[Modpack] WorldEdit [worldedit]

User avatar
sfan5
Moderator
Posts: 3920
Joined: Wed Aug 24, 2011 09:44
GitHub: sfan5
IRC: sfan5
Location: Germany

Re: [Modpack] WorldEdit [worldedit]

by sfan5 » Post

electricwildflower wrote:
Tue May 12, 2020 18:38
I choose x-axis, y-axis, 180 degrees and so on and all the same "invalid usage"

Am I doing something wrong in terms of trying to rotate a building so it faces a different way?
No, that's a bug and it's been fixed just now if you download a newer version.
Mods: Mesecons | WorldEdit | Nuke & Minetest builds for Windows (32-bit & 64-bit)

Troodon
Member
Posts: 14
Joined: Wed Nov 21, 2018 18:52
IRC: Troodon
In-game: Troodon
Location: Angers/France

Re: [Modpack] WorldEdit [worldedit]

by Troodon » Post

Hello
Before I start I want to congratulate you for this incredible mod but I find that it lacks three features:
1) Being able to make spheres, domes ... with several blocks (a bit like the // mix command)
Example: // sphere 6 dirt 25 dirt_with_grass 25 air 50
I think it could be great for terrainforming

2) Make an order which activates the physics of falling blocks such as gravel, sand ...
that would be a great addition to be able to model montaignes in gravel then replace the gravel starting from stone, dirt ...

3) Being able to use the // replace command to replace several blocks (again a bit like // mix)
Example: // replace stone dirt 25 dirt_with_grass 25 sand 50

I find that these additions will improve the terrainforming on MT and open a lot of doors for organic builds.

Again thank you for this great mod !!!

Troodon

User avatar
sfan5
Moderator
Posts: 3920
Joined: Wed Aug 24, 2011 09:44
GitHub: sfan5
IRC: sfan5
Location: Germany

Re: [Modpack] WorldEdit [worldedit]

by sfan5 » Post

Troodon wrote:
Wed May 13, 2020 20:02
2) Make an order which activates the physics of falling blocks such as gravel, sand ...
that would be a great addition to be able to model montaignes in gravel then replace the gravel starting from stone, dirt ...
Look into we_env, it has this exact function (//fall) and a few other features useful for modelling terrain.
I've also made a demo video before: viewtopic.php?p=294778#p294778
Troodon wrote:
Wed May 13, 2020 20:02
3) Being able to use the // replace command to replace several blocks (again a bit like // mix)
Example: // replace stone dirt 25 dirt_with_grass 25 sand 50
This could be implemented as a //mixreplace and would then also support your sphere usecase (with extra steps). I'll keep it in mind.
Mods: Mesecons | WorldEdit | Nuke & Minetest builds for Windows (32-bit & 64-bit)

Troodon
Member
Posts: 14
Joined: Wed Nov 21, 2018 18:52
IRC: Troodon
In-game: Troodon
Location: Angers/France

Re: [Modpack] WorldEdit [worldedit]

by Troodon » Post

Perfect
thank you for considering my requests and thank you for the order //fall

Bastrabun
Member
Posts: 83
Joined: Mon Nov 04, 2019 19:48

Re: [Modpack] WorldEdit [worldedit]

by Bastrabun » Post

Maybe instead making a command for each of those cases like mixsphere (=make a sphere, then mix it, then ...) it might be a better idea to let us chain commands?

electricwildflower
Member
Posts: 17
Joined: Sun Aug 21, 2016 15:07

Re: [Modpack] WorldEdit [worldedit]

by electricwildflower » Post

Cheers for the help with the rotation

Another quick question?

What's the best way of clearing multiple nodes so that I can then put things in place where the nodes where, as an example.

I have been building a canal in which parts of it are through a tunnel and using the get/set region I selected the nodes I wanted to remove then I chose hide region. Of course, this doesn't help if you wanted to put things in place of where the nodes existed as the nodes are technically still there just hidden. I tried the suppress nodes option and it just does the same as hide region.

Both of them hide the nodes and where the nodes where you can't place anything down such as lighting on a wall, other nodes, and so on.

Am I missing something?

User avatar
sfan5
Moderator
Posts: 3920
Joined: Wed Aug 24, 2011 09:44
GitHub: sfan5
IRC: sfan5
Location: Germany

Re: [Modpack] WorldEdit [worldedit]

by sfan5 » Post

Sounds like you should be using //replace node_name air.
Note that there will be no way to get those nodes back, but that seems to be what you want.
Mods: Mesecons | WorldEdit | Nuke & Minetest builds for Windows (32-bit & 64-bit)

User avatar
Sokomine
Member
Posts: 4045
Joined: Sun Sep 09, 2012 17:31
GitHub: Sokomine

Re: [Modpack] WorldEdit [worldedit]

by Sokomine » Post

electricwildflower wrote: Am I doing something wrong in terms of trying to rotate a building so it faces a different way?
If you want to place the schematic of a house or other build from the forum, better consider using my handle_schematics mod. The handle_schematics:build node it comes with can be placed and schematics and worldedit files be spawned with it. They'll automaticly be rotated according to the way you placed the build node. And there's even an undo function if the schematic doesn't fit in there the way you wanted to. Just restore the original landscape with a button.
A list of my mods can be found here.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 12 guests