[Modpack] Animals Modpack [2.5] -- 2.6 approaching

fifthecard
Member
Posts: 10
Joined: Sun Jun 29, 2014 19:16

Re: [Mod] MOB Framework [2.3.6] [mobf] timekeeping

by fifthecard » Post

I kept getting server crashes with the new adv_spawning/internal.lua:294 assertian failed

disabled that part of the mod and everything else seems to work fine

sapier
Developer
Posts: 763
Joined: Tue Aug 16, 2011 18:17

Re: [Mod] MOB Framework [2.3.6] [mobf] timekeeping

by sapier » Post

could you provide a backtrace for one of those crashes? There's no reason why something should be done in negative time so there most likely is a bug hidden somewhere else.
Thanks!

User avatar
TenPlus1
Member
Posts: 2863
Joined: Mon Jul 29, 2013 13:38
GitHub: tenplus1

Re: [Mod] MOB Framework [2.3.6] [mobf] timekeeping

by TenPlus1 » Post

I tried the latest github and still get timeout errors for spawning mobs...

fifthecard
Member
Posts: 10
Joined: Sun Jun 29, 2014 19:16

Re: [Mod] MOB Framework [2.3.6] [mobf] timekeeping

by fifthecard » Post

Don't really know how to do a backtrace other than using gdb. Here is what I have. Let me know if this helped. I am using Manjaro / Arch linux.

Code: Select all

gdb) bt full
#0  0x00007ffff645cd67 in raise () from /usr/lib/libc.so.6
No symbol table info available.
#1  0x00007ffff645e118 in abort () from /usr/lib/libc.so.6
No symbol table info available.
#2  0x0000000000590f54 in assert_fail(char const*, char const*, unsigned int, char const*) ()
No symbol table info available.
#3  0x00000000004541a0 in main ()
No symbol table info available.
(gdb) 

sapier
Developer
Posts: 763
Joined: Tue Aug 16, 2011 18:17

Re: [Mod] MOB Framework [2.3.6] [mobf] timekeeping

by sapier » Post

@TenPlus1 can you please post the full error message?
@fifthecard while usually a gdb backtrace helps, in this situation I'd need the lua backtrace ... it's shown on console and saved in debug.txt

fifthecard
Member
Posts: 10
Joined: Sun Jun 29, 2014 19:16

Re: [Mod] MOB Framework [2.3.6] [mobf] timekeeping

by fifthecard » Post

Here is the debug info

Code: Select all

6:51:44: ERROR[main]: ERROR: An unhandled exception occurred: ....minetest/mods/animals_modpack/adv_spawning/internal.lua:294: assertion failed!
16:51:44: ERROR[main]: stack traceback:
16:51:44: ERROR[main]: 	[C]: in function 'assert'
16:51:44: ERROR[main]: 	....minetest/mods/animals_modpack/adv_spawning/internal.lua:294: in function 'quota_leave'
16:51:44: ERROR[main]: 	....minetest/mods/animals_modpack/adv_spawning/internal.lua:224: in function <....minetest/mods/animals_modpack/adv_spawning/internal.lua:180>
16:51:44: ERROR[main]: 	/usr/share/minetest/builtin/game/register.lua:348: in function </usr/share/minetest/builtin/game/register.lua:336>


sapier
Developer
Posts: 763
Joined: Tue Aug 16, 2011 18:17

Re: [Mod] MOB Framework [2.3.6] [mobf] timekeeping

by sapier » Post

@fifthecard that backtrace is supposed to impossible ;-). Can you give more information how to trigger? what's your environment? what cpu what os, any virtualization or unstable system clock?
Or at least a few more lines of debug.txt prior error ;-)

According to that assert time on your machine went backwards

fifthecard
Member
Posts: 10
Joined: Sun Jun 29, 2014 19:16

Re: [Mod] MOB Framework [2.3.6] [mobf] timekeeping

by fifthecard » Post

+ Spoiler

I am using carbone game but have tried on standard minetest with no other mods as well and get the same error. I am running this on a virtual machine on beefy computer but I can try and run this outside of the virtual machine. Setup is I7-4790 16GB ram with 4 dedicated to virtual machine. OS is Arch Linux with a git build of minetest on the 22nd with leveldb support. I also tried a build without leveldb to see if that could have been an issue. I will double check the clock sync issue to verify and also try to host outside of the virtual machine.

sapier
Developer
Posts: 763
Joined: Tue Aug 16, 2011 18:17

Re: [Mod] MOB Framework [2.3.6] [mobf] timekeeping

by sapier » Post

I don't think leveldb is involved... Virualization could be ... I don't like it but I'll change that assert to a warning. Basicaly time running backwards breaks mobfs limitation of CPU usage. You may get way more CPU usage then the targeted maximum of 100ms per server step.

fifthecard
Member
Posts: 10
Joined: Sun Jun 29, 2014 19:16

Re: [Mod] MOB Framework [2.3.6] [mobf] timekeeping

by fifthecard » Post

I tried outside of the virtual machine and got the same error.

sapier
Developer
Posts: 763
Joined: Tue Aug 16, 2011 18:17

Re: [Mod] MOB Framework [2.3.6] [mobf] timekeeping

by sapier » Post

fifthecard could you change the assert to print the value instead of asserting? do you have default settings or did you e.g. enable multiple emerge threads?

fifthecard
Member
Posts: 10
Joined: Sun Jun 29, 2014 19:16

Re: [Mod] MOB Framework [2.3.6] [mobf] timekeeping

by fifthecard » Post

When I change assert to print I get console spam with true.

I don't see any settings to allow multiple emerge threads.

lotek
Member
Posts: 22
Joined: Mon Jun 02, 2014 20:21
GitHub: LotekHeavy
IRC: lotek
In-game: lotek
Location: Switzerland
Contact:

Re: [Mod] MOB Framework [2.3.6] [mobf] timekeeping

by lotek » Post

Active Block Range

If I configure on my server that active_block_range is only 1, how does this impact the mobf monsters? I guess that would mean that only monster 8 nodes away (from the player) could attack, right?
----
Mine Heavy
http://mine.heavy.ch

sapier
Developer
Posts: 763
Joined: Tue Aug 16, 2011 18:17

Re: [Mod] MOB Framework [2.3.6] [mobf] timekeeping

by sapier » Post

@lotek yes but there will be major issues with mob spawning too as spawners are entities too. Chance there will be any active spawner within that range is quite small so. Result may be no mobs spawning at all.

User avatar
ExeterDad
Member
Posts: 1717
Joined: Sun Jun 01, 2014 20:00
In-game: ExeterDad
Location: New Hampshire U.S.A

Re: [Mod] MOB Framework [2.3.6] [mobf] timekeeping

by ExeterDad » Post

Good stuff lotek and sapier... I've wondered about this as well. Thanks :)

Giack Frichitichi
New member
Posts: 8
Joined: Wed Jun 18, 2014 16:08

Re: [Mod] MOB Framework [2.3.6] [mobf] timekeeping

by Giack Frichitichi » Post

Can you add wool like kill result for sheeps?
At 43rd line you can change in this way:

Code: Select all

kill_result={"wool:white","animalmaterials:meat_lamb 2"},

atam7
New member
Posts: 6
Joined: Sun Aug 03, 2014 22:29
In-game: atam7

Re: [Mod] MOB Framework [2.3.6] [mobf] timekeeping

by atam7 » Post

I was wondering if you could tell me how to make the guard mobs friendly to all players but attack all hostile mobs? or could you add the ability for admins to spawn mobs to guard places from hostile mobs that are trying to harm player. something like guards in the elder scrolls series. thank you for your time!

atam7
New member
Posts: 6
Joined: Sun Aug 03, 2014 22:29
In-game: atam7

Re: [Mod] MOB Framework [2.3.6] [mobf] timekeeping

by atam7 » Post

or if there is a mod that does this, cold you please post a link. thank you!

sapier
Developer
Posts: 763
Joined: Tue Aug 16, 2011 18:17

Re: [Mod] MOB Framework [2.3.6] [mobf] timekeeping

by sapier » Post

atam7 you can configure a guard to attack those factions unfriendly to players that's most likely what you want

Edit1:
I just updated to 2.3.92, the only change is a new advanced_spawning version packaged, 2.3.92 is most likely the 2.4 version I'm gonna release this weekend.

atam7
New member
Posts: 6
Joined: Sun Aug 03, 2014 22:29
In-game: atam7

Re: [Mod] MOB Framework [2.3.6] [mobf] timekeeping

by atam7 » Post

can you tell me how to do that sapier? have virtually no programing experience. I can only find were to change what factions they are in, not what they are hostile to. where would they location of the file that determines what they are hostile to? could you give me as much info as possible. thank you very much in advance!

sapier
Developer
Posts: 763
Joined: Tue Aug 16, 2011 18:17

Re: [Mod] MOB Framework [2.3.6] [mobf] timekeeping

by sapier » Post

atam7 first you need to install the factions mod (make sure you get the new version provided by me)
next enter /mobf in chat window
you should see a "factions" tab
there you can create and configure factions e.g. a faction "my_guards"
next you can configure how other factions behave to that faction, there are some predefined ones by mobf e.g. monsters

once you did configure the faction you have to rightclick your guard and add it to this faction.

that's all ;-) no need to programm anything

atam7
New member
Posts: 6
Joined: Sun Aug 03, 2014 22:29
In-game: atam7

Re: [Mod] MOB Framework [2.3.6] [mobf] timekeeping

by atam7 » Post

Thank you for all the help sapier:) but I am still getting nowhere. I set the hireling to player relation to 1000 and hireling to monster relation to -1000 but guards still attack me

atam7
New member
Posts: 6
Joined: Sun Aug 03, 2014 22:29
In-game: atam7

Re: [Mod] MOB Framework [2.3.6] [mobf] timekeeping

by atam7 » Post

My intention is to get the guards to be friendly to all players and hostile to everything that is hostile to players (I assume monsters faction covers that).
I won't be able to use minetest for about a week.

Thank you for your time!

sapier
Developer
Posts: 763
Joined: Tue Aug 16, 2011 18:17

Re: [Modpack] Animals Modpack [2.4]

by sapier » Post

@atam7 For what I remember range is -100 to +100 ;-) seems like a check is missing to prevent invalid values.

Finally ... Animals modpack 2.4 did arrive. ... why not "mobf" ... well, mobf is the mob engine but the release contains spawning the mobs and factions mod so calling it that way would've been wrong. Mobf 2.5 will be split even more, animals will be moved from core to a separate repository.
Have fun!

lotek
Member
Posts: 22
Joined: Mon Jun 02, 2014 20:21
GitHub: LotekHeavy
IRC: lotek
In-game: lotek
Location: Switzerland
Contact:

Re: [Modpack] Animals Modpack [2.4]

by lotek » Post

I use now the new animals_modpack, factions and the newly adv_spawning (hope thats right) from your git account. Also I did a while a go a /clearobject and needed to use the "secondary spawning" features to get the animals back. Now, animals (wolfs, sheeps, cows, etcetera) are getting spread over the exist map again, but what I missing are vombies and other monsters. On newly generated maps vombies get spawned...

* Normal should this cpu intensive 2nd spawning add those mobs, too - right?
* Is with this new adv_spawning any help to respawn on generated maps?

thanx for your effort to build this great mod ;)
----
Mine Heavy
http://mine.heavy.ch

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 8 guests