[Mod] More Ores [moreores]

User avatar
numidark
Member
Posts: 17
Joined: Fri Mar 30, 2012 22:29

by numidark » Post

Thank you ;) it's good :D

User avatar
numidark
Member
Posts: 17
Joined: Fri Mar 30, 2012 22:29

by numidark » Post

Sorry but i don't possibility to use tool (bronze, gold, silver, mytril)
I must modify init.lua ?
Cordialy

cosarara97
Member
Posts: 180
Joined: Tue Nov 01, 2011 18:53

by cosarara97 » Post

cosarara97 wrote:Tools have to be updated as well.
numidark wrote:Sorry but i don't possibility to use tool (bronze, gold, silver, mytril)
I must modify init.lua ?
Cordialy
Yep
Last edited by cosarara97 on Sun Apr 01, 2012 08:28, edited 1 time in total.
:D

User avatar
VanessaE
Moderator
Posts: 4655
Joined: Sun Apr 01, 2012 12:38
GitHub: VanessaE
IRC: VanessaE
In-game: VanessaE
Location: Western NC
Contact:

by VanessaE » Post

Hi all,

This is my first post to this forum, so first I'd like to say that I've grown rather fond of MineTest, to the point of playing it pretty much constantly! I'm using 0.4 (2012-03-20), and have installed the moreores, moreblocks, mesecons, and zlpdoors mods, and Misa's 64x64 texture pack.

That aside, I've got a bug report for the author of moreores:

From the top post in this thread, mithril is supposed to be pretty much the fastest, hardest-cutting material available, but I'm finding that this isn't the case. A mithril pickaxe can't cut stone or gravel, and is only about as fast as steel (or a bit less).

(I've already applied the can't-mine-moreores fix from earlier in this thread)
Last edited by VanessaE on Sun Apr 01, 2012 12:51, edited 1 time in total.
You might like some of my stuff: Plantlife ~ More Trees ~ Home Decor ~ Pipeworks ~ HDX Textures (64-512px)

User avatar
Calinou
Moderator
Posts: 3169
Joined: Mon Aug 01, 2011 14:26
GitHub: Calinou
IRC: Calinou
In-game: Calinou
Location: Troyes, France
Contact:

by Calinou » Post

Decided to update my mod. Enjoy, report any bugs found.

inkelyad
Member
Posts: 12
Joined: Sat Jan 21, 2012 13:56

by inkelyad » Post

Current generate_ore function seems boring to me.
Here is my version. It will use new perling noise api to create areas with different ore density.

Code: Select all

local function generate_ore_perlin(name, wherein, minp, maxp, seed, chunks_per_volume, ore_per_chunk, height_min, height_max, perlin, cut_at_noiseval)
    if maxp.y < height_min or minp.y > height_max then
        return
    end
    local y_min = math.max(minp.y, height_min)
    local y_max = math.min(maxp.y, height_max)
    local volume = (maxp.x-minp.x+1)*(y_max-y_min+1)*(maxp.z-minp.z+1)
    local pr = PseudoRandom(seed)
    local num_chunks = math.floor(chunks_per_volume * volume)
    local a = 2 * ore_per_chunk/(cut_at_noiseval - 1)
    --print("generate_ore num_chunks: "..dump(num_chunks))
    for i=1,num_chunks do
        local y0 = pr:next(y_min, y_max-2)
        if y0 >= height_min and y0 <= height_max then
            local x0 = pr:next(minp.x, maxp.x-2)
            local z0 = pr:next(minp.z, maxp.z-2)
            local p0 = {x=x0, y=y0, z=z0}
            local noiseval = perlin:get3d(p0)
            -- print("chunk at: "..dump(p0).." noiseval: "..dump(noiseval))
            local ore_per_chunk_scaled = a * ( cut_at_noiseval - noiseval)
            ore_per_chunk_scaled = math.max(ore_per_chunk_scaled, 0)
            ore_per_chunk_scaled = math.min(ore_per_chunk_scaled, ore_per_chunk)
            ore_per_chunk_scaled = math.floor(ore_per_chunk_scaled)
            -- print("chunk at: "..dump(p0).." noiseval: "..dump(noiseval).." ore_per_chunk: "..dump(ore_per_chunk_scaled))
            if ore_per_chunk_scaled > 0  then
                local chunk_size = 3
                if ore_per_chunk_scaled <= 4 then
                    chunk_size = 2
                end

