[Mod] travelnet teleporters/bookmarks [2.0][travelnet]

User avatar
balthazariv
Member
Posts: 214
Joined: Mon Apr 07, 2014 15:48
Contact:

Re: [Mod] travelnet - passive teleporters/bookmarks that for

by balthazariv » Post

Hello,

Nice Mod.

Thanks

Sokomine
Member
Posts: 4169
Joined: Sun Sep 09, 2012 17:31
GitHub: Sokomine

Re: [Mod] travelnet teleporters/bookmarks [2.0][travelnet]

by Sokomine » Post

I've re-added the pictures here as well. I really hope I won't have to do all that work a fourth time. Anyway...if you've played on a server, you've probably seen travelnets by now :-)
A list of my mods can be found here.

User avatar
Inocudom
Member
Posts: 3096
Joined: Sat Sep 29, 2012 01:14
IRC: Inocudom
In-game: Inocudom

Re: [Mod] travelnet teleporters/bookmarks [2.0][travelnet]

by Inocudom » Post

So, if MediaCrush goes down, all of its content gets erased?
You can now find my videos at BitChute: https://www.bitchute.com/channel/some_cheeky_jinuskian/

Sokomine
Member
Posts: 4169
Joined: Sun Sep 09, 2012 17:31
GitHub: Sokomine

Re: [Mod] travelnet teleporters/bookmarks [2.0][travelnet]

by Sokomine » Post

Inocudom wrote: So, if MediaCrush goes down, all of its content gets erased?
..or at least become unavailable. That's essentially what "down" in this case means. Practically all my threads introducing mods where originally equipped with pictures - back at the time I used zimg.eu. That went down. Then viewscew hosted them. Until it suffered a harddisk failure. And now I'm hoping that mediacru.sh will last. As all of them are/where free services, there's no way to know how long they'll exist.
A list of my mods can be found here.

User avatar
kidmondo
Member
Posts: 130
Joined: Sun May 11, 2014 07:56
IRC: kidmondo
In-game: kidmondo
Location: New Zealand

Re: [Mod] travelnet teleporters/bookmarks [2.0][travelnet]

by kidmondo » Post

looks cool :D looking forward to trying it out

Sokomine
Member
Posts: 4169
Joined: Sun Sep 09, 2012 17:31
GitHub: Sokomine

Re: [Mod] travelnet teleporters/bookmarks [2.0][travelnet]

by Sokomine » Post

The travelnet mod got a new config option:

Code: Select all

travelnet.abm_enabled              = false;
Set it to true if your data file mod_travelnet.data got lost somehow (or if you used a map-saving client and never had access to that file). The option will start an abm that checks travelnets which have been "forgotten" and reattaches them to the network they think they're part of. Over time, the network will heal itshelf.
A list of my mods can be found here.

User avatar
SegFault22
Member
Posts: 870
Joined: Mon May 21, 2012 03:17
Location: NaN

Re: [Mod] travelnet teleporters/bookmarks [2.0][travelnet]

by SegFault22 » Post

Is there any way to configure the travelnet box after it has been configured once before, without breaking it?

Sokomine
Member
Posts: 4169
Joined: Sun Sep 09, 2012 17:31
GitHub: Sokomine

Re: [Mod] travelnet teleporters/bookmarks [2.0][travelnet]

by Sokomine » Post

SegFault22 wrote: Is there any way to configure the travelnet box after it has been configured once before, without breaking it?
No, there isn't. Is there any need for it?
A list of my mods can be found here.

PeterH
New member
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri Oct 17, 2014 04:22
GitHub: hanelyp

Re: [Mod] travelnet teleporters/bookmarks [2.0][travelnet]

by PeterH » Post

I accidently placed a second elevator block right in front of another, blocking access out, and it won't let me dig either. Otherwise the mod appears to work.

Sokomine
Member
Posts: 4169
Joined: Sun Sep 09, 2012 17:31
GitHub: Sokomine

Re: [Mod] travelnet teleporters/bookmarks [2.0][travelnet]

by Sokomine » Post

PeterH wrote: I accidently placed a second elevator block right in front of another, blocking access out, and it won't let me dig either. Otherwise the mod appears to work.
Ah, I can see the problem. I'm afraid the best solution is to grant yourshelf noclip or to approach that misplaced elevator from the other side. While you're inside the elevator, you can only dig the node you're standing in...not the misplaced elevator in front that's blocking your exit.
A list of my mods can be found here.

PeterH
New member
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri Oct 17, 2014 04:22
GitHub: hanelyp

Re: [Mod] travelnet teleporters/bookmarks [2.0][travelnet]

by PeterH » Post

Got the problem cleared up by running the server in creative mode. It really should be possible to dig a misplaced elevator in normal mode.

Sokomine
Member
Posts: 4169
Joined: Sun Sep 09, 2012 17:31
GitHub: Sokomine

Re: [Mod] travelnet teleporters/bookmarks [2.0][travelnet]

by Sokomine » Post

It is possible to dig a misplaced elevator or travelnet. It might require configuration first - which ought to be no big problem (just enter dummy text into the fields). What isn't possible is digging something in front of the elevator while you're standing inside it.
A list of my mods can be found here.

User avatar
jp
Member
Posts: 803
Joined: Wed Dec 18, 2013 09:03
GitHub: kilbith
Location: France

Re: [Mod] travelnet teleporters/bookmarks [2.0][travelnet]

by jp » Post

- Idea -

Related to : viewtopic.php?f=11&t=7239&p=160239#p160239
jp wrote:Seeing the stars on GitHub or the sustained motivation brings by the 'likes' on FB, I thought that players may appreciate be starred for the quality of their construction. It can be interpretated like a simple thank you, a measurable valuation that authors can check anytime, or an effective way to visit the interesting buildings by priority.
Example :

(The names in the buttons shall be left-aligned, and right-aligned for the stars)
Image

Sokomine
Member
Posts: 4169
Joined: Sun Sep 09, 2012 17:31
GitHub: Sokomine

Re: [Mod] travelnet teleporters/bookmarks [2.0][travelnet]

by Sokomine » Post

jp wrote: (The names in the buttons shall be left-aligned, and right-aligned for the stars)
It looks good in the sample image. I'm just afraid that it might work out less well once the station names get longer. Formspecs are a bit difficult in that apsect.
A list of my mods can be found here.

User avatar
jp
Member
Posts: 803
Joined: Wed Dec 18, 2013 09:03
GitHub: kilbith
Location: France

Re: [Mod] travelnet teleporters/bookmarks [2.0][travelnet]

by jp » Post

You can set a limit for the name length. Generally, when people are forced to make things short, they think more and better choose their names or words.

Sokomine
Member
Posts: 4169
Joined: Sun Sep 09, 2012 17:31
GitHub: Sokomine

Re: [Mod] travelnet teleporters/bookmarks [2.0][travelnet]

by Sokomine » Post

jp wrote: You can set a limit for the name length. Generally, when people are forced to make things short, they think more and better choose their names or words.
That's true, although it ought to be descriptive enough as well. Still, fiddling with the text fields there is troublesome, especially when using a larger font. Perhaps something like "Station name [21*]" or something like that might work.
A list of my mods can be found here.

User avatar
jp
Member
Posts: 803
Joined: Wed Dec 18, 2013 09:03
GitHub: kilbith
Location: France

Re: [Mod] travelnet teleporters/bookmarks [2.0][travelnet]

by jp » Post

Sokomine wrote:Perhaps something like "Station name [21*]" or something like that might work.
Agree with that. There's also a better star in the ASCII code (★) : ★

User avatar
DI3HARD139
Member
Posts: 154
Joined: Sat Oct 18, 2014 21:04
GitHub: DI3HARD139
IRC: DI3HARD139
In-game: DI3HARD139 DI3HARD139_

Re: [Mod] travelnet teleporters/bookmarks [2.0][travelnet]

by DI3HARD139 » Post

Im having an issue with the mod crashing my minetest server. I'm running version 4.10. Also its reporting a save data file is missing. How can I create it?

Code: Select all

21:37:32: ERROR[main]: ERROR: An unhandled exception occurred: ...top\minetest-0
.4.10-64bit\bin\..\mods\travelnet\init.lua:332: attempt to index field 'targets'
 (a nil value)
21:37:32: ERROR[main]: stack traceback:
21:37:32: ERROR[main]:  ...top\minetest-0.4.10-64bit\bin\..\mods\travelnet\init.
lua:332: in function 'add_target'
21:37:32: ERROR[main]:  ...top\minetest-0.4.10-64bit\bin\..\mods\travelnet\init.
lua:442: in function <...top\minetest-0.4.10-64bit\bin\..\mods\travelnet\init.lu
a:434>

User avatar
Hybrid Dog
Member
Posts: 2771
Joined: Thu Nov 01, 2012 12:46
GitHub: HybridDog

Re: [Mod] travelnet teleporters/bookmarks [2.0][travelnet]

by Hybrid Dog » Post

l added up and down arrows to the elevator to use it faster and without annoying formspec.
You only need to punch the elevator aiming an arrow.

The arrows currently "respect the 16x16 texture size":
Image
Attachments
screenshot_763394693.png
(169.08 KiB) Not downloaded yet

‮‪‮
‮‪‮
‮‪‮
‮‪‮
‮‪‮
‮‪‮
‮‪‮
‮‪‮
‮‪

User avatar
12Me21
Member
Posts: 873
Joined: Tue Mar 05, 2013 00:36
GitHub: 12Me21
Location: (Ignore all of my posts before 2018)

Re: [Mod] travelnet teleporters/bookmarks [2.0][travelnet]

by 12Me21 » Post

I've found 2 problems:
1: when inside an elevator/travelnet box, you can't open the elevator doors because the hitbox for the teleporter surrounds you
2: if you push the elevator with a piston so there's a block where the top half was, then move it again or break it, it will destroy the block.

Other than that, this is a really awesome and useful mod.

It would be cool if there was another "less overpowered" teleporter, like the elevator but able to move in any direction, as long as it's a straight line (only one coordinate changes)

slemon
Member
Posts: 111
Joined: Sun Apr 27, 2014 03:56

Re: [Mod] travelnet teleporters/bookmarks [2.0][travelnet]

by slemon » Post

12Me21 wrote:I've found 2 problems:
1: when inside an elevator/travelnet box, you can't open the elevator doors because the hitbox for the teleporter surrounds you
2: if you push the elevator with a piston so there's a block where the top half was, then move it again or break it, it will destroy the block.

Other than that, this is a really awesome and useful mod.

It would be cool if there was another "less overpowered" teleporter, like the elevator but able to move in any direction, as long as it's a straight line (only one coordinate changes)
Why straight lines only?

User avatar
12Me21
Member
Posts: 873
Joined: Tue Mar 05, 2013 00:36
GitHub: 12Me21
Location: (Ignore all of my posts before 2018)

Re: [Mod] travelnet teleporters/bookmarks [2.0][travelnet]

by 12Me21 » Post

slemon wrote:
12Me21 wrote:I've found 2 problems:
1: when inside an elevator/travelnet box, you can't open the elevator doors because the hitbox for the teleporter surrounds you
2: if you push the elevator with a piston so there's a block where the top half was, then move it again or break it, it will destroy the block.

Other than that, this is a really awesome and useful mod.

It would be cool if there was another "less overpowered" teleporter, like the elevator but able to move in any direction, as long as it's a straight line (only one coordinate changes)
Why straight lines only?
because then it would be harder to set up; less overpowered.

User avatar
lightonflux
Member
Posts: 384
Joined: Mon Nov 11, 2013 07:22
In-game: lof
Location: Germany

Re:

by lightonflux » Post

Sokomine wrote:Dr. Who travels in time as well and has hardly any consicous control of where he will end up.
It highly depends on the incarnation. But that's offtopic. :)

Sokomine
Member
Posts: 4169
Joined: Sun Sep 09, 2012 17:31
GitHub: Sokomine

Re: [Mod] travelnet teleporters/bookmarks [2.0][travelnet]

by Sokomine » Post

12Me21 wrote: I've found 2 problems:
1: when inside an elevator/travelnet box, you can't open the elevator doors because the hitbox for the teleporter surrounds you
That's why it has those "<>" buttons in front of the station name. Click on that button to open/close the door - like with a real elevator.
12Me21 wrote: 2: if you push the elevator with a piston so there's a block where the top half was, then move it again or break it, it will destroy the block.
That's a common problem with all 2-nodes-wide objects and pistons. There's no easy solution for that I'm afraid.
A list of my mods can be found here.

User avatar
Hybrid Dog
Member
Posts: 2771
Joined: Thu Nov 01, 2012 12:46
GitHub: HybridDog

Re: [Mod] travelnet teleporters/bookmarks [2.0][travelnet]

by Hybrid Dog » Post

Sokomine wrote:
12Me21 wrote: 2: if you push the elevator with a piston so there's a block where the top half was, then move it again or break it, it will destroy the block.
That's a common problem with all 2-nodes-wide objects and pistons. There's no easy solution for that I'm afraid.
https://github.com/Sokomine/travelnet/b ... or.lua#L93
your on_destruct function doesn't test if the node above is "travelnet:elevator_top" before removing it,
see https://github.com/HybridDog/diamonds/b ... t.lua#L173

‮‪‮
‮‪‮
‮‪‮
‮‪‮
‮‪‮
‮‪‮
‮‪‮
‮‪‮
‮‪

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 6 guests