[Mod] Moon realm [0.11.0] [moonrealm]

User avatar
Evergreen
Member
 
Posts: 2135
Joined: Sun Jan 06, 2013 01:22
Location: A forest in the midwest
GitHub: 4Evergreen4
IRC: EvergreenTree
In-game: Evergreen

by Evergreen » Sat Jul 06, 2013 16:34

mauvebic wrote:
Inocudom wrote:Good to see you back with us again, Mauvebic.


Im just building though. Considering ive been waiting two years for a genuine space map, it's hardly surprising this mod piqued my interest :p As for development, that requires more patience for rudeness and politics than what i got lol

I'lll keep posting shots of my base as it progresses (unless paramat asks me to move them) :-)
A space map?


Image
Back from the dead!
 

mauvebic
Member
 
Posts: 1550
Joined: Fri Jan 27, 2012 11:32

by mauvebic » Sat Jul 06, 2013 16:49

Nore wrote:Mauvebic: I am currently doing something like that, but it is not very developped yet. You can still try it at https://github.com/Novatux/realms


With this mod the first step would be breaking up terrain generation into areas on the same plane seperated by barriers, which would each have their own parameters (sky, grass, water color, etc.) and like in the video, they'd be generated according to what pages you put together. Could be cool.

edit: I even found my old linking books (though they don't define realms/ages) and i figured out how to generate barriers (these test realms are 100^3) - now to apply different settings to each realm.
Image

paramat wrote:I'll release the version with red lakes later today.


No wonder I couldn't find any lol i finally made one myself :p here's a basic rig:

Image

Evergreen wrote:A space map?


Well when it comes to space maps you can build on, you got few choices. Asteroid fields, other worlds, moons and planetoids. Otherwise you're talking about a void map set on permanent night.
Last edited by mauvebic on Sat Jul 06, 2013 18:06, edited 1 time in total.
 

Shire
Member
 
Posts: 19
Joined: Sat Jul 06, 2013 13:20

by Shire » Sat Jul 06, 2013 18:02

No matter what I do, I can't get this to work.

The folder I installed it to.

Downloads\minetest-0.4.5\minetest-0.4.5\mods\minetest
Last edited by Shire on Sat Jul 06, 2013 18:03, edited 1 time in total.
 

Nore
Developer
 
Posts: 501
Joined: Wed Nov 28, 2012 11:35
GitHub: Ekdohibs

by Nore » Sat Jul 06, 2013 18:05

1. Did you read that: http://forum.minetest.net/viewtopic.php?id=6450
2. If this does not help, could you post the error message?
 

Shire
Member
 
Posts: 19
Joined: Sat Jul 06, 2013 13:20

by Shire » Sat Jul 06, 2013 18:09

Nore wrote:1. Did you read that: http://forum.minetest.net/viewtopic.php?id=6450
2. If this does not help, could you post the error message?


I've renamed it so many times, including the bracketed name in the title, still, it's not yet worked.

13:07:43: ERROR[main]: ModError: Failed to load and run C:\Users\Garrison\Downloads\minetest-0.4.5\minetest-0.4.5\bin\..\mods\minetest\moonrealm\init.lua

That's the most recent attempt, with the bracketed name.
Last edited by Shire on Sat Jul 06, 2013 18:10, edited 1 time in total.
 

Nore
Developer
 
Posts: 501
Joined: Wed Nov 28, 2012 11:35
GitHub: Ekdohibs

by Nore » Sat Jul 06, 2013 18:11

Could you post the lines just before that? (about 10 lines)
 

Shire
Member
 
Posts: 19
Joined: Sat Jul 06, 2013 13:20

by Shire » Sat Jul 06, 2013 18:13

GUIConfigureWorld: Not allowing focus change.

GUIConfigureWorld: Not allowing focus change.

GUIConfigureWorld: Not allowing focus change.

13:07:43: ERROR[main]: ========== ERROR FROM LUA ===========

13:07:43: ERROR[main]: Failed to load and run script from

13:07:43: ERROR[main]: C:\Users\Garrison\Downloads\minetest-0.4.5\minetest-0.4.5\bin\..\mods\minetest\moonrealm\init.lua:

13:07:43: ERROR[main]: ...netest-0.4.5\bin\..\mods\minetest\moonrealm\init.lua:567: attempt to call field 'register_ore' (a nil value)

13:07:43: ERROR[main]: stack traceback:

13:07:43: ERROR[main]: ...netest-0.4.5\bin\..\mods\minetest\moonrealm\init.lua:567: in main chunk

13:07:43: ERROR[main]: =======END OF ERROR FROM LUA ========

13:07:43: ERROR[main]: Server: Failed to load and run C:\Users\Garrison\Downloads\minetest-0.4.5\minetest-0.4.5\bin\..\mods\minetest\moonrealm\init.lua

13:07:43: ERROR[main]: ModError: Failed to load and run C:\Users\Garrison\Downloads\minetest-0.4.5\minetest-0.4.5\bin\..\mods\minetest\moonrealm\init.lua
 

Nore
Developer
 
Posts: 501
Joined: Wed Nov 28, 2012 11:35
GitHub: Ekdohibs

by Nore » Sat Jul 06, 2013 18:14

You need to get a more recent version of Minetest (at least 0.4.6, IRC)
 

User avatar
Jordach
Member
 
Posts: 4523
Joined: Mon Oct 03, 2011 17:58
Location: Blender Scene
GitHub: Jordach
IRC: Jordach
In-game: Jordach

by Jordach » Sat Jul 06, 2013 18:14

Shire wrote:GUIConfigureWorld: Not allowing focus change.

GUIConfigureWorld: Not allowing focus change.

GUIConfigureWorld: Not allowing focus change.

13:07:43: ERROR[main]: ========== ERROR FROM LUA ===========

13:07:43: ERROR[main]: Failed to load and run script from

13:07:43: ERROR[main]: C:\Users\Garrison\Downloads\minetest-0.4.5\minetest-0.4.5\bin\..\mods\minetest\moonrealm\init.lua:

13:07:43: ERROR[main]: ...netest-0.4.5\bin\..\mods\minetest\moonrealm\init.lua:567: attempt to call field 'register_ore' (a nil value)

13:07:43: ERROR[main]: stack traceback:

13:07:43: ERROR[main]: ...netest-0.4.5\bin\..\mods\minetest\moonrealm\init.lua:567: in main chunk

13:07:43: ERROR[main]: =======END OF ERROR FROM LUA ========

13:07:43: ERROR[main]: Server: Failed to load and run C:\Users\Garrison\Downloads\minetest-0.4.5\minetest-0.4.5\bin\..\mods\minetest\moonrealm\init.lua

13:07:43: ERROR[main]: ModError: Failed to load and run C:\Users\Garrison\Downloads\minetest-0.4.5\minetest-0.4.5\bin\..\mods\minetest\moonrealm\init.lua

You seem to be using an outdated version: update to 0.4.7 for the mod to run.
viewtopic.php?f=10&t=19056 Solar Plains Dev Server
 

Shire
Member
 
Posts: 19
Joined: Sat Jul 06, 2013 13:20

by Shire » Sat Jul 06, 2013 18:15

I didn't know it was released, as I'm still using the version that was available when I first used minetest. I'll download it and see where it goes.
 

User avatar
Jordach
Member
 
Posts: 4523
Joined: Mon Oct 03, 2011 17:58
Location: Blender Scene
GitHub: Jordach
IRC: Jordach
In-game: Jordach

by Jordach » Sat Jul 06, 2013 18:17

Shire wrote:I didn't know it was released, as I'm still using the version that was available when I first used minetest. I'll download it and see where it goes.
Just remember, update often if a new one comes out. I should really create a mailing list containing updates. (Includes mod updates)
Last edited by Jordach on Sat Jul 06, 2013 18:17, edited 1 time in total.
viewtopic.php?f=10&t=19056 Solar Plains Dev Server
 

Shire
Member
 
Posts: 19
Joined: Sat Jul 06, 2013 13:20

by Shire » Sat Jul 06, 2013 18:23

It seems to be working now~ Thanks for pointing me in the right direction.
 

User avatar
Jordach
Member
 
Posts: 4523
Joined: Mon Oct 03, 2011 17:58
Location: Blender Scene
GitHub: Jordach
IRC: Jordach
In-game: Jordach

by Jordach » Sat Jul 06, 2013 18:25

Shire wrote:It seems to be working now~ Thanks for pointing me in the right direction.
Your worlds made in 0.4.5 should work in 0.4.7 provided you update the mods.
viewtopic.php?f=10&t=19056 Solar Plains Dev Server
 

Shire
Member
 
Posts: 19
Joined: Sat Jul 06, 2013 13:20

by Shire » Sat Jul 06, 2013 18:37

On a final question, what coordinates do I teleport to?
 

mauvebic
Member
 
Posts: 1550
Joined: Fri Jan 27, 2012 11:32
 

Nore
Developer
 
Posts: 501
Joined: Wed Nov 28, 2012 11:35
GitHub: Ekdohibs

by Nore » Sat Jul 06, 2013 18:45

Mauvebic: with my mod, there are barriers, and a few differences between realms: sea level, sea material (lava/water), tree size, frequency and materials.
EDIT: it is at y=20000
Last edited by Nore on Sat Jul 06, 2013 18:45, edited 1 time in total.
 

User avatar
paramat
Developer
 
Posts: 3434
Joined: Sun Oct 28, 2012 00:05
Location: UK
GitHub: paramat
IRC: paramat

by paramat » Sat Jul 06, 2013 19:34

Yeah this mod needs 0.4.6 or later because the underground chunks and the realm atmosphere are generated by the new 'register ore' method.

Shire wrote:On a final question, what coordinates do I teleport to?

Yeah anywhere at y = 15000, then wait a couple minutes as chunks generate, then fly downwards to find the surface which will be between 14848 and 15008.
Last edited by paramat on Sun Jul 07, 2013 00:58, edited 1 time in total.
 

mauvebic
Member
 
Posts: 1550
Joined: Fri Jan 27, 2012 11:32

by mauvebic » Sat Jul 06, 2013 23:15

Qo'Nos realm (moonrealm 0.41 flavour)

w/o atmo.
Image
Klingon night w/ atmo
Image
* to run this alongside moonrealm, change YMIN and YMAX values (lines 12-13).
Last edited by mauvebic on Sun Jul 07, 2013 02:55, edited 1 time in total.
 

User avatar
paramat
Developer
 
Posts: 3434
Joined: Sun Oct 28, 2012 00:05
Location: UK
GitHub: paramat
IRC: paramat

by paramat » Sun Jul 07, 2013 15:47

Qo'Nos looks good in those colours, interesting bit of landscape too.
 

User avatar
paramat
Developer
 
Posts: 3434
Joined: Sun Oct 28, 2012 00:05
Location: UK
GitHub: paramat
IRC: paramat

by paramat » Sun Jul 07, 2013 21:17

Okay here it is ... lakes with colour parameters http://www.mediafire.com/download/28oz3q9eles2p9y/moonrealm042paramat.zip
Last edited by paramat on Wed Jul 16, 2014 14:14, edited 2 times in total.
 

mauvebic
Member
 
Posts: 1550
Joined: Fri Jan 27, 2012 11:32

by mauvebic » Thu Jul 11, 2013 16:42

I also made a Vulcan flavour, and working on an Andorian one.
Image

Im beginning to think an API wouldn't be a bad idea :p Something that lets you easily define otherworldly realms, that figures out the height and spacing between realms depending on the number of realms. Is that something you'd be interested in doing yourself or should I go ahead?
 

User avatar
paramat
Developer
 
Posts: 3434
Joined: Sun Oct 28, 2012 00:05
Location: UK
GitHub: paramat
IRC: paramat

by paramat » Thu Jul 11, 2013 18:28

I'm interested in the idea but busy with other stuff, and anyways you should go ahead since you have the inspiration.
B)
Last edited by paramat on Thu Jul 11, 2013 18:37, edited 1 time in total.
 

User avatar
webdesigner97
Member
 
Posts: 1325
Joined: Mon Jul 30, 2012 19:16
Location: Bergisch Gladbach, Germany
GitHub: webD97
IRC: webdesigner97
In-game: webdesigner97

by webdesigner97 » Thu Jul 11, 2013 19:58

I tried out this mod today and I have to say: I love it! The landscape is beautiful! This allows some more types of houses!
 

mauvebic
Member
 
Posts: 1550
Joined: Fri Jan 27, 2012 11:32

by mauvebic » Sat Jul 13, 2013 03:27

Out of curiosity, what's the difference between HL and Liquid Hydrocarbons?
Last edited by mauvebic on Sat Jul 13, 2013 03:28, edited 1 time in total.
 

User avatar
paramat
Developer
 
Posts: 3434
Joined: Sun Oct 28, 2012 00:05
Location: UK
GitHub: paramat
IRC: paramat

by paramat » Sat Jul 13, 2013 14:16

webdesigner97, that's cool you like it.

mauvebic,
HL = Hydroponic Liquid
LHC = Liquid HydroCarbon, for example the lakes of Titan are liquid methane and ethane.
 

PreviousNext

Return to Mod Releases



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests