[Mod] Bees and beekeeper [2.0] [bees]

Why do you like this version more?

epic formspecuh
9
11%
grafting tool that allows me to get the queen
15
19%
frames filled with honey
7
9%
polination and reproduction of flowers near hives
13
16%
new textures
5
6%
bees that are buzzing around
12
15%
the honey production that requires flowers nearby
19
24%
 
Total votes : 80

vitalie
Member
 
Posts: 66
Joined: Wed Feb 24, 2016 07:38
GitHub: ciubotaru

Re: [Mod] Bees and beekeeper [2.0] [bees]

by vitalie » Fri May 06, 2016 10:40

Bas080 wrote:Do you have suggestions for improving this mod?

Let me share my variation of the bees mod. Comments welcome.

Changes:
  • ABM spawning of new hives reduced. Now new wild hives appear mostly by swarming (see below).
  • Swarming introduced. Now, if an existing hive run out of space to store honey, a new wild hive appears nearby.
  • Honey/comb generation now depends not just on the number of flowers around, but also on the number of other hives.
  • More informative infotext (displays the number of full frames + current progress)
  • More realistic extractor textures and nodebox (see screenshot).
  • Pollination removed to prevent circular dependency (more bees -> more flowers -> more bees).
  • Setting variables to control swarming conditions, growth rate etc.
  • Compatibility with intllib (translations welcome).
  • Other changes (see readme.txt).

Download: https://github.com/ciubotaru/bees/archive/unstable.zip
GitHub: https://github.com/ciubotaru/bees (all changes are currently in 'unstable' branch)
License: GPL 3.0 or later

Image
Attachments
2016-05-06-192305_1280x1024_scrot.png
(184.14 KiB) Not downloaded yet
 

User avatar
BBmine
Member
 
Posts: 3410
Joined: Sun Jul 12, 2015 22:51
Location: USA
IRC: BBmine
In-game: Baggins

Re: [Mod] Bees and beekeeper [2.0] [bees]

by BBmine » Sun May 15, 2016 21:08

I found my first hive without even looking for it!
Image
Attachments
Hive.png
(427.04 KiB) Not downloaded yet
 

User avatar
rpgsniper2452
New member
 
Posts: 8
Joined: Mon May 16, 2016 15:04
GitHub: rpgsniper2452
IRC: rpgsniper2452
In-game: rpgsniper2452

Re: [Mod] Bees and beekeeper [2.0] [bees]

by rpgsniper2452 » Mon May 16, 2016 15:35

I have noticed there is a problem with this mod. When I place the empty honey frames into the artificial hive and then insert the queen bee the game crashes and it does not display any text. Maybe you can see how to fix this problem?
 

vitalie
Member
 
Posts: 66
Joined: Wed Feb 24, 2016 07:38
GitHub: ciubotaru

Re: [Mod] Bees and beekeeper [2.0] [bees]

by vitalie » Mon May 16, 2016 15:40

rpgsniper2452 wrote:I have noticed there is a problem with this mod. When I place the empty honey frames into the artificial hive and then insert the queen bee the game crashes and it does not display any text. Maybe you can see how to fix this problem?
Try my version of the mod.
 

cy
Member
 
Posts: 43
Joined: Sun Jun 24, 2012 17:25

Re: [Mod] Bees and beekeeper [2.0] [bees]

by cy » Sun Jun 26, 2016 09:14

vitalie wrote:Pollination removed to prevent circular dependency (more bees -> more flowers -> more bees).
Y'know that's how pollination works, right?

What you ought to do is just limit how many bees there can be. bees limited -> same rate of flowers -> no positive reinforcement.
 

vitalie
Member
 
Posts: 66
Joined: Wed Feb 24, 2016 07:38
GitHub: ciubotaru

Re: [Mod] Bees and beekeeper [2.0] [bees]

by vitalie » Sun Jun 26, 2016 12:58

cy wrote:
vitalie wrote:Pollination removed to prevent circular dependency (more bees -> more flowers -> more bees).
Y'know that's how pollination works, right?

