[Modpack] WorldEdit [worldedit]

User avatar
sfan5
Moderator
 
Posts: 3765
Joined: Wed Aug 24, 2011 09:44
Location: Germany
GitHub: sfan5
IRC: sfan5

Re: [Modpack] WorldEdit [worldedit]

by sfan5 » Fri Sep 22, 2017 09:33

Stugmug wrote:I have one question though, any idea on how to make a smooth brush tool? Something that smoothens the terrain with a given radius?

I have code for that almost ready but it still needs a few bugs fixed.

BBmine wrote:I asked a question back in July, but I think it was overlooked.
https://forum.minetest.net/viewtopic.php?f=11&t=572&start=700#p281742

The answer is: You can't.
Mods: Mesecons | WorldEdit | Nuke & Minetest builds for Windows (32-bit & 64-bit)
 

User avatar
sfan5
Moderator
 
Posts: 3765
Joined: Wed Aug 24, 2011 09:44
Location: Germany
GitHub: sfan5
IRC: sfan5

Re: [Modpack] WorldEdit [worldedit]

by sfan5 » Fri Sep 22, 2017 11:51

I've put up we_env, which includes a command to smoothen terrain here: https://github.com/sfan5/we_env
You'll probably want to watch this demonstration video:
Image
Mods: Mesecons | WorldEdit | Nuke & Minetest builds for Windows (32-bit & 64-bit)
 

Stugmug
New member
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Sat Sep 16, 2017 18:36
In-game: Stugmug

Re: [Modpack] WorldEdit [worldedit]

by Stugmug » Fri Sep 22, 2017 23:08

Wow, this looks great!

Is there a possibility to use the smooth command using the WorldEdit Wand?
 

User avatar
BirgitLachner
Member
 
Posts: 358
Joined: Thu May 05, 2016 10:18
In-game: Bibs

Re: [Modpack] WorldEdit [worldedit]

by BirgitLachner » Sat Sep 23, 2017 10:12

Great enhancement, I really love it ... and you, too ;-)

But, can I already use them with 0.4.16? I tried the newest download from github and it does not work -> errors
 

User avatar
sfan5
Moderator
 
Posts: 3765
Joined: Wed Aug 24, 2011 09:44
Location: Germany
GitHub: sfan5
IRC: sfan5

Re: [Modpack] WorldEdit [worldedit]

by sfan5 » Sat Sep 23, 2017 12:02

Stugmug wrote:Is there a possibility to use the smooth command using the WorldEdit Wand?

(I assume you mean the brush)

While //smooth really works better on bigger areas at once, I have implemented to the possibility of smoothing using a brush.

BirgitLachner wrote:But, can I already use them with 0.4.16? I tried the newest download from github and it does not work

A Minetest build from at least 7th July is required, for example this one (which is 0.4.16-b20d01a).
Mods: Mesecons | WorldEdit | Nuke & Minetest builds for Windows (32-bit & 64-bit)
 

roboto
Member
 
Posts: 61
Joined: Wed Jul 19, 2017 15:21
GitHub: NewbProgrammer101
In-game: akoek

Re: [Modpack] WorldEdit [worldedit]

by roboto » Sun Oct 29, 2017 14:21

One thing I hate about this modpack is that chests are unusable after placing the .mts file.
 

User avatar
sfan5
Moderator
 
Posts: 3765
Joined: Wed Aug 24, 2011 09:44
Location: Germany
GitHub: sfan5
IRC: sfan5

Re: [Modpack] WorldEdit [worldedit]

by sfan5 » Wed Nov 01, 2017 16:29

That's not a bug in WorldEdit, see here.
Mods: Mesecons | WorldEdit | Nuke & Minetest builds for Windows (32-bit & 64-bit)
 

roboto
Member
 
Posts: 61
Joined: Wed Jul 19, 2017 15:21
GitHub: NewbProgrammer101
In-game: akoek
 

User avatar
Lone_Wolf
Member
 
Posts: 1898
Joined: Sun Apr 09, 2017 05:50
Location: You wouldn't believe me
GitHub: LoneWolfHT
IRC: Lone_Wolf
In-game: Lone_Wolf or Somebody

