[Mod] Mesecons (= redstone) [GitHub] [minetest-mod-mesecons]

nathor958
New member
Posts: 8
Joined: Wed Apr 03, 2013 08:05

by nathor958 » Post

very good!!!!!
Last edited by nathor958 on Tue Sep 24, 2013 18:30, edited 1 time in total.

Nore
Developer
Posts: 501
Joined: Wed Nov 28, 2012 11:35
GitHub: Ekdohibs

by Nore » Post

Does anyone want to make a new video for the website? The current video is 1 year and 1/2 old, so it should be changed...

I can make the contraptions used in the video, if you want
Screenshots, if you want some:
Image
Image
Last edited by Nore on Tue Oct 22, 2013 09:37, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
jojoa1997
Member
Posts: 2890
Joined: Thu Dec 13, 2012 05:11
Location: Earth

by jojoa1997 » Post

say will there be anything like minecraft's hoppers? those really come in handy when you want to organize stuff and also put stuff away really quickly.
Coding;
1X coding
3X debugging
12X tweaking to be just right

Temperest
Member
Posts: 651
Joined: Tue Nov 15, 2011 23:13
GitHub: Uberi

by Temperest » Post

jojoa1997: item processing facilities are generally left to pipeworks. Pipeworks is pretty powerful and it would be a waste of effort to duplicate all of that functionality.
WorldEdit 1.0 released

The Mesecons Laboratory - the art of Mesecons circuitry
Latest article: Mesecons Basics.

Nore
Developer
Posts: 501
Joined: Wed Nov 28, 2012 11:35
GitHub: Ekdohibs

by Nore » Post

Even more screenshots:
Image
Image
Running Conway's Game of Life in mesecons (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Conway%27s_Game_of_Life)
Last edited by Nore on Tue Oct 22, 2013 09:36, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
jojoa1997
Member
Posts: 2890
Joined: Thu Dec 13, 2012 05:11
Location: Earth

by jojoa1997 » Post

Temperest wrote:jojoa1997: item processing facilities are generally left to pipeworks. Pipeworks is pretty powerful and it would be a waste of effort to duplicate all of that functionality.
Oops I forgot about the sand tube. Yep minetest already has something like the minecraft hopper. I guess if you pair the detector tube with a sand one you get that.
Coding;
1X coding
3X debugging
12X tweaking to be just right

Quackor
New member
Posts: 4
Joined: Sun Nov 24, 2013 23:07

by Quackor » Post

I'm trying to have one of my outputs send a signal for half a second every 5 seconds or so... this code runs but slowly gets crazier and crazier (as in the port outputs more often, until it overheats... am I missing something fundamental here?)

Code: Select all

interrupt(0.5, "loop")

if mem.count == nil then
  mem.count = 0
end

if event.iid == "loop" then
  mem.count = mem.count + 1
  if mem.count == 10 then
    port.c = true
    mem.count = 0
  else
    port.c = false
  end
end
Any help figuring this one out greatly appreciated!

User avatar
jojoa1997
Member
Posts: 2890
Joined: Thu Dec 13, 2012 05:11
Location: Earth

by jojoa1997 » Post

I was wondering if anyone else was interested in have this dispenser branch be added to mesecons?
Coding;
1X coding
3X debugging
12X tweaking to be just right

Temperest
Member
Posts: 651
Joined: Tue Nov 15, 2011 23:13
GitHub: Uberi

by Temperest » Post

jojoa1997: I believe it was decided that Pipeworks would handle all the item-related stuff and Mesecons would focus on digital logic.
WorldEdit 1.0 released

The Mesecons Laboratory - the art of Mesecons circuitry
Latest article: Mesecons Basics.

Quackor
New member
Posts: 4
Joined: Sun Nov 24, 2013 23:07

by Quackor » Post

OK, a simpler example... even this code will not work for me and result in node C blinking crazy and eventually overheating.

Code: Select all

interrupt(1, "loop")
if event.iid == "loop" then
port.c = not port.c
end
what gives?
Last edited by Quackor on Tue Nov 26, 2013 00:16, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
jojoa1997
Member
Posts: 2890
Joined: Thu Dec 13, 2012 05:11
Location: Earth

by jojoa1997 » Post

Temperest wrote:jojoa1997: I believe it was decided that Pipeworks would handle all the item-related stuff and Mesecons would focus on digital logic.
That is great and dandy but
1)Pipeworks is not with mesecons so it kinda is stupid.
2)Pipeworks has no items that work like a dispenser.
Coding;
1X coding
3X debugging
12X tweaking to be just right

Temperest
Member
Posts: 651
Joined: Tue Nov 15, 2011 23:13
GitHub: Uberi

by Temperest » Post

Quackor wrote:OK, a simpler example... even this code will not work for me and result in node C blinking crazy and eventually overheating.

Code: Select all

interrupt(1, "loop")
if event.iid == "loop" then
port.c = not port.c
end
what gives?
Seems to be a bug with Mesecons. Can you submit this as an issue in the bugtracker?
jojoa1997 wrote:That is great and dandy but
1)Pipeworks is not with mesecons so it kinda is stupid.
2)Pipeworks has no items that work like a dispenser.
Yes, pipeworks is an external mod. But then, so is Mesecons. Personally, it seems rather wasteful to duplicate all the effort put into pipeworks.

In fact, there is a very simple dispensor-like device. Place a chest and a filter/injector beside each other, with the suction end of the injector facing the chest. Now when you power the injector via Mesecons, it spits out items. If you use a MESE injector, it will spit out a whole stack.

The injector uses the default Mesecons rules. I described them briefly in the Mesecons Basics article.
WorldEdit 1.0 released

The Mesecons Laboratory - the art of Mesecons circuitry
Latest article: Mesecons Basics.

User avatar
jojoa1997
Member
Posts: 2890
Joined: Thu Dec 13, 2012 05:11
Location: Earth

by jojoa1997 » Post

Temperest wrote:
Yes, pipeworks is an external mod. But then, so is Mesecons. Personally, it seems rather wasteful to duplicate all the effort put into pipeworks.

In fact, there is a very simple dispensor-like device. Place a chest and a filter/injector beside each other, with the suction end of the injector facing the chest. Now when you power the injector via Mesecons, it spits out items. If you use a MESE injector, it will spit out a whole stack.

The injector uses the default Mesecons rules. I described them briefly in the Mesecons Basics article.
Yes but a dispenser allows you to do what is done with two blocks in one.
Coding;
1X coding
3X debugging
12X tweaking to be just right

User avatar
VanessaE
Moderator
Posts: 4655
Joined: Sun Apr 01, 2012 12:38
GitHub: VanessaE
IRC: VanessaE
In-game: VanessaE
Location: Western NC
Contact:

by VanessaE » Post

A device to do this would be easy. In fact, when Filter-injectors were first introduced to Pipeworks, I could swear up and down that they did exactly as you propose when there was no chest (or it was empty). This is why I started calling them injectors, even though that behavior turned out to be a bug.
You might like some of my stuff: Plantlife ~ More Trees ~ Home Decor ~ Pipeworks ~ HDX Textures (64-512px)

like2omg
Member
Posts: 37
Joined: Sat Nov 30, 2013 20:12

by like2omg » Post

I don't know if you want to implement this, as it probably wouldn't be used as much as your other features, but I just wanted to throw it out.
I have an idea of a new type of pressure plates that take a certain amount of time "stepped on" to actually send out "power".

One example usage for using in survival mini-games: a player must be standing on this pressure plate long enough to activate or expose something. (Could, for another example, make players more vulnerable when activating a "tower destruction" device of the other team)

Needed setup: to be able to configure (at placement, and later reconfigure with an item so mini-game players don't change it and ruin the game play) the necessary time standing on it to be sending "power".

This idea could also be used the other way: amount of time it will take until it no longer sends "power" after all pressure is gone.

Of course these ideas are easily implemented with pressure plates connected to "processing machines", but I thought I would put these ideas out anyway.

P.S. Thank you (everyone who helped, directly or indirectly) for all the hard work you have done to make such an awesome mod such as this. You deserve it.

Temperest
Member
Posts: 651
Joined: Tue Nov 15, 2011 23:13
GitHub: Uberi

by Temperest » Post

Hey like2omg:

If you want to build one of these right now, here's a circuit that should do the trick. No luacontrollers required!

Image
WorldEdit 1.0 released

The Mesecons Laboratory - the art of Mesecons circuitry
Latest article: Mesecons Basics.

like2omg
Member
Posts: 37
Joined: Sat Nov 30, 2013 20:12

by like2omg » Post

Temperest wrote:Hey like2omg:

If you want to build one of these right now, here's a circuit that should do the trick. No luacontrollers required!

http://i.imgur.com/UKUTvIn.png
Thanks. Although I'm curious if it resets immediately after the player leaves the pressure plate (or if it keeps some charge in the final repeater(s))

User avatar
VanessaE
Moderator
Posts: 4655
Joined: Sun Apr 01, 2012 12:38
GitHub: VanessaE
IRC: VanessaE
In-game: VanessaE
Location: Western NC
Contact:

by VanessaE » Post

It holds the output for a time more or less equal to the lesser of (panel stepped on time) vs (total time of the delayers).

If the total delay is 3 seconds and you stand on the panel for 5, it'll still only hold the output for about 3 seconds after you step off, though server <-> client communication lag will basically throw that estimate so far out of the window have to call you with the results from in the next town over. :-)
You might like some of my stuff: Plantlife ~ More Trees ~ Home Decor ~ Pipeworks ~ HDX Textures (64-512px)

User avatar
addi
Member
Posts: 666
Joined: Thu Sep 20, 2012 03:16
GitHub: adrido
Location: Black-Forest, Germany

by addi » Post

here i must also post a bug.
due the new feature of minetest 0.4.8 all nodes wich have a formspec (playerdetector, luacontroler,microcontroler,...) dose
a) submitting all clicks twice
b) submitting if the formspec is cancled with the ESC key
EDIT:
found another bug too:
digging a vertical mesecon wire will sometimes not return a item
it would be great if you could fix it

thanks
addi
Last edited by addi on Tue Dec 17, 2013 14:58, edited 1 time in total.

Temperest
Member
Posts: 651
Joined: Tue Nov 15, 2011 23:13
GitHub: Uberi

by Temperest » Post

Thanks for reporting that addi, this has now been fixed.

Can you describe generally how you can reliably make the vertical mesecons not return an item?
Last edited by Temperest on Wed Dec 18, 2013 20:14, edited 1 time in total.
WorldEdit 1.0 released

The Mesecons Laboratory - the art of Mesecons circuitry
Latest article: Mesecons Basics.

User avatar
DeepGaze
Member
Posts: 332
Joined: Fri May 10, 2013 00:49
GitHub: DeepGaze
IRC: DeepGaze
In-game: DeepGaze
Location: Take your best guess

by DeepGaze » Post

Programmable length piston?(hit to set)
there's no place like 127.0.0.1
The deep life Minetest text page
minetest cards

User avatar
addi
Member
Posts: 666
Joined: Thu Sep 20, 2012 03:16
GitHub: adrido
Location: Black-Forest, Germany

by addi » Post

Temperest wrote:Thanks for reporting that addi, this has now been fixed.

Can you describe generally how you can reliably make the vertical mesecons not return an item?
thanks fo fixing it, it seems i cant reproduce it. i have it anymore it seems it works fine. maybe it was just a lagg.

thanks anyway
addi

User avatar
cheapie
Member
Posts: 316
Joined: Mon May 14, 2012 00:59
GitHub: cheapie
IRC: cheapie
In-game: cheapie

by cheapie » Post

Random traffic light controller code (for luacontrollers, requires digilines. for use with streets' traffic lights):

Code: Select all

--LUAC_Traffic Version 3.3
--Written by cheapie
--WTFPL
if (event.type=="digiline" and event.channel=="fault") then
mem.fault=true
digiline_send("display","Remote Fault "..event.msg)
digiline_send("main","warn")
digiline_send("side","warn")
end
if (pin.c) then
mem.fault=false
end
if (event.channel=="reset") then
mem.fault=false
end
if (event.type=="program")
then
mem.fault=true
digiline_send("display","LUAC_Traffic Version 3.3 PUSH RESET")
digiline_send("main","warn")
digiline_send("side","warn")
end
if(pin.d) then
mem.fault=true
digiline_send("display","External Fault")
digiline_send("main","warn")
digiline_send("side","warn")
end
port.b=mem.fault
if (mem.fault) then
digiline_send("main","warn")
digiline_send("side","warn")
else
if (pin.a) then
digiline_send("main","red")
digiline_send("side","green")
digiline_send("display","NORMAL OPERATION Side has Green")
else
digiline_send("main","green")
digiline_send("side","red")
digiline_send("display","NORMAL OPERATION Main has Green")
end
end
Attach traffic lights on the main street (set to channel 'main') and the side street (channel 'side') to a digiline, a player detector on the side street to pin A, and a reset button to pin C. An LCD can be added to the digiline on channel 'display'. Sending a mesecon signal on pin D or a digiline signal on channel 'fault' (the message should be an explanation) will cause the lights to flash yellow, and sending a signal on pin C or a digiline signal on channel 'reset' will clear the fault.

This code can be seen in action on VanessaE's survival server at the intersection of North St. and the ringroad. Earlier versions can be seen running other lights elsewhere on the server.
Last edited by cheapie on Sun Dec 22, 2013 04:20, edited 1 time in total.
-- This account is no longer active --
My mods have moved to: https://cheapiesystems.com/git

twoelk
Member
Posts: 1482
Joined: Fri Apr 19, 2013 16:19
GitHub: twoelk
IRC: twoelk
In-game: twoelk
Location: northern Germany

by twoelk » Post

Rather the "creative server" I guess.

User avatar
Jeija
Member
Posts: 686
Joined: Fri Dec 23, 2011 21:46
Location: Nürtingen, Germany

by Jeija » Post

To all server owners: Please update mesecons to the latest version immediately!! Reasons will be disclosed later.
Redstone for minetest: Mesecons (mesecons.net)

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Zav and 19 guests