Page 5 of 78

Posted: Tue Jan 03, 2012 18:58
by Staffs

Posted: Tue Jan 03, 2012 18:58
by Gatharoth
To force a delay in power transfer.

Posted: Tue Jan 03, 2012 19:00
by Jeija
Anyway, you should make these things directional.
@Staffs: Nice!!

Posted: Tue Jan 03, 2012 19:06
by Gatharoth
Oh also Jeija. when you use two movestones and some random node in the middle, then send them to be moved off a location (trying a workaround for the sticky movestones) the node in the middle gets removed instead of pushed. Any thoughts on why?

And I will need to use piston rules correct?

Posted: Tue Jan 03, 2012 20:24
by Jeija
This was a filed bug that i (think I) fixed. Im not gonna implement that bug again, sorry ^^

Posted: Tue Jan 03, 2012 20:39
by sfan5
Just made a Piston Door: http://youtu.be/MUllePYjscY

Posted: Tue Jan 03, 2012 20:55
by Staffs
sfan5 wrote:Just made a Piston Door: http://youtu.be/MUllePYjscY
I wanted to do that but then i'd have to fatten my house walls :(

Posted: Tue Jan 03, 2012 20:56
by Staffs
Oh plus how did you record it ?
I mean with what program. I tried recordmydesktop but it ended with a quite buggy black video :(

Posted: Tue Jan 03, 2012 23:28
by Temperest
It works!

I made a plug block, a socket block, and an inverter socket block. They are placed with a space between them, like so:

Image

Each plug allows four sockets or inverter sockets around them in the four cardinal directions. A plug and a socket makes a diode - energy can pass through one way but not the other. A plug and an inverter socket makes a NOT gate, which, combined with an OR gate, allows ANY type of gate to be made (NOR is a universal gate).

This implementation is a lot faster than using wireless transmitters and wireless inverters, so it should enable more complex machines to be built.

Here is a diagram showing usage:

Code: Select all

--S--
--A--
SAPAS
--A--
--S--
S represents a socket or an inverter socket, P represents a plug, and A represents air.

Here is the code (insert it into the bottom of your init.lua file, right before the "--INIT" line):

UPDATE: this is now included as temperest.lua in the main mod. See that file for the latest version.

One problem: sockets behave erratically when there is more than one plug two blocks away in a cardinal direction. I recommend you avoid allowing this to happen.

@ Jeija: If you want to integrate this into the main mod, feel free to. It's a bit messy since I'm still learning Lua, but it's pretty usable right now.

Posted: Tue Jan 03, 2012 23:34
by Temperest
Oh and here are the textures I used:

Image (jeija_mesecon_plug.png)
Image (jeija_mesecon_socket_off.png)
Image (jeija_mesecon_socket_on.png)
Image (jeija_mesecon_inverter_off.png)
Image (jeija_mesecon_inverter_on.png)

Posted: Wed Jan 04, 2012 00:46
by redcrab
Can't make this mods working with latest git celeron master code (0.4 20120102 of 03/01/2012),
node definition loading fails..

Did you check with last version?
This mods looks really great , does celeron will accept to insert it into the mainstream?

Posted: Wed Jan 04, 2012 06:35
by Jeija
@redcrab: I checked the latest git version and it works for me. Could you please post your error?
@Temperest: Nice work! But this can make the game crash when connecting a socket and an inverter. I guess you should make a delay (Minecraft redstone does not have torches/repeaters with delay for no reason)
I will include this in my mod as soon as this is fixed.

Posted: Wed Jan 04, 2012 09:31
by robin
I have the same problem, but only when I use [url=Hackeridzes https://github.com/Hackeridze/ru-true_minetest_mods_pack]ru-true_minetest_mods_pack[/url]. After logging into the server all nodes are Unknown Nodes.

With only Mesecon as single mod (and the default stuff of course) it is loading well.

Posted: Wed Jan 04, 2012 09:37
by Jeija
There are some broken mods in RTMMP (please remove or change them!). Maybe this could help you: http://c55.me/minetest/forum/viewtopic.php?id=691
See my post there. I hope this helped you. If not, try to remove the mods one after the other to figure out what's wrong or just ask again.

Posted: Wed Jan 04, 2012 10:01
by robin
I can confirm that nparticle is the source of the problem. I removed it and its dependency dynamite.

Now mesecon runs fine.

Posted: Wed Jan 04, 2012 13:23
by redcrab
redcrab wrote:Can't make this mods working with latest git celeron master code (0.4 20120102 of 03/01/2012),
node definition loading fails..

Did you check with last version?
This mods looks really great , does celeron will accept to insert it into the mainstream?
removing mods
dynamite
moreores
nparticle
doesn't help

There is no direct crash but a general faulty behavior
when I add your mods here what I see during login and in game

Login
Image

in Game
Image

NB here the list of existing mods used
  • add_tool
  • baking
  • bottle
  • bucket
  • cement
  • corn
  • dynamite
  • experimental
  • flowers
  • growing
  • hatches
  • hoe
  • home_mod
  • leaf_decay
  • mark_underground
  • moarcraft
  • moreblocks
  • morechests
  • moreores
  • mushrooms
  • nparticle
  • obsidian
  • pumpkin
  • ropes
  • rtmmp
  • seasons
  • villages
  • watermelon
  • wheat
  • worldedit

Posted: Wed Jan 04, 2012 13:55
by robin
This is my working combination. (PM me if you want the server credentials)

Code: Select all

add_tool  
baking  
bucket  
corn     
experimental  
give_initial_stuff  
hatches  
home_mod  
leaf_decay  
moarcraft   
moreores   
obsidian   
pumpkin  
rtmmp     
watermelon
animals   
bottle  
cement  
default  
flowers       
growing             
hoe      
jeija     
legacy      
morechests  
mushrooms  
paintings  
ropes    
throwing  
wheat
Obviously I dont have (nparticle, dynamite,) seasons, worldedit and villages running.

Posted: Wed Jan 04, 2012 14:41
by Jeija
Is there any error in the console? Do you use the latest git version? Try robin's working combination. Did you also try just using my mod and no other one?

Posted: Wed Jan 04, 2012 16:10
by redcrab
Jeija wrote:Is there any error in the console? Do you use the latest git version? Try robin's working combination. Did you also try just using my mod and no other one?
I find out that "seasons" mods conflicts with "mesecons" mods..

But beside of this topic, when removing seasons mods, the world become wholly ugly with freaky textures everywhere... how to clean up without destroying the entire world ?

Posted: Wed Jan 04, 2012 16:16
by sfan5
redcrab wrote:
Jeija wrote:Is there any error in the console? Do you use the latest git version? Try robin's working combination. Did you also try just using my mod and no other one?
I find out that "seasons" mods conflicts with "mesecons" mods..

But beside of this topic, when removing seasons mods, the world become wholly ugly with freaky textures everywhere... how to clean up without destroying the entire world ?
You could use WorldEdit, if you know how the wrong nodes are named

Posted: Wed Jan 04, 2012 16:17
by sfan5
Staffs wrote:Oh plus how did you record it ?
I mean with what program. I tried recordmydesktop but it ended with a quite buggy black video :(
I used HyperCam2, but i don't know any good Recording-Program for Linux

Posted: Wed Jan 04, 2012 16:20
by sfan5
Staffs wrote:
sfan5 wrote:Just made a Piston Door: http://youtu.be/MUllePYjscY
I wanted to do that but then i'd have to fatten my house walls :(
Yes, Mesecons should be able to close/open Doors from a Door Mod

Posted: Wed Jan 04, 2012 16:44
by Karol
Hello, when I use two emiters and one receiver (all three of them on the same channel) - in other words: OR gate - it not always works correctly. Sometimes one of emiters doesn't activate receiver. What causes this problem? Maybe it's some kind of bug... Hope anybody helps. Thank you in advance.

Posted: Wed Jan 04, 2012 18:44
by Jeija
@Karol: To make the mesecon receiver/transmitter system a bit more clear:
The on/off signal is only transmitted to the receiver when the signal at the transmitter changes. This means, that one of the receivers can be turned off although a transmitter seems to be turned on, if the last signal transmitted was an "off" signal.
If this does not refer to your problem, just make sure that the receivers and transmitters are above the same node - I don't expect to use grass/dirt because when grass turns to dirt the channel is not changed.

Posted: Wed Jan 04, 2012 18:57
by Temperest
Jeija wrote:@redcrab: I checked the latest git version and it works for me. Could you please post your error?
@Temperest: Nice work! But this can make the game crash when connecting a socket and an inverter. I guess you should make a delay (Minecraft redstone does not have torches/repeaters with delay for no reason)
I will include this in my mod as soon as this is fixed.
I'm sorry, I'm not sure I understand. What kind of configuration causes a crash? Could you post a diagram or example?