remove the previous end point. Unless you send a player there to pick it up (perhaps even automaticly).
The code is GPLv3, so you ought to have no problem with using it for your project as long as you use the same liscense or a compatible one.

I'll soon release a new version of travelnet. It has been on github for some days already and is beeing tested/used on VanessaEs server already. The only thing that kept me from announcing it here is a problem with the screenshots. Fortionately, I found at least a place/person that is willing to host the images.
thank-you i am new to all lua and licencing so it will take time for the mod but thankyou for the help
there's no place like 127.0.0.1
The deep life Minetest text page
minetest cards

Sokomine
Member
Posts: 4289
Joined: Sun Sep 09, 2012 17:31
GitHub: Sokomine
IRC: Sokomine
In-game: Sokomine

by Sokomine » Post

I've updated the first post in this thread. Travelnet now comes with an elevator and elevator doors. Those elevator doors (or normal doors if you wish) can be used with travelnet boxes and elevators alike.
The boxes are harder to dig to prevent accidental digging and won't fall down if the node beneath them gets digged.
A list of my mods can be found here.

M0RBILIM
New member
Posts: 8
Joined: Fri Jul 19, 2013 16:28

by M0RBILIM » Post

I'm having a confusing problem. I add an elevator and right click to config. So far, so good. When I add a second , for some reason it is getting added to a different network and shows only one station. For some reason, it seems the two elevators can't find eachother

User avatar
Dan Duncombe
Member
Posts: 904
Joined: Thu May 09, 2013 21:11
Location: In the unknown depths of Earth

by Dan Duncombe » Post

M0RBILIM wrote:I'm having a confusing problem. I add an elevator and right click to config. So far, so good. When I add a second , for some reason it is getting added to a different network and shows only one station. For some reason, it seems the two elevators can't find eachother
Are they directly above one another?
Some Mods: Castles Prefab Camouflage
My Games: Nostalgia Realtest Revamped
Servers: See above games.

Sokomine
Member
Posts: 4289
Joined: Sun Sep 09, 2012 17:31
GitHub: Sokomine
IRC: Sokomine
In-game: Sokomine

by Sokomine » Post

That's right, elevators only work when they are above each other and their x- and z-coordinates are equal.
A list of my mods can be found here.

M0RBILIM
New member
Posts: 8
Joined: Fri Jul 19, 2013 16:28

by M0RBILIM » Post

Sokomine wrote:That's right, elevators only work when they are above each other and their x- and z-coordinates are equal.
derp! why didn't i think of that?
Thanks!

User avatar
Neon
Member
Posts: 126
Joined: Thu Aug 15, 2013 02:03
In-game: Neon

by Neon » Post

The download link in the first post redirects to https://codeload.github.com/Sokomine/tr ... ip/master, which then provides a 500 error code.
The Browse Code link does indeed work, but the download link redirects to https://codeload.github.com/Sokomine/tr ... zip/master and gives another 500 error code
Last edited by Neon on Tue Oct 29, 2013 21:04, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
kaeza
Moderator
Posts: 2162
Joined: Thu Oct 18, 2012 05:00
GitHub: kaeza
IRC: kaeza diemartin blaaaaargh
In-game: kaeza
Location: Montevideo, Uruguay
Contact:

by kaeza » Post

Neon wrote:The download link in the first post redirects to https://codeload.github.com/Sokomine/tr ... ip/master, which then provides a 500 error code.
The Browse Code link does indeed work, but the download link redirects to https://codeload.github.com/Sokomine/tr ... zip/master and gives another 500 error code
Looks like Github had some problems. You may want to try again later.
Your signature is not the place for a blog post. Please keep it as concise as possible. Thank you!

Check out my stuff! | Donations greatly appreciated! PayPal

Sokomine
Member
Posts: 4289
Joined: Sun Sep 09, 2012 17:31
GitHub: Sokomine
IRC: Sokomine
In-game: Sokomine

by Sokomine » Post

As some servers seem to be against free travel but could profit a lot from a speed-up for mineshafts (dropping down one is not exactly the most exciting experience in life and just causes load for everyone without much gain) and as a decorative item/replacement for "water" elevators, travelnet has now an extensive config file where you can enable/disable most features of the mod in one single file. You can also adjust the crafting receipes to your liking.

There was a further request for limitations as to who might use a travelnet. A group of players who prefered a PvP server asked for travelnets that could be used by players of one fraction while beeing unusable for players outside that fraction. While the travelnet does and can not know who belongs where and what is desired, it now has a function in config.lua that you can change according to your needs:

Code: Select all

travelnet.allow_travel( player_name, owner_name, network_name, station_name_start, station_name_target )
The function is called just before the transport takes effect. If it returns false, the transport will be denied. Please send the player a message in that case why it was denied. You can also use the function to charge the player for a transport or whatever you need.
A list of my mods can be found here.

Azuna
Member
Posts: 89
Joined: Fri Sep 27, 2013 22:50

by Azuna » Post

Sokomine wrote:Dr. Who travels in time as well and has hardly any consicous control of where he will end up. This just looks like a telephone cell because that seemd fitting :-)
But someone should make a skin of this mod, so that the tnet is BLUE and says PHONEBOX on it :D

asd789
Member
Posts: 18
Joined: Sun Mar 16, 2014 09:22
In-game: asd789

Re: [Mod] travelnet - passive teleporters/bookmarks that for

by asd789 » Post

A very great mod, thanks Sokomine!
Asd789

User avatar
CraigyDavi
Member
Posts: 582
Joined: Sat Aug 10, 2013 13:08
GitHub: davisonio
IRC: davisonio
In-game: CraigyDavi
Location: Hampshire, UK
Contact:

Re: [Mod] travelnet - passive teleporters/bookmarks that for

by CraigyDavi » Post

asd789 wrote:First a very great mod, thanks Sokomine!
But could somebody tell me how to connect the elevators? If not, I will just take the travelboxes.
thanks to everybody who can help me.

Asd789
They work in exactly the way the travelnets do except you have to put them on the same x,y axis. The elevators can only be above or below the other elevator in order for them to work. Then you just punch them to update the station list.

...and welcome to the minetest forums!

asd789
Member
Posts: 18
Joined: Sun Mar 16, 2014 09:22
In-game: asd789

Re: [Mod] travelnet - passive teleporters/bookmarks that for

by asd789 » Post

Thank you, CraigyDavi

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 19 guests