[Modpack] Animals Modpack [2.5] -- 2.6 approaching

User avatar
Hackeridze
Member
 
Posts: 310
Joined: Thu Nov 03, 2011 13:35

by Hackeridze » Sun Jan 15, 2012 10:42

I like [url]github.com[/url] =\
My game: RTMG
GENTOO USER
 

sapier
Developer
 
Posts: 763
Joined: Tue Aug 16, 2011 18:17

by sapier » Sun Jan 15, 2012 10:47

@neko259
added secondary download link, but only latest version will have a secondary link

right click was used to determin beween harvest and attack I already thought about using left click for everything just deciding what to do by wielded item. By now I didn't want to change behaviour of mod as people might already got used to it.

@ALL
I personaly don't have a preference so everyone who is using it comment what you prefer:
(Option 1) right click for harvest/catch, left click for fighting
(Option 2) everything on left click only decided by wielded tool/item

Edit1:
@Hackeridze sorry neko259 just used last release mode change option ;-)
Last edited by sapier on Sun Jan 15, 2012 10:48, edited 1 time in total.
DON'T mention coding style!
(c) sapier all rights reserved
 

robin
Member
 
Posts: 22
Joined: Mon Jan 02, 2012 15:53

by robin » Sun Jan 15, 2012 10:49

Hackeridze wrote:I like [url]github.com[/url] =\


+1
 

User avatar
neko259
Member
 
Posts: 804
Joined: Sun Jun 19, 2011 06:51

by neko259 » Sun Jan 15, 2012 10:50

You see, I'd like using right click for using things. But almost all mods already use left click. And on_use function in the API uses it too. So even if you make your mod use right click, it would be different. Also, dropping the item when 'using' it not on animal is a bit confusing too :)
s3tuPDfUv2IyvXHzPmE31MQvnWULv1zj
 

sapier
Developer
 
Posts: 763
Joined: Tue Aug 16, 2011 18:17

by sapier » Sun Jan 15, 2012 10:53

btw i personaly can't get used to git it obviously has great advantages when having multiple developers concurrent working on same source but when working alone it's just a pain in the ass ... at least to me. And yes I know if you want a powerfull tool you can't expect it to be simple ... but I don't need that distributed features.

@neko259 I can see the benefits and by now as your vote is the only one you've got the majority ;-) I'd just prefere to have some more opinions or at least give them chance to comment or not.
Last edited by sapier on Sun Jan 15, 2012 10:55, edited 1 time in total.
DON'T mention coding style!
(c) sapier all rights reserved
 

User avatar
Hackeridze
Member
 
Posts: 310
Joined: Thu Nov 03, 2011 13:35

by Hackeridze » Sun Jan 15, 2012 10:57

sapier wrote:btw i personaly can't get used to git it obviously has great advantages when having multiple developers concurrent working on same source but when working alone it's just a pain in the ass ... at least to me. And yes I know if you want a powerfull tool you can't expect it to be simple ... but I don't need that distributed features.

@neko259 I can see the benefits and by now as your vote is the only one you've got the majority ;-) I'd just prefere to have some more opinions or at least give them chance to comment or not.

/facepalm
My game: RTMG
GENTOO USER
 

sapier
Developer
 
Posts: 763
Joined: Tue Aug 16, 2011 18:17

by sapier » Sun Jan 15, 2012 11:03

@Hackeridze not everyone is your opinion you probably should get used to that an respect it
DON'T mention coding style!
(c) sapier all rights reserved
 

mahho
Member
 
Posts: 21
Joined: Sun Jan 15, 2012 10:42

by mahho » Sun Jan 15, 2012 11:30

github is great for fast updating sources, without 'searching' new versions :)
 

User avatar
Hackeridze
Member
 
Posts: 310
Joined: Thu Nov 03, 2011 13:35

by Hackeridze » Sun Jan 15, 2012 11:31

mahho wrote:github is great for fast updating sources, without 'searching' new versions :)

+1
My game: RTMG
GENTOO USER
 

sapier
Developer
 
Posts: 763
Joined: Tue Aug 16, 2011 18:17

by sapier » Sun Jan 15, 2012 12:08

github is great for fast updating sources, without 'searching' new versions :)

I don't se any benefit compared to eg svn in this particular usecase

but let's don't argue about whats good at this vcs bad at that ...

Topic atm is RMB vs LMB harvesting ;-)
Last edited by sapier on Sun Jan 15, 2012 12:10, edited 1 time in total.
DON'T mention coding style!
(c) sapier all rights reserved
 

User avatar
jordan4ibanez
Member
 
Posts: 1895
Joined: Tue Sep 27, 2011 18:44
Location: Rhode Island, USA
GitHub: jordan4ibanez
IRC: jordan4ibanez
In-game: jordan4ibanez

by jordan4ibanez » Sun Jan 15, 2012 21:23

im not being nit picky but the fish dont aim in the direction they swim around and i never know where its going to go! D:
I've been gone for a long time
 

sapier
Developer
 
Posts: 763
Joined: Tue Aug 16, 2011 18:17

by sapier » Sun Jan 15, 2012 22:10

@jordan4ibanez I know :-) provide graphics I'll gladly add them
DON'T mention coding style!
(c) sapier all rights reserved
 

sapier
Developer
 
Posts: 763
Joined: Tue Aug 16, 2011 18:17

by sapier » Mon Jan 16, 2012 19:04

as noone seems to have any problems with switching harvest to lmb next release will no longer use rmb for harvesting or catching
DON'T mention coding style!
(c) sapier all rights reserved
 

User avatar
neko259
Member
 
Posts: 804
Joined: Sun Jun 19, 2011 06:51

by neko259 » Sun Jan 22, 2012 09:26

Why don't animals have a selection (or collision?) box fit to their visual size? If I want to hit a mob, I have to search for his real body somewhere an the bottom.
And what are false DMs supposed to do? I get confused when I see them and run away like from the real DMs, but these ones don't make fireballs and are almost harmless.
And your false rats jump VERY high. Is that a feature?
s3tuPDfUv2IyvXHzPmE31MQvnWULv1zj
 

sapier
Developer
 
Posts: 763
Joined: Tue Aug 16, 2011 18:17

by sapier » Sun Jan 22, 2012 12:37

1) colision boxes ... haven't looked at that issue by now maybe they can be fixed but it's a little bit tricky as collision boxes are 3d elements while sprites are 2d only so they won't fit perfect in any case

2) "false" dm's are supposed to be a replacement for original dm's if you think they're to easy I'll make them harder. They should make fireballs too just not the ones emitting light as entities can't emit light.

3) nope rats are not expected to jump too high I'll fix it for next version

thanks for testing you're the first one that gives feedback to the new features added the last releases
Last edited by sapier on Sun Jan 22, 2012 12:37, edited 1 time in total.
DON'T mention coding style!
(c) sapier all rights reserved
 

User avatar
neko259
Member
 
Posts: 804
Joined: Sun Jun 19, 2011 06:51

by neko259 » Sun Jan 22, 2012 15:57

Collision boxes need at least fit the animal's height. I use gun mod so I need to shoot mobs from the distance, but I can't see an animal's collision box without approaching to it. And I can't guess because their collision boxes are completely different from their visual size.
Thanks for everything :)
s3tuPDfUv2IyvXHzPmE31MQvnWULv1zj
 

sapier
Developer
 
Posts: 763
Joined: Tue Aug 16, 2011 18:17

by sapier » Sun Jan 22, 2012 16:40

You can't shoot animals by now, at least not the way it's expected. Entities don't implement gethealth/sethealth by now this is a missing feature in minetest.
ATM animals health is dealt manualy. This is a workaround and will be changed as soon as minetest is fixed.
DON'T mention coding style!
(c) sapier all rights reserved
 

User avatar
neko259
Member
 
Posts: 804
Joined: Sun Jun 19, 2011 06:51

by neko259 » Sun Jan 22, 2012 16:41

Gun mod's author said your animals die from 1 hit.
s3tuPDfUv2IyvXHzPmE31MQvnWULv1zj
 

sapier
Developer
 
Posts: 763
Joined: Tue Aug 16, 2011 18:17

by sapier » Sun Jan 22, 2012 16:44

at least not the way it's expected

this is because gethealth always returns 0 no matter what is set by sethealth
DON'T mention coding style!
(c) sapier all rights reserved
 

sapier
Developer
 
Posts: 763
Joined: Tue Aug 16, 2011 18:17

by sapier » Tue Jan 24, 2012 21:44

0.9.0
rat jumping bug fixed
dm's are more dangerous ---> please test if they are dangerous enough ... they won't shoot through walls but i think this is an error of original dm's so don't ask me to add this .... a mob that can't see you can't fight you!
left mouse button harvesting
make animals work for 20120122 git


Still missing:
Collision boxes
DON'T mention coding style!
(c) sapier all rights reserved
 

User avatar
neko259
Member
 
Posts: 804
Joined: Sun Jun 19, 2011 06:51

by neko259 » Tue Jan 24, 2012 21:50

sapier wrote:0.9.0
rat jumping bug fixed
dm's are more dangerous ---> please test if they are dangerous enough ... they won't shoot through walls but i think this is an error of original dm's so don't ask me to add this .... a mob that can't see you can't fight you!
left mouse button harvesting
make animals work for 20120122 git


Still missing:
Collision boxes

Grrreat! I'll try that now.
s3tuPDfUv2IyvXHzPmE31MQvnWULv1zj
 

User avatar
neko259
Member
 
Posts: 804
Joined: Sun Jun 19, 2011 06:51

by neko259 » Tue Jan 24, 2012 21:54

I've noticed feather has a description "feather", not "Feather". Default mod has the descriptions starting with capitals, so I think we should do the same. The same goes for "raw meat" and, I think, all the other items.
Last edited by neko259 on Tue Jan 24, 2012 21:59, edited 1 time in total.
s3tuPDfUv2IyvXHzPmE31MQvnWULv1zj
 

User avatar
neko259
Member
 
Posts: 804
Joined: Sun Jun 19, 2011 06:51

by neko259 » Tue Jan 24, 2012 21:55

I haven't test the other items. Mobs work like before, so I'm waiting for the collision boxes. Thanks for the mod :)
s3tuPDfUv2IyvXHzPmE31MQvnWULv1zj
 

sapier
Developer
 
Posts: 763
Joined: Tue Aug 16, 2011 18:17

by sapier » Tue Jan 24, 2012 22:09

I've noticed the capital on originals too. I'll add an additional configuration parameter "name" automaticaly switched by language settings too. For now just changing the names would result in worlds with many unknown entities what i didn't want to do.
DON'T mention coding style!
(c) sapier all rights reserved
 

User avatar
neko259
Member
 
Posts: 804
Joined: Sun Jun 19, 2011 06:51

by neko259 » Tue Jan 24, 2012 22:14

sapier wrote:I've noticed the capital on originals too. I'll add an additional configuration parameter "name" automaticaly switched by language settings too. For now just changing the names would result in worlds with many unknown entities what i didn't want to do.

Name and description are different fields. Changing description won't do nothing to the world I think.
s3tuPDfUv2IyvXHzPmE31MQvnWULv1zj
 

PreviousNext

Return to Mod Releases



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 9 guests