[Mod] More Ores [moreores]

User avatar
LionsDen
Member
 
Posts: 530
Joined: Thu Jun 06, 2013 03:19

by LionsDen » Mon Jan 13, 2014 01:31

Probably because it was created in December of 2011.
 

User avatar
Calinou
Moderator
 
Posts: 3156
Joined: Mon Aug 01, 2011 14:26
Location: Troyes, France
GitHub: Calinou
IRC: Calinou
In-game: Calinou

by Calinou » Tue Jan 14, 2014 17:57

stormchaser3000 wrote:why is this in the old mods section


It's now in maintainance mode, I think there are enough ores in the default game now.
 

User avatar
Krock
Developer
 
Posts: 4393
Joined: Thu Oct 03, 2013 07:48
Location: Switzerland
GitHub: SmallJoker

by Krock » Tue Jan 14, 2014 18:08

Calinou wrote:
stormchaser3000 wrote:why is this in the old mods section


It's now in maintainance mode, I think there are enough ores in the default game now.

It's interesting how much servers have it "as default" or because of a dependency of a mod.
Look, I programmed a bug for you. >> Mod Search Engine << - Mods by Krock - DuckDuckGo mod search bang: !mtmod <keyword here>
 

User avatar
Inocudom
Member
 
Posts: 3071
Joined: Sat Sep 29, 2012 01:14
IRC: Inocudom
In-game: Inocudom

by Inocudom » Sat Feb 01, 2014 19:01

Krock wrote:
Calinou wrote:
stormchaser3000 wrote:why is this in the old mods section


It's now in maintainance mode, I think there are enough ores in the default game now.

It's interesting how much servers have it "as default" or because of a dependency of a mod.

I wonder if Freeminer would be interested in adding this mod to it?
The comedic value of my videos is how abysmal they are: https://www.youtube.com/channel/UC5cyeM ... YTfYFlih_A
 

timontreduffie
New member
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Thu Feb 13, 2014 02:20

by timontreduffie » Fri Mar 07, 2014 00:21

Rhys can u ask Craig to add factions and give yolo interact
 

User avatar
rubberduck
Member
 
Posts: 488
Joined: Thu Feb 27, 2014 19:19
Location: https://github.com/minetest/forum.minetest.net_template1
IRC: rbduck
In-game: rubberduck

by rubberduck » Fri Mar 07, 2014 12:35

i would like to see these ores in the default game (at least one of these)

with the new textures i made for these ores
https://forum.minetest.net/viewtopic.php?id=8677
My game (not minetest): http://forum.freegamedev.net/viewtopic.php?f=22&t=6800

my mods: gold_and_gem, meseconductors

a penguin throws an apple through a window

sometimes i change my "forum location" via user control panel
 

4aiman
Member
 
Posts: 1208
Joined: Mon Jul 30, 2012 05:47

by 4aiman » Fri Mar 07, 2014 13:28

rubberduck wrote:i would like to see these ores in the default game (at least one of these)

with the new textures i made for these ores
https://forum.minetest.net/viewtopic.php?id=8677


IFRC bronze is crafted from steel and copper because devs didn't want to have many ores...
 

User avatar
nman3600
Member
 
Posts: 168
Joined: Fri Feb 07, 2014 17:06
GitHub: nman3600
IRC: nman3600
In-game: nman3600

by nman3600 » Sun Mar 16, 2014 07:09

It won't work for me it says i need "mg?"
What is mg?
There is just no angry way to say 'Bubbles'
 

Nore
Developer
 
Posts: 501
Joined: Wed Nov 28, 2012 11:35
GitHub: Ekdohibs

by Nore » Sun Mar 16, 2014 07:20

mg is a magen mod: https://forum.minetest.net/viewtopic.php?id=7263
However, you don't need it to get moreores working, it is merely support code for that mapgen.
 

