[Modpack] Animals Modpack [2.5] -- 2.6 approaching

Temperest
Member
 
Posts: 651
Joined: Tue Nov 15, 2011 23:13
GitHub: Uberi

by Temperest » Wed Jan 04, 2012 02:18

sapier wrote:@temperest although I'd prefere people not to remove animals mod I'm going to add your idea to my mod if you don't mind ;-)


Use the code as you wish - although I'm sure you can rewrite it to be much smaller and simpler :).
WorldEdit 1.0 released

The Mesecons Laboratory - the art of Mesecons circuitry
Latest article: Mesecons Basics.
 

sapier
Developer
 
Posts: 763
Joined: Tue Aug 16, 2011 18:17

by sapier » Wed Jan 04, 2012 03:22

Have a look at the all new vampires lurking around all over the night and tell me if you like them ;-)
DON'T mention coding style!
(c) sapier all rights reserved
 

User avatar
rinoux
Member
 
Posts: 184
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 12:15

by rinoux » Wed Jan 04, 2012 10:08

this is my first attempt...
Image
sheep

Image
sheared sheep

[Thank you dannydark]
Last edited by rinoux on Wed Jan 04, 2012 10:48, edited 1 time in total.
 

robin
Member
 
Posts: 22
Joined: Mon Jan 02, 2012 15:53

by robin » Wed Jan 04, 2012 10:22

They are great. I really like hiding from them.

There is one minor thing: If you're close to the monster you look down to it. Maybe you can trigger the top only, when you're really higher than the monster.
 

User avatar
dannydark
Member
 
Posts: 428
Joined: Fri Aug 12, 2011 21:28
Location: Manchester, UK

by dannydark » Wed Jan 04, 2012 10:31

rinoux wrote:this is my first attempt... Image


You've tried to show a image using the wrong url so thought I would link it for you ^_^

Image
sheep

-------------------------------------

EDIT: Just noticed you've added another image with the incorrect url again, while on the image page (http://www.hostingpics.net/viewer.php?id=243448moutontondu.png) click your image which will open your image in a new window this is the link you should use (or just copy link address of the image by right clicking).

Image
sheared sheep
Last edited by dannydark on Wed Jan 04, 2012 10:36, edited 1 time in total.
 

sapier
Developer
 
Posts: 763
Joined: Tue Aug 16, 2011 18:17

by sapier » Wed Jan 04, 2012 11:23

@robin I've noticed that behaviour too, it's result of automatic sprite changing and lack of collision box beeing linked to sprite scale. I'll have some thoughts about how to adjust collision box to sprite scale

EDIT1
@rinoux they are looking great if you like to draw the other (preferably) 5 sides but 4 will do too, and of course you don't mind I'd like to include them as default textures. Have a look at the templates folder for how to place graphics within image for multi side textures.

EDIT2
one small remark, a sheep without it's wool is much smaller than with wool ;-) but I'd take the picture anyway
Last edited by sapier on Wed Jan 04, 2012 11:28, edited 1 time in total.
DON'T mention coding style!
(c) sapier all rights reserved
 

robin
Member
 
Posts: 22
Joined: Mon Jan 02, 2012 15:53

by robin » Wed Jan 04, 2012 11:37

One more thing:

Code: Select all
12:31:22: ERROR[ServerThread]: ERROR: An unhandled exception occurred: LuaError: error running function 'on_step': ...obin/modserver/bin/../data/mods/animals/fighting.lua:255: attempt to compare number
with nil
12:31:22: ERROR[ServerThread]: stack traceback:

In thread 7f404bfff700:
/home/robin/modbase/minetest/src/server.cpp:115: virtual void* ServerThread::Thread(): Assertion '0'
failed.
Debug stacks:
DEBUG STACK FOR THREAD 7f404bfff700:
#0  virtual void* ServerThread::Thread()
(Leftover data: #1  void Server::AsyncRunStep())
(Leftover data: #2  virtual void ServerEnvironment::step(float))
(Leftover data: #3  void RemoteClient::GetNextBlocks(Server*, float, irr::core::array<PrioritySortedB
lockTransfer, irr::core::irrAllocator<PrioritySortedBlockTransfer> >&))
(Leftover data: #4  void BlockEmergeQueue::addBlock(irr::u16, v3s16, irr::u8))
DEBUG STACK FOR THREAD 7f4051fb5720:
#0  int main(int, char**)
#1  void dedicated_server_loop(Server&, bool&)
(Leftover data: #2  void Server::step(float))
Aborted
 

rahonejm
Member
 
Posts: 88
Joined: Wed Dec 28, 2011 01:58
Location: Brazil

by rahonejm » Wed Jan 04, 2012 11:53

I downloaded the last version of minetest for windows (New update! \o/) and then downloaded 0.5 of your mod (the last one compatible). But before i downloaded the first version of your mod, for an outdated minetest. But, for code bugs i think, there was too many animals, and lag all my pc :(. Then, i just deleted your mod but my world get full of unknown objects. Now, when i try the 0.5 on the world full of unknown objects, my fps drops to 5 and it lags everything. I tested in a clean world, and your mods works perfectly fine! What i would like to know, is if there is a way for me to delete all the unknown objects from my world, 'cause it keeps genereting this objects, and keep full of errors. Your mod is awesome and i want to play it in my world with no lag! If anyone can help me i would be glad!

P.S. Sorry for the long post :)
Sorry for possible language mistakes
 

User avatar
dannydark
Member
 
Posts: 428
Joined: Fri Aug 12, 2011 21:28
Location: Manchester, UK

by dannydark » Wed Jan 04, 2012 12:01

@rahonejm If you run the following command "/clearobjects" without the quotes that will remove all objects from your world.

However, keep in mind if you use the farming mod it will also remove any half grown crops and it may take a long time to complete depending on how many objects are in your world.
 

User avatar
neko259
Member
 
Posts: 804
Joined: Sun Jun 19, 2011 06:51

by neko259 » Wed Jan 04, 2012 12:10

I think beasts should spawn in the dark, not at night. I don't like an idea to have a vampire in my well-lighted tree-house :)
And maybe you can add some anti-vampire block (totem) that protects certain area from vampires spawning? Maybe it could be made from something you get from killing a vampire.
s3tuPDfUv2IyvXHzPmE31MQvnWULv1zj
 

rahonejm
Member
 
Posts: 88
Joined: Wed Dec 28, 2011 01:58
Location: Brazil

by rahonejm » Wed Jan 04, 2012 12:18

@dannydark Man thank you sooooooo much! It worked! HELL YEAH!
Sorry for possible language mistakes
 

User avatar
rinoux
Member
 
Posts: 184
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 12:15

by rinoux » Wed Jan 04, 2012 12:40

sapier wrote:EDIT1
@rinoux they are looking great if you like to draw the other (preferably) 5 sides but 4 will do too, and of course you don't mind I'd like to include them as default textures. Have a look at the templates folder for how to place graphics within image for multi side textures.

EDIT2
one small remark, a sheep without it's wool is much smaller than with wool ;-) but I'd take the picture anyway


@Sapier: I'll try to do it.
Image Image Image
Image

[EDIT] I'm drawing the "naked sheep" ...
Last edited by rinoux on Wed Jan 04, 2012 15:56, edited 1 time in total.
 

sapier
Developer
 
Posts: 763
Joined: Tue Aug 16, 2011 18:17

by sapier » Wed Jan 04, 2012 15:31

Vampires do spawn in areas where light level is below a certain threshold AND there's a sunlight at daytime. This is to avoid spawning vampires below trees or buildings.

There'll be a new version with fixed spawn algorithm soon (there was a strange effect generating way to many animals on frequent server restarts)

@robin don't quite understand why sometimes it's not possible to get a light level but i fixed it anyway for next version

@rahonejm sorry for the inconveniece caused by earlyer versions it's still work in progress wheres i think at least entity name format won't change anymore so the only possibility to get unknown objects in future versions will be if a animal is removed ... probably big red will be ;-)

@rinoux i really like the graphics looks great
EDIT1: I'll add it as soon as naked sheep is finished ;-)
Last edited by sapier on Wed Jan 04, 2012 15:32, edited 1 time in total.
DON'T mention coding style!
(c) sapier all rights reserved
 

User avatar
rinoux
Member
 
Posts: 184
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 12:15

by rinoux » Wed Jan 04, 2012 16:46

I've just finished the naked sheep. The licence is the same as for the game...

Image

[EDIT]

...and a chiken

Image
Last edited by rinoux on Wed Jan 04, 2012 17:19, edited 1 time in total.
 

User avatar
MrThebuilder3
Member
 
Posts: 104
Joined: Sat Nov 19, 2011 18:26

by MrThebuilder3 » Wed Jan 04, 2012 16:53

in 0.7 i get 0:52:54: ERROR[ServerThread]: ERROR: An unhandled exception occurred: LuaError: error running function 'on_step': ...02-1-\bin\..\data\mods\animals/movement_gen.lua:505: attempt to call method 'getvelocity' (a nil value)
10:52:54: ERROR[ServerThread]: stack traceback:

In thread 1488:
C:\tmp\minetest\src\server.cpp:115: ServerThread::Thread: Assertion '0' failed.
Debug stacks:
DEBUG STACK FOR THREAD 57c:
#0 main
(Leftover data: #1 ClientMap::renderMap)
(Leftover data: #2 ClientEnvironment::step)
(Leftover data: #3 Client::Receive)
(Leftover data: #4 Client::ProcessData)
(Leftover data: #5 MeshUpdateQueue::addBlock)
DEBUG STACK FOR THREAD ac8:
#0 EmergeThread::Thread
#1 ServerMap::loadBlock
#2 ServerMap::loadBlock
DEBUG STACK FOR THREAD 1274:
#0 MeshUpdateThread::Thread
DEBUG STACK FOR THREAD 1488:
#0 ServerThread::Thread
(Leftover data: #1 Server::AsyncRunStep)
(Leftover data: #2 ServerEnvironment::step)
(Leftover data: #3 RemoteClient::GetNextBlocks)
(Leftover data: #4 BlockEmergeQueue::addBlock)
 

sapier
Developer
 
Posts: 763
Joined: Tue Aug 16, 2011 18:17

by sapier » Wed Jan 04, 2012 17:14

did you use git code from at least 3. jannuary? getvelocity is a new function!
DON'T mention coding style!
(c) sapier all rights reserved
 

User avatar
MrThebuilder3
Member
 
Posts: 104
Joined: Sat Nov 19, 2011 18:26
 

sapier
Developer
 
Posts: 763
Joined: Tue Aug 16, 2011 18:17

by sapier » Wed Jan 04, 2012 17:26

a chickenImage ;-)

I got it :-) I'll add the long waited chicken next ;-)
DON'T mention coding style!
(c) sapier all rights reserved
 

sapier
Developer
 
Posts: 763
Joined: Tue Aug 16, 2011 18:17

by sapier » Wed Jan 04, 2012 19:29

Here it is the all new chicken and egg problem .... no not quite but I've a little bit reorganized the starting post.
DON'T mention coding style!
(c) sapier all rights reserved
 

User avatar
IPushButton2653
Member
 
Posts: 666
Joined: Wed Nov 16, 2011 22:47
Location: Mississippi

by IPushButton2653 » Wed Jan 04, 2012 19:44

I'm having problems with the newest release. I keep getting an error about the "getvelocity" function or whatever about five seconds into the game. I don't think I have the correct version. I have dev20120102-
 

Temperest
Member
 
Posts: 651
Joined: Tue Nov 15, 2011 23:13
GitHub: Uberi

by Temperest » Wed Jan 04, 2012 19:46

IPushButton2653 wrote:I have dev20120102-


Yes, you need a newer version.
WorldEdit 1.0 released

The Mesecons Laboratory - the art of Mesecons circuitry
Latest article: Mesecons Basics.
 

User avatar
IPushButton2653
Member
 
Posts: 666
Joined: Wed Nov 16, 2011 22:47
Location: Mississippi

by IPushButton2653 » Wed Jan 04, 2012 19:49

I looked on git, and all I see is my version as the newest. Any links for it? I'm on windows.
 

User avatar
rinoux
Member
 
Posts: 184
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 12:15

by rinoux » Wed Jan 04, 2012 20:13

There is the beginning of my version of the cow.

Image
 

sapier
Developer
 
Posts: 763
Joined: Tue Aug 16, 2011 18:17

by sapier » Wed Jan 04, 2012 20:45

there's no official precompiled windows version supporting getvelocity by now.

If you want you may use this build I just created, but of course I can't give any warranty it won't ruin your system. All I can guarantee is it didn't ruin my system by now ;-).
http://www.mediafire.com/?ciawv822imhn1n3
DON'T mention coding style!
(c) sapier all rights reserved
 

User avatar
rinoux
Member
 
Posts: 184
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 12:15

by rinoux » Wed Jan 04, 2012 22:41

And the beginning of my version of the deer.

Image
 

PreviousNext

Return to Mod Releases



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: tigersharke and 7 guests