[Mod] Mesecons (= redstone) [GitHub] [minetest-mod-mesecons]

Temperest
Member
 
Posts: 651
Joined: Tue Nov 15, 2011 23:13
GitHub: Uberi

by Temperest » Thu Feb 09, 2012 00:17

No, the plugs do not work vertically, because it would make it more difficult to stack circuits on top of each other, which is vital for compact circuits such as my 8-bit adder I posted in this thread a while ago.
WorldEdit 1.0 released

The Mesecons Laboratory - the art of Mesecons circuitry
Latest article: Mesecons Basics.
 

Gatharoth
Member
 
Posts: 196
Joined: Thu Dec 22, 2011 02:54

by Gatharoth » Thu Feb 09, 2012 06:49

Temperest wrote:No, the plugs do not work vertically, because it would make it more difficult to stack circuits on top of each other, which is vital for compact circuits such as my 8-bit adder I posted in this thread a while ago.


Alright. Well, I was using your plugs and inverters since, the mesecon transmitters and inverters weren't working. I could download the fix from Github, but I had already made a workaround.

But I needed to go vertically because I had multiple circuitry going on underground.

Oh well, I found another way to do it. Anyway, thanks for answer, now I know for future reference.
 

User avatar
Menche
Member
 
Posts: 997
Joined: Sat Jul 02, 2011 00:43
Location: An island in a lava lake.
IRC: Menche
In-game: Menche

by Menche » Sun Feb 12, 2012 01:12

How are transmitters/receivers used?
An innocent kitten dies every time you top-post.
 

User avatar
Jeija
Member
 
Posts: 686
Joined: Fri Dec 23, 2011 21:46
Location: Nürtingen, Germany

by Jeija » Sun Feb 12, 2012 05:04

@Menche: First of all, I discovered a bug in version 0.5 of the mod. You should use the GitHub version.
How they are used:
Transmitters Send out a signal on a certain channel. The channel is set by the block below them. Receivers receive the signal on the same channel, also set by the block below.
Wireless inverters are the same, but they always receive the opposite signal, they invert it.
Redstone for minetest: Mesecons (mesecons.net)
 

User avatar
Menche
Member
 
Posts: 997
Joined: Sat Jul 02, 2011 00:43
Location: An island in a lava lake.
IRC: Menche
In-game: Menche

by Menche » Mon Feb 13, 2012 01:32

Um, how exactly is the channel set? Is it by the type of block underneath? I can't get it to work, in 0.5 or git. I'm using the recipes from the first post with the brown checkered pattern boxes, is that right?
An innocent kitten dies every time you top-post.
 

User avatar
dannydark
Member
 
Posts: 428
Joined: Fri Aug 12, 2011 21:28
Location: Manchester, UK

by dannydark » Mon Feb 13, 2012 02:33

Menche wrote:Um, how exactly is the channel set? Is it by the type of block underneath? I can't get it to work, in 0.5 or git. I'm using the recipes from the first post with the brown checkered pattern boxes, is that right?


Yeah the block underneath the transmitter and receiver/inverter is what sets the channel, so basically if you put a transmitter on top of sand and then put the receiver/inverter on top of sand when the transmitter is powered it will send power to any and all wireless receivers or wireless inverters that are on top of a sand block.
 

Temperest
Member
 
Posts: 651
Joined: Tue Nov 15, 2011 23:13
GitHub: Uberi

by Temperest » Thu Feb 16, 2012 04:04

Quick update on Adder:

Image

I managed to fix the crashing issue (there was a random piece of mesecon floating between the two conductive lanes).

Also updated the schematic:

Image

Download world: http://db.tt/VyMa0WnL

Coming soon: memory module.
WorldEdit 1.0 released

The Mesecons Laboratory - the art of Mesecons circuitry
Latest article: Mesecons Basics.
 

User avatar
sfan5
Moderator
 
Posts: 3816
Joined: Wed Aug 24, 2011 09:44
Location: Germany
GitHub: sfan5
IRC: sfan5

by sfan5 » Thu Feb 16, 2012 06:17

Temperest wrote:Quick update on Adder:

Image

I managed to fix the crashing issue (there was a random piece of mesecon floating between the two conductive lanes).

Also updated the schematic:

Image

Download world: http://db.tt/VyMa0WnL

Coming soon: memory module.

+2
Mods: Mesecons | WorldEdit | Nuke & Minetest builds for Windows (32-bit & 64-bit)
 

User avatar
MirceaKitsune
Member
 
Posts: 855
Joined: Sat May 21, 2011 22:31
Location: Romania, Bucharest
GitHub: MirceaKitsune
IRC: Taoki
In-game: MirceaKitsune

by MirceaKitsune » Thu Feb 16, 2012 19:45

Although I haven't tried it yet, this is a fantastic mod! I support some of the items being put in MT by default, though not all. Since this is a larger mod, I'd like to hear what the developers would think of that. IMO, this is even nicer than MC's redstone.

BTW. I'm trying to get another mod started, which would be a similar yet different idea. In case anyone's interested: http://c55.me/minetest/forum/viewtopic.php?pid=11133
 

Temperest
Member
 
Posts: 651
Joined: Tue Nov 15, 2011 23:13
GitHub: Uberi

by Temperest » Sun Feb 19, 2012 00:07

Here is a seven segment display with hexidecimal input, using line selectors and conductive patterns:

Image

On the right side you can see two of the four memory cell towers, holding 1 byte each. Here are the schematics for the memory cell:

Image

If anyone wants to see the world for themselves, I can upload it.
WorldEdit 1.0 released

The Mesecons Laboratory - the art of Mesecons circuitry
Latest article: Mesecons Basics.
 

User avatar
MirceaKitsune
Member
 
Posts: 855
Joined: Sat May 21, 2011 22:31
Location: Romania, Bucharest
GitHub: MirceaKitsune
IRC: Taoki
In-game: MirceaKitsune

by MirceaKitsune » Sun Feb 19, 2012 00:21

Looks very awesome! About time we seen things like this in Minetest :D
 

User avatar
Jeija
Member
 
Posts: 686
Joined: Fri Dec 23, 2011 21:46
Location: Nürtingen, Germany

by Jeija » Sun Feb 19, 2012 06:14

Temperest, please Upload this world!! :D
Never thought it's possible to do such amazing stuff with this mod :)
Redstone for minetest: Mesecons (mesecons.net)
 

User avatar
sfan5
Moderator
 
Posts: 3816
Joined: Wed Aug 24, 2011 09:44
Location: Germany
GitHub: sfan5
IRC: sfan5

by sfan5 » Sun Feb 19, 2012 13:32

Temperest wrote:Here is a seven segment display with hexidecimal input, using line selectors and conductive patterns:

Image

On the right side you can see two of the four memory cell towers, holding 1 byte each. Here are the schematics for the memory cell:

Image

If anyone wants to see the world for themselves, I can upload it.

Upload the World!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Mods: Mesecons | WorldEdit | Nuke & Minetest builds for Windows (32-bit & 64-bit)
 

User avatar
sfan5
Moderator
 
Posts: 3816
Joined: Wed Aug 24, 2011 09:44
Location: Germany
GitHub: sfan5
IRC: sfan5

by sfan5 » Sun Feb 19, 2012 13:38

I preset:
13x11 Torch Display
Image
Mods: Mesecons | WorldEdit | Nuke & Minetest builds for Windows (32-bit & 64-bit)
 

Temperest
Member
 
Posts: 651
Joined: Tue Nov 15, 2011 23:13
GitHub: Uberi

by Temperest » Sun Feb 19, 2012 15:18

Here it is:

http://dl.dropbox.com/u/8097754/world%20-%20Memory%20and%20Display.zip

Requires the ENABLE_TEMPEREST flag to be set.

I've tried making more complex circuits with torches, but the delay they introduce adds up, until the circuit is unmanagably slow. Is there anything that can be done to make torches faster, or make plugs and inverters stop crashing the game?
WorldEdit 1.0 released

The Mesecons Laboratory - the art of Mesecons circuitry
Latest article: Mesecons Basics.
 

User avatar
sfan5
Moderator
 
Posts: 3816
Joined: Wed Aug 24, 2011 09:44
Location: Germany
GitHub: sfan5
IRC: sfan5

by sfan5 » Sun Feb 19, 2012 16:51

Temperest wrote:Here it is:

http://dl.dropbox.com/u/8097754/world%20-%20Memory%20and%20Display.zip

Requires the ENABLE_TEMPEREST flag to be set.

I've tried making more complex circuits with torches, but the delay they introduce adds up, until the circuit is unmanagably slow. Is there anything that can be done to make torches faster, or make plugs and inverters stop crashing the game?

...
minetest.register_abm({
nodenames = {"jeija:mesecon_torch_off","jeija:mesecon_torch_on"},
interval = 0.1,
chance = 1,
action = function(pos, node, active_object_count, active_object_count_wider)
...
You can try to change that to 0.01 or something like that, it could work
Mods: Mesecons | WorldEdit | Nuke & Minetest builds for Windows (32-bit & 64-bit)
 

User avatar
sfan5
Moderator
 
Posts: 3816
Joined: Wed Aug 24, 2011 09:44
Location: Germany
GitHub: sfan5
IRC: sfan5

by sfan5 » Sun Feb 19, 2012 17:19

Temperest wrote:Here it is:

http://dl.dropbox.com/u/8097754/world%20-%20Memory%20and%20Display.zip

Requires the ENABLE_TEMPEREST flag to be set.

I've tried making more complex circuits with torches, but the delay they introduce adds up, until the circuit is unmanagably slow. Is there anything that can be done to make torches faster, or make plugs and inverters stop crashing the game?

Can you update to the newest WorldEdit and save the Display with WorldEdit?
Because I want to keep my World.
Mods: Mesecons | WorldEdit | Nuke & Minetest builds for Windows (32-bit & 64-bit)
 

User avatar
Jeija
Member
 
Posts: 686
Joined: Fri Dec 23, 2011 21:46
Location: Nürtingen, Germany

by Jeija » Sun Feb 19, 2012 19:13

Setting the interval even lower won't work.
The minimum interval seems to be 1 second :(
Is this a bug or a feature?
Redstone for minetest: Mesecons (mesecons.net)
 

kahrl
Member
 
Posts: 236
Joined: Fri Sep 02, 2011 07:51
Location: Rös̓̇chenhof

by kahrl » Sun Feb 19, 2012 22:28

ABMs only run up to once per second. I predict that the upcoming node metadata revamp will include node timers that can react faster than that.

http://c55.me/minetest/wiki/doku.php?id=nodemetadata_proposal
 

User avatar
Jeija
Member
 
Posts: 686
Joined: Fri Dec 23, 2011 21:46
Location: Nürtingen, Germany

by Jeija » Sun Feb 19, 2012 22:37

All that would be really cool, kahrl!
Would be great if you also fixed this bug:
http://c55.me/minetest/forum/viewtopic.php?pid=10143#p10143
Last edited by Jeija on Sun Feb 19, 2012 22:38, edited 1 time in total.
Redstone for minetest: Mesecons (mesecons.net)
 

kahrl
Member
 
Posts: 236
Joined: Fri Sep 02, 2011 07:51
Location: Rös̓̇chenhof

by kahrl » Sun Feb 19, 2012 23:30

Dunno, the description there seems a little vague. Do you have any simple testcase to reproduce it?
 

Temperest
Member
 
Posts: 651
Joined: Tue Nov 15, 2011 23:13
GitHub: Uberi

by Temperest » Mon Feb 20, 2012 00:01

sfan5 wrote:
Temperest wrote:Here it is:

http://dl.dropbox.com/u/8097754/world%20-%20Memory%20and%20Display.zip

Requires the ENABLE_TEMPEREST flag to be set.

I've tried making more complex circuits with torches, but the delay they introduce adds up, until the circuit is unmanagably slow. Is there anything that can be done to make torches faster, or make plugs and inverters stop crashing the game?

Can you update to the newest WorldEdit and save the Display with WorldEdit?
Because I want to keep my World.


Here you go: http://dl.dropbox.com/u/8097754/Designs.zip

I can also upload the Logisim schematics if anyone is interested.
WorldEdit 1.0 released

The Mesecons Laboratory - the art of Mesecons circuitry
Latest article: Mesecons Basics.
 