NyankoSensei
Member
 
Posts: 14
Joined: Fri Feb 28, 2014 11:29

by NyankoSensei » Thu Apr 10, 2014 20:08

Is possible add damage_groups to tools like default ones for use them with mobs ?
 

User avatar
Flipsels
New member
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Jun 24, 2014 11:35
GitHub: Flipsels
In-game: Flipsels

Re: [Mod] More Ores [moreores]

by Flipsels » Tue Jun 24, 2014 11:38

I have issues with the silver sword: it doesn't do any damage to mobs or animals. Am I missing something in this?
 

User avatar
Calinou
Moderator
 
Posts: 3156
Joined: Mon Aug 01, 2011 14:26
Location: Troyes, France
GitHub: Calinou
IRC: Calinou
In-game: Calinou

Re: [Mod] More Ores [moreores]

by Calinou » Tue Jun 24, 2014 15:49

Flipsels wrote:I have issues with the silver sword: it doesn't do any damage to mobs or animals. Am I missing something in this?


I committed something that should make swords deal damage, along with a code cleanup.
 

gsmanners
Member
 
Posts: 159
Joined: Fri Jan 10, 2014 21:37

Re: [Mod] More Ores [moreores]

by gsmanners » Sat Jul 05, 2014 00:51

I just started testing this, and it really needs this fix:

Code: Select all
      if toolname == "sword" then
         tdef.tool_capabilities.full_punch_interval = oredef.full_punch_interval
         tdef.tool_capabilities.damage_groups = oredef.damage_groups
         tdef.description = S("%s Sword"):format(S(description))
      end

      if toolname == "pick" then
         tdef.tool_capabilities.full_punch_interval = oredef.full_punch_interval
         tdef.tool_capabilities.damage_groups = oredef.damage_groups
         tdef.description = S("%s Pickaxe"):format(S(description))
      end
      
      if toolname == "axe" then
         tdef.tool_capabilities.full_punch_interval = oredef.full_punch_interval
         tdef.tool_capabilities.damage_groups = oredef.damage_groups
         tdef.description = S("%s Axe"):format(S(description))
      end
 

User avatar
Sane
Member
 
Posts: 103
Joined: Tue Jun 17, 2014 09:31
GitHub: mt-sane
In-game: Sane

No copper?

by Sane » Tue Jul 29, 2014 11:17

Currently this mod does not define copper any more.
Is this on purpose?
https://gitorious.org/calinou/moreores/source/f1b3dd8dc1bb7a9f811f9171c33de7a73bf51588:init.lua
Trying to stay me.
 

Sokomine
Member
 
Posts: 3890
Joined: Sun Sep 09, 2012 17:31
GitHub: Sokomine

Re: [Mod] More Ores [moreores]

by Sokomine » Tue Jul 29, 2014 15:19

Copper is generated by the default minetest_next (and even minetest_game) now.
A list of my mods can be found here.
 

User avatar
meldrian
Member
 
Posts: 46
Joined: Sat Jan 12, 2013 14:02
Location: Germany
GitHub: meldrian
IRC: meldrian
In-game: meldrian

Re: [Mod] More Ores [moreores]

by meldrian » Wed Jul 30, 2014 19:55

Sokomine wrote:Copper is generated by the default minetest_next (and even minetest_game) now.


I don't know if it's fixed in the newest release but the deletion of moreores:copper_ingot made some items of "home decor" not craftable because it is looking for moreores:copper_ingot
 

User avatar
rubberduck
Member
 
Posts: 488
Joined: Thu Feb 27, 2014 19:19
Location: https://github.com/minetest/forum.minetest.net_template1
IRC: rbduck
In-game: rubberduck

Re: [Mod] More Ores [moreores]

by rubberduck » Thu Aug 07, 2014 13:11

i like the idea of creating a settings-file where you can change some settings for a specific map you are playing on. the moretrees mod has this ability.

with this you could deactivate some ores or change the rarity.
i don't know if you can change these settings for the default ores, if not it would be great to do this with this mod.

