[Mod] Torches [3.0.1] [torches]

User avatar
philipbenr
Member
Posts: 1897
Joined: Fri Jun 14, 2013 01:56
GitHub: philipbenr
IRC: philipbenr
In-game: robinspi
Location: United States

Re: [Mod] Torches [1.3.2] [torches]

by philipbenr » Post

@Stormchaser3000: There is no support for animation, I don't think.

User avatar
Nathan.S
Member
Posts: 1147
Joined: Wed Sep 24, 2014 17:47
GitHub: NathanSalapat
IRC: NathanS21
In-game: NathanS21
Location: Bigsby Texas
Contact:

Re: [Mod] Torches [1.3.2] [torches]

by Nathan.S » Post

philipbenr wrote:@Stormchaser3000: There is no support for animation, I don't think.
Not animation of the mesh, but if you use an animated texture you can have flames, or you could try using actual particles, but I have no idea how those work.
I record Minetest videos, Mod reviews, Modding tutorials, and Lets plays.
Check out my website, and brand new Minetest Modding Course

User avatar
BlockMen
Developer
Posts: 768
Joined: Fri Mar 01, 2013 17:24
GitHub: BlockMen
Location: Germany

Re: [Mod] Torches [2.0] [torches]

by BlockMen » Post

Update. Version 2.0 released

Changelog:
- Use new mesh drawtype to improve wallmounted torches
- Update particle-usage/API
- New textures; flame texture fix by Yepoleb
- Fix for doors, chests, etc (rightclick support)

User avatar
BlockMen
Developer
Posts: 768
Joined: Fri Mar 01, 2013 17:24
GitHub: BlockMen
Location: Germany

by BlockMen » Post

Update. Version 2.1 released

Changelog:
- Fix wallmounted torch mesh
- Cleanup code, use wallmounted paramtype2
- Fix torches being placeable on ceilings (reported by kilbith)

guideahon
Member
Posts: 37
Joined: Mon Jan 26, 2015 12:49
In-game: guideahon

Re: [Mod] Torches [2.1] [torches]

by guideahon » Post

Great mod as always, are you planning on making it non able to be put on water? if that would be the case, this mod should be ported to default minetest game because i would consider this mod perfect

User avatar
Minetestforfun
Member
Posts: 940
Joined: Tue Aug 05, 2014 14:09
GitHub: MinetestForFun
IRC: MinetestForFun
In-game: MinetestForFun
Location: On earth
Contact:

Re: [Mod] Torches [2.1] [torches]

by Minetestforfun » Post

guideahon wrote:Great mod as always, are you planning on making it non able to be put on water? if that would be the case, this mod should be ported to default minetest game because i would consider this mod perfect
I agree, this mod seems to be almost perfect (beautiful meshe, bugfixs for doors now, great wallmounted, great particles), the last thing i can blame was the "put on water", but many other torches mods have the same blame...
Last edited by Minetestforfun on Sat Feb 28, 2015 17:50, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
BlockMen
Developer
Posts: 768
Joined: Fri Mar 01, 2013 17:24
GitHub: BlockMen
Location: Germany

Re: [Mod] Torches [2.1] [torches]

by BlockMen » Post

guideahon wrote:Great mod as always, are you planning on making it non able to be put on water? if that would be the case, this mod should be ported to default minetest game because i would consider this mod perfect
Minetestforfun wrote: I agree, this mod seems to be almost perfect (beautiful meshe, bugfixs for doors now, great wallmounted, great particles), the last thing i can blame was the "put on water", but many over torches mods have the same blame...
Nice you guys like my mod, but this mod won't be added the way it currently is. The reason is the usage of the particles, which generates a lot of server traffic.

guideahon
Member
Posts: 37
Joined: Mon Jan 26, 2015 12:49
In-game: guideahon

Re: [Mod] Torches [2.1] [torches]

by guideahon » Post

But what if you make another version without particles and non-able to be put on water (i honestly, really want the second thing)

User avatar
Napiophelios
Member
Posts: 1035
Joined: Mon Jul 07, 2014 01:14
GitHub: Napiophelios
IRC: Nappi
In-game: Nappi

Re: [Mod] Torches [2.1] [torches]

by Napiophelios » Post

guideahon wrote:But what if you make another version without particles and non-able to be put on water (i honestly, really want the second thing)
I cant remember what game I got this from, but it works pretty good;
I use it for torches, fire ,and candles in my custom game.
Its not a perfect solution, but its not a bad one either.

Code: Select all

minetest.register_abm({nodenames = {"default:torch"},
	interval = 1.0,
	chance = 1,
	action = function(pos, node)
	local p = {x=pos.x, y=pos.y, z=pos.z-1}
local 	n = minetest.get_node(p)

local 	p1 = {x=pos.x+1, y=pos.y, z=pos.z}
local 	n1 = minetest.get_node(p1)

local 	p2 = {x=pos.x-1, y=pos.y, z=pos.z}
local 	n2 = minetest.get_node(p2)

local 	p3 = {x=pos.x, y=pos.y-1, z=pos.z}
local 	n3 = minetest.get_node(p3)

local 	p4 = {x=pos.x, y=pos.y, z=pos.z+1}
local 	n4 = minetest.get_node(p4)

local 	p5 = {x=pos.x, y=pos.y, z=pos.z}
local 	n5 = minetest.get_node(p5)

		if (n.name == "default:water_source") then
			minetest.add_node(p5, {name="default:water_flowing"})
			minetest.add_item(p5,{name=n5})
		return end

				if (n.name == "default:water_flowing") then
					minetest.add_node(p5, {name="default:water_flowing"})
					minetest.add_item(p5,{name=n5})
	return end

	if (n1.name == "default:water_source") then
		minetest.add_node(p5, {name="default:water_flowing"})
		minetest.add_item(p5,{name=n5})
	return end

		if (n.name == "default:water_flowing") then
					minetest.add_node(p5, {name="default:water_flowing"})
					minetest.add_item(p5,{name=n5})
	return end

	if (n2.name == "default:water_source") then
		minetest.add_node(p5, {name="default:water_flowing"})
		minetest.add_item(p5,{name=n5})

	return end
		if (n.name == "default:water_flowing") then
					minetest.add_node(p5, {name="default:water_flowing"})
					minetest.add_item(p5,{name=n5})
	return end

	if (n3.name == "default:water_source") then
		minetest.add_node(p5, {name="default:water_flowing"})
		minetest.add_item(p5,{name=n5})
	return end

		if (n.name == "default:water_flowing") then
					minetest.add_node(p5, {name="default:water_flowing"})
					minetest.add_item(p5,{name=n5})
	return end

	if (n4.name == "default:water_source") then
		minetest.add_node(p5, {name="default:water_flowing"})
		minetest.add_item(p5,{name=n5})
	return end

		if (n.name == "default:water_flowing") then
					minetest.add_node(p5, {name="default:water_flowing"})
					minetest.add_item(p5,{name=n5})
	return end
	end,
})

User avatar
TenPlus1
Member
Posts: 3715
Joined: Mon Jul 29, 2013 13:38
In-game: TenPlus1
Contact:

Re: [Mod] Torches [2.1] [torches]

by TenPlus1 » Post

Was thinking of using this in Ethereal, hope it helps (any water beside or above torch drops torch):

Code: Select all

minetest.register_abm({
	nodenames = {"default:torch"},
	neighbors = {"default:water_source", "default:water_flowing"},
	interval = 1, chance = 1,

	action = function(pos, node)
		local pos0 = {x=pos.x-1,y=pos.y,z=pos.z-1}
		local pos1 = {x=pos.x+1,y=pos.y+1,z=pos.z+1}
		if #minetest.find_nodes_in_area(pos0, pos1,
			{"default:water_source", "default:water_flowing"}) > 0 then
			minetest.set_node(pos, {name="default:water_flowing"})
			minetest.add_item(pos, {name="default:torch"})
		end
	end,
})
Last edited by TenPlus1 on Fri Feb 27, 2015 12:01, edited 1 time in total.

guideahon
Member
Posts: 37
Joined: Mon Jan 26, 2015 12:49
In-game: guideahon

Re: [Mod] Torches [2.1] [torches]

by guideahon » Post

TenPlus1 wrote:Was thinking of using this in Ethereal, hope it helps (any water beside or above torch drops torch):

Code: Select all

minetest.register_abm({
	nodenames = {"default:torch"},
	neighbors = {"default:water_source", "default:water_flowing"},
	interval = 1, chance = 1,

	action = function(pos, node)
		local pos0 = {x=pos.x-1,y=pos.y,z=pos.z-1}
		local pos1 = {x=pos.x+1,y=pos.y+1,z=pos.z+1}
		if #minetest.find_nodes_in_area(pos0, pos1,
			{"default:water_source", "default:water_flowing"}) > 0 then
			minetest.set_node(pos, {name="default:water_flowing"})
			minetest.add_item(pos, {name = "default:torch"})
		end
	end,
})
This is perfect!!!!

Recipe for water only torch???

Code: Select all

minetest.register_abm({
	nodenames = {"xxxxmod:water_torch"},
	neighbors = {"default:water_source", "default:water_flowing"},
	interval = 1, chance = 1,

	action = function(pos, node)
		local pos0 = {x=pos.x-1,y=pos.y,z=pos.z-1}
		local pos1 = {x=pos.x+1,y=pos.y+1,z=pos.z+1}
		if #minetest.find_nodes_in_area(pos0, pos1,
			{"default:water_source", "default:water_flowing"}) == 0 then
			minetest.set_node(pos, {name="default:water_flowing"})
			minetest.add_item(pos, {name = "xxxxmod:water_torch"})
		end
	end,
})
Last edited by guideahon on Fri Feb 27, 2015 12:28, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
jp
Banned
Posts: 947
Joined: Wed Dec 18, 2013 09:03
GitHub: kilbith
Location: France

Re: [Mod] Torches [2.1] [torches]

by jp » Post

Since today, you can try the new function find_nodes_in_area_under_air(), which is apparently way faster than minetest.find_nodes_in_area()

User avatar
BlockMen
Developer
Posts: 768
Joined: Fri Mar 01, 2013 17:24
GitHub: BlockMen
Location: Germany

by BlockMen » Post

Update. Version 3.0 released

This update changes a lot things in this mod.

From now this mod has two torch styles, the known Minecraft style and new a "Minetest style".
This new Minetest style uses the default textures, so its fully compatible with Texture Packs (as long they provide torchshaped textures).
Also this new style is server-friendly because its not using particles, thats why this new style is now the default style.

You can select/activate the minecraft style by adding "torches_style = minecraft" to your minetest.conf file. Then the mod will behave as known from last version (2.1).


Note:
This mod converts existing torches to 3D torches. By default ceiling torches are REMOVED. If you wan't keep them add "torches_enable_ceiling = true" to your minetest.conf file.
But this setting only applies to the "Minetest style".

Also: License is changed to LGPL 2.1 and CC-BY 3.0.


Below two screenshots showing Minetest styled torches without and with Texture Pack.
Image

User avatar
Krock
Developer
Posts: 4649
Joined: Thu Oct 03, 2013 07:48
GitHub: SmallJoker
Location: Switzerland
Contact:

Re: [Mod] Torches [3.0] [torches]

by Krock » Post

The Minetest styled torches are very nice.
Thanks for this update!
Look, I programmed a bug for you. >> Mod Search Engine << - Mods by Krock - DuckDuckGo mod search bang: !mtmod <keyword here>

poet.nohit
Member
Posts: 55
Joined: Fri Mar 06, 2015 00:50
GitHub: poet-nohit

Re: [Mod] Torches [3.0] [torches]

by poet.nohit » Post

Very nice indeed!

User avatar
Minetestforfun
Member
Posts: 940
Joined: Tue Aug 05, 2014 14:09
GitHub: MinetestForFun
IRC: MinetestForFun
In-game: MinetestForFun
Location: On earth
Contact:

Re: [Mod] Torches [3.0] [torches]

by Minetestforfun » Post

Beautiful, thank you for your work !

User avatar
Adimgar
New member
Posts: 4
Joined: Wed May 13, 2015 03:09
GitHub: Adimgar
IRC: Adimgar
Location: Chihuahua
Contact:

Re: [Mod] Torches [3.0] [torches]

by Adimgar » Post

Hi there.

I love this mod, been using it for a while.

