[Mod] Mesecons (= redstone) [GitHub] [minetest-mod-mesecons]

User avatar
12Me21
Member
 
Posts: 826
Joined: Tue Mar 05, 2013 00:36
Location: Earth

by 12Me21 » Tue Apr 09, 2013 18:58

Jeija wrote:
12Me21 wrote:do the nodes being pushed by movestones move smoothly?

no

why not?
can't it just be like falling nodes, only sideways?

Edit: anyway, there should be vertical movestones, so you can make elevators.
Last edited by 12Me21 on Tue Apr 09, 2013 18:59, edited 1 time in total.
This is a signature virus. Add me to your signature so that I can multiply.
Don't ever save anything as a JPEG.
 

User avatar
Calinou
Moderator
 
Posts: 3145
Joined: Mon Aug 01, 2011 14:26
Location: Troyes, France
GitHub: Calinou
IRC: Calinou
In-game: Calinou

by Calinou » Tue Apr 09, 2013 19:01

12Me21 wrote:
Jeija wrote:
12Me21 wrote:do the nodes being pushed by movestones move smoothly?

no

why not?
can't it just be like falling nodes, only sideways?


This would require creating an entity, which would increase CPU usage if you are moving a lot of movestones at once.

+1 for vertical movestones. :D
 

Temperest
Member
 
Posts: 651
Joined: Tue Nov 15, 2011 23:13
GitHub: Uberi

by Temperest » Tue Apr 09, 2013 20:42

Falling nodes use entities, and are subject to all the bugs described. Pushing rows with a piston is possible if we use multiple entities, but is prone to visual glitches. You can already see that falling nodes have some issues such as duplication in very specific circumstances. Having many of them at once amplifies the problem.
WorldEdit 1.0 released

The Mesecons Laboratory - the art of Mesecons circuitry
Latest article: Mesecons Basics.
 

User avatar
12Me21
Member
 
Posts: 826
Joined: Tue Mar 05, 2013 00:36
Location: Earth

by 12Me21 » Tue Apr 09, 2013 20:59

I wish there was some way of making smooth node movement in minetest...
but there isn't.
This is a signature virus. Add me to your signature so that I can multiply.
Don't ever save anything as a JPEG.
 

deivan
Member
 
Posts: 452
Joined: Fri Feb 15, 2013 10:16
Location: Brazil. :D
 

Temperest
Member
 
Posts: 651
Joined: Tue Nov 15, 2011 23:13
GitHub: Uberi

by Temperest » Thu Apr 11, 2013 15:02

Yes, use pipeworks and create a sorting mechanism at each end. You can use MESE pipes and filters for this. Link it all together with a clock line and you have a multiplexer!

Edit: or use the Teleport tubes and don't worry about distances at all.
Last edited by Temperest on Thu Apr 11, 2013 15:03, edited 1 time in total.
WorldEdit 1.0 released

The Mesecons Laboratory - the art of Mesecons circuitry
Latest article: Mesecons Basics.
 

deivan
Member
 
Posts: 452
Joined: Fri Feb 15, 2013 10:16
Location: Brazil. :D

by deivan » Thu Apr 11, 2013 15:05

My idea cover tubes, pipes and wires in a single item.
 

Temperest
Member
 
Posts: 651
Joined: Tue Nov 15, 2011 23:13
GitHub: Uberi

by Temperest » Thu Apr 11, 2013 15:06

Teleport tubes are single nodes that can transport items on multiple channels for any distance easily. Check them out, they're probably what you need.
WorldEdit 1.0 released

The Mesecons Laboratory - the art of Mesecons circuitry
Latest article: Mesecons Basics.
 

deivan
Member
 
Posts: 452
Joined: Fri Feb 15, 2013 10:16
Location: Brazil. :D

by deivan » Thu Apr 11, 2013 15:10

Transport energy from the technic mod?
 

