[Mod] Advanced area protection [areas]

User avatar
BrunoMine
Member
 
Posts: 1011
Joined: Thu Apr 25, 2013 17:29
Location: SP-Brasil
GitHub: BrunoMine

by BrunoMine » Sat Dec 14, 2013 02:29

This mod seems very complicated. Explain better!
My small square universe under construction ... Minemacro
Comunidade Minetest Brasil
www.minetestbrasil.com
 

User avatar
CraigyDavi
Member
 
Posts: 582
Joined: Sat Aug 10, 2013 13:08
Location: Hampshire, UK
GitHub: davisonio
IRC: davisonio
In-game: CraigyDavi

by CraigyDavi » Sat Dec 14, 2013 20:08

brunob.santos wrote:This mod seems very complicated. Explain better!


Here explains all the commands in detail.
 

Sokomine
Member
 
Posts: 3616
Joined: Sun Sep 09, 2012 17:31
GitHub: Sokomine

by Sokomine » Fri Jan 03, 2014 02:27

My new markers mod allows to easily mark and handle areas. If you're having trouble with the chat commands, take a look at that mod! I hope it will make self-protection for players much easier in the future.
A list of my mods can be found here.
 

User avatar
TenPlus1
Member
 
Posts: 2384
Joined: Mon Jul 29, 2013 13:38
GitHub: tenplus1

by TenPlus1 » Mon Jan 06, 2014 19:07

It seems that cactus and tree blocks can be placed in a protected areas without any problems, any idea why ??
 

User avatar
ShadowNinja
Developer
 
Posts: 199
Joined: Tue Jan 22, 2013 22:35
GitHub: ShadowNinja
IRC: ShadowNinja
In-game: ShadowNinja

by ShadowNinja » Tue Jan 07, 2014 02:28

TenPlus1 wrote:It seems that cactus and tree blocks can be placed in a protected areas without any problems, any idea why ??

Yes. minetest.rotate_and_place ignored protection. I've fixed it here.
The best way to contact me is usually IRC (InchraNet, freenode).
 

freejack
Member
 
Posts: 72
Joined: Wed Jan 08, 2014 06:37

by freejack » Tue Jan 14, 2014 05:04

Ok it seems there is some lag between the update and the readme. I know it is not config.lau but settings.lau. I need to increase the max area to protect.

it says the max is 1024m^2, trying to increase it to 5000 or more. When I do it crashes on boot.
 

User avatar
ShadowNinja
Developer
 
Posts: 199
Joined: Tue Jan 22, 2013 22:35
GitHub: ShadowNinja
IRC: ShadowNinja
In-game: ShadowNinja

by ShadowNinja » Tue Jan 14, 2014 18:16

freejack wrote:Ok it seems there is some lag between the update and the readme. I know it is not config.lau but settings.lau. I need to increase the max area to protect.

it says the max is 1024m^2, trying to increase it to 5000 or more. When I do it crashes on boot.

Areas has no maximum or minimum size by default. And self-protection is limited to 50*100*50m^3 by default.
Do you mean Sokomine's markers mod?
It implements a GUI for areas and has a 1024m^2 hardcoded limit (although it's in a variable).
Last edited by ShadowNinja on Tue Jan 14, 2014 18:17, edited 1 time in total.
The best way to contact me is usually IRC (InchraNet, freenode).
 

freejack
Member
 
Posts: 72
Joined: Wed Jan 08, 2014 06:37

by freejack » Tue Jan 14, 2014 18:47

That is it thank you now off to figure it out.....
 

BRICK
Member
 
Posts: 19
Joined: Tue Jan 21, 2014 01:36

by BRICK » Tue Jan 21, 2014 01:56

I may be missing something, but I follow the steps (using the chat commands) to create an area, set myself as the owner, and then use the protect command to prevent others from digging/building on it.
Now here's the problem: the area is listed as my area, but people are still able to build and dig on the area even after I use the /protect command.

Any suggestions?
 

Sokomine
Member
 
Posts: 3616
Joined: Sun Sep 09, 2012 17:31
GitHub: Sokomine

by Sokomine » Tue Jan 21, 2014 01:58

The areas mod usually works pretty well and protecs reliably. Try my markers mod. It has a book and a marker stone that allow you to visualize the area. That way you can check if you protected the right place.

[Edit] Of course it might be that all your other players have extensive privs and are thus allowed to build in any area. Check if they got the areas-priv.
Last edited by Sokomine on Tue Jan 21, 2014 01:59, edited 1 time in total.
A list of my mods can be found here.
 

BRICK
Member
 
Posts: 19
Joined: Tue Jan 21, 2014 01:36

by BRICK » Tue Jan 21, 2014 02:20

Sokomine wrote:The areas mod usually works pretty well and protecs reliably. Try my markers mod. It has a book and a marker stone that allow you to visualize the area. That way you can check if you protected the right place.

[Edit] Of course it might be that all your other players have extensive privs and are thus allowed to build in any area. Check if they got the areas-priv.



Oh, so if they have the areas priv, then they are able to build on protected areas?
 

Sokomine
Member
 
Posts: 3616
Joined: Sun Sep 09, 2012 17:31
GitHub: Sokomine

by Sokomine » Tue Jan 21, 2014 02:40

BRICK wrote:Oh, so if they have the areas priv, then they are able to build on protected areas?

Yes. Players with that priv are area maintainers and can build there regardless of ownership. Do not give the areas priv to normal players. Only give it to your moderators/trustworthy players.
A list of my mods can be found here.
 

BRICK
Member
 
Posts: 19
Joined: Tue Jan 21, 2014 01:36

by BRICK » Tue Jan 21, 2014 02:56

Sokomine wrote:
BRICK wrote:Oh, so if they have the areas priv, then they are able to build on protected areas?

Yes. Players with that priv are area maintainers and can build there regardless of ownership. Do not give the areas priv to normal players. Only give it to your moderators/trustworthy players.



Okay, thanks! That clears up a lot of confusion...
 

gsmanners
Member
 
Posts: 159
Joined: Fri Jan 10, 2014 21:37

by gsmanners » Tue Jan 21, 2014 23:58

This is a pretty cool mod. It protects from dig and place, but not from anything else. So, you get these usage scenarios:

1) Set up a public place where the area is protected by an admin, so anyone can store or use items, but they can't change what those items are or where they are placed.

2) Set up a private place where the area is owned by that particular owner, using locked doors and/or locked chests to protect places/items completely from other users.

It wasn't completely clear from the description that this was the case until I tried this out, myself. There's also a few caveats:

- Doesn't protect your area from TNT or mesecon pistons (might have to adjust those mods if you use them).
- Doesn't protect your area from flowing water or lava placed on some kind of ledge a griefer might decide to build at the border.
 

User avatar
ShadowNinja
Developer
 
Posts: 199
Joined: Tue Jan 22, 2013 22:35
GitHub: ShadowNinja
IRC: ShadowNinja
In-game: ShadowNinja

by ShadowNinja » Wed Jan 22, 2014 03:24

gsmanners wrote:There's also a few caveats:

- Doesn't protect your area from TNT or mesecon pistons (might have to adjust those mods if you use them).
- Doesn't protect your area from flowing water or lava placed on some kind of ledge a griefer might decide to build at the border.

TNT mods should check for protection, as should mesecons pistons, using the protection API in the engine. File a issue with those mods. (Although there isn't area protection checking in the engine yet...)
Lava and water are virtually impossible to protect from as liquids need to be handled in the engine for speed. You can protect a few extra nodes to prevent liquids from getting to your things, and you can make tall areas so that greifers can't stack up over the top.
The best way to contact me is usually IRC (InchraNet, freenode).
 

gsmanners
Member
 
Posts: 159
Joined: Fri Jan 10, 2014 21:37

by gsmanners » Wed Jan 22, 2014 10:31

I was just thinking that you'd need something like a moat and a wall. It's classic protection all over again, but areas definitely helps even in that case.
 

Sokomine
Member
 
Posts: 3616
Joined: Sun Sep 09, 2012 17:31
GitHub: Sokomine

by Sokomine » Wed Jan 22, 2014 20:43

Most servers at least disable lava buckets above ground. Water is easier to clean away, and in the rare occasions where lava above ground may do something good, asking a moderator to place it ought to be possible.
A list of my mods can be found here.
 

User avatar
CraigyDavi
Member
 
Posts: 582
Joined: Sat Aug 10, 2013 13:08
Location: Hampshire, UK
GitHub: davisonio
IRC: davisonio
In-game: CraigyDavi

by CraigyDavi » Thu Feb 06, 2014 19:34

The area owners on the HUD do not seem to be working.
This happened just after I updated server to version 0.4.9.
Would anyone know what the problem could be? The hud.lua file is there.
 

