[Mod] Mesecons (= redstone) [GitHub] [minetest-mod-mesecons]

Nore
Developer
Posts: 501
Joined: Wed Nov 28, 2012 11:35
GitHub: Ekdohibs

by Nore » Post

Are you sure you use a mese block and not mese crystal in stone? And are you sure you do not use diagonals? Moreover, have you other mods enabled? And have you got insulated corner/t-junction and vertical wires?

User avatar
VoidLord
Member
Posts: 46
Joined: Sun Jan 20, 2013 16:07
Location: SPACE! WHAT!?

by VoidLord » Post

Yes, yes, yes but nothing that modifies MESE, and yes.
</randomtextcrap>
</forumposthing>
</body>
</html>
/0

User avatar
Temperest
Member
Posts: 651
Joined: Tue Nov 15, 2011 23:13
GitHub: Uberi

by Temperest » Post

Can you post your world here, or a WorldEdit schematic of the offending circuit? Or a screenshot would work too, I guess.

Also, which mods do you have installed? Which game is your world running on?

Ragnar6645: that does sound pretty interesting, and fits with Mesecons quite well I'd think.
WorldEdit 1.0 released

The Mesecons Laboratory - the art of Mesecons circuitry
Latest article: Mesecons Basics.

User avatar
VoidLord
Member
Posts: 46
Joined: Sun Jan 20, 2013 16:07
Location: SPACE! WHAT!?

by VoidLord » Post

How do I get a screeshot? Better hurry, my mom's angry.
</randomtextcrap>
</forumposthing>
</body>
</html>
/0

User avatar
Inocudom
Member
Posts: 3098
Joined: Sat Sep 29, 2012 01:14
IRC: Inocudom
In-game: Inocudom

by Inocudom » Post

VoidLord wrote:How do I get a screeshot? Better hurry, my mom's angry.
If you mean in-game screenshots, press F12.
You can now find my videos at BitChute: https://www.bitchute.com/channel/some_cheeky_jinuskian/

User avatar
VoidLord
Member
Posts: 46
Joined: Sun Jan 20, 2013 16:07
Location: SPACE! WHAT!?

by VoidLord » Post

How do I add an image? (I'm new)
Last edited by VoidLord on Sat Jun 15, 2013 14:38, edited 1 time in total.
</randomtextcrap>
</forumposthing>
</body>
</html>
/0

User avatar
Inocudom
Member
Posts: 3098
Joined: Sat Sep 29, 2012 01:14
IRC: Inocudom
In-game: Inocudom

by Inocudom » Post

VoidLord wrote:How do I add an image? (I'm new)
Try uploading the image to a site like Photobucket, Tinypic, or Imageshack. You might have to register with the site of your choice first.
You can now find my videos at BitChute: https://www.bitchute.com/channel/some_cheeky_jinuskian/

User avatar
VoidLord
Member
Posts: 46
Joined: Sun Jan 20, 2013 16:07
Location: SPACE! WHAT!?

by VoidLord » Post

Yeah I won't do that just to upload an image. Anyway the circuit is like this
(powerplant)(mesecon)(MESE)(mesecon)(redglowstone)
anything past the first mesecon is off. The first mesecon comes to a stop at a half-block length.
</randomtextcrap>
</forumposthing>
</body>
</html>
/0

Nore
Developer
Posts: 501
Joined: Wed Nov 28, 2012 11:35
GitHub: Ekdohibs

by Nore » Post

What mods have you installed?

User avatar
VoidLord
Member
Posts: 46
Joined: Sun Jan 20, 2013 16:07
Location: SPACE! WHAT!?

by VoidLord » Post

Currently in use mods are as follows,
bags
boats (pilzadam)
bobblocks (some code commented out)
bones
books (pilzadam?)
carts (pilzadam, new version)
chests_ogb_us
default (somewhat edited texture pack)
desert_uses
diamond_fist
dplus
exchange (chest)
give_initial_stuff
gloopores
hatches (ironzorg?)
inventory_plus
lottores (somewhat modified)
jumping (jeija)
jungletree
laser (hybrid dog)
legacy
light_meter
maptools
mesecons (jeija)
digilines
moreblocks
noncubic
papyrus_bed
perlinore
pipeworks (VanessaE)
player_radar
player_spawn
rubiks
screwdriver (modified for no wear)
sea
sethome
skins-master (skins added)
snow
sponge
superpick (slightly edited)
throwing (pilzadam, no remove node arrow)
titanium
traps (edited? maybe long time ago)
uranium
walking_light
worldedit0.6
worldtime
So I can see why you asked about the mods. Also, currently on a modding spree.
Last edited by VoidLord on Sat Jun 15, 2013 14:58, edited 1 time in total.
</randomtextcrap>
</forumposthing>
</body>
</html>
/0

Nore
Developer
Posts: 501
Joined: Wed Nov 28, 2012 11:35
GitHub: Ekdohibs

by Nore » Post

Do the lasers work? If so, mese should be conductive, since it needs it.

User avatar
VoidLord
Member
Posts: 46
Joined: Sun Jan 20, 2013 16:07
Location: SPACE! WHAT!?

by VoidLord » Post

Well, the mod works but lasers won't because MESE won't conduct :)
</randomtextcrap>
</forumposthing>
</body>
</html>
/0

User avatar
PilzAdam
Member
Posts: 4026
Joined: Fri Jul 20, 2012 16:19
GitHub: PilzAdam
IRC: PilzAdam
Location: Germany

by PilzAdam » Post

VoidLord wrote:books (pilzadam?)
This one? That is by me.
Last edited by PilzAdam on Sat Jun 15, 2013 16:03, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
VoidLord
Member
Posts: 46
Joined: Sun Jan 20, 2013 16:07
Location: SPACE! WHAT!?

by VoidLord » Post

Hey! Still got a problem w/mese conductivity!
</randomtextcrap>
</forumposthing>
</body>
</html>
/0

User avatar
Ragnar6645
New member
Posts: 7
Joined: Sat Jun 15, 2013 01:47

by Ragnar6645 » Post

Hey, just wondering do wireless transmiters/receivers still exist in this mod?

User avatar
sfan5
Moderator
Posts: 3990
Joined: Wed Aug 24, 2011 09:44
GitHub: sfan5
IRC: sfan5
Location: Germany

by sfan5 » Post

No, theyre outdated
Mods: Mesecons | WorldEdit | Nuke & Minetest builds for Windows (32-bit & 64-bit)

User avatar
Ragnar6645
New member
Posts: 7
Joined: Sat Jun 15, 2013 01:47

by Ragnar6645 » Post

sfan5 wrote:No, theyre outdated
is there any way to turn something on/off wirelessly?

User avatar
VoidLord
Member
Posts: 46
Joined: Sun Jan 20, 2013 16:07
Location: SPACE! WHAT!?

by VoidLord » Post

You could use a certain type of memory (I can't remember which) in a microcontroller maybe, I've never used it. Check the documentation for more details. Still, no mese conducting! Help!
Last edited by VoidLord on Sat Jun 15, 2013 16:44, edited 1 time in total.
</randomtextcrap>
</forumposthing>
</body>
</html>
/0

User avatar
Temperest
Member
Posts: 651
Joined: Tue Nov 15, 2011 23:13
GitHub: Uberi

by Temperest » Post

VoidLord wrote:Yeah I won't do that just to upload an image. Anyway the circuit is like this
(powerplant)(mesecon)(MESE)(mesecon)(redglowstone)
anything past the first mesecon is off. The first mesecon comes to a stop at a half-block length.
The last sentence is key here. You definitely have either an old version of Mesecons, or a mod that redefines the MESE block. To determine which is the problem, download the latest supported version even if you think you have the latest version. The last revision was less than a week ago, it is very likely that your version is out of date. Even mine is out of date, now that I checked.

If it works after that, great. If not, it's a mod conflict, or possibly even multiple mod conflicts. You probably don't want to check every single mod for conflicts, so here is how you can do it in only 6 runs (ceil(log[2](47)) = 6):
  1. Disable the first half of the mods in your mod list. The mod manager is probably the fastest way to do this.
  2. Run the game and test out the MESE block for conductivity.
  3. If it works, the problem is in the second half of the mods. Otherwise, it's in the first half.
  4. Now we know which half it is in. Repeat step 1 to 3, but instead of taking half of the whole mod list, take half of the half we identified earlier as the one containing problematic mod.
  5. When you have only one mod to check, that is the problematic mod.
Post here with the results. I think the issue is probably not a mod conflict, though, since nothing in your list seems to redefine MESE.

Edit: from what you wrote here, you definitely have an old version. 0.5 Stable is already very outdated; it is less stable than the latest development version.
Last edited by Temperest on Sat Jun 15, 2013 17:05, edited 1 time in total.
WorldEdit 1.0 released

The Mesecons Laboratory - the art of Mesecons circuitry
Latest article: Mesecons Basics.

User avatar
VoidLord
Member
Posts: 46
Joined: Sun Jan 20, 2013 16:07
Location: SPACE! WHAT!?

by VoidLord » Post

I re-downloaded it, and that is so bizzare that it worked! I downloaded the version on the homepage for mesecons and thought it was the latest. Thanks for the help Temperest!
</randomtextcrap>
</forumposthing>
</body>
</html>
/0

User avatar
Ragnar6645
New member
Posts: 7
Joined: Sat Jun 15, 2013 01:47

by Ragnar6645 » Post

hmmm, well I need learn what all is in this mod as well as learn how all the items that come with this mod work to find out if my idea will even work lol. It may take a bit longer to make this idea coherent than I thought it would since I now know that I need to get it working and learn this mod.
Last edited by Ragnar6645 on Sat Jun 15, 2013 18:16, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
Temperest
Member
Posts: 651
Joined: Tue Nov 15, 2011 23:13
GitHub: Uberi

by Temperest » Post

Ragnar6645: there are no currently working wireless Mesecons. There's nobody really working on it now, but I can take a look later if I finish my todo list early.

VoidLord: glad to hear it. The site is working fine over here, I think the file is either being cached on your end, or you have the wrong file.
WorldEdit 1.0 released

The Mesecons Laboratory - the art of Mesecons circuitry
Latest article: Mesecons Basics.

Nore
Developer
Posts: 501
Joined: Wed Nov 28, 2012 11:35
GitHub: Ekdohibs

by Nore » Post

Temperest: If wireless mesecons were to be added, the simplest would be to use to code from teleport tubes from pipeworks... I might make a pull request later for that.

User avatar
Ragnar6645
New member
Posts: 7
Joined: Sat Jun 15, 2013 01:47

by Ragnar6645 » Post

Temperest wrote:Ragnar6645: there are no currently working wireless Mesecons. There's nobody really working on it now, but I can take a look later if I finish my todo list early.
Well it would make what all I'm coming up with work if there was nameable receivers that turn on/off with transmiters that have a list of all receivers placed in a 50 block area around it. Thus allowing people to choose which one to control(kind of like a universal remote lol)

Some things will work without them but many possibilities would become available not just for my idea with these items at our disposal.

User avatar
VoidLord
Member
Posts: 46
Joined: Sun Jan 20, 2013 16:07
Location: SPACE! WHAT!?

by VoidLord » Post

The Problem came back.
</randomtextcrap>
</forumposthing>
</body>
</html>
/0

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 7 guests