Re: [Modpack] WorldEdit [worldedit]

by Lone_Wolf » Fri Nov 03, 2017 17:54

Great mod!
I've started a pull request that will increase the reach of the wand. This really helps when making large buildings https://github.com/Uberi/Minetest-WorldEdit/pull/149
 

User avatar
ChimneySwift
Member
 
Posts: 315
Joined: Fri Sep 22, 2017 06:46
Location: 127.0.0.1
GitHub: ChimneySwift
IRC: ChimneySwift
In-game: ChimneySwift

Re: [Modpack] WorldEdit [worldedit]

by ChimneySwift » Sat Nov 04, 2017 07:35

This is obviously brilliant, one of the classics.

I'm a bit of a noob when it comes to this, but is it possible to make a torus? If so, I think this shape should be added :P.
A spoon is basically a tiny bowl with a stick on it
 

houlala
Member
 
Posts: 24
Joined: Fri Oct 27, 2017 13:12
Location: Long way from here

Re: [Modpack] WorldEdit [worldedit]

by houlala » Mon Nov 20, 2017 20:40

If i have understood, there is no possibility to add an undo command ? How to do a cancellation after a manipulation error then ? This is a big problem.

Also, is there a possibility to stock all shematics in directory mod rather than in maps directories ?
I need to share my shematics with severals maps, and this is a problem too with maps deletions, if by example, i forget than one map contains schems.

I think you will must make a basic FAQ for your génial mod =)
 

User avatar
Otter
Member
 
Posts: 141
Joined: Fri May 12, 2017 21:17

Re: [Modpack] WorldEdit [worldedit]

by Otter » Mon Nov 20, 2017 23:14

houlala wrote:If i have understood, there is no possibility to add an undo command ? How to do a cancellation after a manipulation error then ? This is a big problem.

Also, is there a possibility to stock all shematics in directory mod rather than in maps directories ?
I need to share my shematics with severals maps, and this is a problem too with maps deletions, if by example, i forget than one map contains schems.

I think you will must make a basic FAQ for your génial mod =)


There is a pair of FAQ's built in. Go to the directory and look at the Tutorial and the Chat Commands. The writer of this wonderful mod is not an employee. There is no 'must' when we are enjoying the fruits of Sfan5's freely given labor.

If you really wish to understand this mod, the LUA is, for the most part, readable. I will admit the worldedit code can jump to advanced quickly and leave one lost in the numbers, but a lot of the functionality can be read and understood by examining the code. Never fear to look behind the curtain, often a more meek and less frightening wizard is hiding there.
 

houlala
Member
 
Posts: 24
Joined: Fri Oct 27, 2017 13:12
Location: Long way from here

Re: [Modpack] WorldEdit [worldedit]

by houlala » Tue Nov 21, 2017 15:12

Otter wrote:If you really wish to understand this mod, the LUA is, for the most part, readable. I will admit the worldedit code can jump to advanced quickly and leave one lost in the numbers, but a lot of the functionality can be read and understood by examining the code. Never fear to look behind the curtain, often a more meek and less frightening wizard is hiding there.


I don't want learn lua, i hate this senseless language, and i 'm not a coder, i don't want learn to code, this forum is only reserved for the mods dev ? Ok, it's an elitist forum then, not for the lambda players.

Otter wrote:There is no 'must' when we are enjoying the fruits of Sfan5's freely given labor..


Sorry, i used must by error, the sense of my words was not to give an order, but a suggestion, i'm really confused...

It was my last message on this forum, i don't want to have some problems with anyone because of my language mistakes.
And sorry again.
 

User avatar
Otter
Member
 
Posts: 141
Joined: Fri May 12, 2017 21:17

Re: [Modpack] WorldEdit [worldedit]

by Otter » Tue Nov 21, 2017 20:07

houlala wrote:
Otter wrote:If you really wish to understand this mod, the LUA is, for the most part, readable. I will admit the worldedit code can jump to advanced quickly and leave one lost in the numbers, but a lot of the functionality can be read and understood by examining the code. Never fear to look behind the curtain, often a more meek and less frightening wizard is hiding there.


I don't want learn lua, i hate this senseless language, and i 'm not a coder, i don't want learn to code, this forum is only reserved for the mods dev ? Ok, it's an elitist forum then, not for the lambda players.

Otter wrote:There is no 'must' when we are enjoying the fruits of Sfan5's freely given labor..


Sorry, i used must by error, the sense of my words was not to give an order, but a suggestion, i'm really confused...

It was my last message on this forum, i don't want to have some problems with anyone because of my language mistakes.
And sorry again.


No problem, this is not really an elitist forum, they haven't thrown me off and that is pretty good proof. It is instead a group that has fun giving what they can spare to give in their free time. There is constant change here. Slow at times but constant. That does mean work to keep up with what is going on. Sometimes things can seem like they are complex or far from responsive. The issue I see is that the progress tends to run faster than the documentation and it is a lot of work to keep the documentation up to date and easy to understand. The moment everything is up to date everything changes. Worldedit, is complex in ways but some of what it does will always be that way. When objects are created centered around a point, it takes math to position them sometimes.

Worldedit, by the way is one of the better documented mods. If you want to drive yourself spare, try building a nuclear power plant from scratch using the technic mod without begging for help.

I suppose we do have a few elitist tendencies. A lot of us hate half cut down trees and single block diameter vertical towers.
 

lonestar
Member
 
Posts: 39
Joined: Mon Jul 17, 2017 03:25
Location: Texas,USA

Re: [Modpack] WorldEdit [worldedit]

by lonestar » Wed Nov 22, 2017 03:18

houlala wrote:If i have understood, there is no possibility to add an undo command ? How to do a cancellation after a manipulation error then ? This is a big problem.

Also, is there a possibility to stock all shematics in directory mod rather than in maps directories ?
I need to share my shematics with severals maps, and this is a problem too with maps deletions, if by example, i forget than one map contains schems.

I think you will must make a basic FAQ for your génial mod =)


There is now a mod for WE undo, thanks to HybridDog
https://github.com/HybridDog/we_undo
 

roboto
Member
 
Posts: 61
Joined: Wed Jul 19, 2017 15:21
GitHub: NewbProgrammer101
In-game: akoek

Re: [Modpack] WorldEdit [worldedit]

by roboto » Wed Nov 22, 2017 04:35

houlala wrote:
Otter wrote:If you really wish to understand this mod, the LUA is, for the most part, readable. I will admit the worldedit code can jump to advanced quickly and leave one lost in the numbers, but a lot of the functionality can be read and understood by examining the code. Never fear to look behind the curtain, often a more meek and less frightening wizard is hiding there.


I don't want learn lua, i hate this senseless language, and i 'm not a coder, i don't want learn to code, this forum is only reserved for the mods dev ? Ok, it's an elitist forum then, not for the lambda players.


Unfortunately, this forum *is* what you would call an elitist forum. :(
 

User avatar
rubenwardy
Moderator
 
Posts: 5455
Joined: Tue Jun 12, 2012 18:11
Location: United Kingdom
GitHub: rubenwardy
IRC: rubenwardy
In-game: rubenwardy

Re: [Modpack] WorldEdit [worldedit]

by rubenwardy » Wed Nov 22, 2017 12:22

roboto wrote:
houlala wrote:Ok, it's an elitist forum then, not for the lambda players.


Unfortunately, this forum *is* what you would call an elitist forum. :(


Nope

There is a documentation problem with most mods. However, suggesting that someone learning Lua is not elitist. It's elitist if they only allowed Lua knowers in this forum, or abused those that don't know. I'm not really sure why this word was thrown around.


You shouldn't need to learn Lua to know how to use any mods however. Worldedit is actually quite documented - I've never had to read wordedit's code to use it, just the readme and wiki. It's fair enough to overlook this resources though, and it's good to post in any mods about documentation issues.
 

User avatar
AccidentallyRhine
Member
 
Posts: 226
Joined: Sun Aug 02, 2015 05:43

Re: [Modpack] WorldEdit [worldedit]

by AccidentallyRhine » Wed Nov 29, 2017 05:13

Sadly, I think I discovered the size limitation at ~853MB before crashing out with a lua error. I guess I will have to save some mega builds in smaller chunks.
 

ShadMOrdre
Member
 
Posts: 115
Joined: Mon Dec 29, 2014 08:07
Location: USA
In-game: shadmordre

Re: [Modpack] WorldEdit [worldedit]

by ShadMOrdre » Wed Nov 29, 2017 18:03

If it's not already possible, could a line draw feature be added? Currently, straight lines can only be drawn on the x or z axis, but they cannot be drawn with any angle. Having the ability to draw a simple line or configurable width between the two pos markers would be a huge benefit to making roads and tracks.

And THANKS for this AWESOME mod!

Shad MOrdre
My other virtual world is an Opensimulator.
 

User avatar
GamingAssociation39
Member
 
Posts: 735
Joined: Mon Apr 25, 2016 16:09
Location: Maryland, USA
GitHub: Gerold55
IRC: Gerold55
In-game: Gerold55

Re: [Modpack] WorldEdit [worldedit]

by GamingAssociation39 » Wed Dec 06, 2017 01:28

Image
Attachments
Screenshot (114).png
(77.19 KiB) Not downloaded yet
Jesus Is Lord and Savior!!!
 

User avatar
sfan5
Moderator
 
Posts: 3765
Joined: Wed Aug 24, 2011 09:44
Location: Germany
GitHub: sfan5
IRC: sfan5

Re: [Modpack] WorldEdit [worldedit]

by sfan5 » Wed Dec 06, 2017 09:05

GamingAssociation39 wrote:<screenshot>

You have an "inventory management" mod installed that has disabled the built-in sfinv, but at the same time isn't supported by worldedit_gui.
Mods: Mesecons | WorldEdit | Nuke & Minetest builds for Windows (32-bit & 64-bit)
 

Daii
New member
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Sun Dec 17, 2017 16:04
In-game: Daii

Re: [Modpack] WorldEdit [worldedit]

by Daii » Sun Dec 17, 2017 16:19

a extreme usefull mod you created here!

But i would have 3 suggestions for implementation:

1) possibility of „copy the marked area“ instead of define acis and number nodes
2) a „Paste“-command would be perfekt
3) the „//regen“ command of the MC-Version of WorldEdit

cause i‘am not able to program i have the hope you can and would mind to add this ;-)
 

User avatar
AccidentallyRhine
Member
 
Posts: 226
Joined: Sun Aug 02, 2015 05:43

Re: [Modpack] WorldEdit [worldedit]

by AccidentallyRhine » Sun Dec 17, 2017 19:01

@daii

1) & 2) may be similar enough for you to just use //save <name> and //load <name>.

3) I could be wrong but I believe //deleteblocks does this by invoking map generation again.
 

Daii
New member
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Sun Dec 17, 2017 16:04
In-game: Daii

Re: [Modpack] WorldEdit [worldedit]

by Daii » Mon Dec 18, 2017 16:19

AccidentallyRhine wrote:@daii

1) & 2) may be similar enough for you to just use //save <name> and //load <name>.

3) I could be wrong but I believe //deleteblocks does this by invoking map generation again.


Ok thx, i/we will try this and i‘ll edit mi Post later for the results ;-)

Edit: //deleteblocks works as replacement for //regen :-) it needs some more attention in cause of that all chunks in the marked area are regenerated, but it works as wanted;-)
 

hajo
Member
 
Posts: 593
Joined: Thu Oct 13, 2016 10:45
Location: DE

Re: [Modpack] WorldEdit [worldedit]

by hajo » Fri Dec 22, 2017 04:01

sfan5 wrote:download a git snapshot ..
Enable the whole modpack

I'm running 0.4.16 and did this, but it doesn't work: the mod doesn't stay enabled.

EG. select a world, configure, enable worldedit-modpack (it turns green), save,
configure again --> worldedit is no longer enabled.
Activating other mods works just fine.

And in world.mt, the worldedit-entries show up like
Code: Select all
load_mod_worldedit = nil
load_mod_worldedit_commands = nil
...

debug.txt has no messages about worldedit

I also changed the directory-name in the mods-folder & tried again, same result.

What now?
 

PreviousNext

Return to Mod Releases



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: PolySaken and 4 guests