But there is a problem, when plying on a very old pc, the graphics are all messed up, so I disbled it but now every torch appears as an unkown block, it doesn returns to the default minetest torches.

Is it a bug?, how can i get back the default ones without remove and place them again, there are dungeons and caves with hundreds of them.

Thanks in advance.
Let it be

Sokomine
Member
Posts: 4276
Joined: Sun Sep 09, 2012 17:31
GitHub: Sokomine
IRC: Sokomine
In-game: Sokomine

Re: [Mod] Torches [3.0] [torches]

by Sokomine » Post

Adimgar wrote: Is it a bug?, how can i get back the default ones without remove and place them again, there are dungeons and caves with hundreds of them.
It would be great if the mod could come with abms that convert its torches back to the default ones. Default torches may not look as good, but they do their job, and it doesn't take eternity for a torch to appear. I don't think the mod is a good choice for servers. And if a server wants to go back to normal, better working torches (where the client can predict what will be placed), chaos arises.
A list of my mods can be found here.

User avatar
Adimgar
New member
Posts: 4
Joined: Wed May 13, 2015 03:09
GitHub: Adimgar
IRC: Adimgar
Location: Chihuahua
Contact:

Re: [Mod] Torches [3.0] [torches]

by Adimgar » Post

There is a mod for celaning unkown nodes, you put te name of those nodes and they are removed when a player approaches, maybe it can be tweaked somehow to "replace" the new torch with the default one, is it possible?
Let it be

User avatar
Minetestforfun
Member
Posts: 940
Joined: Tue Aug 05, 2014 14:09
GitHub: MinetestForFun
IRC: MinetestForFun
In-game: MinetestForFun
Location: On earth
Contact:

Re: [Mod] Torches [3.0] [torches]

by Minetestforfun » Post

Someone can give his opinion about ressources this mod takes ? (client side)
The latest time i tried this modified torches the ressources used by particles client side was too important... (Before v3)

User avatar
Samson1
Member
Posts: 95
Joined: Wed Apr 01, 2015 19:41
GitHub: MoJo4000
IRC: Samson1
In-game: Samson1

Re: [Mod] Torches [3.0] [torches]

by Samson1 » Post

This is a really good mod! Thank you for making it BlockMen!

User avatar
benrob0329
Member
Posts: 1341
Joined: Thu Aug 06, 2015 22:39
GitHub: Benrob0329
IRC: benrob0329
In-game: benrob03
Location: Michigan
Contact:

Re: [Mod] Torches [3.0] [torches]

by benrob0329 » Post

@Minetestforfun

I used this on a personal server that some friends and I play on, I must say the New version that doesn't have the particles looks better and probably uses less band with than the old one.

Is seemed to work fine to me and I don't have the fastest internet....

User avatar
BlockMen
Developer
Posts: 768
Joined: Fri Mar 01, 2013 17:24
GitHub: BlockMen
Location: Germany

Torches 3.0.1

by BlockMen » Post

Update Version 3.0.1 released

Changelog:
- Fixed global variable that caused rarely placing issues (reported by tchncs)

amadin
Member
Posts: 549
Joined: Tue Jun 16, 2015 16:23

Re: [Mod] Torches [3.0.1] [torches]

by amadin » Post

Those torches have a non-animated texture and needs to be supported by Texture Packs (currently most don't support this mod).
Where can i find such texture pack? Flame of Torches have too slow animation.

sofar
Developer
Posts: 2146
Joined: Fri Jan 16, 2015 07:31
GitHub: sofar
IRC: sofar
In-game: sofar

Re: [Mod] Torches [3.0.1] [torches]

by sofar » Post

Hey BlockMen

I would really like to see the minetest-style animated mesh textured nodes replace the in-game default torches in minetest_game. For that to work we need to do a few small things:

- rename the nodes so that default:torch is the new standing up default torch
- the wallmounted mesh becomes e.g. default:torch_wallmounted
- add a working ceiling obj that has the UV map in such a way that the texture flames UV map up while the torch base is upside down

Especially without any particles in it, I don't see why this wouldn't be mergable, especially if we're both willing to push the PR and address issues.

What do you say?

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Ahrefs [Bot] and 25 guests