[Modpack] Animals Modpack [2.5] -- 2.6 approaching

User avatar
thelazurite
New member
Posts: 2
Joined: Sat Jun 02, 2012 16:20

by thelazurite » Post

Do you think it would be possible to add pet wolves, say if you interacted with them by giving them a bone it would tame them or something like that :)?

sapier
Developer
Posts: 763
Joined: Tue Aug 16, 2011 18:17

by sapier » Post

hello,
first step to get pets is adding a follow movement generator. At the moment movement generator is a big (almost) monolithic block. So adding this will make it's mainenance even worse.
But I've already started reorganizing movement generation some time ago. Chances the first additional movement generator will be follow are very high. So some sort of pets will most likely be supported in next animals mod version.

It won't be wolves unless someone provides wolve graphics ;-)
DON'T mention coding style!
(c) sapier all rights reserved

blackfetusthegriefer

by blackfetusthegriefer » Post

I keep getting an error message but i have downloaded everything it said to. heres the code it shows.


15:29:56: ERROR[main]: Error loading mod

blackfetus the griefer

by blackfetus the griefer » Post

15:29:56: ERROR[main]: Error loading mod

User avatar
Topywo
Member
Posts: 1721
Joined: Fri May 18, 2012 20:27

by Topywo » Post

I tried to run the Animal modpack under the latest version. I've tried by just putting the main animals folder under the mods/minetest folder, making a modpack.txt in the minetest folder and making a modpack.txt in the mods folder. None of those 3 methods worked. First couldn't create the game, the other two methods couldn't load and run the game.

Still the only working method is the old fashioned, take all the subdirectorys/folders hanging onder the animals-modpack out of it and put them in the mods/minetest directory/folder (where all your other mods you use are). I then delete the empty animals-modpack.

Good luck!

User avatar
Neuromancer
Member
Posts: 797
Joined: Tue Jun 12, 2012 22:28
GitHub: Neuromancer56

by Neuromancer » Post

For fun, my daughter and I created a monarch butterfly by copying the rat folder, changing its texture, and changing the rat's movement in the animal_rat\init.lua But this wound up looking so awesome, I thought I would mention it here.

If you want to try it out, you can download it here:
http://www.mediafire.com/?2kz9czzdxecdlov



You will also need to add the following to mods\minetest\animals\compatibility.lua:
minetest.register_entity(":animals:butterfly",
{
on_step = function(self,dtime)
self.object:remove()
end,
on_activate = function(self,staticdata)
self.object:remove()
end
})


It works, but I am getting the following warning repeated a bunch of times in the status window: "ANIMALS: Bug!!!! didn't find a suitable prediction time. Animal will move more than one block within prediction period."
I tried slowing down the movement, but it just didn't look nearly as cool. And I like the fact that the fast movement makes it hard to catch them with a net. Here's the code that is causing the issue.

movement = {
min_accel=3.8,
max_accel=3.9,
max_speed=5,

pattern="run_and_jump_low"
},

You can see an image of it here:
http://www.mediafire.com/?7hxmmgrpj9r8099
Last edited by Neuromancer on Wed Jun 20, 2012 19:48, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
neko259
Member
Posts: 805
Joined: Sun Jun 19, 2011 06:51

by neko259 » Post

Damaging works a bit strange. If you hit them with holding LMB, they will be hit only once. To hit them the second time you need to hit, wait for the tool to move back in the 'standby' mode (1-2 seconds) and only then hit the animal.
s3tuPDfUv2IyvXHzPmE31MQvnWULv1zj

sapier
Developer
Posts: 763
Joined: Tue Aug 16, 2011 18:17

by sapier » Post

@Neuromancer
I'm going to have a look at the messages probably It can be disabled.

@Topywo
sorry I'm a little bit busy atm I'll update as soon as possible

@neko259
I've realized this too but as I do use minetests damage system (at least I tried to). I don't have an idea how to change this behaviour. If you know what I'm doing wrong please tell me ;-)
DON'T mention coding style!
(c) sapier all rights reserved

User avatar
Topywo
Member
Posts: 1721
Joined: Fri May 18, 2012 20:27

by Topywo » Post

No need to be sorry :-) And thank you for making that mod. I don't mind to install them like that.

User avatar
Neuromancer
Member
Posts: 797
Joined: Tue Jun 12, 2012 22:28
GitHub: Neuromancer56

by Neuromancer » Post

I updated the butterfly item image. Before it used the rat image. Now when you catch the butterfly in the net, it shows up as a butterfly in your hand and inventory.

Here's the link to the new butterfly:
http://www.mediafire.com/?2kz9czzdxecdlov

I updated the link in the original post too.
Last edited by Neuromancer on Wed Jun 20, 2012 19:53, edited 1 time in total.

tapo

by tapo » Post

Neuromancer wrote:I updated the butterfly item image. Before it used the rat image. Now when you catch the butterfly in the net, it shows up as a butterfly in your hand and inventory.
Awesome!

User avatar
Hgcc
New member
Posts: 1
Joined: Thu Jul 05, 2012 22:17

by Hgcc » Post

i won't load it it says failed to load then this file

User avatar
Josh
Member
Posts: 1146
Joined: Fri Jun 29, 2012 23:11
Location: Victoria, Australia

by Josh » Post

Nice job sapier maybe we could have the player able to ride the animals is this possible? also we could have pigs along with the other animals just a suggestion.

User avatar
Topywo
Member
Posts: 1721
Joined: Fri May 18, 2012 20:27

by Topywo » Post

Hgcc wrote:i won't load it it says failed to load then this file
If you have the directory/map/folder animals-modpack-1.2.1 under .../mods/minetest (your mods folder), you must cut all the subdirectories/maps/folders (for example animal_big_red, animal_chicken etc) out of it and paste those directly in your mods folder. Then delete the empty animals-modpack-1.2.1 map/directoy/folder.

User avatar
Neuromancer
Member
Posts: 797
Joined: Tue Jun 12, 2012 22:28
GitHub: Neuromancer56

by Neuromancer » Post

Topywo wrote:
Hgcc wrote:i won't load it it says failed to load then this file
If you have the directory/map/folder animals-modpack-1.2.1 under .../mods/minetest (your mods folder), you must cut all the subdirectories/maps/folders (for example animal_big_red, animal_chicken etc) out of it and paste those directly in your mods folder. Then delete the empty animals-modpack-1.2.1 map/directoy/folder.
The other nifty trick is you can just keep the animal and "animal materials" sub folders, and only those animals you want to keep (by deleting the folders you don't want) and it pretty much works. There are some dependencies in the other folders, I had to remove barn folder when I removed the vombie folder, otherwise I had it not work.

sapier
Developer
Posts: 763
Joined: Tue Aug 16, 2011 18:17

by sapier » Post

thanks for the barn hint
Barn shouldn't depend on animal_vombie but animal_sheep
DON'T mention coding style!
(c) sapier all rights reserved

liljavi

by liljavi » Post

when i open minetest the animal mod says that it failed to load and run

User avatar
Topywo
Member
Posts: 1721
Joined: Fri May 18, 2012 20:27

by Topywo » Post

Neuromancer wrote:
Topywo wrote:
Hgcc wrote:i won't load it it says failed to load then this file
If you have the directory/map/folder animals-modpack-1.2.1 under .../mods/minetest (your mods folder), you must cut all the subdirectories/maps/folders (for example animal_big_red, animal_chicken etc) out of it and paste those directly in your mods folder. Then delete the empty animals-modpack-1.2.1 map/directoy/folder.
The other nifty trick is you can just keep the animal and "animal materials" sub folders, and only those animals you want to keep (by deleting the folders you don't want) and it pretty much works. There are some dependencies in the other folders, I had to remove barn folder when I removed the vombie folder, otherwise I had it not work.
liljavi, you did read this?

liljavi

by liljavi » Post

i already did that and know it says it has unsatisfied dependicies what do i do know

User avatar
Topywo
Member
Posts: 1721
Joined: Fri May 18, 2012 20:27

by Topywo » Post

If you have unsatisfied dependicies, the game tells you which mods miss which dependecies. In that case you must install the missing mod also in your mods folder.

Example:
ModError:mod "barn" has unsatisfied dependencies: "animal_vombie".

To play the mod "barn", you need to have the mod "animal_vombie" in your mods folder

If you don't want to install the missing mod(s), you must make changes in the init.lua of the mod that needs (depends) upon the mod you don't want to install. I've no experience with that.

liljavi

by liljavi » Post

thanks that really helped know it works c:

sapier
Developer
Posts: 763
Joined: Tue Aug 16, 2011 18:17

by sapier » Post

Here it is, the long promised animals update.

I've done lot of changes to movement code in order to prepare pet support and reduce cpu load for animals.

Sorry but this breaks compatibility to 1.2.1 for 3rd party animals. Changes to be done for other animals should be minor. Don't forget to adjust your probability values they now should be X per second.

As lots of people forgot to download animalmaterials I reintegrated it to animals modpack too.

As there have been lots of changes and I didn't have time to do an intense test so please expect bugs and tell me about them. I've released this as x.90 version to indicate it's NOT a release considered stable.

Have fun!
Last edited by sapier on Sun Jul 15, 2012 11:08, edited 1 time in total.
DON'T mention coding style!
(c) sapier all rights reserved

User avatar
sparkyahs
New member
Posts: 4
Joined: Sun Jul 15, 2012 02:48

by sparkyahs » Post

Not sure if you are aware but whenever I install this mod pac I get serious issues with my inventory as soon as I harvest an animal.

I am unable to move (any) items in the inventory, this includes organising, crafting, and dropping items. Any suggestions?

sapier
Developer
Posts: 763
Joined: Tue Aug 16, 2011 18:17

by sapier » Post

thanks for your bugreport I'm going to investigate this as soon as possible.
Do you have any other mods installed that may interfere with animals mod?
DON'T mention coding style!
(c) sapier all rights reserved

User avatar
Topywo
Member
Posts: 1721
Joined: Fri May 18, 2012 20:27

by Topywo » Post

I've also a bug for you (and 2 minor ones). Good luck with them and nice mod. Edit: I tested with this mod only.

Trying to shave a sheep
22:08:49: ERROR[main]: ServerError: LuaError: error running function on_activate: ...in/../mods/minetest/animals/management_functions.lua:181: attempt to index field 'current_movement_gen' (a nil value)
22:08:49: ERROR[main]: stack traceback:
22:08:49: ERROR[main]: [C]: in function 'add_entity'
22:08:49: ERROR[main]: ...912-Test 1/bin/../mods/minetest/animals/spawning.lua:187: in function 'replace_entity'
22:08:49: ERROR[main]: ...2-Test 1/bin/../mods/minetest/animals/harvesting.lua:146: in function 'callback'
22:08:49: ERROR[main]: ...in/../mods/minetest/animals/management_functions.lua:128: in function <...in/../mods/minetest/animals/management_functions.lua:127>

Trying to play again (and again)
22:14:41: ERROR[main]: ServerError: LuaError: error running function on_activate: ...in/../mods/minetest/animals/management_functions.lua:181: attempt to index field 'current_movement_gen' (a nil value)
22:14:41: ERROR[main]: stack traceback:

Wool_all colors and cought_vombie
22:14:38: INFO[main]: WARNING: field "tile_images": Deprecated; new name is "tiles".
22:14:38: VERBOSE[main]: registerNode: registering content id "2089": name="animalmaterials:wool_white"

Trap:undead
22:14:38: INFO[main]: stack traceback:
...inetest-02fb912-Test 1/bin/../builtin/deprecated.lua:7: in function 'digprop_constanttime'
...st-02fb912-Test 1/bin/../mods/minetest/trap/init.lua:83: in main chunk
22:14:38: INFO[main]: WARNING: The minetest.digprop_* functions are obsolete and need to be replaced by item groups.
Last edited by Topywo on Mon Jul 16, 2012 11:18, edited 1 time in total.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 7 guests