Page 1 of 78

[Mod] Mesecons (= redstone) [GitHub] [minetest-mod-mesecons]

Posted: Sat Dec 24, 2011 22:30
by Jeija
This is the mesecons [=minecraft redstone] mod!

Download from GitHub
Download as .zip
Download as .tar.gz

Mesecons adds everything digital, from all kinds of sensors, switches, solar panels, detectors, pistons, lamps, sound blocks to advanced digital circuitry like logic gates and programmable blocks.

Check out the mesecons website! There you will find all the information and documentation!
mesecons.net

Image
Image
Image
Image


If someone wants to help me develop mesecons have a look at the developer documentation on the website. You can commit your changes on GitHub.

For Developers: GitHub project page
https://github.com/minetest-mods/mesecons
(Send in your changes via forks + pull requests)

Dependencies: none
License:
Textures: CC-BY-SA
Code: LGPL

Posted: Sat Dec 24, 2011 23:12
by Menche
Nice. I like the use of plants for power.

Posted: Sun Dec 25, 2011 05:53
by Hackeridze
Oh shi~ Man I love it! Waiting for adding more using features! Great idea! Great job! Not red, just yellowstone!!! ;D

Posted: Sun Dec 25, 2011 06:13
by jordan4ibanez
thats AMAZING

Posted: Sun Dec 25, 2011 07:33
by jordan4ibanez
make torches! like minecraft mese torches! so that it can be used on a side block..but if a mese wire is attached to the block that has a mese torch on it it turns the torch off!

Posted: Sun Dec 25, 2011 07:37
by sfan5
Absolutly awesome!

Posted: Sun Dec 25, 2011 07:39
by Menche
Awesome. I'm going to try to make logic gates and memory cells with either water, turbines, and movers or solar cells and movers.

Posted: Sun Dec 25, 2011 08:55
by Hackeridze
DO NOT MAKE MESE TORCHES!!! thats stupid. water Turbines and solar panels are more cool and realistic!

Posted: Sun Dec 25, 2011 13:35
by hurufu
Great mod! Does this mod use lot of CPU time?

Posted: Sun Dec 25, 2011 15:10
by hurufu
I've found a bug:
When movestone moves a mesecon_*, it remains in the same state. For example: when I move mesecon_on it remains mesecon_on even when it's not powered up anymore.

Posted: Sun Dec 25, 2011 15:30
by MrThebuilder3
good job! +1

Posted: Sun Dec 25, 2011 15:45
by jordan4ibanez
if you do not make mese torches we cannot make more complex "cpu" based things..like IO ...you need to make torches because things like doors can have advance logic gates and switches...for example:
1= on
0= off
_=wire

1__0___1
|
1

and we need to have "memory" or "delay circuitry" which can be used for making things like memory for devices ...these delays should be able to be controlled and should be DIRECTIONAL...for example:
1=on
0=off
_=wire
D=delay/memory circuit

0__D_
| |
|____1

Where as this circuit would create a repeated circuit

and if you add in buttons! which activate for like 2 seconds and then shut off:
1=on
0=off
_=wire
D=delay/memory circuit
B=button

B
0___|_________
| | |
|__1 |
| |
|__DDDDDDDD_|

the switch above will turn on something for a short amount of time..until the memory/delay circuits pass the current back into the current that gets shut off when the button is pressed and resets the circuit back to a normal state

Posted: Sun Dec 25, 2011 18:55
by Hackeridze
It can be gate or memory or delay or breaker or %thing% block. not a mese torch.

Posted: Sun Dec 25, 2011 21:12
by Jeija
Hey everyone!

To (maybe) stop the mese torch argument:
I'm currently working on 2 things:
# Wireless mesecons (Already works, but still some bugs)
# Inverted wireless receivers
This gives you the possibility to create even more circuits/gates.
I already planned this before releasing the first version, but it wasn't ready.
Wireless transmission uses two blocks,
- Receivers (or inverted receivers)
and
- Transmitters (Senders)
--> It is directional.
It will take like one second to transmit (using abm, so transmission speed may vary). I think this will give you the ability to create more logic gates (although I'm not a redstone expert).

Buttons
I'm not sure about this one... I think it will be quite difficult to create a function that adds a timeout for a button to switch off again. I only know abms and they don't work as I'd like them to. The switch off time would be random when using abms, and for rendering buttons I would have to use a patched version of minetest or (even worse) use entities for it.
But I love the button idea! I'll implement it as soon as it is possible.

To you, hurufu:
I know this bug and I thought about fixing it, but in fact I think this is not an issue of my mod, but even more a common minetest issue.
The register_on_placenode function should be called each time a block is added, not only when a player adds it. I'd really like if someone could fix it, else I have to get to know the c++ code better and fix it on my own.

As you can see in my first post, I requested even more functionality for the modding api.

I also think pressure plates are really necessary, or even better, if I can set and get the orientation (rotation) of a block, I could add light barriers.
Keep on filing bugs and requesting items!!!
You may also commit textures, items, whatever.
I'm trying to get out the next update tomorrow (26th Dec) or the day after tomorrow (27th Dec 2011)

Cheers,
Jeija

Posted: Sun Dec 25, 2011 21:28
by Staffs
DUDE I love you for this. This mod makes the game amazing im getting a lot ideas in my head right now. + Your mod is making me upgrade my minetest version :) Thanks man you are purely awesome !!!

Posted: Sun Dec 25, 2011 22:05
by hurufu
Jeija wrote:...but in fact I think this is not an issue of my mod, but even more a common minetest issue...
I thought in the same way, it's sad.

Another annoing bug:
When two movestones are moving towards each other and there is another block between them, it disapears.

Posted: Mon Dec 26, 2011 10:48
by neko259
Great. Waiting for this to be added to upstream.

Posted: Mon Dec 26, 2011 11:07
by Jeija
Hey everyone!

Wireless mesecons and inverters are fully working now. You can even create blinking circuits, gates and memory cells ( I'm not sure if a anti-hacking function in server.cpp blocks the usage of transmitters that are too far away from the player)
I'm going to release it when it is completely stable, certainly today.
To you, hurufu:
I haven't seen that bug before, thank you for filing it!!!
Could you please give me some more detailed information about it? How are the blocks arranged and so on.
I'll try to fix the bug, but I'm not sure if it will be ready today...
By the way: Is there any function that is called when the server is created where I can acces minetest.env from? Else, I'll use the register_on_newplayer function for now, so that blink circuits continue blink on reload of the world.

Cheers,
Jeija

Posted: Mon Dec 26, 2011 13:20
by hurufu
Jeija wrote:Could you please give me some more detailed information about it? How are the blocks arranged and so on.
I guess it's not fault of your mod too ;)
I think that's happen because of absence of entity collision detection, therefore when two or more entities are at the same pos all added nodes have the same position too → we see only one added node → other nodes seem to “disapear”.

Posted: Mon Dec 26, 2011 18:07
by Calinou
One MESE should make 32 and not 16 mesecons... MESE is very rare, keep in mind.

Posted: Mon Dec 26, 2011 19:26
by Staffs
Calinou wrote:One MESE should make 32 and not 16 mesecons... MESE is very rare, keep in mind.
Not that rare at all just teleport or digg very deep and find a cave ... VERY EASY!!

Posted: Mon Dec 26, 2011 20:13
by neko259
I'd make mesecons like a block, not a line. Then you wouldn't need to worry about it's direction.
Off - like glass plus some color. On - like off, but some light. Or make it green/red when on/off.

Posted: Tue Dec 27, 2011 06:35
by Jeija
Hey!

@Neko259: I don't think blocks look good and i think you should be able to walk through mesecons. But if you like blocks better, just modify it and post your own fork.
@Calinou: As Staffs already said, mese is not that rare... But if others also think that I should make 33 (not 32 cause 99 can be divided by 33) instead of 16, tell me and I'll change that.
@hurufu: I fixed the movestone bug! Thx again for filing it.

But let's talk about the new version, V 0.2 that I am releasing right now:
It may seem like a minor update, but it adds major functionality:
# Wireless Mesecons
# Wireless INVERTERS
# Sticky Movestones
# Glue
# ICs (for Crafting Wirless things)
# Fixed Bugs
# New Textures for the Hydro Turbine --> Thx to Jordan4Ibanez for creating them
# Renamed mesecon button to mesecon switch
--> The old mesecon buttons will be shown as unknown blocks. Just replace them with the new ones.

From now this mod also needs to send some information to a file called mesecon_data.
This means, that you have to have write permission there! It should be placed in same folder as the binary, but in future version you will be able to change that to your own folder.
IF THE SERVER CRASHES ON STARTUP you can try to delete all lines in the "mesecon_data" file. Unfortunately, this also means that you have to place all receviers and inverters again. Another indicator for that error is that its last output is
Reading wlre data...

See my post up there for crafting recipes and the download link.

Keep Filing Bugs, sending in textures and giving me inspiration!
I'm very curious about what you can do using inverters, so please upload pictures/maps/whatever of your creations!

Cheers,
Jeija

Posted: Tue Dec 27, 2011 07:06
by jordan4ibanez
it doesnt work >_< but let me double check...

Posted: Tue Dec 27, 2011 07:31
by Jeija
You're right there still is a strange bug...
Turn on your server, jordan, I'm currently fixing it.
>>> FIXED! I just inserted the bugfix from yesterday at the wrong line