another idea is to change the rarity of all ores from this mod by a factor (not a factor for each individual ore) or to make the rarity relative (for example 3 ore-blocks in 100 blocks, even if you make every ore 10x common than normal)

for this there could be a setting, whether it should affect the default ores (if this is possible)

with these new settings you could add some more ores, these could be disabled by default and it could prevent that you get a map with too much ores (when ores are everywhere and everywhere)
 

gsmanners
Member
 
Posts: 159
Joined: Fri Jan 10, 2014 21:37

Re: [Mod] More Ores [moreores]

by gsmanners » Fri Aug 08, 2014 00:44

Well, there is the mg mod for a more realistic type of ore generation. I personally prefer the default ore gen (a nice even distribution), since realistic ore gen forces you to explore a lot more (unless someone does a proper prospector pick mod, of course).
 

danjohnson07
New member
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Wed Aug 13, 2014 09:05
IRC: xXDJXx
In-game: xXDJXx
 

User avatar
Calinou
Moderator
 
Posts: 3156
Joined: Mon Aug 01, 2011 14:26
Location: Troyes, France
GitHub: Calinou
IRC: Calinou
In-game: Calinou
 

SneakySNGamer
Member
 
Posts: 13
Joined: Mon Jan 26, 2015 00:05

Adding new ores?

by SneakySNGamer » Mon Jan 26, 2015 00:09

This mod is nice, but the "Minecraft More Ores"adds 15 more ores.
How about adding more ores than the "Minecraft More Ores"? That'll be neat.
 

User avatar
Calinou
Moderator
 
Posts: 3156
Joined: Mon Aug 01, 2011 14:26
Location: Troyes, France
GitHub: Calinou
IRC: Calinou
In-game: Calinou

Re: Adding new ores?

by Calinou » Mon Jan 26, 2015 16:55

SneakySNGamer wrote:This mod is nice, but the "Minecraft More Ores"adds 15 more ores.
How about adding more ores than the "Minecraft More Ores"? That'll be neat.


Then you enter the “rainbow caves” syndrome, where you meet more ores than stone. This is no good.
 

SneakySNGamer
Member
 
Posts: 13
Joined: Mon Jan 26, 2015 00:05

Re: Adding new ores?

by SneakySNGamer » Wed Jan 28, 2015 01:01

Calinou wrote:
SneakySNGamer wrote:This mod is nice, but the "Minecraft More Ores"adds 15 more ores.
How about adding more ores than the "Minecraft More Ores"? That'll be neat.


Then you enter the “rainbow caves” syndrome, where you meet more ores than stone. This is no good.

Yes, but why do the ores spawn in a 3x3 cube? make it to a 2x2 and make the ores appear in the biome. That might be the solution.(Or add Obsidian Tools and all that.)
 

User avatar
Calinou
Moderator
 
Posts: 3156
Joined: Mon Aug 01, 2011 14:26
Location: Troyes, France
GitHub: Calinou
IRC: Calinou
In-game: Calinou

Re: Adding new ores?

by Calinou » Wed Jan 28, 2015 17:51

SneakySNGamer wrote:Yes, but why do the ores spawn in a 3x3 cube? make it to a 2x2 and make the ores appear in the biome. That might be the solution.(Or add Obsidian Tools and all that.)


Some mods use tin, silver and mithril extensively, so I wouldn't make them rarer.
 

User avatar
Hybrid Dog
Member
 
Posts: 2719
Joined: Thu Nov 01, 2012 12:46

Re: Adding new ores?

by Hybrid Dog » Sun Feb 01, 2015 15:55

Calinou wrote:Then you enter the “rainbow caves” syndrome, where you meet more ores than stone. This is no good.

You could spawn some ores at specific heights, e.g. one between -4000 and -3800.

‮‪‮
‮‪‮
‮‪‮
‮‪‮
‮‪‮
‮‪‮
‮‪‮
‮‪‮
‮‪
 

PreviousNext

Return to Mod Releases



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 26 guests