User avatar
ShadowNinja
Developer
 
Posts: 199
Joined: Tue Jan 22, 2013 22:35
GitHub: ShadowNinja
IRC: ShadowNinja
In-game: ShadowNinja

by ShadowNinja » Thu Feb 06, 2014 21:46

CraigyDavi wrote:The area owners on the HUD do not seem to be working.
This happened just after I updated server to version 0.4.9.
Would anyone know what the problem could be? The hud.lua file is there.

0.4.9 has a bug in client initialization, the TOCLIENT_HUD_ADD command is sent, but it's sent before the client is ready to handle it. Update to a recent git build, wait for 0.4.10, or downgrade.
The best way to contact me is usually IRC (InchraNet, freenode).
 

User avatar
CraigyDavi
Member
 
Posts: 582
Joined: Sat Aug 10, 2013 13:08
Location: Hampshire, UK
GitHub: davisonio
IRC: davisonio
In-game: CraigyDavi

by CraigyDavi » Sat Feb 15, 2014 17:08

ShadowNinja wrote:
CraigyDavi wrote:The area owners on the HUD do not seem to be working.
This happened just after I updated server to version 0.4.9.
Would anyone know what the problem could be? The hud.lua file is there.

0.4.9 has a bug in client initialization, the TOCLIENT_HUD_ADD command is sent, but it's sent before the client is ready to handle it. Update to a recent git build, wait for 0.4.10, or downgrade.


At the moment it seems to sometimes show the area owners on the HUD but rarely.

So I need to update the minetest version. I use a dev build from January the 26th. Do I need a newer version?
 

User avatar
ShadowNinja
Developer
 
Posts: 199
Joined: Tue Jan 22, 2013 22:35
GitHub: ShadowNinja
IRC: ShadowNinja
In-game: ShadowNinja

by ShadowNinja » Sun Feb 16, 2014 04:40

CraigyDavi wrote:At the moment it seems to sometimes show the area owners on the HUD but rarely.

It's a race condition I believe, so your client might be ready in time, or might not.

CragyDavi wrote:So I need to update the minetest version. I use a dev build from January the 26th. Do I need a newer version?

It was fixed a few days after your build.
The best way to contact me is usually IRC (InchraNet, freenode).
 

User avatar
TenPlus1
Member
 
Posts: 2384
Joined: Mon Jul 29, 2013 13:38
GitHub: tenplus1

by TenPlus1 » Sun Feb 16, 2014 08:49

ShadowNinja wrote:
TenPlus1 wrote:It seems that cactus and tree blocks can be placed in a protected areas without any problems, any idea why ??

Yes. minetest.rotate_and_place ignored protection. I've fixed it here.


Works ok, am somehow still able to place doors though...
 

User avatar
CraigyDavi
Member
 
Posts: 582
Joined: Sat Aug 10, 2013 13:08
Location: Hampshire, UK
GitHub: davisonio
IRC: davisonio
In-game: CraigyDavi

by CraigyDavi » Sun Feb 16, 2014 09:10

ShadowNinja wrote:
CraigyDavi wrote:So I need to update the minetest version. I use a dev build from January the 26th. Do I need a newer version?

It was fixed a few days after your build.


Ok thanks. I'll update it soon.

TenPlus1 wrote:
ShadowNinja wrote:
TenPlus1 wrote:It seems that cactus and tree blocks can be placed in a protected areas without any problems, any idea why ??

Yes. minetest.rotate_and_place ignored protection. I've fixed it here.


Works ok, am somehow still able to place doors though...


Same here. People can place doors in protected areas.
Last edited by CraigyDavi on Sun Feb 16, 2014 09:12, edited 1 time in total.
 

Sokomine
Member
 
Posts: 3616
Joined: Sun Sep 09, 2012 17:31
GitHub: Sokomine

by Sokomine » Sun Feb 16, 2014 15:51

CraigyDavi wrote:Same here. People can place doors in protected areas.

That needs to be fixed in minetest_game in the doors mod.
A list of my mods can be found here.
 

User avatar
ShadowNinja
Developer
 
Posts: 199
Joined: Tue Jan 22, 2013 22:35
GitHub: ShadowNinja
IRC: ShadowNinja
In-game: ShadowNinja

by ShadowNinja » Mon Feb 17, 2014 04:17

TenPlus1 wrote:Works ok, am somehow still able to place doors though...

Fixed here.
The best way to contact me is usually IRC (InchraNet, freenode).
 

PreviousNext

Return to Mod Releases



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 5 guests