Temperest
Member
 
Posts: 651
Joined: Tue Nov 15, 2011 23:13
GitHub: Uberi

by Temperest » Thu Apr 11, 2013 16:26

Energy transport? No no, pipeworks. Like here:

http://forum.minetest.net/viewtopic.php?id=2155

They transport items in different types of tubes. You want the teleport tube for long distance item transport.
WorldEdit 1.0 released

The Mesecons Laboratory - the art of Mesecons circuitry
Latest article: Mesecons Basics.
 

deivan
Member
 
Posts: 452
Joined: Fri Feb 15, 2013 10:16
Location: Brazil. :D

by deivan » Thu Apr 11, 2013 16:29

Then my idea still valid, a variety of tubes and wires together in a single node block. :D
 

User avatar
VanessaE
Moderator
 
Posts: 4118
Joined: Sun Apr 01, 2012 12:38
Location: Waynesville, NC
GitHub: VanessaE
IRC: VanessaE
In-game: VanessaE

by VanessaE » Thu Apr 11, 2013 16:54

What Deivan is suggesting, I think, is a type of tube that also conducts mesecons signals along its length, similar to what Redpower users have in Minecraft. Others have proposed this as well, but I don't know how to code such a thing.
You might like some of my stuff: Plantlife ~ More Trees ~ Home Decor ~ Pipeworks ~ HDX Textures (16-512px)
 

deivan
Member
 
Posts: 452
Joined: Fri Feb 15, 2013 10:16
Location: Brazil. :D

by deivan » Thu Apr 11, 2013 17:05

I have a little more complex idea than it. My idea is like a multiple-dimensional tube who store like 8 tubes in a single spot, don't only tubes, what you need, like wires or mesecon signal wire, and transport it from a point to another, the purpose is make a single role in a wall to pass all of this. If I need 4 types of things (wire, tube...) I need 4 roles now.

A basic example: 3 sources(1 mesecon data + 1 wire for technic energy + 1 pipe with water) -> hub1 ---advanced pipe--- hub2 (1 source leave here, like the pipe with water)---more advanced pipe--- hub3 (2 other sources leave here).
Maybe I have a water storage in a place with a generator, this generator have a wire and the wire go to hub together with the mesecon to control some thing... All come together in this single advanced pipe crossing a area and arriving in a fountain, I need the water here then I added a hub, put a pipe and assign the slot from the source water pipe to this pipe, at exit, the water arrive from him.
In the end point I put a switch to the mesecon data (to control a machine, the generator and lights, maybe) and the wire with the energy to my installation.
 

lordcirth
New member
 
Posts: 9
Joined: Tue Apr 09, 2013 23:51

by lordcirth » Thu Apr 11, 2013 22:02

Inspired by the digicode mod, I have created a new item for mesecon/digiline mod - the digipad. Instead of checking for a PIN, it accepts up to 10 digits and transmits them down a digiline when you hit Submit. Its channel can be cycled between "keypad1", "keypad2" "keypad3" by punching. This allows not only passwords, but (I have done this) 1 code to open secret door, another to close, else - floor trap. Great fun :)
dl.dropbox.com/u/5649062/digipad-v3.zip
[img=Digipad and LCD ]http://dl.dropbox.com/u/5649062/Digipad.png[/img]
Feedback welcome.
EDIT: digipad is WTFPL also because I borrowed extensively from digicode.
Last edited by lordcirth on Thu Apr 11, 2013 22:40, edited 1 time in total.
 

deivan
Member
 
Posts: 452
Joined: Fri Feb 15, 2013 10:16
Location: Brazil. :D
 

User avatar
Zeg9
Member
 
Posts: 608
Joined: Fri Sep 21, 2012 11:02
Location: France

by Zeg9 » Sun Apr 14, 2013 15:49

lordcirth, didn't test, but seems to work, and looks interesting, so great job !
I made a few (a lot of?) mods for minetest: here is a list.
See also the MT-Faithful texture pack (work in progress).
 

lordcirth
New member
 
Posts: 9
Joined: Tue Apr 09, 2013 23:51

by lordcirth » Sun Apr 14, 2013 20:58

Thanks Zeg, do you, or anyone here, have suggestions? maybe a slight texture change to differentiate from digicode?

Btw, the crafting recipe, for those of you who didn't look at the code, is:
{"mesecons_button:button_off", "mesecons_button:button_off", "mesecons_button:button_off"},
{"default:steel_ingot", "mesecons_luacontroller:luacontroller0000", "default:steel_ingot"},
{"default:steel_ingot", "digilines:wire_std_00000000", "default:steel_ingot"},

Basically digicode with micro- updated to lua- and digiline instead of mesecon.
 

User avatar
jordan4ibanez
Member
 
Posts: 1893
Joined: Tue Sep 27, 2011 18:44
Location: Rhode Island, USA
GitHub: jordan4ibanez
IRC: jordan4ibanez
In-game: jordan4ibanez

by jordan4ibanez » Wed Apr 17, 2013 06:00

I just realized, if you set the pistons to be a physical entity like they used to be, they wouldn't need to use a function to push items/people around.
If you can think it, you can make it! My Patreon :D
 

User avatar
Zeg9
Member
 
Posts: 608
Joined: Fri Sep 21, 2012 11:02
Location: France

by Zeg9 » Wed Apr 17, 2013 18:01

lordcirth wrote:Thanks Zeg, do you, or anyone here, have suggestions? maybe a slight texture change to differentiate from digicode?

Btw, the crafting recipe, for those of you who didn't look at the code, is:
{"mesecons_button:button_off", "mesecons_button:button_off", "mesecons_button:button_off"},
{"default:steel_ingot", "mesecons_luacontroller:luacontroller0000", "default:steel_ingot"},
{"default:steel_ingot", "digilines:wire_std_00000000", "default:steel_ingot"},

Basically digicode with micro- updated to lua- and digiline instead of mesecon.

Well, maybe you would change the texture a bit, like its color (what about a [light] blue one?)
I made a few (a lot of?) mods for minetest: here is a list.
See also the MT-Faithful texture pack (work in progress).
 

Temperest
Member
 
Posts: 651
Joined: Tue Nov 15, 2011 23:13
GitHub: Uberi

by Temperest » Wed Apr 17, 2013 20:44

jordan4ibanez wrote:I just realized, if you set the pistons to be a physical entity like they used to be, they wouldn't need to use a function to push items/people around.


They were never physical entities. Physical entities would collide with the piston node itself and lead to a whole bunch of headaches. The original version used nonphysical entities to avoid this - it had to be able to move into the piston body.
WorldEdit 1.0 released

The Mesecons Laboratory - the art of Mesecons circuitry
Latest article: Mesecons Basics.
 

User avatar
jojoa1997
Member
 
Posts: 2890
Joined: Thu Dec 13, 2012 05:11
Location: Earth

by jojoa1997 » Thu Apr 18, 2013 15:30

Have you thought of making the selection boxes the same as the nodeboxes. I am doing this in minitest for redstone and the buttons and levers would look soo much better with the nodebox being also the selection box.
Coding;
1X coding
3X debugging
12X tweaking to be just right
 

User avatar
VanessaE
Moderator
 
Posts: 4118
Joined: Sun Apr 01, 2012 12:38
Location: Waynesville, NC
GitHub: VanessaE
IRC: VanessaE
In-game: VanessaE

by VanessaE » Thu Apr 18, 2013 18:28

We tried that once. It made the wires hard to select, in practice.
You might like some of my stuff: Plantlife ~ More Trees ~ Home Decor ~ Pipeworks ~ HDX Textures (16-512px)
 

Temperest
Member
 
Posts: 651
Joined: Tue Nov 15, 2011 23:13
GitHub: Uberi

by Temperest » Fri Apr 19, 2013 23:12

Speaking of selection boxes, I'm planning to make the ones for uninsulated Mesecons wire taller, to make building easier. What do you think?
WorldEdit 1.0 released

The Mesecons Laboratory - the art of Mesecons circuitry
Latest article: Mesecons Basics.
 

User avatar
Jeija
Member
 
Posts: 686
Joined: Fri Dec 23, 2011 21:46
Location: Nürtingen, Germany

by Jeija » Sat Apr 20, 2013 04:24

I'm fine with a taller selection box, just make sure that you don't exaggerate.
Redstone for minetest: Mesecons (mesecons.net)
 

Temperest
Member
 
Posts: 651
Joined: Tue Nov 15, 2011 23:13
GitHub: Uberi

by Temperest » Sat Apr 20, 2013 15:23

Builders rejoice! Mesecons wire now has a larger selection box, making building above the ground much easier.

Image
WorldEdit 1.0 released

The Mesecons Laboratory - the art of Mesecons circuitry
Latest article: Mesecons Basics.
 

PreviousNext

Return to Mod Releases



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests