[Mod] Mesecons (= redstone) [GitHub] [minetest-mod-mesecons]

User avatar
VanessaE
Moderator
 
Posts: 4461
Joined: Sun Apr 01, 2012 12:38
Location: Waynesville, NC
GitHub: VanessaE
IRC: VanessaE
In-game: VanessaE

by VanessaE » Sun Apr 15, 2012 04:39

Well, since plugs/sockets are used to make diodes, and mesecons seem to be used more for shuttling data around than carrying "power", how about just "anode", "cathode", and "inverted cathode" in place of plug, socket, and inverted socket, respectively.

As for textures, I just made another update to my packs, and created/uploaded a 16 pixel version. All versions include those partial wires and their central nodes, just in case they can be used later. I didn't remove the wire stubs from the other objects as previously mentioned; figured I should wait for your "okay" on that.
Last edited by VanessaE on Sun Apr 15, 2012 05:24, edited 1 time in total.
You might like some of my stuff: Plantlife ~ More Trees ~ Home Decor ~ Pipeworks ~ HDX Textures (64-512px)
 

User avatar
Hackeridze
Member
 
Posts: 310
Joined: Thu Nov 03, 2011 13:35

by Hackeridze » Sun Apr 15, 2012 06:03

VanessaE, +1
My game: RTMG
GENTOO USER
 

User avatar
RabbiBob
Member
 
Posts: 335
Joined: Sat Jan 28, 2012 22:40
Location: /teleport 54,47,28

by RabbiBob » Sun Apr 15, 2012 18:08

After reading the init.lua in mesecons\, I tried unsuccessfully this morning to make a node was a conductor (allow power to flow through it to another node). Is there a register nodetype value for mesecon api to allow this to be done? If not, could is_conductor be implemented?
 

User avatar
Jeija
Member
 
Posts: 686
Joined: Fri Dec 23, 2011 21:46
Location: Nürtingen, Germany

by Jeija » Sun Apr 15, 2012 18:25

There is no such register_conductor(onstate, offstate) or sth like that yet. Anyway, I should finally get such a thing done, maybe next week.
Last edited by Jeija on Sun Apr 22, 2012 05:57, edited 1 time in total.
Redstone for minetest: Mesecons (mesecons.net)
 

User avatar
VanessaE
Moderator
 
Posts: 4461
Joined: Sun Apr 01, 2012 12:38
Location: Waynesville, NC
GitHub: VanessaE
IRC: VanessaE
In-game: VanessaE

by VanessaE » Wed Apr 18, 2012 03:03

Jeija: I don't know the LUA language, but after doing some reading, I think compositing several images together is done with the "^" symbol. It's how the default grass side, most ores, etc. are drawn, and looks like it's used like this:

Code: Select all
tile_images = { "some_image.png^another_image.png" },


Where "some_image.png" gets drawn on the bottom of the stack. I don't know if this will go beyond just two images, but if it does, I think this is the solution.

All regular mesecons wires, then, would be constructed from two or more of the 8 "partial wires" images and one of the central nodes. A delayer would be built up from two wire stubs, a central body image, a timer image, and a decorative object on top that shows the signal direction and responds to on/off state. The orientation of the final object when placed would be decided by which wire stubs were used.

It won't reduce the total number of images one has to maintain (in fact, it would increase slightly), but it would increase the long-term flexibility of your mod and it would allow for a greater range of painting styles while still maintaining a uniform look across the whole mod, regardless of how many new objects are added in the future. Wires could have a gemstone-like asymmetric finish and still tile seamlessly. This is probably also what's needed for the wall buttons/levers to look right.

Yes the existing method breaks my preferred texture style. :-) Still, just trying to help.
You might like some of my stuff: Plantlife ~ More Trees ~ Home Decor ~ Pipeworks ~ HDX Textures (64-512px)
 

sudobash
New member
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Thu Mar 29, 2012 17:58

by sudobash » Wed Apr 18, 2012 22:19

@Temperest

Proof that Minetest has all the potential minecraft does. Great work!
Whenever stupidity rears its ugly head, hit it like a whack-a-mole with the mallet of mockery!
 

User avatar
Hackeridze
Member
 
Posts: 310
Joined: Thu Nov 03, 2011 13:35

by Hackeridze » Thu Apr 19, 2012 18:52

Please, update your mod to newest API!
My game: RTMG
GENTOO USER
 

User avatar
Jordach
Member
 
Posts: 4523
Joined: Mon Oct 03, 2011 17:58
Location: Blender Scene
GitHub: Jordach
IRC: Jordach
In-game: Jordach

by Jordach » Thu Apr 19, 2012 18:56

It already is.
viewtopic.php?f=10&t=19056 Solar Plains Dev Server
 

User avatar
sfan5
Moderator
 
Posts: 3809
Joined: Wed Aug 24, 2011 09:44
Location: Germany
GitHub: sfan5
IRC: sfan5
 

User avatar
Hackeridze
Member
 
Posts: 310
Joined: Thu Nov 03, 2011 13:35
 

User avatar
Jeija
Member
 
Posts: 686
Joined: Fri Dec 23, 2011 21:46
Location: Nürtingen, Germany

by Jeija » Sun Apr 22, 2012 05:58

Code: Select all
--You can specify custom conductors using
--# mesecon:register_conductor(onstate, offstate)
--    onstate=the conductor's nodename when it is turned on
--    offstate=the conductor's nodename when it is turned off


Have fun! Version with this feature on GitHub.
Last edited by Jeija on Sun Apr 22, 2012 05:59, edited 1 time in total.
Redstone for minetest: Mesecons (mesecons.net)
 

User avatar
RabbiBob
Member
 
Posts: 335
Joined: Sat Jan 28, 2012 22:40
Location: /teleport 54,47,28

by RabbiBob » Sun Apr 22, 2012 19:34

Jeija wrote:
Code: Select all
--You can specify custom conductors using
--# mesecon:register_conductor(onstate, offstate)
--    onstate=the conductor's nodename when it is turned on
--    offstate=the conductor's nodename when it is turned off


Have fun! Version with this feature on GitHub.


Sweetness! Thank you
 

User avatar
RabbiBob
Member
 
Posts: 335
Joined: Sat Jan 28, 2012 22:40
Location: /teleport 54,47,28

by RabbiBob » Sun Apr 22, 2012 20:43

Ignore this for a bit, I may have something wrong in my mod directory. I'll start fresh

Gave it a go and am getting a stack overflow point at mesecons_delayer\init.lua:136 when attempting the following (or any) configuration:

SWITCH-MESECON-MESECON-MESECON-MESECON-BOBPOLE:RED where bp:red is

Code: Select all
mesecon:register_conductor("bobblocks:redpole","bobblocks:redpole")


Code: Select all
16:33:44: VERBOSE[main]: error_message = ServerError: LuaError: error: ....\games\minetest_game\mods\mesecons_delayer\init.lua:136: stack overflow
16:33:44: VERBOSE[main]: stack traceback:
Last edited by RabbiBob on Sun Apr 22, 2012 20:46, edited 1 time in total.
 

Temperest
Member
 
Posts: 651
Joined: Tue Nov 15, 2011 23:13
GitHub: Uberi

by Temperest » Sun Apr 22, 2012 21:01

RabbiBob wrote:Ignore this for a bit, I may have something wrong in my mod directory. I'll start fresh

Gave it a go and am getting a stack overflow point at mesecons_delayer\init.lua:136 when attempting the following (or any) configuration:

SWITCH-MESECON-MESECON-MESECON-MESECON-BOBPOLE:RED where bp:red is

Code: Select all
mesecon:register_conductor("bobblocks:redpole","bobblocks:redpole")


Code: Select all
16:33:44: VERBOSE[main]: error_message = ServerError: LuaError: error: ....\games\minetest_game\mods\mesecons_delayer\init.lua:136: stack overflow
16:33:44: VERBOSE[main]: stack traceback:


I think the two blocks need to have different names.

Something like this:

Code: Select all
mesecon:register_conductor("bobblocks:redpole_off","bobblocks:redpole_on")


Change the names as needed.
WorldEdit 1.0 released

The Mesecons Laboratory - the art of Mesecons circuitry
Latest article: Mesecons Basics.
 

User avatar
RabbiBob
Member
 
Posts: 335
Joined: Sat Jan 28, 2012 22:40
Location: /teleport 54,47,28

by RabbiBob » Sun Apr 22, 2012 22:02

Yeah, that was it. Found it a little later when going back over it. Thanks :)
 

User avatar
JoseMing
Member
 
Posts: 107
Joined: Tue Feb 21, 2012 00:01
Location: Venezuela

by JoseMing » Sun Apr 22, 2012 23:53

jeija, please, give me the link of the tutorial to make a mods please, do you have a tutorial of how to make a texture pack?
Nothing is impossible, Only you need you mind to create... and Sorry for my Bad English :D
Add me on remobo as JoseGarcia
 

Troy6879
Member
 
Posts: 63
Joined: Tue Mar 27, 2012 04:19
Location: Kaikohe,New Zealand

by Troy6879 » Mon Apr 23, 2012 08:13

Hey guys, finally found out how to get my mods into the mod folder.
Right click the Folder your using(RAR, Tar whatever) right-click it and select"Open with..." and select "Windows Explorer"(Note this is for windows ONLY) Even though I put it in the folder for some strange reason it didn't work...
They shall not grow old as we that are left grow old,
Age shall not weary them,nor the years condemn, (For the fallen, In honur of ANZAC, 25th April 1915))
At the going down of the sun and in the morning,
We shall remember them.
 

User avatar
Jordach
Member
 
Posts: 4523
Joined: Mon Oct 03, 2011 17:58
Location: Blender Scene
GitHub: Jordach
IRC: Jordach
In-game: Jordach

by Jordach » Mon Apr 23, 2012 08:24

Finally, I could have just gave you a game folder to use. Which contains the mods people want.
viewtopic.php?f=10&t=19056 Solar Plains Dev Server
 

User avatar
bcnjr5
Member
 
Posts: 67
Joined: Wed Apr 25, 2012 16:08
Location: 26.895601,-80.243576

by bcnjr5 » Wed Apr 25, 2012 22:59

How do I re-enable the wireless mesecons?
 

User avatar
Jeija
Member
 
Posts: 686
Joined: Fri Dec 23, 2011 21:46
Location: Nürtingen, Germany

by Jeija » Thu Apr 26, 2012 11:31

They don't work and are discontinued. If you want to fix them, put the folder mesecons_wireless in mesecons_dev in the mods folder and have fun coding.
Redstone for minetest: Mesecons (mesecons.net)
 

User avatar
bcnjr5
Member
 
Posts: 67
Joined: Wed Apr 25, 2012 16:08
Location: 26.895601,-80.243576

by bcnjr5 » Thu Apr 26, 2012 14:39

dang... I stink at coding anything but HTML and batch.
Last edited by bcnjr5 on Thu Apr 26, 2012 14:43, edited 1 time in total.
 

User avatar
bcnjr5
Member
 
Posts: 67
Joined: Wed Apr 25, 2012 16:08
Location: 26.895601,-80.243576

by bcnjr5 » Thu Apr 26, 2012 14:41

Would you mind updating the switch textures for the new stone textures? Secret doors.
 

Bbill9908(guest)
 

by Bbill9908(guest) » Wed May 09, 2012 19:54

Hey, I just wanna say that I love this mod, but the only few bad things I've seen about it are 1. Mese is not in the 0.4 version yet, 2. WHen I try to use movestones, my game crashes... x.x 3. I can pass through the piston extensions. I won't reply to this b/c I'm not an actual member yet, but I just wanted to let you know what I thought of it. Keep up the good work... :D
 

Temperest
Member
 
Posts: 651
Joined: Tue Nov 15, 2011 23:13
GitHub: Uberi

by Temperest » Wed May 09, 2012 20:00

Bbill9908(guest) wrote:2. WHen I try to use movestones, my game crashes... x.x


Personally I think movestones are a bit bad for gameplay; I'd prefer they were removed (in survival mode, I mean) to make the game more interesting. Additionally it seems to be a big source of bugs and confusion.

What do you guys think?
WorldEdit 1.0 released

The Mesecons Laboratory - the art of Mesecons circuitry
Latest article: Mesecons Basics.
 

User avatar
bcnjr5
Member
 
Posts: 67
Joined: Wed Apr 25, 2012 16:08
Location: 26.895601,-80.243576

by bcnjr5 » Thu May 10, 2012 01:53

I love how I just have to power a movestone to get kicked off the server and called a griefer!
 

PreviousNext

Return to Mod Releases



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: MSN [Bot] and 6 guests