What you ought to do is just limit how many bees there can be. bees limited -> same rate of flowers -> no positive reinforcement.
Why go halfway only? If you know how pollination work, you can make a realistic model. Something like this might do. Care to prepare a patch?

P.S.: It's just a game. It doesn't have to be realistic.
 

User avatar
Andrey01
Member
 
Posts: 2061
Joined: Wed Oct 19, 2016 15:18
Location: Russia, Moscow
GitHub: Andrey2470T
In-game: Andrey01

Re: [Mod] Bees and beekeeper [2.0] [bees]

by Andrey01 » Thu Jul 27, 2017 15:24

The mod is really awesome! I like beehives models and bees.

BBmine wrote:I found my first hive without even looking for it!
Image


Beehives often encounter because i tested it.
DL9Eh7xVBw7DXwLAMX1lStE21bSD2XUQ
 

redblade7
Member
 
Posts: 199
Joined: Sun Feb 15, 2015 07:14
IRC: redneonglow redblade7
In-game: redblade7 redblade7_owner

Re: [Mod] Bees and beekeeper [2.0] [bees]

by redblade7 » Wed Apr 18, 2018 19:16

As my servers grew the bees mod made them unusably slow with excessive ABM errors. I recently upgraded the bees mod on my server to vitalie's 3.0-dev, which does not have this problem. Stuff is transitioning over as you can't get bees from pre-existing beehives but you can get the honey and chop them down. Also, there seems to be a larger flower requirement than before.

However, I ran into a crash last night:

Runtime error from mod 'bees' in callback node_on_timer(): (PATH REMOVED)/games/minetest_game/mods/bees/init.lua:180: attempt to index global 'chosen_place' (a nil value)
-redblade7, admin of: THE CREATIVE GARDENS (creative), THE VALLEYS (sandbox), and THE DIGITAL FARMS (farming/hunger/shops)
 

redblade7
Member
 
Posts: 199
Joined: Sun Feb 15, 2015 07:14
IRC: redneonglow redblade7
In-game: redblade7 redblade7_owner

Re: [Mod] Bees and beekeeper [2.0] [bees]

by redblade7 » Thu Apr 19, 2018 19:48

redblade7 wrote:As my servers grew the bees mod made them unusably slow with excessive ABM errors. I recently upgraded the bees mod on my server to vitalie's 3.0-dev, which does not have this problem. Stuff is transitioning over as you can't get bees from pre-existing beehives but you can get the honey and chop them down. Also, there seems to be a larger flower requirement than before.

However, I ran into a crash last night:

Runtime error from mod 'bees' in callback node_on_timer(): (PATH REMOVED)/games/minetest_game/mods/bees/init.lua:180: attempt to index global 'chosen_place' (a nil value)


Is anyone involved in this project anymore? I'm desperate, my servers are crashing every day with that error!
-redblade7, admin of: THE CREATIVE GARDENS (creative), THE VALLEYS (sandbox), and THE DIGITAL FARMS (farming/hunger/shops)
 

User avatar
Nathan.S
Member
 
Posts: 798
Joined: Wed Sep 24, 2014 17:47
Location: Bigsby Texas
GitHub: NathanSalapat
IRC: NathanS21
In-game: NathanS21

Re: [Mod] Bees and beekeeper [2.0] [bees]

by Nathan.S » Fri Apr 20, 2018 11:50

line 180 reads as
Code: Select all
      bees.fill_new_wild_hive(chosen_place.pos)

I think it should be
Code: Select all
      bees.fill_new_wild_hive(chosen_places.pos)

I didn't test this at all, but I didn't see the variable chosen_place existing in code anywhere.
I record Minetest videos, Mod reviews, Modding tutorials, and Lets plays.
Check out my website, and brand new Minetest Modding Course
 

redblade7
Member
 
Posts: 199
Joined: Sun Feb 15, 2015 07:14
IRC: redneonglow redblade7
In-game: redblade7 redblade7_owner

Re: [Mod] Bees and beekeeper [2.0] [bees]

by redblade7 » Fri Apr 20, 2018 20:10

I will give that a try Nathan, thank you so much.

I also noticed a problem where chopping a hive will occasionally give you an unknown item "wax"
This is probably because of line 64:

inv:add_item('main', ItemStack('wax')) --20% chance


should probably be 'bees:wax'

But regardless I have changed that to 'bees:colony' since that's what everyone always needs more of :)
-redblade7, admin of: THE CREATIVE GARDENS (creative), THE VALLEYS (sandbox), and THE DIGITAL FARMS (farming/hunger/shops)
 

redblade7
Member
 
Posts: 199
Joined: Sun Feb 15, 2015 07:14
IRC: redneonglow redblade7
In-game: redblade7 redblade7_owner

Re: [Mod] Bees and beekeeper [2.0] [bees]

by redblade7 » Sat Apr 21, 2018 20:28

On Creative Gardens today I found a crash with:

2018-04-21 13:07:12: ERROR[Main]: ServerError: AsyncErr: ServerThread::run Lua: Runtime error from mod 'bees' in callback node_on_timer(): Invalid position (expected table got nil).
2018-04-21 13:07:12: ERROR[Main]: stack traceback:
2018-04-21 13:07:12: ERROR[Main]: [C]: in function 'get_node'
2018-04-21 13:07:12: ERROR[Main]: (PATH REMOVED)/games/minetest_game/mods/bees/init.lua:189: in function 'fill_new_wild_hive'
2018-04-21 13:07:12: ERROR[Main]: (PATH REMOVED)/games/minetest_game/mods/bees/init.lua:182: in function 'swarming'
2018-04-21 13:07:12: ERROR[Main]: (PATH REMOVED)/games/minetest_game/mods/bees/init.lua:560: in function (PATH REMOVED)/games/minetest_game/mods/bees/init.lua:511>
2018-04-21 13:07:12: ERROR[Main]: stack traceback:
2018-04-21 13:07:12: ERROR[Main]: [C]: in function 'get_node'
2018-04-21 13:07:12: ERROR[Main]: (PATH REMOVED)/games/minetest_game/mods/bees/init.lua:189: in function 'fill_new_wild_hive'
2018-04-21 13:07:12: ERROR[Main]: (PATH REMOVED)/games/minetest_game/mods/bees/init.lua:182: in function 'swarming'
2018-04-21 13:07:12: ERROR[Main]: (PATH REMOVED)/games/minetest_game/mods/bees/init.lua:560: in function (PATH REMOVED)/games/minetest_game/mods/bees/init.lua:511>


182 is the line I changed per the suggestion Nathan gave me.
189 is: minetest.get_node(pos).param2 = 0
560 is: bees.swarming(pos)
-redblade7, admin of: THE CREATIVE GARDENS (creative), THE VALLEYS (sandbox), and THE DIGITAL FARMS (farming/hunger/shops)
 

redblade7
Member
 
Posts: 199
Joined: Sun Feb 15, 2015 07:14
IRC: redneonglow redblade7
In-game: redblade7 redblade7_owner

Re: [Mod] Bees and beekeeper [2.0] [bees]

by redblade7 » Fri Apr 27, 2018 21:02

I am extremely desperate. My servers are going bonkers daily and I don't know what to do about it. I had no idea the later bees mod was not maintained. I'm commenting this and that out and nothing's working. I am very desperate and willing to work with someone. If I have to I'd like to replace all bee items with tree stumps or something. Please help me.
-redblade7, admin of: THE CREATIVE GARDENS (creative), THE VALLEYS (sandbox), and THE DIGITAL FARMS (farming/hunger/shops)
 

Previous

Return to Mod Releases



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: gpcf, Otter and 8 guests