[Mod] Mesecons (= redstone) [GitHub] [minetest-mod-mesecons]

User avatar
Staffs
Member
 
Posts: 329
Joined: Thu Aug 04, 2011 13:16
 

Gatharoth
Member
 
Posts: 196
Joined: Thu Dec 22, 2011 02:54

by Gatharoth » Tue Jan 03, 2012 18:58

To force a delay in power transfer.
 

User avatar
Jeija
Member
 
Posts: 686
Joined: Fri Dec 23, 2011 21:46
Location: Nürtingen, Germany

by Jeija » Tue Jan 03, 2012 19:00

Anyway, you should make these things directional.
@Staffs: Nice!!
Redstone for minetest: Mesecons (mesecons.net)
 

Gatharoth
Member
 
Posts: 196
Joined: Thu Dec 22, 2011 02:54

by Gatharoth » Tue Jan 03, 2012 19:06

Oh also Jeija. when you use two movestones and some random node in the middle, then send them to be moved off a location (trying a workaround for the sticky movestones) the node in the middle gets removed instead of pushed. Any thoughts on why?

And I will need to use piston rules correct?
Last edited by Gatharoth on Tue Jan 03, 2012 19:07, edited 1 time in total.
 

User avatar
Jeija
Member
 
Posts: 686
Joined: Fri Dec 23, 2011 21:46
Location: Nürtingen, Germany

by Jeija » Tue Jan 03, 2012 20:24

This was a filed bug that i (think I) fixed. Im not gonna implement that bug again, sorry ^^
Redstone for minetest: Mesecons (mesecons.net)
 

User avatar
sfan5
Moderator
 
Posts: 3712
Joined: Wed Aug 24, 2011 09:44
Location: Germany
GitHub: sfan5
IRC: sfan5

by sfan5 » Tue Jan 03, 2012 20:39

Just made a Piston Door: http://youtu.be/MUllePYjscY
Last edited by sfan5 on Tue Jan 03, 2012 20:39, edited 1 time in total.
Mods: Mesecons | WorldEdit | Nuke & Minetest builds for Windows (32-bit & 64-bit)
 

User avatar
Staffs
Member
 
Posts: 329
Joined: Thu Aug 04, 2011 13:16

by Staffs » Tue Jan 03, 2012 20:55

sfan5 wrote:Just made a Piston Door: http://youtu.be/MUllePYjscY

I wanted to do that but then i'd have to fatten my house walls :(
I love mods :D
 

User avatar
Staffs
Member
 
Posts: 329
Joined: Thu Aug 04, 2011 13:16

by Staffs » Tue Jan 03, 2012 20:56

Oh plus how did you record it ?
I mean with what program. I tried recordmydesktop but it ended with a quite buggy black video :(
I love mods :D
 

Temperest
Member
 
Posts: 651
Joined: Tue Nov 15, 2011 23:13
GitHub: Uberi

by Temperest » Tue Jan 03, 2012 23:28

It works!

I made a plug block, a socket block, and an inverter socket block. They are placed with a space between them, like so:

Image

Each plug allows four sockets or inverter sockets around them in the four cardinal directions. A plug and a socket makes a diode - energy can pass through one way but not the other. A plug and an inverter socket makes a NOT gate, which, combined with an OR gate, allows ANY type of gate to be made (NOR is a universal gate).

This implementation is a lot faster than using wireless transmitters and wireless inverters, so it should enable more complex machines to be built.

Here is a diagram showing usage:

Code: Select all
--S--
--A--
SAPAS
--A--
--S--


S represents a socket or an inverter socket, P represents a plug, and A represents air.

Here is the code (insert it into the bottom of your init.lua file, right before the "--INIT" line):

UPDATE: this is now included as temperest.lua in the main mod. See that file for the latest version.

One problem: sockets behave erratically when there is more than one plug two blocks away in a cardinal direction. I recommend you avoid allowing this to happen.

@ Jeija: If you want to integrate this into the main mod, feel free to. It's a bit messy since I'm still learning Lua, but it's pretty usable right now.
Last edited by Temperest on Wed Jan 04, 2012 21:37, edited 1 time in total.
WorldEdit 1.0 released

The Mesecons Laboratory - the art of Mesecons circuitry
Latest article: Mesecons Basics.
 

Temperest
Member
 
Posts: 651
Joined: Tue Nov 15, 2011 23:13
GitHub: Uberi

by Temperest » Tue Jan 03, 2012 23:34

Oh and here are the textures I used:

Image (jeija_mesecon_plug.png)
Image (jeija_mesecon_socket_off.png)
Image (jeija_mesecon_socket_on.png)
Image (jeija_mesecon_inverter_off.png)
Image (jeija_mesecon_inverter_on.png)
WorldEdit 1.0 released

The Mesecons Laboratory - the art of Mesecons circuitry
Latest article: Mesecons Basics.
 

User avatar
redcrab
Member
 
Posts: 831
Joined: Tue Dec 13, 2011 13:45
Location: France

by redcrab » Wed Jan 04, 2012 00:46

Can't make this mods working with latest git celeron master code (0.4 20120102 of 03/01/2012),
node definition loading fails..

Did you check with last version?
This mods looks really great , does celeron will accept to insert it into the mainstream?
Last edited by redcrab on Wed Jan 04, 2012 00:47, edited 1 time in total.
0.4 for serious builder click here
Dedicated Minetest redcrab server forum at http://minetestbb.suret.net

It's nice to be important but it is more important to be nice.
 

User avatar
Jeija
Member
 
Posts: 686
Joined: Fri Dec 23, 2011 21:46
Location: Nürtingen, Germany

by Jeija » Wed Jan 04, 2012 06:35

@redcrab: I checked the latest git version and it works for me. Could you please post your error?
@Temperest: Nice work! But this can make the game crash when connecting a socket and an inverter. I guess you should make a delay (Minecraft redstone does not have torches/repeaters with delay for no reason)
I will include this in my mod as soon as this is fixed.
Redstone for minetest: Mesecons (mesecons.net)
 

robin
Member
 
Posts: 22
Joined: Mon Jan 02, 2012 15:53

by robin » Wed Jan 04, 2012 09:31

I have the same problem, but only when I use [url=Hackeridzes https://github.com/Hackeridze/ru-true_minetest_mods_pack]ru-true_minetest_mods_pack[/url]. After logging into the server all nodes are Unknown Nodes.

With only Mesecon as single mod (and the default stuff of course) it is loading well.
 

User avatar
Jeija
Member
 
Posts: 686
Joined: Fri Dec 23, 2011 21:46
Location: Nürtingen, Germany

by Jeija » Wed Jan 04, 2012 09:37

There are some broken mods in RTMMP (please remove or change them!). Maybe this could help you: http://c55.me/minetest/forum/viewtopic.php?id=691
See my post there. I hope this helped you. If not, try to remove the mods one after the other to figure out what's wrong or just ask again.
Redstone for minetest: Mesecons (mesecons.net)
 

robin
Member
 
Posts: 22
Joined: Mon Jan 02, 2012 15:53

by robin » Wed Jan 04, 2012 10:01

I can confirm that nparticle is the source of the problem. I removed it and its dependency dynamite.

Now mesecon runs fine.
 

User avatar
redcrab
Member
 
Posts: 831
Joined: Tue Dec 13, 2011 13:45
Location: France

by redcrab » Wed Jan 04, 2012 13:23

redcrab wrote:Can't make this mods working with latest git celeron master code (0.4 20120102 of 03/01/2012),
node definition loading fails..

Did you check with last version?
This mods looks really great , does celeron will accept to insert it into the mainstream?


removing mods
dynamite
moreores
nparticle
doesn't help

There is no direct crash but a general faulty behavior
when I add your mods here what I see during login and in game

Login
Image

in Game
Image

NB here the list of existing mods used
  • add_tool
  • baking
  • bottle
  • bucket
  • cement
  • corn
  • dynamite
  • experimental
  • flowers
  • growing
  • hatches
  • hoe
  • home_mod
  • leaf_decay
  • mark_underground
  • moarcraft
  • moreblocks
  • morechests
  • moreores
  • mushrooms
  • nparticle
  • obsidian
  • pumpkin
  • ropes
  • rtmmp
  • seasons
  • villages
  • watermelon
  • wheat
  • worldedit
Last edited by redcrab on Wed Jan 04, 2012 13:38, edited 1 time in total.
0.4 for serious builder click here
Dedicated Minetest redcrab server forum at http://minetestbb.suret.net

It's nice to be important but it is more important to be nice.
 

robin
Member
 
Posts: 22
Joined: Mon Jan 02, 2012 15:53

by robin » Wed Jan 04, 2012 13:55

This is my working combination. (PM me if you want the server credentials)

Code: Select all
add_tool 
baking 
bucket 
corn     
experimental 
give_initial_stuff 
hatches 
home_mod 
leaf_decay 
moarcraft   
moreores   
obsidian   
pumpkin 
rtmmp     
watermelon
animals   
bottle 
cement 
default 
flowers       
growing             
hoe     
jeija     
legacy     
morechests 
mushrooms 
paintings 
ropes   
throwing 
wheat


Obviously I dont have (nparticle, dynamite,) seasons, worldedit and villages running.
 

