[Mod] More Blocks [moreblocks]

User avatar
Megaf
Member
Posts: 99
Joined: Fri Nov 01, 2013 18:00
GitHub: megaf
IRC: Megaf
In-game: Megaf
Contact:

Re: [Mod] More Blocks [moreblocks]

by Megaf » Post

18:38:55: ERROR[main]: ========== ERROR FROM LUA ===========
18:38:55: ERROR[main]: Failed to load and run script from
18:38:55: ERROR[main]: /home/minetest/Server/bin/../mods/moreblocks/init.lua:
18:38:55: ERROR[main]: /home/minetest/Server/bin/../mods/moreblocks/crafting.lua:456: unexpected symbol near '<'
18:38:55: ERROR[main]: stack traceback:
18:38:55: ERROR[main]: [C]: in function 'dofile'
18:38:55: ERROR[main]: /home/minetest/Server/bin/../mods/moreblocks/init.lua:28: in main chunk
18:38:55: ERROR[main]: ======= END OF ERROR FROM LUA ========
18:38:55: ERROR[main]: Server: Failed to load and run /home/minetest/Server/bin/../mods/moreblocks/init.lua
18:38:55: ERROR[main]: ERROR: An unhandled exception occurred: ModError: Failed to load and run /home/minetest/Server/bin/../mods/moreblocks/init.lua

User avatar
Calinou
Moderator
Posts: 3164
Joined: Mon Aug 01, 2011 14:26
GitHub: Calinou
IRC: Calinou
In-game: Calinou
Location: Troyes, France
Contact:

Re: [Mod] More Blocks [moreblocks]

by Calinou » Post

Megaf wrote:18:38:55: ERROR[main]: ========== ERROR FROM LUA ===========
18:38:55: ERROR[main]: Failed to load and run script from
18:38:55: ERROR[main]: /home/minetest/Server/bin/../mods/moreblocks/init.lua:
18:38:55: ERROR[main]: /home/minetest/Server/bin/../mods/moreblocks/crafting.lua:456: unexpected symbol near '<'
18:38:55: ERROR[main]: stack traceback:
18:38:55: ERROR[main]: [C]: in function 'dofile'
18:38:55: ERROR[main]: /home/minetest/Server/bin/../mods/moreblocks/init.lua:28: in main chunk
18:38:55: ERROR[main]: ======= END OF ERROR FROM LUA ========
18:38:55: ERROR[main]: Server: Failed to load and run /home/minetest/Server/bin/../mods/moreblocks/init.lua
18:38:55: ERROR[main]: ERROR: An unhandled exception occurred: ModError: Failed to load and run /home/minetest/Server/bin/../mods/moreblocks/init.lua
In the latest More Blocks, there is no “<” symbol in the entire crafting.lua file.

This is lines 456-458:

Code: Select all

minetest.register_craft({
	type = "cooking", output = "moreblocks:tar", recipe = "default:gravel",
})

User avatar
Megaf
Member
Posts: 99
Joined: Fri Nov 01, 2013 18:00
GitHub: megaf
IRC: Megaf
In-game: Megaf
Contact:

Re: [Mod] More Blocks [moreblocks]

by Megaf » Post

+ Spoiler
In the latest More Blocks, there is no “<” symbol in the entire crafting.lua file.

This is lines 456-458:

Code: Select all

minetest.register_craft({
	type = "cooking", output = "moreblocks:tar", recipe = "default:gravel",
})
[/quote]

Ok, I did a fresh git clone of Moreblocks and it works now. Thanks.

By the way, labs are only visible from one face, from the other one they are totally invisible.

User avatar
dgm5555
Member
Posts: 245
Joined: Tue Apr 08, 2014 19:45

Re: [Mod] More Blocks [moreblocks]

by dgm5555 » Post

Just updated more blocks a few minutes ago. Now it fails to run:-
10:46:55: ERROR[main]: ========== ERROR FROM LUA ===========
10:46:55: ERROR[main]: Failed to load and run script from
10:46:55: ERROR[main]: /home/david/.minetest/mods/moreblocks/init.lua:
10:46:55: ERROR[main]: ...d/.minetest/mods/moreblocks/stairsplus/registrations.lua:39: attempt to index local 'ndef' (a nil value)
10:46:55: ERROR[main]: stack traceback:
10:46:55: ERROR[main]: ...d/.minetest/mods/moreblocks/stairsplus/registrations.lua:39: in main chunk
10:46:55: ERROR[main]: [C]: in function 'dofile'
10:46:55: ERROR[main]: /home/david/.minetest/mods/moreblocks/stairsplus/init.lua:52: in main chunk
10:46:55: ERROR[main]: [C]: in function 'dofile'
10:46:55: ERROR[main]: /home/david/.minetest/mods/moreblocks/init.lua:25: in main chunk
10:46:55: ERROR[main]: ======= END OF ERROR FROM LUA ========
10:46:55: ERROR[main]: Server: Failed to load and run /home/david/.minetest/mods/moreblocks/init.lua
10:46:55: ERROR[main]: ModError: ModError: Failed to load and run /home/david/.minetest/mods/moreblocks/init.lua

User avatar
Calinou
Moderator
Posts: 3164
Joined: Mon Aug 01, 2011 14:26
GitHub: Calinou
IRC: Calinou
In-game: Calinou
Location: Troyes, France
Contact:

Re: [Mod] More Blocks [moreblocks]

by Calinou » Post

dgm5555 wrote:Just updated more blocks a few minutes ago. Now it fails to run:-
10:46:55: ERROR[main]: ========== ERROR FROM LUA ===========
10:46:55: ERROR[main]: Failed to load and run script from
10:46:55: ERROR[main]: /home/david/.minetest/mods/moreblocks/init.lua:
10:46:55: ERROR[main]: ...d/.minetest/mods/moreblocks/stairsplus/registrations.lua:39: attempt to index local 'ndef' (a nil value)
10:46:55: ERROR[main]: stack traceback:
10:46:55: ERROR[main]: ...d/.minetest/mods/moreblocks/stairsplus/registrations.lua:39: in main chunk
10:46:55: ERROR[main]: [C]: in function 'dofile'
10:46:55: ERROR[main]: /home/david/.minetest/mods/moreblocks/stairsplus/init.lua:52: in main chunk
10:46:55: ERROR[main]: [C]: in function 'dofile'
10:46:55: ERROR[main]: /home/david/.minetest/mods/moreblocks/init.lua:25: in main chunk
10:46:55: ERROR[main]: ======= END OF ERROR FROM LUA ========
10:46:55: ERROR[main]: Server: Failed to load and run /home/david/.minetest/mods/moreblocks/init.lua
10:46:55: ERROR[main]: ModError: ModError: Failed to load and run /home/david/.minetest/mods/moreblocks/init.lua
This appears to be the same issue as this one.

What version of Minetest do you use? Please use 0.4.11 or newer.

User avatar
dgm5555
Member
Posts: 245
Joined: Tue Apr 08, 2014 19:45

Re: [Mod] More Blocks [moreblocks]

by dgm5555 » Post

Unfortunately due to all the serious bugs I've experienced in 0.4.11 , I've reverted to 0.4.10.
Would you have any idea how far back I have to go to get a version of moreblocks which works under .10 - I foolishly didn't keep a copy of my working version under .10.

EDIT: Don't worry, I picked a commit just before the release of .11, and it seems to work fine:-
https://gitorious.org/calinou/moreblock ... 6ba051.zip

User avatar
Inocudom
Member
Posts: 3096
Joined: Sat Sep 29, 2012 01:14
IRC: Inocudom
In-game: Inocudom

Re: [Mod] More Blocks [moreblocks]

by Inocudom » Post

I... Guess this problem... Will never be fixed then... Never... Never... Never...
You can now find my videos at BitChute: https://www.bitchute.com/channel/some_cheeky_jinuskian/

User avatar
Calinou
Moderator
Posts: 3164
Joined: Mon Aug 01, 2011 14:26
GitHub: Calinou
IRC: Calinou
In-game: Calinou
Location: Troyes, France
Contact:

Re: [Mod] More Blocks [moreblocks]

by Calinou » Post

Inocudom wrote:I... Guess this problem... Will never be fixed then... Never... Never... Never...
It is possible to exclude non-existing nodes instead of crashing using some code (VanessaE should have it), but I haven't applied it (yet).

User avatar
VanessaE
Moderator
Posts: 4536
Joined: Sun Apr 01, 2012 12:38
GitHub: VanessaE
IRC: VanessaE
In-game: VanessaE
Location: Western NC
Contact:

Re: [Mod] More Blocks [moreblocks]

by VanessaE » Post

The fix is actually as obvious as it seems :-)

After line 37 of registrations.lua, add if ndef then , and before line 57, add a corresponding end . Be sure to adjust the indentation accordingly.

This will stop stairsplus from trying to register a node that isn't actually defined by the current game.
You might like some of my stuff: Plantlife ~ More Trees ~ Home Decor ~ Pipeworks ~ HDX Textures (64-512px)

Dartmouth
Member
Posts: 121
Joined: Sat Dec 06, 2014 14:39

Re: [Mod] More Blocks [moreblocks]

by Dartmouth » Post

VanessaE wrote:The fix is actually as obvious as it seems :-)

After line 37 of registrations.lua, add if ndef then , and before line 57, add a corresponding end . Be sure to adjust the indentation accordingly.

This will stop stairsplus from trying to register a node that isn't actually defined by the current game.
Should it be like this?

Code: Select all

[...]
	if ndef then
		local groups = {}
		for k, v in pairs(ndef.groups)
			-- Ignore wood and stone groups to not make them usable in crafting:
			do if k ~= "wood" and k ~= "stone" then
				groups[k] = v
			end
		end
		local drop
		if type(ndef.drop) == "string" then
			drop = ndef.drop:sub(9)
		end
		stairsplus:register_all("moreblocks", name, nodename, {
			description = ndef.description,
			drop = drop,
			groups = groups,
			sounds = ndef.sounds,
			tiles = ndef.tiles,
			sunlight_propagates = true,
	end
[...]
However, it gives me this error when running:

Code: Select all

11:33:39: ERROR[main]: ========== ERROR FROM LUA ===========
11:33:39: ERROR[main]: Failed to load and run script from 
11:33:39: ERROR[main]: /home/martin/.minetest/mods/moreblocks/init.lua:
11:33:39: ERROR[main]: ...n/.minetest/mods/moreblocks/stairsplus/registrations.lua:57: unexpected symbol near 'end'
11:33:39: ERROR[main]: stack traceback:
11:33:39: ERROR[main]:  [C]: in function 'dofile'
11:33:39: ERROR[main]:  /home/martin/.minetest/mods/moreblocks/stairsplus/init.lua:52: in main chunk
11:33:39: ERROR[main]:  [C]: in function 'dofile'
11:33:39: ERROR[main]:  /home/martin/.minetest/mods/moreblocks/init.lua:25: in main chunk
11:33:39: ERROR[main]: ======= END OF ERROR FROM LUA ========
Minetest 0.4.11 stable and latest moreblocks...

Any hints on how to fix this?

EDIT: Found it :) the "end" should be added AFTER line 57, so that the brackets from line 50 are closed.

User avatar
Calinou
Moderator
Posts: 3164
Joined: Mon Aug 01, 2011 14:26
GitHub: Calinou
IRC: Calinou
In-game: Calinou
Location: Troyes, France
Contact:

Re: [Mod] More Blocks [moreblocks]

by Calinou » Post

Thanks, I have committed this (tested).

https://gitorious.org/calinou/moreblock ... ae0493af40

User avatar
jp
Member
Posts: 797
Joined: Wed Dec 18, 2013 09:03
GitHub: kilbith
Location: France

Re: [Mod] More Blocks [moreblocks]

by jp » Post

A bug present since months : the glass nodes from the circular saw lack of borders on 5 faces (sides and underside).

Image

User avatar
numzero
New member
Posts: 7
Joined: Tue Apr 21, 2015 18:51
GitHub: numberZero
IRC: numzero

Re: [Mod] More Blocks [moreblocks]

by numzero » Post

In minetest d1d5618 I had stairs and slabs from both Stairs (from minetest_game) and Moreblocks mods as different node types. Here is a patch that fixes that:
+ Spoiler
Adding Stairs as soft dependency ensures that it, if present, is loaded before the Moreblocks mod.
Explicit copying of fields.groups is necessary to keep basic stairs in creative inventory (and, what is more important for me, in Unified Inventory) while not adding them all.

User avatar
Minetestforfun
Member
Posts: 940
Joined: Tue Aug 05, 2014 14:09
GitHub: MinetestForFun
IRC: MinetestForFun
In-game: MinetestForFun
Location: On earth
Contact:

Re: [Mod] More Blocks [moreblocks]

by Minetestforfun » Post

+ Spoiler
+1, it will be solved someday ? :(

User avatar
jp
Member
Posts: 797
Joined: Wed Dec 18, 2013 09:03
GitHub: kilbith
Location: France

Re: [Mod] More Blocks [moreblocks]

by jp » Post


User avatar
addi
Member
Posts: 664
Joined: Thu Sep 20, 2012 03:16
GitHub: adrido
Location: Black-Forest, Germany

Re: [Mod] More Blocks [moreblocks]

by addi » Post

Where do i find the current version?
is it on Github again? https://github.com/Calinou/moreblocks/
on notabug? https://notabug.org/calinou/moreblocks
or gitorious? https://gitorious.org/calinou/moreblocks/

User avatar
Calinou
Moderator
Posts: 3164
Joined: Mon Aug 01, 2011 14:26
GitHub: Calinou
IRC: Calinou
In-game: Calinou
Location: Troyes, France
Contact:

Re: [Mod] More Blocks [moreblocks]

by Calinou » Post

addi wrote:Where do i find the current version?
is it on Github again? https://github.com/Calinou/moreblocks/
on notabug? https://notabug.org/calinou/moreblocks
or gitorious? https://gitorious.org/calinou/moreblocks/
On GitHub, the two other ones are obsolete now. (Gitorious is also read-only since June 1th 2015).

User avatar
addi
Member
Posts: 664
Joined: Thu Sep 20, 2012 03:16
GitHub: adrido
Location: Black-Forest, Germany

Re: [Mod] More Blocks [moreblocks]

by addi » Post

thanks

User avatar
Calinou
Moderator
Posts: 3164
Joined: Mon Aug 01, 2011 14:26
GitHub: Calinou
IRC: Calinou
In-game: Calinou
Location: Troyes, France
Contact:

Re: [Mod] More Blocks [moreblocks]

by Calinou » Post

More Blocks now features the slopes in the circular saw:

Image

mgl
Member
Posts: 39
Joined: Wed Sep 10, 2014 16:13
GitHub: mgl512
Location: France

Re: [Mod] More Blocks [moreblocks]

by mgl » Post

I got a very confusing error about the functions core.item_place_node() and core.add_node() from the minetest file 'builtin/game/item.lua' while trying to place your updated saw.

It was because the subgame I used didn't have the default.gui* constants (and textures, especially the file 'gui_formbg.png') found in minetest_game (in file 'minetest_game/mods/default/init.lua').

Adding them solved it. Might help others.

User avatar
jp
Member
Posts: 797
Joined: Wed Dec 18, 2013 09:03
GitHub: kilbith
Location: France

Re: [Mod] More Blocks [moreblocks]

by jp » Post

Yes, subgames must use a recent base of minetest_game (>= 0.4.10) for using the fancy GUI style.

(Carbone uses a 0.4.9 minetest_game base, AFAIK)

User avatar
lightonflux
Member
Posts: 384
Joined: Mon Nov 11, 2013 07:22
In-game: lof
Location: Germany

Re: [Mod] More Blocks [moreblocks]

by lightonflux » Post

Could you edited the first post? The situation about the right code repository is a bit confusing.

User avatar
necron099
Member
Posts: 63
Joined: Wed Feb 27, 2013 16:10
Location: Florida

Re: [Mod] More Blocks [moreblocks]

by necron099 » Post

Calinou,

I ran into a bug? I downloaded this from github and installed it into a subgame I was working on and there was no breath bar displayed. Removed all mods and replaced them one by one until I found the cause of this.

Just to be sure yesterday I downloaded and compiled a fresh minetest and minetest_game and unzipped this mod (there were no other mods except the default ones) and waited underwater for a couple of minutes and no breath bar showed up. Took this mod out and the breath bar appeared.

schnico
New member
Posts: 6
Joined: Fri Jan 08, 2016 21:13
In-game: schnico

Re: [Mod] More Blocks [moreblocks]

by schnico » Post

Hi calinou,

why does pinewood doesn't work with circular saw anymore?
We used it often on our server, but after updating your mod there were only ugly unknown nodes instead of pinewood slabs. :(

cheers, schnico

schnico
New member
Posts: 6
Joined: Fri Jan 08, 2016 21:13
In-game: schnico

Re: [Mod] More Blocks [moreblocks]

by schnico » Post

schnico wrote:Hi calinou,

why does pinewood doesn't work with circular saw anymore?
We used it often on our server, but after updating your mod there were only ugly unknown nodes instead of pinewood slabs. :(

cheers, schnico
Forgot it, it was just because of our old game. (default:pinewood -> default:pine_wood)

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: FelipeGames2000 and 8 guests