User avatar
Jeija
Member
 
Posts: 686
Joined: Fri Dec 23, 2011 21:46
Location: Nürtingen, Germany

by Jeija » Mon Feb 20, 2012 06:50

You're right, the bug report isn't right. I thought this would be the solution, but it wasn't.
I still don't know why the game crashes.
You may try to create a mod called generator:
Code: Select all
minetest.register_node("generator:off", {
    tile_images = {"generator_off.png"},
    description = 'Generator',
    paramtype2 = "facedir",
    metadata_name = "generic",
    material = minetest.digprop_woodlike(3.0),
})

minetest.register_on_placenode(function(pos, newnode, placer)
    if newnode.name=="generator:off" then
        local meta = minetest.env:get_meta(pos)
        meta:get_inventory():set_list("fuel", {""})
        meta:set_inventory_draw_spec(
            "invsize[8,9;]list[current_name;fuel;4,2;1,1;]"
            .."list[current_player;main;0,5;8,4;]"
        )
        meta:set_infotext("Generator")
    end
end)

This is your init.lua
Now create a depends.txt with experimental in the dependencies. For some reason now the game crashes when placing a generator. Any idea why?

Sorry for the wrong bug report :(.
Last edited by Jeija on Mon Feb 20, 2012 15:34, edited 1 time in total.
Redstone for minetest: Mesecons (mesecons.net)
 

kahrl
Member
 
Posts: 236
Joined: Fri Sep 02, 2011 07:51
Location: Rös̓̇chenhof

by kahrl » Mon Feb 20, 2012 11:33

Hmm. I tried it both in 0.4.dev-20120122-1 and commit 993821a924 (current master) and it did not crash. I only have the following mods: bucket, default, experimental, generator, give_initial_stuff, legacy.
 

User avatar
Jeija
Member
 
Posts: 686
Joined: Fri Dec 23, 2011 21:46
Location: Nürtingen, Germany

by Jeija » Mon Feb 20, 2012 14:14

Well, it doesn't not work for me :(. I use the current master.
This is the error I get:
Code: Select all
15:11:50: ACTION[ServerThread]: Player Jeija tried to access [node under=87,2,-9 above=87,3,-9] from too far: d=109.201, max_d=100. ignoring.
15:11:52: ACTION[ServerThread]: Jeija places node generator:off at (87,3,-7)
15:11:52: ACTION[ServerThread]: facedir: 1
15:11:52: ERROR[ServerThread]: ERROR: An unhandled exception occurred: LuaError: error: /home/florian/.minetest/usermods/generator/init.lua:11: attempt to index a nil value
15:11:52: ERROR[ServerThread]: stack traceback:

In thread b3a42b40:
/tmp/yaourt-tmp-florian/aur-minetest-git/src/minetest/src/server.cpp:113: virtual void* ServerThread::Thread(): Assertion '0' failed.
Debug stacks:
DEBUG STACK FOR THREAD afffcb40:
#0  virtual void* MeshUpdateThread::Thread()
DEBUG STACK FOR THREAD b16cfb40:
#0  virtual void* EmergeThread::Thread()
(Leftover data: #1  virtual MapBlock* ServerMap::emergeBlock(v3s16, bool): p=(9,0,4), allow_generate=0)
(Leftover data: #2  MapBlock* ServerMap::loadBlock(v3s16))
(Leftover data: #3  void ServerMap::loadBlock(std::string*, v3s16, MapSector*, bool))
DEBUG STACK FOR THREAD b3a42b40:
#0  virtual void* ServerThread::Thread()
(Leftover data: #1  void Server::Receive())
(Leftover data: #2  void Server::ProcessData(irr::u8*, irr::u32, irr::u16))
(Leftover data: #3  RemoteClient* Server::getClient(irr::u16))
(Leftover data: #4  void BlockEmergeQueue::addBlock(irr::u16, v3s16, irr::u8))
DEBUG STACK FOR THREAD b544d700:
#0  int main(int, char**)
(Leftover data: #1  void ClientMap::renderMap(irr::video::IVideoDriver*, irr::s32))
(Leftover data: #2  virtual void ClientEnvironment::step(float))
(Leftover data: #3  void Client::Receive())
(Leftover data: #4  void Client::ProcessData(irr::u8*, irr::u32, irr::u16))
(Leftover data: #5  void MeshUpdateQueue::addBlock(v3s16, MeshMakeData*, bool))

Line 11 is this: meta:get_inventory():set_list("fuel", {""})
Everything else seems to work fine, just this line causes problems.
I have only experimental in the depends file.
Redstone for minetest: Mesecons (mesecons.net)
 

PreviousNext

Return to Mod Releases



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: IFRFSX and 10 guests