                local inverse_chance = math.floor(chunk_size * chunk_size * chunk_size/ore_per_chunk_scaled)
                for x1=0,chunk_size-1 do
                for y1=0,chunk_size-1 do
                for z1=0,chunk_size-1 do
                    local p1 = {x=x0 + x1, y = y0 + y1, z = z0 + z1}
                    if pr:next(1,inverse_chance) == 1 then
                        -- if minetest.env:get_node(p2).name == wherein then -- COMMENTED FOR DEBUG
                            minetest.env:set_node(p1, {name=name})
                        -- end -- COMMENTED FOR DEBUG
                    end
                end
                end
                end
            end
        end
    end
    --print("generate_ore done")
end
Example usage:

Code: Select all

minetest.register_on_generated(function(minp, maxp, seed)
    local copper_perlin = minetest.env:get_perlin(471, 3, 0.6, 200)
    generate_ore_perlin("moreores:mineral_copper", "default:stone", minp, maxp, seed+16,   1/8/8/8,    6, -31000,  64, copper_perlin, 0.2)
    
    local tin_perlin = minetest.env:get_perlin(472, 3, 0.6, 200)
    generate_ore_perlin("moreores:mineral_tin", "default:stone", minp, maxp, seed+17,   1/10/10/10,    5, -31000,  64, tin_perlin, 0.3)

end)


Troy6879
Member
Posts: 63
Joined: Tue Mar 27, 2012 04:19
Location: Kaikohe,New Zealand

by Troy6879 » Post

bwog wrote:Here's some suggestions:
Silicon (Could be used to make computers, which would be a decoration block)
Sulfur (Could be used to make guns)
Cobalt
Nickel
Platinum
Zinc
Titanium
Lead
Nice Ideas but heres another one: casieum(Not to sure i that's spelt right.) So i you put in a rain mod, this nast invintory item will make EXPLODE!
Last edited by Troy6879 on Tue Apr 24, 2012 09:24, edited 1 time in total.
They shall not grow old as we that are left grow old,
Age shall not weary them,nor the years condemn, (For the fallen, In honur of ANZAC, 25th April 1915))
At the going down of the sun and in the morning,
We shall remember them.

User avatar
Calinou
Moderator
Posts: 3169
Joined: Mon Aug 01, 2011 14:26
GitHub: Calinou
IRC: Calinou
In-game: Calinou
Location: Troyes, France
Contact:

by Calinou » Post

inkelyad: Does it still perform well?

inkelyad
Member
Posts: 12
Joined: Sat Jan 21, 2012 13:56

by inkelyad » Post

I think so. But I am biased. And I don't know how to profile Lua.

User avatar
Trenton
Member
Posts: 22
Joined: Mon May 14, 2012 22:58
Location: Italy

by Trenton » Post

hurufu wrote:What do you think about implementing all kinds of stones and ores as in Dwarf Fortress?
http://df.magmawiki.com/index.php/DF2010:Stone
http://df.magmawiki.com/index.php/DF2010:Ore

it's funny because one day I wonder if this game will become so complex and detailed to make a 3D version of Dwarf fortress.

A man can dream... A man can dream...
[Professor farnsworth's voice]
Sorry for my poor english

>I'm still testing my mod. if you wanna help me contact me =)

User avatar
Calinou
Moderator
Posts: 3169
Joined: Mon Aug 01, 2011 14:26
GitHub: Calinou
IRC: Calinou
In-game: Calinou
Location: Troyes, France
Contact:

by Calinou » Post

Update!
I added in an easter egg - try to find it. :)

User avatar
RandomBot
Member
Posts: 164
Joined: Sun May 20, 2012 03:46
Location: Behind you, go ahead, look....

by RandomBot » Post

i had something to say but i started reading the other posts and forgot...
"Everyone has a plan, until they get punched in the face"
- Mike Tyson

User avatar
Calinou
Moderator
Posts: 3169
Joined: Mon Aug 01, 2011 14:26
GitHub: Calinou
IRC: Calinou
In-game: Calinou
Location: Troyes, France
Contact:

by Calinou » Post

Small update.

Jat
Member
Posts: 229
Joined: Fri Nov 11, 2011 16:15

by Jat » Post

For english:
Bug in -350~-400 and -600 or -...
For french:
Sorry for french.
Je ne sais pas si sais ta dernier version mais la mienne et celle du serveur plante entre -350 et -400 et ensuite sa plante sans fin a chaque fois qu'on redemarre dans la zone si on se tp pu de probléme et on dirait que en dessous -600 sa plante pu...
Et dans les log il nous renvoie In trans_func.
La causse c'est ton mod mes ensuite qui est vraiment la causse minetest ou le mod...

Ps: je vais test avec la dernier version suis pas sur que j'ai vraiment la dernier :)
Meme bug j'utilise le dernier minetest donner sur le blog pas le Github.
Last edited by Jat on Sun Jun 03, 2012 16:06, edited 1 time in total.

Deady
New member
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Mar 07, 2012 06:02

by Deady » Post

I love this. :)

User avatar
Calinou
Moderator
Posts: 3169
Joined: Mon Aug 01, 2011 14:26
GitHub: Calinou
IRC: Calinou
In-game: Calinou
Location: Troyes, France
Contact:

by Calinou » Post

Jat wrote:For english:
Bug in -350~-400 and -600 or -...
For french:
Sorry for french.
Je ne sais pas si sais ta dernier version mais la mienne et celle du serveur plante entre -350 et -400 et ensuite sa plante sans fin a chaque fois qu'on redemarre dans la zone si on se tp pu de probléme et on dirait que en dessous -600 sa plante pu...
Et dans les log il nous renvoie In trans_func.
La causse c'est ton mod mes ensuite qui est vraiment la causse minetest ou le mod...

Ps: je vais test avec la dernier version suis pas sur que j'ai vraiment la dernier :)
Meme bug j'utilise le dernier minetest donner sur le blog pas le Github.
Ca marche sans problème pour moi. ^^
Deady wrote:I love this. :)
Thanks. :P

neo
Member
Posts: 56
Joined: Fri Jun 15, 2012 07:50
Location: france

by neo » Post

Faut qu'il mette son moreores à jour.

J'avais le même problème il y a 2 semaines, j'avais manqué une révision. : )

User avatar
Calinou
Moderator
Posts: 3169
Joined: Mon Aug 01, 2011 14:26
GitHub: Calinou
IRC: Calinou
In-game: Calinou
Location: Troyes, France
Contact:

by Calinou » Post

Update with new code (thanks to MarkTraceur) and better balance.

neo
Member
Posts: 56
Joined: Fri Jun 15, 2012 07:50
Location: france

by neo » Post

got it ! Tx.

Xero

by Xero » Post

Hi.

I have a little problem.
There isn´t any texture for the ores when I play the game. There is the "unknown block" texture instead.
There is however textures for the lumps and the ingots (have not tested for the tools).

Screenshot: http://imageshack.us/photo/my-images/846/81673467.png/

Have anyone a suggestion for what I should do?

I run Windows XP by the way.

User avatar
Calinou
Moderator
Posts: 3169
Joined: Mon Aug 01, 2011 14:26
GitHub: Calinou
IRC: Calinou
In-game: Calinou
Location: Troyes, France
Contact:

by Calinou » Post

That bug should be fixed in the latest version. Well, I hope. You could use the legacy "old_init.lua" if you want, too (delete init.lua, rename old_init.lua > init.lua).

Xero

by Xero » Post

Thanks! That solved the problem.

TheLoLMan
Member
Posts: 190
Joined: Sat Jun 16, 2012 13:43

by TheLoLMan » Post

Version Minetest????
I use minetest-0.4.dev-20120122-1-win32

User avatar
Myu
Member
Posts: 30
Joined: Thu Sep 22, 2011 09:08

by Myu » Post

Awesome mod ! Thanks a ton ! Just what I wanted :)

User avatar
SegFault22
Member
Posts: 872
Joined: Mon May 21, 2012 03:17
Location: NaN

by SegFault22 » Post

hmm...
Maybe an ore that is named ''???'' and it is extremely rare (1 out of 200 chance of generating it in the map), it is found below -755, and it can be used to make tools/weapons that are as powerful as Mythril, but are extremely durable (maybe 2500 uses orso), and the ''cracky'' group value of the ore is 1 so that it's very hard to mine, making it even more valuable :D
"All we need it the right major crisis and the nations will accept the new world order."

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 13 guests