Page 3 of 78

Posted: Fri Dec 30, 2011 06:27
by jordan4ibanez
01:26:53: ACTION[ServerThread]: jordan4ibanez places material 2148 at (109,1,-73)
01:26:53: ERROR[ServerThread]: ERROR: An unhandled exception occurred: LuaError: error: ...n55-minetest-6957930/bin/../data/mods/jeija/init.lua:895: attempt to call method 'get_objects_inside_radius' (a nil value)
01:26:53: ERROR[ServerThread]: stack traceback:

In thread 7f3ebf4b0700:
/home/jordan4ibanez/Desktop/testing/src/server.cpp:113: virtual void* ServerThread::Thread(): Assertion '0' failed.
Debug stacks:
DEBUG STACK FOR THREAD 7f3ebecaf700:
#0 virtual void* EmergeThread::Thread()
#1 MapBlock* ServerMap::loadBlock(v3s16)
(Leftover data: #2 void ServerMap::loadBlock(std::string*, v3s16, MapSector*, bool))
DEBUG STACK FOR THREAD 7f3ebf4b0700:
#0 virtual void* ServerThread::Thread()
(Leftover data: #1 void Server::Receive())
(Leftover data: #2 void Server::ProcessData(irr::u8*, irr::u32, irr::u16))
(Leftover data: #3 RemoteClient* Server::getClient(irr::u16))
(Leftover data: #4 void BlockEmergeQueue::addBlock(irr::u16, v3s16, irr::u8))
DEBUG STACK FOR THREAD 7f3ec1abc740:
#0 int main(int, char**)
#1 void dedicated_server_loop(Server&, bool&)
(Leftover data: #2 void Server::step(float))
Aborted

Posted: Fri Dec 30, 2011 19:15
by Jeija
Just a question:
Is anyone interested in using the mesecon features in his own mod?
If yes, do you want me to implement that or can you do it yourself?
If you do it on your own, do you think that adding a receptor/effector is too difficult, that these functions arent powerful enough or is the way to add a receptor/effector easy enough?

Posted: Fri Dec 30, 2011 19:42
by rahonejm
Hey, i'm having troubles in turning off my circuits. I've made very big circuits in my entire house so i can light it all with only one button. But when i try to switch off the circuits, it just takes to long! What i would like to know is if this is a bug, or is my PC... you know... i don't have a NASA machine..

Posted: Fri Dec 30, 2011 19:46
by Jeija
Ok, i suppose it only happens when using the new version...
Well, I made a central function for all the mesecon rules. This is called each time and i suppose it makes the whole thing quite slow. Im gonna fix the for that next version (although i have to use global variables then).
Thank you for telling me!!

Posted: Fri Dec 30, 2011 21:52
by sfan5
Jeija wrote:Just a question:
Is anyone interested in using the mesecon features in his own mod?
If yes, do you want me to implement that or can you do it yourself?
If you do it on your own, do you think that adding a receptor/effector is too difficult, that these functions arent powerful enough or is the way to add a receptor/effector easy enough?
I looked at the Functions and they seem to be easy-to-use.

Posted: Sat Dec 31, 2011 06:24
by rahonejm
Having troubles with the itens of your last update :( Here's the error:

04:24:37: ERROR[ServerThread]: ERROR: An unhandled exception occurred: LuaError: error: ...dev-20111209-1-win32\bin\..\data\mods\jeija\init.lua:1005: attempt to call method 'get_objects_inside_radius' (a nil value)
04:24:38: ERROR[ServerThread]: stack traceback:

In thread 434:
C:\tmp\minetest\src\server.cpp:113: ServerThread::Thread: Assertion '0' failed.
Debug stacks:
DEBUG STACK FOR THREAD 434:
#0 ServerThread::Thread
(Leftover data: #1 Server::Receive)
(Leftover data: #2 Server::ProcessData)
(Leftover data: #3 InventoryItem::deSerialize)
(Leftover data: #4 BlockEmergeQueue::addBlock)

DEBUG STACK FOR THREAD e54:
#0 MeshUpdateThread::Thread
DEBUG STACK FOR THREAD f70:
#0 main
(Leftover data: #1 ClientMap::renderMap)
(Leftover data: #2 ClientEnvironment::step)
(Leftover data: #3 Client::Receive)
(Leftover data: #4 Client::ProcessData)
(Leftover data: #5 MeshUpdateQueue::addBlock)

This happens a lot with the new stuff, when you stab it, or try to collect a piston...

Posted: Sat Dec 31, 2011 07:00
by Jeija
It's the 2nd time the same problem: You don't have the latest minetest version installed!
Download and compile it from github!

Posted: Sat Dec 31, 2011 08:25
by sfan5
You should add a Note to the Download Section if 0.31 requires the self compiled latest Github Version

Posted: Sat Dec 31, 2011 18:08
by rahonejm
Isn't minetest-0.4.dev-20111209-1 the latest version? If no, please leave de download link 'cause i couldn't find it :(

Posted: Sat Dec 31, 2011 18:12
by Jeija
No, this is not the latest version, You have to download the latest version from
GitHub. Just clone it (using Linux) with
git clone https://github.com/celeron55/minetest.git
cd minetest
run cmake -DRUN_IN_PLACE=1
make
And you get the latest version.

It would be more difficult to do that in Windows, I don't know how it works. However, there is no precompiled download for windows.

Cheers,
Jeija

Posted: Sat Dec 31, 2011 21:32
by Melkor
windows users will have to wait a little more :)

Posted: Sun Jan 01, 2012 08:04
by Gatharoth
Question, wouldn't the drawtype 'torchlike' be better suited instead of 'raillike'? Since 'torchlike' changes depending on where it is placed on a node (sides/top/bottom)? Then you would be able to change how the mesecon looks when placed on the side (side mainly because that is your "vertical" problem)

Posted: Sun Jan 01, 2012 08:10
by Jeija
I dont think it will be better. Torches are just attached to blocks, they aren't on them like redstone in minecraft.

Posted: Sun Jan 01, 2012 08:16
by Gatharoth
Okay, but would it solve your "vertical" problem though? (I am just curious since I don't know how drawtypes actually work :P)

Posted: Sun Jan 01, 2012 08:19
by Jeija
Nope, It wouldnt solve it, but signs would be interesting for that.

Posted: Sun Jan 01, 2012 11:40
by neko259
1. You could make lamps torchlike so that we would rotate them and attach to blocks.
2. Can you make signal pass throw wooden blocks? In minecraft, if I want to power a lamp (for example), I can attach it to a block and place a wire behind that block, so that my circuit would'n be seen. For now with mesecons I need to place a con just near the lamp in the open space. It's not so pretty.

Posted: Sun Jan 01, 2012 11:48
by Hackeridze
neko259, +1

Posted: Sun Jan 01, 2012 11:59
by Jeija
@neko259:
1. I will make this as soon as it is possible to set the orientation of a node in the lua api. If I did that now, it would look ugly, because the lamp would rotate every time you turn it on/off (I had already planned that, see the textures for it in the textures folder)
2. Good Idea, should be possible as I got different mesecon rules now, I can do something like that... Maybe I'll make something like a sender block that makes current be transferred through one block.

Posted: Mon Jan 02, 2012 03:31
by hmmm
Jeija wrote:I dont think it will be better. Torches are just attached to blocks, they aren't on them like redstone in minecraft.
Redstone is actually a part of the block above the one they are attached too.

Posted: Mon Jan 02, 2012 03:50
by hmmm
I figured I'd report a bug! Ain't that just the grandest?
How To Shut Down Minetest Ingame!
1. Attach a blinky plant thingy with a mesecon thingy to a sticky piston thingy.
2. Place a Chest thingy infront of the sticky piston thingy and open the chest thingy.
3. Wait for the sticky piston to move the chest thingy (also works with furnace thingys and locked chest thingys!) with the chest thingy opened and enjoy! :)

The way I see it, you have 4 options (I personally prefer option 2):
1. Prevent sticky pistons (and also regular pistons) from moving those types of blocks.
2. Prevent sticky pistons (and also regular pistons) from moving those types of blocks while they're opened.
3. Make the chest/furnace close when it's moved.
4. Make the chest/furnace stay open even though it's moved.

Posted: Mon Jan 02, 2012 04:29
by hmmm
I just realized something pretty cool. When chests are moved, all their items are deleted. And with a button you can make an easy way to get rid of excess blocks like dirt and cobble without having to make a bunch of chests to fill them up with. So if you can fix the bug without doing option 1 or 4 (because 4 cant be done since it deletes the itmes) it would be really awesome and everyone will love this mod even more!

Posted: Mon Jan 02, 2012 05:18
by Gatharoth
hmmm wrote:I just realized something pretty cool. When chests are moved, all their items are deleted. And with a button you can make an easy way to get rid of excess blocks like dirt and cobble without having to make a bunch of chests to fill them up with. So if you can fix the bug without doing option 1 or 4 (because 4 cant be done since it deletes the itmes) it would be really awesome and everyone will love this mod even more!
This has been known since movestones. Well, the deleting of items anyway. I don't know about the crashing, but it probably was known also.

Posted: Mon Jan 02, 2012 07:15
by Jeija
Thanks for filing the bug! I never tried that before!
I suppose it is not possible to fix the bug using option 1 or 4. I made a bugfix for option 1. I will release it when I also implemented this for movestones, sticky pistons and so on.
Cheers, Jeija

Posted: Mon Jan 02, 2012 13:54
by Staffs
I was going to make a furnace but when i putted 2 stones like this
x-stone
0-nothing
------
|000|
|000|
|xx0|
------
I made something like a pressure pad or something whatever. My point is when i putted that thing on ground the game crashed :(
Here are the last lines of my terminal.

Code: Select all

05:48:33: ACTION[ServerThread]: Staffs places material 2146 at (3,10,-23)
05:48:34: ERROR[ServerThread]: ERROR: An unhandled exception occurred: LuaError: error: ...leron55-minetest-0.4/bin/../data/mods/jeija/init.lua:1730: attempt to call method 'get_objects_inside_radius' (a nil value)
05:48:34: ERROR[ServerThread]: stack traceback:

In thread aaff1b70:
/home/n/duno/bin/minetest/celeron55-minetest-0.4/src/server.cpp:113: virtual void* ServerThread::Thread(): Assertion '0' failed.
Debug stacks:
DEBUG STACK FOR THREAD a65d3b70:
#0  virtual void* EmergeThread::Thread()
#1  virtual MapBlock* ServerMap::emergeBlock(v3s16, bool): p=(3,3,0), allow_generate=0
#2  MapBlock* ServerMap::loadBlock(v3s16)
#3  void ServerMap::loadBlock(std::string*, v3s16, MapSector*, bool)
DEBUG STACK FOR THREAD aaff1b70:
#0  virtual void* ServerThread::Thread()
(Leftover data: #1  void Server::AsyncRunStep())
(Leftover data: #2  virtual void ServerEnvironment::step(float))
(Leftover data: #3  void BlockEmergeQueue::addBlock(irr::u16, v3s16, irr::u8))
(Leftover data: #4  void BlockEmergeQueue::addBlock(irr::u16, v3s16, irr::u8))
DEBUG STACK FOR THREAD acbf7b70:
#0  virtual void* MeshUpdateThread::Thread()
DEBUG STACK FOR THREAD b6934730:
#0  int main(int, char**)
#1  void ClientMap::renderMap(irr::video::IVideoDriver*, irr::s32)
(Leftover data: #2  virtual void ClientEnvironment::step(float))
(Leftover data: #3  void Client::Receive())
(Leftover data: #4  void Client::ProcessData(irr::u8*, irr::u32, irr::u16))
(Leftover data: #5  static InventoryItem* InventoryItem::deSerialize(std::istream&, IGameDef*))
zsh: abort      ./minetest
n|bin %  

Posted: Mon Jan 02, 2012 14:18
by sfan5
Staffs wrote:I was going to make a furnace but when i putted 2 stones like this
x-stone
0-nothing
------
|000|
|000|
|xx0|
------
I made something like a pressure pad or something whatever. My point is when i putted that thing on ground the game crashed :(
Here are the last lines of my terminal.

Code: Select all

05:48:33: ACTION[ServerThread]: Staffs places material 2146 at (3,10,-23)
05:48:34: ERROR[ServerThread]: ERROR: An unhandled exception occurred: LuaError: error: ...leron55-minetest-0.4/bin/../data/mods/jeija/init.lua:1730: attempt to call method 'get_objects_inside_radius' (a nil value)
05:48:34: ERROR[ServerThread]: stack traceback:

In thread aaff1b70:
/home/n/duno/bin/minetest/celeron55-minetest-0.4/src/server.cpp:113: virtual void* ServerThread::Thread(): Assertion '0' failed.
Debug stacks:
DEBUG STACK FOR THREAD a65d3b70:
#0  virtual void* EmergeThread::Thread()
#1  virtual MapBlock* ServerMap::emergeBlock(v3s16, bool): p=(3,3,0), allow_generate=0
#2  MapBlock* ServerMap::loadBlock(v3s16)
#3  void ServerMap::loadBlock(std::string*, v3s16, MapSector*, bool)
DEBUG STACK FOR THREAD aaff1b70:
#0  virtual void* ServerThread::Thread()
(Leftover data: #1  void Server::AsyncRunStep())
(Leftover data: #2  virtual void ServerEnvironment::step(float))
(Leftover data: #3  void BlockEmergeQueue::addBlock(irr::u16, v3s16, irr::u8))
(Leftover data: #4  void BlockEmergeQueue::addBlock(irr::u16, v3s16, irr::u8))
DEBUG STACK FOR THREAD acbf7b70:
#0  virtual void* MeshUpdateThread::Thread()
DEBUG STACK FOR THREAD b6934730:
#0  int main(int, char**)
#1  void ClientMap::renderMap(irr::video::IVideoDriver*, irr::s32)
(Leftover data: #2  virtual void ClientEnvironment::step(float))
(Leftover data: #3  void Client::Receive())
(Leftover data: #4  void Client::ProcessData(irr::u8*, irr::u32, irr::u16))
(Leftover data: #5  static InventoryItem* InventoryItem::deSerialize(std::istream&, IGameDef*))
zsh: abort      ./minetest
n|bin %  
You need to build Minetest from Source