User avatar
Jeija
Member
 
Posts: 686
Joined: Fri Dec 23, 2011 21:46
Location: Nürtingen, Germany

by Jeija » Wed Jan 04, 2012 14:41

Is there any error in the console? Do you use the latest git version? Try robin's working combination. Did you also try just using my mod and no other one?
Redstone for minetest: Mesecons (mesecons.net)
 

User avatar
redcrab
Member
 
Posts: 831
Joined: Tue Dec 13, 2011 13:45
Location: France

by redcrab » Wed Jan 04, 2012 16:10

Jeija wrote:Is there any error in the console? Do you use the latest git version? Try robin's working combination. Did you also try just using my mod and no other one?


I find out that "seasons" mods conflicts with "mesecons" mods..

But beside of this topic, when removing seasons mods, the world become wholly ugly with freaky textures everywhere... how to clean up without destroying the entire world ?
Last edited by redcrab on Wed Jan 04, 2012 16:13, edited 1 time in total.
0.4 for serious builder click here
Dedicated Minetest redcrab server forum at http://minetestbb.suret.net

It's nice to be important but it is more important to be nice.
 

User avatar
sfan5
Moderator
 
Posts: 3712
Joined: Wed Aug 24, 2011 09:44
Location: Germany
GitHub: sfan5
IRC: sfan5

by sfan5 » Wed Jan 04, 2012 16:16

redcrab wrote:
Jeija wrote:Is there any error in the console? Do you use the latest git version? Try robin's working combination. Did you also try just using my mod and no other one?


I find out that "seasons" mods conflicts with "mesecons" mods..

But beside of this topic, when removing seasons mods, the world become wholly ugly with freaky textures everywhere... how to clean up without destroying the entire world ?

You could use WorldEdit, if you know how the wrong nodes are named
Mods: Mesecons | WorldEdit | Nuke & Minetest builds for Windows (32-bit & 64-bit)
 

User avatar
sfan5
Moderator
 
Posts: 3712
Joined: Wed Aug 24, 2011 09:44
Location: Germany
GitHub: sfan5
IRC: sfan5

by sfan5 » Wed Jan 04, 2012 16:17

Staffs wrote:Oh plus how did you record it ?
I mean with what program. I tried recordmydesktop but it ended with a quite buggy black video :(

I used HyperCam2, but i don't know any good Recording-Program for Linux
Mods: Mesecons | WorldEdit | Nuke & Minetest builds for Windows (32-bit & 64-bit)
 

User avatar
sfan5
Moderator
 
Posts: 3712
Joined: Wed Aug 24, 2011 09:44
Location: Germany
GitHub: sfan5
IRC: sfan5

by sfan5 » Wed Jan 04, 2012 16:20

Staffs wrote:
sfan5 wrote:Just made a Piston Door: http://youtu.be/MUllePYjscY

I wanted to do that but then i'd have to fatten my house walls :(

Yes, Mesecons should be able to close/open Doors from a Door Mod
Mods: Mesecons | WorldEdit | Nuke & Minetest builds for Windows (32-bit & 64-bit)
 

Karol
New member
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Jan 04, 2012 16:38

by Karol » Wed Jan 04, 2012 16:44

Hello, when I use two emiters and one receiver (all three of them on the same channel) - in other words: OR gate - it not always works correctly. Sometimes one of emiters doesn't activate receiver. What causes this problem? Maybe it's some kind of bug... Hope anybody helps. Thank you in advance.
Last edited by Karol on Wed Jan 04, 2012 16:44, edited 1 time in total.
 

User avatar
Jeija
Member
 
Posts: 686
Joined: Fri Dec 23, 2011 21:46
Location: Nürtingen, Germany

by Jeija » Wed Jan 04, 2012 18:44

@Karol: To make the mesecon receiver/transmitter system a bit more clear:
The on/off signal is only transmitted to the receiver when the signal at the transmitter changes. This means, that one of the receivers can be turned off although a transmitter seems to be turned on, if the last signal transmitted was an "off" signal.
If this does not refer to your problem, just make sure that the receivers and transmitters are above the same node - I don't expect to use grass/dirt because when grass turns to dirt the channel is not changed.
Redstone for minetest: Mesecons (mesecons.net)
 

Temperest
Member
 
Posts: 651
Joined: Tue Nov 15, 2011 23:13
GitHub: Uberi

by Temperest » Wed Jan 04, 2012 18:57

Jeija wrote:@redcrab: I checked the latest git version and it works for me. Could you please post your error?
@Temperest: Nice work! But this can make the game crash when connecting a socket and an inverter. I guess you should make a delay (Minecraft redstone does not have torches/repeaters with delay for no reason)
I will include this in my mod as soon as this is fixed.


I'm sorry, I'm not sure I understand. What kind of configuration causes a crash? Could you post a diagram or example?
WorldEdit 1.0 released

The Mesecons Laboratory - the art of Mesecons circuitry
Latest article: Mesecons Basics.
 

PreviousNext

Return to Mod Releases



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 7 guests