[Mod] Mines [0.3 beta] [mines]

User avatar
BlockMen
Developer
 
Posts: 768
Joined: Fri Mar 01, 2013 17:24
Location: Germany
GitHub: BlockMen

[Mod] Mines [0.3 beta] [mines]

by BlockMen » Wed Jun 19, 2013 12:45

Hello everyone,

this mod adds abandoned mines to Minetest. Since version 0.2 you can find rarely chests with usefull stuff.

Screenshots:
Image
Image

Depends:
default

Download:
Version 0.3: Download (Minetest 0.4.8 or later)
Version 0.2: Download (Minetest 0.4.8 or later)

Version 0.1: Download

planned features:
- add decorations
- maybe traps
- maybe mobs

License:
WTFPL

Please give Feedback and ideas for improvement
Last edited by BlockMen on Mon Nov 25, 2013 15:23, edited 1 time in total.
 

User avatar
rubenwardy
Moderator
 
Posts: 5759
Joined: Tue Jun 12, 2012 18:11
Location: United Kingdom
GitHub: rubenwardy
IRC: rubenwardy
In-game: rubenwardy
 

User avatar
kaeza
Moderator
 
Posts: 2162
Joined: Thu Oct 18, 2012 05:00
Location: Montevideo, Uruguay
GitHub: kaeza
IRC: kaeza diemartin blaaaaargh
In-game: kaeza

by kaeza » Wed Jun 19, 2013 12:59

Nice.
Your signature is not the place for a blog post. Please keep it as concise as possible. Thank you!

Check out my stuff! | Donations greatly appreciated! PayPal
 

User avatar
Inocudom
Member
 
Posts: 3060
Joined: Sat Sep 29, 2012 01:14
IRC: Inocudom
In-game: Inocudom

by Inocudom » Wed Jun 19, 2013 13:12

This is a very nice addition to make to Minetest. It may be inspired by Minecraft, but I love finding abandoned mines. If you want help with this, paramat is a good member to ask for it. His fissures mod, float_lands mod, mount_meru mod, and nomoon mod are very nice. You should check them out!

Should carts become bart of the base game one day, I would suggest adding some of them to the mines.

In terms of caves and dungeons, how will these interact with them?
The comedic value of my videos is how abysmal they are: https://www.youtube.com/channel/UC5cyeM ... YTfYFlih_A
 

User avatar
cHyper
Member
 
Posts: 836
Joined: Fri May 06, 2011 08:49
Location: Austria
GitHub: cHyper-0815OL
IRC: cHyper
In-game: cHyper cHyper_0815

by cHyper » Wed Jun 19, 2013 14:39

awesome mod
jSVkREFXqivO7QeXdiIENhqdz3kH8M5O
 

User avatar
Jordach
Member
 
Posts: 4523
Joined: Mon Oct 03, 2011 17:58
Location: Blender Scene
GitHub: Jordach
IRC: Jordach
In-game: Jordach

by Jordach » Wed Jun 19, 2013 15:11

How dafuq do you even DO THIS?!1!
viewtopic.php?f=10&t=19056 Solar Plains Dev Server
 

User avatar
Zeg9
Member
 
Posts: 608
Joined: Fri Sep 21, 2012 11:02
Location: France

by Zeg9 » Wed Jun 19, 2013 18:03

Great!
Protip: use pseudorandom instead of math.random, so you get same mines with the same world seed.
I made a few (a lot of?) mods for minetest: here is a list.
See also the MT-Faithful texture pack (work in progress).
 

Nore
Developer
 
Posts: 501
Joined: Wed Nov 28, 2012 11:35
GitHub: Ekdohibs

by Nore » Wed Jun 19, 2013 18:14

PseudoRandom is buggy (I've seen cases where it generates always the same number, and sometimes that caused regurlarly-spaced nyan cats (one every 80 nodes)), so I use math.randomseed(seed) followed by math.random.
 

User avatar
LionsDen
Member
 
Posts: 530
Joined: Thu Jun 06, 2013 03:19

by LionsDen » Wed Jun 19, 2013 19:51

What does the outside of the mines look like? I added this to my world and spent an hour exporing and couldn't find a single mine. I also added the Glow mod which add mushrooms and Stones with worms that glow and found those just fine, but no mines. Are they extremely rare or can you only come across them when digging?
 

User avatar
Inocudom
Member
 
Posts: 3060
Joined: Sat Sep 29, 2012 01:14
IRC: Inocudom
In-game: Inocudom

by Inocudom » Wed Jun 19, 2013 20:53

It would be neat if mines had entrances to the surface.
The comedic value of my videos is how abysmal they are: https://www.youtube.com/channel/UC5cyeM ... YTfYFlih_A
 

User avatar
Mito551
Member
 
Posts: 1271
Joined: Sat Jun 16, 2012 15:03

by Mito551 » Wed Jun 19, 2013 20:55

Zeg9 wrote:Great!
Protip: use pseudorandom instead of math.random, so you get same mines with the same world seed.
Nore wrote:PseudoRandom is buggy (I've seen cases where it generates always the same number, and sometimes that caused regurlarly-spaced nyan cats (one every 80 nodes)), so I use math.randomseed(seed) followed by math.random.


what about taking the seed as this particular random number?
 

User avatar
BlockMen
Developer
 
Posts: 768
Joined: Fri Mar 01, 2013 17:24
Location: Germany
GitHub: BlockMen

by BlockMen » Thu Jun 20, 2013 05:43

Zeg9 wrote:Great!
Protip: use pseudorandom instead of math.random, so you get same mines with the same world seed.


This is a good idea, altough i prefer Nore's suggestion with math.randomseed().


LionsDen wrote:What does the outside of the mines look like? I added this to my world and spent an hour exporing and couldn't find a single mine. I also added the Glow mod which add mushrooms and Stones with worms that glow and found those just fine, but no mines. Are they extremely rare or can you only come across them when digging?


They start at -64 and not deeper than -380 (you can change this at init.lua). When testing the first "layer" mines where at ~ -113. So you can mine at this deep through the ground until you find one or they are sometimes connected with caves and each other (or nearly).


Inocudom wrote:It would be neat if mines had entrances to the surface.

hmm...that could be a rarely feature someday ;)
 

User avatar
Zeg9
Member
 
Posts: 608
Joined: Fri Sep 21, 2012 11:02
Location: France

by Zeg9 » Thu Jun 20, 2013 06:31

Mito551 wrote:
Zeg9 wrote:Great!
Protip: use pseudorandom instead of math.random, so you get same mines with the same world seed.
Nore wrote:PseudoRandom is buggy (I've seen cases where it generates always the same number, and sometimes that caused regurlarly-spaced nyan cats (one every 80 nodes)), so I use math.randomseed(seed) followed by math.random.


what about taking the seed as this particular random number?

randomseed with the block/world seed would have the same advantages.
I didn't know PseudoRandom was *that* buggy.
Last edited by Zeg9 on Thu Jun 20, 2013 06:32, edited 1 time in total.
I made a few (a lot of?) mods for minetest: here is a list.
See also the MT-Faithful texture pack (work in progress).
 

Sokomine
Member
 
Posts: 3827
Joined: Sun Sep 09, 2012 17:31
GitHub: Sokomine

by Sokomine » Thu Jun 20, 2013 18:30

Nice idea. Abandomed mines definitely fit into the world.
A list of my mods can be found here.
 

User avatar
cHyper
Member
 
Posts: 836
Joined: Fri May 06, 2011 08:49
Location: Austria
GitHub: cHyper-0815OL
IRC: cHyper
In-game: cHyper cHyper_0815

by cHyper » Mon Aug 12, 2013 13:05

are there any new versions planned?

with full chests?
jSVkREFXqivO7QeXdiIENhqdz3kH8M5O
 

User avatar
cHyper
Member
 
Posts: 836
Joined: Fri May 06, 2011 08:49
Location: Austria
GitHub: cHyper-0815OL
IRC: cHyper
In-game: cHyper cHyper_0815

by cHyper » Mon Aug 12, 2013 14:51

BlockMen wrote:They start at -64 and not deeper than -380 (you can change this at init.lua). When testing the first "layer" mines where at ~ -113. So you can mine at this deep through the ground until you find one or they are sometimes connected with caves and each other (or nearly).


simple code from me to set the min and max deep via minetest.conf:

mines_deep_max = -300
mines_deep_min = -10


LUA-code in init.lua:
Code: Select all
-- local MINE_DEEP_MIN = -20
-- local MINE_DEEP_MAX = -400

local MINE_DEEP_MIN = tonumber(minetest.setting_get("mines_deep_min"))
if not MINE_DEEP_MIN then
    MINE_DEEP_MIN = -20
end

local MINE_DEEP_MAX = tonumber(minetest.setting_get("mines_deep_max"))
if not MINE_DEEP_MAX then
    MINE_DEEP_MAX = -400
end
....
....
Last edited by cHyper on Mon Aug 12, 2013 14:52, edited 1 time in total.
jSVkREFXqivO7QeXdiIENhqdz3kH8M5O
 

User avatar
BlockMen
Developer
 
Posts: 768
Joined: Fri Mar 01, 2013 17:24
Location: Germany
GitHub: BlockMen

by BlockMen » Sun Aug 18, 2013 14:21

cHyper wrote:are there any new versions planned?

with full chests?


Yes, planned but currently not working on it.


cHyper wrote:
BlockMen wrote:They start at -64 and not deeper than -380 (you can change this at init.lua). When testing the first "layer" mines where at ~ -113. So you can mine at this deep through the ground until you find one or they are sometimes connected with caves and each other (or nearly).


simple code from me to set the min and max deep via minetest.conf:

mines_deep_max = -300
mines_deep_min = -10


LUA-code in init.lua:
Code: Select all
-- local MINE_DEEP_MIN = -20
-- local MINE_DEEP_MAX = -400

local MINE_DEEP_MIN = tonumber(minetest.setting_get("mines_deep_min"))
if not MINE_DEEP_MIN then
    MINE_DEEP_MIN = -20
end

local MINE_DEEP_MAX = tonumber(minetest.setting_get("mines_deep_max"))
if not MINE_DEEP_MAX then
    MINE_DEEP_MAX = -400
end
....
....



Thanks. I will add this to the code
 

User avatar
BlockMen
Developer
 
Posts: 768
Joined: Fri Mar 01, 2013 17:24
Location: Germany
GitHub: BlockMen

by BlockMen » Thu Aug 22, 2013 14:00

Update Version 0.2 beta released

Changelog:
- Mines are generated much faster by using VoxelManip
- chest with usefull stuff spawn rarely in mines
- min and max deep of mines can be changed via minetest.conf now (by cHyper)
cHyper wrote:set the min and max deep via minetest.conf:
mines_deep_max = -300
mines_deep_min = -10


Notice that you need one of the lastest dev builds, e.g. my builds or one of the other win-builds on General Discussion
 

User avatar
cHyper
Member
 
Posts: 836
Joined: Fri May 06, 2011 08:49
Location: Austria
GitHub: cHyper-0815OL
IRC: cHyper
In-game: cHyper cHyper_0815

by cHyper » Thu Aug 22, 2013 15:27

Image

this is a screenshot of a part of mines generated in the sky with filled chests. just a testmap for me!!

mines are hard to find at the moment, because there are generated deep under the earth.

what can we do now?

maybe every mine-entry should be visible? but how? we could make an entry by generate a shaft - or stairs? - upwards when the mine system is close to the surface or a dungeon?

are there any other ideas?



Image
Last edited by sfan5 on Thu Aug 22, 2013 17:37, edited 1 time in total.
jSVkREFXqivO7QeXdiIENhqdz3kH8M5O
 

User avatar
CraigyDavi
Member
 
Posts: 582
Joined: Sat Aug 10, 2013 13:08
Location: Hampshire, UK
GitHub: davisonio
IRC: davisonio
In-game: CraigyDavi

by CraigyDavi » Thu Aug 22, 2013 17:32

I like this mod and will definitely install it on my server. :)

Am I the only one getting this? When I clicked on this topic this came up!
Danger Malware Ahead!
Google Chrome has blocked access to this page on forum.minetest.net.
Content from chyper.at, a known malware distributor, has been inserted into this web page. Visiting this page now is very likely to infect your computer with malware.
Malware is malicious software that causes things like identity theft, financial loss, and permanent file deletion.
 

User avatar
BlockMen
Developer
 
Posts: 768
Joined: Fri Mar 01, 2013 17:24
Location: Germany
GitHub: BlockMen

by BlockMen » Thu Aug 22, 2013 17:40

CraigyDavi wrote:I like this mod and will definitely install it on my server. :)

Am I the only one getting this? When I clicked on this topic this came up!
Danger Malware Ahead!
Google Chrome has blocked access to this page on forum.minetest.net.
Content from chyper.at, a known malware distributor, has been inserted into this web page. Visiting this page now is very likely to infect your computer with malware.
Malware is malicious software that causes things like identity theft, financial loss, and permanent file deletion.



Nice to hear :)

And yes, the message is caused by the first image in cHyper's last post. I have already asked one of the moderators to fix that image
 

User avatar
cHyper
Member
 
Posts: 836
Joined: Fri May 06, 2011 08:49
Location: Austria
GitHub: cHyper-0815OL
IRC: cHyper
In-game: cHyper cHyper_0815

by cHyper » Thu Aug 22, 2013 19:00

BlockMen wrote:And yes, the message is caused by the first image in cHyper's last post. I have already asked one of the moderators to fix that image


sorry 4 that...
i dont know why my webspace should host malware! thats strange... 4 the future i use another space for pictures...
jSVkREFXqivO7QeXdiIENhqdz3kH8M5O
 

User avatar
BlauerEisRegen
Member
 
Posts: 73
Joined: Wed Jul 31, 2013 18:13

by BlauerEisRegen » Thu Aug 22, 2013 19:46

Mod seems very cool... what about crashed ways, with cobblestone in the ways? this would makeit more "dangerous"
 

User avatar
paramat
Developer
 
Posts: 3398
Joined: Sun Oct 28, 2012 00:05
Location: UK
GitHub: paramat
IRC: paramat

by paramat » Thu Aug 22, 2013 23:59

Don't know how i missed this mod, i look forward to trying it alongside my fissure and chasm mods, the combination should be interesting. I always loved the mines of MC.
 

User avatar
BlockMen
Developer
 
Posts: 768
Joined: Fri Mar 01, 2013 17:24
Location: Germany
GitHub: BlockMen

by BlockMen » Fri Aug 23, 2013 09:25

BlauerEisRegen wrote:Mod seems very cool... what about crashed ways, with cobblestone in the ways? this would makeit more "dangerous"


That is a very nice suggestion. I think i will add it in next release...


paramat wrote:Don't know how i missed this mod, i look forward to trying it alongside my fissure and chasm mods, the combination should be interesting. I always loved the mines of MC.


I have to try that with your mod too. But i guess you need to set the mines a bit higher for that, like cHyper's default values.
 

Next

Return to Mod Releases



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 5 guests