[Modpack] Animals Modpack [2.5] -- 2.6 approaching

User avatar
rinoux
Member
 
Posts: 184
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 12:15

by rinoux » Sun Jan 08, 2012 18:48

r_kAY wrote:@rinoux your cow is pretty good but I was thinking more of a cartoon style animal. The design you have is nice maybe we can work together.

Yes I think is better to work together, we have to decide few things, like what kind of style. I prefer to find another way that Minecraft has chosen, a little bit more realistic... but that can be between realist/simple. What do you think ? (Maybe we can make another topic for that)
 

sapier
Developer
 
Posts: 763
Joined: Tue Aug 16, 2011 18:17

by sapier » Sun Jan 08, 2012 19:06

@r_kAY problem with 3d animals ain't primary that i needed help (i'd gladly accept it either). Reason why I didn't put more efforts in this topic is that I had a conversation with celeron and I don't think he wants to add the patches required to create 3d animals.

He wants to keep minetest simple for low performance clients.

And of course adding multiple entitys to one position to create a animal is a solution but clean way would be to add 3d-object loading and handling support to minetest

EDIT1:
why not have multiple graphics sets? There are texture packs for minetest I don't think it's a problem having more than one graphics set for animals too.

By now there is only one set of graphics (mine was actualy not more than spacers) if there are more candidates there probably will be an election for "default" animals graphics set.
Last edited by sapier on Sun Jan 08, 2012 19:11, edited 1 time in total.
DON'T mention coding style!
(c) sapier all rights reserved
 

r_kAY
New member
 
Posts: 8
Joined: Sun Jan 08, 2012 17:49

by r_kAY » Sun Jan 08, 2012 21:36

@sapier I think it is a great idea to have different settings based on your systems capabilities. So if you have a lower performance computer you can still use the program without any problems, but we could also get people with higher end computers that could run things with more detail so they don't get bored. So maybe if it was added in the game itself the options could have a certain switch for 2d or 3d. Or you could just have two different downloads.
@rinoux I like that your animals are realistic, but I would like to add some details. I don't want to copy minecraft's animals. The only reason I would prefer animals with a more cartoon base is because the realistic features don't fit quite well. So I want to find a way to make it fit a little better.
 

User avatar
MrThebuilder3
Member
 
Posts: 104
Joined: Sat Nov 19, 2011 18:26

by MrThebuilder3 » Sun Jan 08, 2012 21:41

what about a mob that blows up when to close *cough* creeper *cogh*
 

User avatar
sdzen
Member
 
Posts: 1170
Joined: Fri Aug 05, 2011 22:33
Location: Paradise (your not allowed)

by sdzen » Sun Jan 08, 2012 21:47

maybe shape it like a bomb-bomb
Image
[h]Zen S.D.[/h] The next generation of tranquility!
malheureusement mon français n'est pas bon :<
Owner of the Zelo's
In game name: MuadTralk, spdtainted, sdzen, sd zen, sdzeno
 

User avatar
MrThebuilder3
Member
 
Posts: 104
Joined: Sat Nov 19, 2011 18:26

by MrThebuilder3 » Sun Jan 08, 2012 22:00

lol
Last edited by MrThebuilder3 on Sun Jan 08, 2012 22:02, edited 1 time in total.
 

mcburgerbob
Member
 
Posts: 141
Joined: Wed Dec 14, 2011 19:50
Location: B.C Canada
 

sapier
Developer
 
Posts: 763
Joined: Tue Aug 16, 2011 18:17

by sapier » Mon Jan 09, 2012 00:51

I hated those creapers in minecraft but if anyone provides graphics I'll add it ;-) Won't be a big deal either all parts are already in just need to put it together a little bit different.

By the way did anyone encounter the plasma- and fireballs by now?
Last edited by sapier on Mon Jan 09, 2012 00:51, edited 1 time in total.
DON'T mention coding style!
(c) sapier all rights reserved
 

r_kAY
New member
 
Posts: 8
Joined: Sun Jan 08, 2012 17:49

by r_kAY » Mon Jan 09, 2012 01:09

Do you want just a plan ole' creeper or a different style? and what size would be best
 

sapier
Developer
 
Posts: 763
Joined: Tue Aug 16, 2011 18:17

by sapier » Mon Jan 09, 2012 01:39

I thought about same size as the vampires. You'll find examples in templates folder too.
DON'T mention coding style!
(c) sapier all rights reserved
 

r_kAY
New member
 
Posts: 8
Joined: Sun Jan 08, 2012 17:49

by r_kAY » Mon Jan 09, 2012 20:17

http://www.mediafire.com/?fxppw3bdtx4s6dn

That is just a quick sketch of one in a bomb shape.
 

rahonejm
Member
 
Posts: 88
Joined: Wed Dec 28, 2011 01:58
Location: Brazil

by rahonejm » Fri Jan 13, 2012 19:50

creeper screenshot! creeper screenshot!
Sorry for possible language mistakes
 

User avatar
sdzen
Member
 
Posts: 1170
Joined: Fri Aug 05, 2011 22:33
Location: Paradise (your not allowed)

by sdzen » Fri Jan 13, 2012 21:27

like it its comical
[h]Zen S.D.[/h] The next generation of tranquility!
malheureusement mon français n'est pas bon :<
Owner of the Zelo's
In game name: MuadTralk, spdtainted, sdzen, sd zen, sdzeno
 

User avatar
Melkor
Member
 
Posts: 292
Joined: Sat Sep 24, 2011 01:03
Location: Underground
 

sapier
Developer
 
Posts: 763
Joined: Tue Aug 16, 2011 18:17

by sapier » Sun Jan 15, 2012 01:30

Just rewrote/modified movement generator now supporting jumping movement as well as flying movement. Both needed to add rats and fish.

I didn't add fishing rods by now but nets instead (you need it to catch rats as well)

There have been lots of changes to movement system so please tell me the bugs I added!

I didn't add all the fishes by now because of not knowing how to name them and didin't wannt to call them "fish1" "fish2" .... If anyone tells me names I'll add them next.

BTW current fish spawns in shallow water with dirt ground. I'd like to spawn the other fish in different environment so if anyone can provide reasonable habitat information for them I'd greatly appreciate it.
Last edited by sapier on Sun Jan 15, 2012 01:50, edited 1 time in total.
DON'T mention coding style!
(c) sapier all rights reserved
 

User avatar
jordan4ibanez
Member
 
Posts: 1895
Joined: Tue Sep 27, 2011 18:44
Location: Rhode Island, USA
GitHub: jordan4ibanez
IRC: jordan4ibanez
In-game: jordan4ibanez

by jordan4ibanez » Sun Jan 15, 2012 01:58

good job sapier..this is quite fast and light for many mobs working on my server at one time :)
I've been gone for a long time
 

sapier
Developer
 
Posts: 763
Joined: Tue Aug 16, 2011 18:17

by sapier » Sun Jan 15, 2012 02:14

Thanks, glad to hear its working good. I didn't do performance tests in real life environment by now.
DON'T mention coding style!
(c) sapier all rights reserved
 

rahonejm
Member
 
Posts: 88
Joined: Wed Dec 28, 2011 01:58
Location: Brazil

by rahonejm » Sun Jan 15, 2012 02:36

hey sapier, can you do some sort of "light" version of the mod? You know, a version that not so many animals spawn at the same time to don't lag everything, just like happens in my pc :(
Sorry for possible language mistakes
 

sapier
Developer
 
Posts: 763
Joined: Tue Aug 16, 2011 18:17

by sapier » Sun Jan 15, 2012 02:43

@rahonejm what exactly is the problem

a) to many animals in total
b) to many animals being added at once
c) something i didn't understand

"a" shouldn't happen because of the animal density (except of vampires)
and b shouldn't happen either as chances for adding an animal are really low (except of vampires too)
DON'T mention coding style!
(c) sapier all rights reserved
 

rahonejm
Member
 
Posts: 88
Joined: Wed Dec 28, 2011 01:58
Location: Brazil

by rahonejm » Sun Jan 15, 2012 03:18

Well, when i start the server with animals mod, i must wait a very long time so all the animals can spawn. But then, even with all the animals spawned, i get very lagged (things like don't putting a block when you click, or blocks you've collected appear again) 'cause i can see in the console that every step that i do it appears: "Spawnig animals at blablablabla"
"Spawnig animals at blablablabla"
"Spawnig animals at blablablabla"
"Spawnig animals at blablablabla"
Hope you understood XD
Sorry for possible language mistakes
 

sapier
Developer
 
Posts: 763
Joined: Tue Aug 16, 2011 18:17

by sapier » Sun Jan 15, 2012 09:29

oh I see this message is probably missleading, I'll change it in next release. I assume it's not really a spawn but activation of an animal. Entities are deactivated if noone is next to them in case of someone entering a chunk they get activated. But of cause all animals within this chunk at once. I don't have any control about this. I'll try to speedup this process but I ain't sure I can do much about this.
DON'T mention coding style!
(c) sapier all rights reserved
 

User avatar
neko259
Member
 
Posts: 804
Joined: Sun Jun 19, 2011 06:51

by neko259 » Sun Jan 15, 2012 10:07

Can you use another filehosting service? mediafire works very strange without flash and when downloading through wget.
s3tuPDfUv2IyvXHzPmE31MQvnWULv1zj
 

sapier
Developer
 
Posts: 763
Joined: Tue Aug 16, 2011 18:17

by sapier » Sun Jan 15, 2012 10:30

@neko259 I've already changed file hosting service to mediafire on someones request. I'm sorry but I assume if I change to another service it's just a matter of time till another one requests changing to next.

If you tell me where to put I probably add a secondary release option.

EDIT1:
@rahonejm
I've checked activation code and made minor changes for next version. But there are only two operations that probably need some time within activation.
One to workaround minetest not saving custom defined variables for entities. The other to workaround minetests inability to save data for a mod. I can't remove them without getting even worse problems so for now I'm sorry I don't se a chance to help you. But I'll try to find a way of course.
Last edited by sapier on Sun Jan 15, 2012 10:35, edited 1 time in total.
DON'T mention coding style!
(c) sapier all rights reserved
 

User avatar
neko259
Member
 
Posts: 804
Joined: Sun Jun 19, 2011 06:51

by neko259 » Sun Jan 15, 2012 10:32

sapier wrote:@neko259 I've already changed file hosting service to mediafire on someones request. I'm sorry but I assume if I change to another service it's just a matter of time till another one requests changing to next.

If you tell me where to put I probably add a secondary release option.

I like ompldr.com. It can give you direct link (useful when downloading from the server console) and you don't have to wait or enter any captchas :)
s3tuPDfUv2IyvXHzPmE31MQvnWULv1zj
 

User avatar
neko259
Member
 
Posts: 804
Joined: Sun Jun 19, 2011 06:51

by neko259 » Sun Jan 15, 2012 10:40

Another question: why use RMB for shearing? In minetest all the mods use LMB for using anything. It's a bit confusing and uncomfortable when different mods use different keys for the same operation.
s3tuPDfUv2IyvXHzPmE31MQvnWULv1zj
 

PreviousNext

Return to Mod Releases



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests