[Mod] Weather (Snow, Rain) [weather]

User avatar
theFox
Member
Posts: 189
Joined: Sun Feb 12, 2017 14:08
GitHub: theFox6
In-game: theFox
Location: Germany

Re: [Mod] Weather (Snow, Rain) [weather]

by theFox » Post

If you set collision detection of the rain to true, you can remove the checking for houses and it will only rain outside. With snow it looks quite ugly but with rain it's OK, but like this the rain gets stuck in trees. Think about it.

And you should check whether a player is above y = 200 or something so the rain is not above the clouds.

Nice mod btw. ; )
my mods and subgames (ง'̀-'́)ง

User avatar
Scarecrowman
Member
Posts: 40
Joined: Sun Nov 19, 2017 14:48
In-game: Scarecrowman
Location: The Ranch, S4, on a secure government computer...

Re: [Mod] Weather (Snow, Rain) [weather]

by Scarecrowman » Post

Hey I installed this Mod, but for some reason the command "/setweather snow" doesn't work. Have I missed something?

I see something saying that I have to set privileges to weather, is that what I missed? I tried setting my privilege to setweather on singleplayer but its telling me no such privilege exists. Help.
"Those who dream by day are cognizant of many things that escape those who only dream at night..."
-EDGAR ALLAN POE

User avatar
Lone_Wolf
Member
Posts: 2412
Joined: Sun Apr 09, 2017 05:50
GitHub: LoneWolfHT
IRC: Lone_Wolf or LoneWolfHT
In-game: Lone_Wolf
Location: Not there, THERE!

Re: [Mod] Weather (Snow, Rain) [weather]

by Lone_Wolf » Post

Scarecrowman wrote:Hey I installed this Mod, but for some reason the command "/setweather snow" doesn't work. Have I missed something?

I see something saying that I have to set privileges to weather, is that what I missed? I tried setting my privilege to setweather on singleplayer but its telling me no such privilege exists. Help.
Run the command: /grantme all Then try

User avatar
Scarecrowman
Member
Posts: 40
Joined: Sun Nov 19, 2017 14:48
In-game: Scarecrowman
Location: The Ranch, S4, on a secure government computer...

Re: [Mod] Weather (Snow, Rain) [weather]

by Scarecrowman » Post

Lone_Wolf wrote:
Scarecrowman wrote:Hey I installed this Mod, but for some reason the command "/setweather snow" doesn't work. Have I missed something?

I see something saying that I have to set privileges to weather, is that what I missed? I tried setting my privilege to setweather on singleplayer but its telling me no such privilege exists. Help.
Run the command: /grantme all Then try
That worked. :3 Thanks wolf!
"Those who dream by day are cognizant of many things that escape those who only dream at night..."
-EDGAR ALLAN POE

User avatar
AndroBuilder
Member
Posts: 51
Joined: Mon Dec 04, 2017 11:34
In-game: AndroBuilder

Re: [Mod] Weather (Snow, Rain) [weather]

by AndroBuilder » Post

+1

User avatar
theFox
Member
Posts: 189
Joined: Sun Feb 12, 2017 14:08
GitHub: theFox6
In-game: theFox
Location: Germany

Re: [Mod] Weather (Snow, Rain) [weather]

by theFox » Post

the weather mod now supports wind:
  • blows around the downfall
  • feel the wrath of winter when the snow is blown into your face
  • new command for even more control over the weather
there now is an api for downfall registration
  • easily add your own types of wind,storm,etc.
  • you can add whatever your heart desires in your mod using 'weather_mod.register_downfall'
  • have fun implementing cat rain, poop rain or anything else
my mods and subgames (ง'̀-'́)ง

User avatar
Linuxdirk
Member
Posts: 2671
Joined: Wed Sep 17, 2014 11:21
In-game: Linuxdirk
Location: Germany
Contact:

Re: [Mod] Weather (Snow, Rain) [weather]

by Linuxdirk » Post

Great and very advanced mod. But maybe you like this: https://github.com/theFox6/minetest_mod_weather/pull/7



Oh, and …
Scarecrowman wrote:Hey I installed this Mod, but for some reason the command "/setweather snow" doesn't work. Have I missed something?
You need to use /setweather weather:snow (it actually crashed the game for me when just using snow as parameter)

User avatar
theFox
Member
Posts: 189
Joined: Sun Feb 12, 2017 14:08
GitHub: theFox6
In-game: theFox
Location: Germany

Re: [Mod] Weather (Snow, Rain) [weather]

by theFox » Post

Linuxdirk wrote:it actually crashed the game for me when just using snow as parameter
That shouldn't happen, could you show me the log? (preferably in a GitHub issue)
my mods and subgames (ง'̀-'́)ง

User avatar
Linuxdirk
Member
Posts: 2671
Joined: Wed Sep 17, 2014 11:21
In-game: Linuxdirk
Location: Germany
Contact:

Re: [Mod] Weather (Snow, Rain) [weather]

by Linuxdirk » Post

theFox wrote:
Linuxdirk wrote:it actually crashed the game for me when just using snow as parameter
That shouldn't happen, could you show me the log? (preferably in a GitHub issue)
Here you go: https://github.com/theFox6/minetest_mod ... r/issues/8

User avatar
theFox
Member
Posts: 189
Joined: Sun Feb 12, 2017 14:08
GitHub: theFox6
In-game: theFox
Location: Germany

Re: [Mod] Weather (Snow, Rain) [weather]

by theFox » Post

fixed ^^
my mods and subgames (ง'̀-'́)ง

User avatar
Stix
Member
Posts: 1385
Joined: Fri Aug 04, 2017 14:19
IRC: nil
In-game: Stix [+alts]
Location: USA

Re: [Mod] Weather (Snow, Rain) [weather]

by Stix » Post

theFox wrote:the weather mod now supports wind:
  • blows around the downfall
  • feel the wrath of winter when the snow is blown into your face
  • new command for even more control over the weather
there now is an api for downfall registration
  • easily add your own types of wind,storm,etc.
  • you can add whatever your heart desires in your mod using 'weather_mod.register_downfall'
  • have fun implementing cat rain, poop rain or anything else
can you provide a link to your fork please?
Hey, what can i say? I'm the bad guy.

User avatar
theFox
Member
Posts: 189
Joined: Sun Feb 12, 2017 14:08
GitHub: theFox6
In-game: theFox
Location: Germany

Re: [Mod] Weather (Snow, Rain) [weather]

by theFox » Post

Stix wrote:can you provide a link to your fork please?
https://github.com/theFox6/minetest_mod_weather
You could also use the link in the first post.
my mods and subgames (ง'̀-'́)ง

User avatar
Linuxdirk
Member
Posts: 2671
Joined: Wed Sep 17, 2014 11:21
In-game: Linuxdirk
Location: Germany
Contact:

Re: [Mod] Weather (Snow, Rain) [weather]

by Linuxdirk » Post

theFox wrote:fixed ^^
Confirmed :)

User avatar
BillyS
Member
Posts: 28
Joined: Thu May 31, 2018 17:10
GitHub: Billy-S
IRC: BillyS
In-game: BillyS
Location: By my computer
Contact:

Re: [Mod] Weather (Snow, Rain) [weather]

by BillyS » Post

I wanna put this on my server, but I know it will explode if I do.
<SHAMELESS PLUG> Play on my server Blocky Survival! It's unique! </SHAMELESS PLUG>

User avatar
theFox
Member
Posts: 189
Joined: Sun Feb 12, 2017 14:08
GitHub: theFox6
In-game: theFox
Location: Germany

Re: [Mod] Weather (Snow, Rain) [weather]

by theFox » Post

BillyS wrote:I wanna put this on my server, but I know it will explode if I do.
Are you sure? This mod just uses client side particles.
my mods and subgames (ง'̀-'́)ง

coolsammyo
New member
Posts: 1
Joined: Tue Oct 28, 2014 00:48
In-game: patty

Re: [Mod] Weather (Snow, Rain) [weather]

by coolsammyo » Post

When I try to use the "setweather" command, it says "Invalid command: setweather"

I have granted myself all privileges.

User avatar
theFox
Member
Posts: 189
Joined: Sun Feb 12, 2017 14:08
GitHub: theFox6
In-game: theFox
Location: Germany

Re: [Mod] Weather (Snow, Rain) [weather]

by theFox » Post

coolsammyo wrote:When I try to use the "setweather" command, it says "Invalid command: setweather"

I have granted myself all privileges.
Even without granting yourself all privileges it shouldn't have said invalid command...
Could clear out your log.txt, retry to run the command and send the contents of log.txt after that?
You find log.txt directly in the folder of your minetest or in the "bin" folder there.
my mods and subgames (ง'̀-'́)ง

InkStone
New member
Posts: 4
Joined: Fri Oct 02, 2020 13:53

api.lua:205: bad argument #2 to 'random' (interval is empty)

by InkStone » Post

Running into an error, not sure if it's me (likely) or a minor bug.
I'll keep digging but I'll put this here just in case it's the latter.

Server Setup:
  • Minetest 5.3.0 from git release
  • Latest version of "weather" from content.minetest.net (as of this posting)
Adding weather generates the following error;

Code: Select all

2020-10-05 15:33:29: ERROR[Main]: ServerError: AsyncErr: environment_Step: Runtime error from mod 'weather' in callback environment_Step(): ...s/minetest_5.3.0/bin/../mods/weather/weather/api.lua:205: bad argument #2 to 'random' (interval is empty)
2020-10-05 15:33:29: ERROR[Main]: stack traceback:
2020-10-05 15:33:29: ERROR[Main]:       [C]: in function 'random'
2020-10-05 15:33:29: ERROR[Main]:       ...s/minetest_5.3.0/bin/../mods/weather/weather/api.lua:205: in function '?'
2020-10-05 15:33:29: ERROR[Main]:       ...ilds/minetest_5.3.0/bin/../builtin/game/register.lua:429: in function <...ilds/minetest_5.3.0/bin/../builtin/game/register.lua:413>
2020-10-05 15:33:29: ERROR[Main]: stack traceback:
I ran a test on a fresh world with only weather mod enabled, and still got the error (hopefully ruling out conflicts and load order if that's an issue)

User avatar
theFox
Member
Posts: 189
Joined: Sun Feb 12, 2017 14:08
GitHub: theFox6
In-game: theFox
Location: Germany

Re: [Mod] Weather (Snow, Rain) [weather]

by theFox » Post

Interesting bug, I think it occurs when there is no weather registered. I will fix this as soon as my computer is fixed.
However if no weather is registered, that would suggest that there is another bug.
my mods and subgames (ง'̀-'́)ง

InkStone
New member
Posts: 4
Joined: Fri Oct 02, 2020 13:53

Re: [Mod] Weather (Snow, Rain) [weather]

by InkStone » Post

theFox wrote:
Tue Oct 06, 2020 08:18
Interesting bug, I think it occurs when there is no weather registered. I will fix this as soon as my computer is fixed.
However if no weather is registered, that would suggest that there is another bug.

Just to poke around (and I dislike not trying to help), I looked inside the world folder "weather" file and this was the entry:

Code: Select all

return {["type"] = "none", ["wind"] = {["y"] = 0, ["x"] = 0, ["z"] = 0}}


I changed "none" to "rain' based on the mcl_weather file in another world using MineClone2.
Still got the error message from above.



I went to reset the file and it had changed to:

Code: Select all

return {["wind"] = {["y"] = 0, ["x"] = 0, ["z"] = 0}, ["type"] = "rain"}
No rush on the fix, but I'm happy to post up any info you might be curious about.

Thank you for your mod and your time.

User avatar
theFox
Member
Posts: 189
Joined: Sun Feb 12, 2017 14:08
GitHub: theFox6
In-game: theFox
Location: Germany

Re: [Mod] Weather (Snow, Rain) [weather]

by theFox » Post

Edit: In fact I have just realized that this was caused by a fault I made. I think I have it fixed now. Try the latest release.
my mods and subgames (ง'̀-'́)ง

InkStone
New member
Posts: 4
Joined: Fri Oct 02, 2020 13:53

Re: [Mod] Weather (Snow, Rain) [weather]

by InkStone » Post

That did the trick! Thank you.

Merak
Member
Posts: 95
Joined: Sat Nov 05, 2016 20:34

Re: [Mod] Weather (Snow, Rain) [weather]

by Merak » Post

I had snow and freezing in a temperate biome and snow was falling inside a building. Those would be some meaningful things to improve.

User avatar
theFox
Member
Posts: 189
Joined: Sun Feb 12, 2017 14:08
GitHub: theFox6
In-game: theFox
Location: Germany

Re: [Mod] Weather (Snow, Rain) [weather]

by theFox » Post

Merak wrote:
Thu Oct 08, 2020 07:58
I had snow and freezing in a temperate biome and snow was falling inside a building. Those would be some meaningful things to improve.
I should add heat checks, that's a good idea.
my mods and subgames (ง'̀-'́)ง

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 7 guests