[Mod] TBM Reloaded! [0.5][tbm]

User avatar
Dan Duncombe
Member
 
Posts: 904
Joined: Thu May 09, 2013 21:11
Location: In the unknown depths of Earth

[Mod] TBM Reloaded! [0.5][tbm]

by Dan Duncombe » Thu Aug 29, 2013 09:43

This is the improved version of the tbm mod, with a better crafting sequence etc. This mod makes more sense if you have PilzAdam's carts mod installed.
TBM stands for Tunnel Boring Machine, and is used to make tunnels.
When you place it,it will face the same way as you placed it, and will dig in that direction.
Right-click it, and you will get a formspec. On the left you will see 4 labeled slots, for coke, floor blocks, torches and rails. On the right will be empty space where mined items will go.
Place the necessary items on the left, and it will start digging. All dug items will end up in the chest-type area on the right. RAILS ARE OPTIONAL!
To stop, just take something out of the necessary slot, eg remove the cobble.

TODO:
Choose what floor material to use

License: CC-By-Sa

Download here

Depends: Default

Known Bugs:
  • With Technic, it will drop the nodes as items, and add them to its inventory, doubling the mined items.
  • Try to avoid driving it through the 0 of either x, y, or z axis
  • Try to also avoid driving under any falling node like gravel or sand, this may cause the TBM to drop as an item, losing the contents

Crafting:
[spoiler]
(S=Steel Ingot, C=Chest, F=Furnace, D=Diamond, St=Stick, Dr=Drill, E=Engine, P=Metal Plate)


Metal Plate x2
S S
S S


Engine
P P P
P F P
P P P


Drill head
- D -
D St D
- D -


TBM
P Dr P
P E P
P C P


Coal Coke
Cook coal in a furnace

[/spoiler]

Screenshot:
Image

Image
Attachments
tbm.zip
(367.9 KiB) Downloaded 545 times
Last edited by Dan Duncombe on Sun Sep 01, 2013 15:15, edited 1 time in total.
Some Mods: Castles Prefab Camouflage
My Games: Nostalgia Realtest Revamped
Servers: See above games.
 

User avatar
Dan Duncombe
Member
 
Posts: 904
Joined: Thu May 09, 2013 21:11
Location: In the unknown depths of Earth

by Dan Duncombe » Thu Aug 29, 2013 11:32

Update V0.2:
Changed Textures, better nodebox model.
Some Mods: Castles Prefab Camouflage
My Games: Nostalgia Realtest Revamped
Servers: See above games.
 

User avatar
jojoa1997
Member
 
Posts: 2890
Joined: Thu Dec 13, 2012 05:11
Location: Earth

by jojoa1997 » Thu Aug 29, 2013 13:19

What is the screenshot of?
Coding;
1X coding
3X debugging
12X tweaking to be just right
 

User avatar
Inocudom
Member
 
Posts: 3039
Joined: Sat Sep 29, 2012 01:14
IRC: Inocudom
In-game: Inocudom

by Inocudom » Thu Aug 29, 2013 14:03

The screenshot appears to be of the drilling machine.
Recovering from the abomination I am. Clocking time for Garry's Mod I am too.
 

User avatar
Dan Duncombe
Member
 
Posts: 904
Joined: Thu May 09, 2013 21:11
Location: In the unknown depths of Earth

by Dan Duncombe » Thu Aug 29, 2013 19:43

Inocudom wrote:The screenshot appears to be of the drilling machine.

Correct
Some Mods: Castles Prefab Camouflage
My Games: Nostalgia Realtest Revamped
Servers: See above games.
 

User avatar
jojoa1997
Member
 
Posts: 2890
Joined: Thu Dec 13, 2012 05:11
Location: Earth

by jojoa1997 » Fri Aug 30, 2013 11:27

Maybe you can add an on and off button. I notice sometimes it is hard for me to get it going even with the materials in. Also when it is running and I unload then load the area the tdm seems to flip the opposite way.
Coding;
1X coding
3X debugging
12X tweaking to be just right
 

User avatar
Dan Duncombe
Member
 
Posts: 904
Joined: Thu May 09, 2013 21:11
Location: In the unknown depths of Earth

by Dan Duncombe » Fri Aug 30, 2013 17:33

jojoa1997 wrote:Maybe you can add an on and off button. I notice sometimes it is hard for me to get it going even with the materials in. Also when it is running and I unload then load the area the tdm seems to flip the opposite way.

You say it is hard to get it going. Be patient and it should start,if not break and re-place. I don't see how it can flip. This has never happened to me, could you be more specific?
Some Mods: Castles Prefab Camouflage
My Games: Nostalgia Realtest Revamped
Servers: See above games.
 

User avatar
jojoa1997
Member
 
Posts: 2890
Joined: Thu Dec 13, 2012 05:11
Location: Earth

by jojoa1997 » Fri Aug 30, 2013 17:56

It is going one way. I go to spawn and when I come back it has reversed. BTW I found this on vanessae's server
Coding;
1X coding
3X debugging
12X tweaking to be just right
 

User avatar
Dan Duncombe
Member
 
Posts: 904
Joined: Thu May 09, 2013 21:11
Location: In the unknown depths of Earth

by Dan Duncombe » Fri Aug 30, 2013 18:01

jojoa1997 wrote:It is going one way. I go to spawn and when I come back it has reversed. BTW I found this on vanessae's server

That didn't happen to me. It shouldn't happen. Are you sure it wasn't another tbm? Also, it is generally good to not go too far away, in case the chunk unloads.
Some Mods: Castles Prefab Camouflage
My Games: Nostalgia Realtest Revamped
Servers: See above games.
 

User avatar
jojoa1997
Member
 
Posts: 2890
Joined: Thu Dec 13, 2012 05:11
Location: Earth

by jojoa1997 » Fri Aug 30, 2013 18:43

Yeah the chunk unloaded then reloaded.
Coding;
1X coding
3X debugging
12X tweaking to be just right
 

twoelk
Member
 
Posts: 1286
Joined: Fri Apr 19, 2013 16:19
Location: northern Germany
GitHub: twoelk
IRC: twoelk
In-game: twoelk

by twoelk » Sat Aug 31, 2013 08:09

cool mod.
Had a try and found out my tunnel layout ist often different.
Could you make it use whatever you put in the input section?
So for example I can lay down powered rails, have power plants instead of torches and use tiles as flooring.
If I could feed it asphalt this could also be used as a road building machine.

-Different fuels could change the working speed.
-Different lights could include glowstones and powersources such as powerplants to power rails.
-Different rails could include all sort of decorating, so I could lay powered rails, a dashed line or a red carpet if I wanted to.
-Different floor material could include asphalt for road building or glass for building transparent bridges over lava lakes - or whatever I put in that slot.

a further more complicated function might allow to design the layout of the floor. My tunnels for example have two powered rails, one on the left side and one on the right side. In the middle I have power plants at certain intervals. A road might have asphalt with a curb lining on the outside on the left and right and a line pattern in the middle.
Last edited by twoelk on Sat Aug 31, 2013 08:15, edited 1 time in total.
 

User avatar
Dan Duncombe
Member
 
Posts: 904
Joined: Thu May 09, 2013 21:11
Location: In the unknown depths of Earth

by Dan Duncombe » Sat Aug 31, 2013 08:53

twoelk wrote:cool mod.
Had a try and found out my tunnel layout ist often different.
Could you make it use whatever you put in the input section?
So for example I can lay down powered rails, have power plants instead of torches and use tiles as flooring.
If I could feed it asphalt this could also be used as a road building machine.

-Different fuels could change the working speed.
-Different lights could include glowstones and powersources such as powerplants to power rails.
-Different rails could include all sort of decorating, so I could lay powered rails, a dashed line or a red carpet if I wanted to.
-Different floor material could include asphalt for road building or glass for building transparent bridges over lava lakes - or whatever I put in that slot.

a further more complicated function might allow to design the layout of the floor. My tunnels for example have two powered rails, one on the left side and one on the right side. In the middle I have power plants at certain intervals. A road might have asphalt with a curb lining on the outside on the left and right and a line pattern in the middle.

Well, it is of course based on the original. But these, these are exactly the ideas I was going to work towards, although maybe not the speed.
First of all, I am working towards it using whatever you put in the floor, rail and torch slot.
Another idea which I am working on is the idea of choosing what you want for each of the three tracks underneath. This I am working on even now.
Thanks for the suggestions!
Some Mods: Castles Prefab Camouflage
My Games: Nostalgia Realtest Revamped
Servers: See above games.
 

User avatar
Dan Duncombe
Member
 
Posts: 904
Joined: Thu May 09, 2013 21:11
Location: In the unknown depths of Earth

by Dan Duncombe » Sat Aug 31, 2013 13:43

Okay, V3.0 is out.
Changes:
Requires coal coke to run- just cook coal in a furnace.
Places TBM Floor Blocks as flooring material.
Realistic Nodebox
New textures (ahem ahem, maybe Minecraft's Railcraft played a part in this bit)
More awesomeness all around.
Some Mods: Castles Prefab Camouflage
My Games: Nostalgia Realtest Revamped
Servers: See above games.
 

User avatar
Mossmanikin
Member
 
Posts: 599
Joined: Sun May 19, 2013 16:26
Location: where we don't speak english.

by Mossmanikin » Sat Aug 31, 2013 13:52

I like the new design, looks much better.
Also good idea to work around the collision issue like that.

Noob 4 life!
My stuff
 

User avatar
Dan Duncombe
Member
 
Posts: 904
Joined: Thu May 09, 2013 21:11
Location: In the unknown depths of Earth

by Dan Duncombe » Sat Aug 31, 2013 13:54

Mossmanikin wrote:I like the new design, looks much better.
Also good idea to work around the collision issue like that.

Just to note, for some reason nodebox collision doesn't go more than halfway into the next node, so I had to design it both realistically, and in a way that didn't seem like you were inside a solid machine.
Also, I have all the required textures, I do not need you to make any more. Yours did inspire some things though, and I used you r better drill texture. Thanks for your support.
Some Mods: Castles Prefab Camouflage
My Games: Nostalgia Realtest Revamped
Servers: See above games.
 

User avatar
Mossmanikin
Member
 
Posts: 599
Joined: Sun May 19, 2013 16:26
Location: where we don't speak english.

by Mossmanikin » Sat Aug 31, 2013 14:01

Dan Duncombe wrote:
Mossmanikin wrote:I like the new design, looks much better.
Also good idea to work around the collision issue like that.

Just to note, for some reason nodebox collision doesn't go more than halfway into the next node, so I had to design it both realistically, and in a way that didn't seem like you were inside a solid machine.
Also, I have all the required textures, I do not need you to make any more. Yours did inspire some things though, and I used you r better drill texture. Thanks for your support.


You did a good job with the textures and you're welcome. :)

Noob 4 life!
My stuff
 

User avatar
Dan Duncombe
Member
 
Posts: 904
Joined: Thu May 09, 2013 21:11
Location: In the unknown depths of Earth

by Dan Duncombe » Sat Aug 31, 2013 20:14

Lastly, I will switch back to cobble as flooring, because:
a) The special floor blocks impractical and make it overly expensive to run
b) It can refill it's cobble while mining stone
c) I like cobble better
Some Mods: Castles Prefab Camouflage
My Games: Nostalgia Realtest Revamped
Servers: See above games.
 

User avatar
Dan Duncombe
Member
 
Posts: 904
Joined: Thu May 09, 2013 21:11
Location: In the unknown depths of Earth

by Dan Duncombe » Sat Aug 31, 2013 21:11

Okay, V4.0 Update.
Gone back to cobble for flooring, for easier running and simplicity.
Also, added sound effect whilst drilling.
Lastly, animated drill texture.
Some Mods: Castles Prefab Camouflage
My Games: Nostalgia Realtest Revamped
Servers: See above games.
 

User avatar
jojoa1997
Member
 
Posts: 2890
Joined: Thu Dec 13, 2012 05:11
Location: Earth

by jojoa1997 » Sat Aug 31, 2013 21:26

Could you also add a recipe that turns "technical:coal_dust" into coal coke
Coding;
1X coding
3X debugging
12X tweaking to be just right
 

User avatar
Dan Duncombe
Member
 
Posts: 904
Joined: Thu May 09, 2013 21:11
Location: In the unknown depths of Earth

by Dan Duncombe » Sat Aug 31, 2013 21:46

jojoa1997 wrote:Could you also add a recipe that turns "technical:coal_dust" into coal coke

I could indeed. In next version.
Some Mods: Castles Prefab Camouflage
My Games: Nostalgia Realtest Revamped
Servers: See above games.
 

User avatar
jojoa1997
Member
 
Posts: 2890
Joined: Thu Dec 13, 2012 05:11
Location: Earth

by jojoa1997 » Sun Sep 01, 2013 00:24

I know you already answered this but can you please add a start and stop button. I was on VanessaE's server and waited five minutes with everything right and tried both coal and coal coke but nothing got the thing going.
Coding;
1X coding
3X debugging
12X tweaking to be just right
 

User avatar
Dan Duncombe
Member
 
Posts: 904
Joined: Thu May 09, 2013 21:11
Location: In the unknown depths of Earth

by Dan Duncombe » Sun Sep 01, 2013 09:19

jojoa1997 wrote:I know you already answered this but can you please add a start and stop button. I was on VanessaE's server and waited five minutes with everything right and tried both coal and coal coke but nothing got the thing going.

I may in due course. The best fix if it doesn't start, is just empty it, break, and re-place, then try again. You will also need to do this after exiting a game, or a server re-start.
Some Mods: Castles Prefab Camouflage
My Games: Nostalgia Realtest Revamped
Servers: See above games.
 

User avatar
Dan Duncombe
Member
 
Posts: 904
Joined: Thu May 09, 2013 21:11
Location: In the unknown depths of Earth

by Dan Duncombe » Sun Sep 01, 2013 15:18

Update 0.5- Now digs faster (1 node forward every 6 seconds), has a much nicer formspec, RAILS ARE NOW OPTIONAL!
Some Mods: Castles Prefab Camouflage
My Games: Nostalgia Realtest Revamped
Servers: See above games.
 

User avatar
aldobr
Member
 
Posts: 316
Joined: Sun Nov 25, 2012 05:46
 

User avatar
aracnus
Member
 
Posts: 57
Joined: Wed May 15, 2013 01:09
Location: Belo Horizonte - MG - Brazil
GitHub: aracnus
IRC: aracnus
In-game: aracnus

by aracnus » Fri Sep 20, 2013 17:25

Hi Dan,

I fixed the problem of not getting some blocks like gravel, marble and granite. The code was expecting a "drop" field on node definition table and some nodes don't have this parameter. Now, if it doesn't find "drop" field, it will take the name of the block instead.

I forked your repository, changed the code and will make a pull request, so you can update your code, ok? :-)
Last edited by aracnus on Fri Sep 20, 2013 17:41, edited 1 time in total.
 

Next

Return to Mod Releases



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: stu and 7 guests