[Mod] Experimental mapgen [mg]

User avatar
Krock
Developer
Posts: 4572
Joined: Thu Oct 03, 2013 07:48
GitHub: SmallJoker
Location: Switzerland
Contact:

by Krock » Post

Ehm... Ho do those cities generate or build? I've found none yet nor a command to force the generation of one :/
Look, I programmed a bug for you. >> Mod Search Engine << - Mods by Krock - DuckDuckGo mod search bang: !mtmod <keyword here>

User avatar
Evergreen
Member
Posts: 2135
Joined: Sun Jan 06, 2013 01:22
GitHub: 4Evergreen4
IRC: EvergreenTree
In-game: Evergreen
Location: A forest in the midwest
Contact:

by Evergreen » Post

Krock wrote:Ehm... Ho do those cities generate or build? I've found none yet nor a command to force the generation of one :/
They generate naturally. You'll find one eventually
Back from the dead!

User avatar
mathiaswolfgang
Member
Posts: 33
Joined: Thu Oct 10, 2013 12:29

by mathiaswolfgang » Post

Is really easy to find a city.
Look at the Debug Text.
The first thing I see it this...

A village spawned at: x=-152 z=88

I do not see a city but I know where to look for it.
If there is no city at the beginning, then you are too far away from it.
Then choose one way and go it straight away.
Look at the debug window and you will find a city, believe me.

Image

But I get a problem at the start again.
I spawned in earth again. Buried alive.
Last edited by mathiaswolfgang on Fri Nov 29, 2013 16:04, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
derpswa99
Member
Posts: 78
Joined: Sun Mar 24, 2013 21:26

by derpswa99 » Post

This is the Biomes o' Plenty Mod I was looking for!!!!!!!!!!!! :D

User avatar
Enke
Member
Posts: 469
Joined: Fri Nov 15, 2013 02:56
GitHub: NANOsoldierEnke
IRC: Enke
In-game: Enke
Location: The internet

by Enke » Post

Very nice biomes mod.
Lush8
ExtraVars for Red Eclipse

<Anarchid> my turn was still the most awesome, yielding all the cripples, two captured paranormals, and death rate of about 30%
<ORCACommander> Anarchid: you need to work harder
<ORCACommander> I am hereby putting you under review until you can increase the casualty rate

User avatar
sfan5
Moderator
Posts: 3938
Joined: Wed Aug 24, 2011 09:44
GitHub: sfan5
IRC: sfan5
Location: Germany

by sfan5 » Post

Support added for waving leaves
Mods: Mesecons | WorldEdit | Nuke & Minetest builds for Windows (32-bit & 64-bit)

User avatar
viv100
Member
Posts: 80
Joined: Sat Aug 10, 2013 16:36

by viv100 » Post

What is this mod works with NPCF???

User avatar
philipbenr
Member
Posts: 1715
Joined: Fri Jun 14, 2013 01:56
GitHub: philipbenr
IRC: philipbenr
In-game: robinspi
Location: United States

by philipbenr » Post

mathiaswolfgang wrote:I spawned in earth again. Buried alive.
If I create a new world, I always spawn underground/at water level.
“I'd far rather be happy than right any day.”

User avatar
D0431791
Member
Posts: 19
Joined: Wed Nov 06, 2013 11:43

by D0431791 » Post

How do I disable villages and related components?
Minetest can be better if
*better data structure for players and unstackable items like JSON
*multi sqlite files so that multi dimension can be easily implemented
*more convenient mob developing interface

User avatar
paramat
Developer
Posts: 3699
Joined: Sun Oct 28, 2012 00:05
GitHub: paramat
IRC: paramat
Location: UK

by paramat » Post

derpswa99 wrote:This is the Biomes o' Plenty Mod I was looking for!!!!!!!!!!!! :D
The biome system was derived from this viewtopic.php?id=6736 :)

... actually i'm in the mood for adding more biomes to that now.
Last edited by paramat on Wed Dec 11, 2013 06:40, edited 1 time in total.
I rely on donations for basic income. PayPal viewtopic.php?f=3&t=14935 Patreon https://www.patreon.com/paramat

Nore
Developer
Posts: 501
Joined: Wed Nov 28, 2012 11:35
GitHub: Ekdohibs

by Nore » Post

D0431791: To disable villages, change the village_at_point function in villages.lua to:

Code: Select all

function village_at_point(minp, noise1)
    return 0,0,0,0
end
paramat: maybe we could work together on a new mapgen some day?

User avatar
paramat
Developer
Posts: 3699
Joined: Sun Oct 28, 2012 00:05
GitHub: paramat
IRC: paramat
Location: UK

by paramat » Post

Yes of course 'new mapgen' is my thing :)
I rely on donations for basic income. PayPal viewtopic.php?f=3&t=14935 Patreon https://www.patreon.com/paramat

User avatar
jin_xi
Member
Posts: 165
Joined: Mon Jul 02, 2012 18:19

by jin_xi » Post

fuck yeah! nore and paramat mapgen!

User avatar
rubenwardy
Moderator
Posts: 6301
Joined: Tue Jun 12, 2012 18:11
GitHub: rubenwardy
IRC: rubenwardy
In-game: rubenwardy
Location: United Kingdom
Contact:

by rubenwardy » Post

This is pretty awesome. I love map generation mods.

User avatar
freejack
Member
Posts: 72
Joined: Wed Jan 08, 2014 06:37

by freejack » Post

It keeps respawning a village it all ready created and I was over 500 blocks away.

A village spawned at: x=-324, z=269
A village spawned at: x=-324, z=269
A village spawned at: x=-324, z=269
12:14:21: ACTION[ServerThread]: Freejack places node default:torch at (-258,-153,215)
- default:torch 's place count is now 808
12:14:21: ACTION[ServerThread]: Freejack places node default:torch at (-260,-156,210)
- default:torch 's place count is now 809
12:14:21: ACTION[ServerThread]: Freejack places node default:torch at (-266,-159,208)
- default:torch 's place count is now 810
12:14:22: ACTION[ServerThread]: Freejack places node default:torch at (-268,-162,203)
- default:torch 's place count is now 811
12:14:22: ACTION[ServerThread]: Freejack places node default:torch at (-274,-164,201)
- default:torch 's place count is now 812
A village spawned at: x=-324, z=269
12:14:47: ACTION[ServerThread]: player Freejack crafts default:torch 4
12:14:47: ACTION[ServerThread]: player Freejack crafts default:torch 4
12:14:47: ACTION[ServerThread]: player Freejack crafts default:torch 4
A village spawned at: x=-324, z=269
A village spawned at: x=-324, z=269
12:15:11: ACTION[EmergeThread2]: Created mine at (-157,-177,367)
12:15:18: ACTION[ServerThread]: Freejack places node default:torch at (-276,-169,196)
- default:torch 's place count is now 813
12:15:29: ACTION[ServerThread]: Freejack places node default:torch at (-294,-149,260)

This is causing server issues.

Nore
Developer
Posts: 501
Joined: Wed Nov 28, 2012 11:35
GitHub: Ekdohibs

by Nore » Post

freejack, no, the village is not recreated... I know the messages are a bit misleading, but what happens when the message appears is just that is asked if there was a village to spawn here to check if terrain should be flattened, so nothing to worry about...

User avatar
prestidigitator
Member
Posts: 640
Joined: Thu Feb 21, 2013 23:54

by prestidigitator » Post

philipbenr wrote:
mathiaswolfgang wrote:I spawned in earth again. Buried alive.
If I create a new world, I always spawn underground/at water level.
I suspect this might be because it is still trusting the C++ MapGen for "ground level". Somehow I doubt changing the heightmap array in "on generate" callbacks will be reflected in the actual ground level afterward, but I COULD be wrong.

User avatar
webdesigner97
Member
Posts: 1327
Joined: Mon Jul 30, 2012 19:16
GitHub: webD97
IRC: webdesigner97
In-game: webdesigner97
Location: Cologne, Germany
Contact:

by webdesigner97 » Post

Very cool mapgen! I love it!

User avatar
meldrian
Member
Posts: 46
Joined: Sat Jan 12, 2013 14:02
GitHub: meldrian
IRC: meldrian
In-game: meldrian
Location: Germany
Contact:

by meldrian » Post

sweet! A great a idea, brings more adventure into this open world building game.

User avatar
Novacain
Member
Posts: 285
Joined: Sat Aug 31, 2013 01:03
Location: Skaaro

by Novacain » Post

philipbenr wrote:overpopulation? I think that there would only be a certain amount of NPC's with a limited lifetime... But I might be wrong...
A solution for over population could be that NPCs must be within X distance of spawner, and spawner can only generate Y NPCs.

As a seperate idea, the spawner could be designed to look like a bed, so they are more incognito.
EXTERMINATE!!!
My Tronrealm modpack
My tronblocks mod

Sokomine
Member
Posts: 4170
Joined: Sun Sep 09, 2012 17:31
GitHub: Sokomine

by Sokomine » Post

Novacain wrote: A solution for over population could be that NPCs must be within X distance of spawner, and spawner can only generate Y NPCs.
I've been thinking of something similar for the peaceful_npc. They do not need to roam the entire map. If there's more of them in towns then that's fine. Unfortionately, peaceful_npc are not the most intelligent and drown often, so the loss rate is quite high.
Novacain wrote: As a seperate idea, the spawner could be designed to look like a bed, so they are more incognito.
I had planned something like that for my villages. Unfortionately it doesn't work - the space above the bed is too tight in my cottages for the mobs to stand on (their collusion box is always vertical even when the animation is diffrent).
A list of my mods can be found here.

User avatar
twoelk
Member
Posts: 1403
Joined: Fri Apr 19, 2013 16:19
GitHub: twoelk
IRC: twoelk
In-game: twoelk
Location: northern Germany

by twoelk » Post

so always spawn besides the footend? or search for enough air nodes?

User avatar
prestidigitator
Member
Posts: 640
Joined: Thu Feb 21, 2013 23:54

by prestidigitator » Post

So I've completed a simplex noise algorithm (basically Perlin Noise v3) in pure Lua. Running luajit from the command line, it can generate a single 2D chunk of 80x80 noise values in just over 1 millisecond, and a single 3D chunk of 80x80x80 noise values in approximately 0.25 seconds. For real mapgen this would probably have to be done a few times for multiple octaves and probably different ore types (caves, etc.) and such, but IMO it's getting competitive enough to be worth the flexibility of doing things purely from mod code, especially because it doesn't mean having to get C++ changes past the dev team....
Last edited by prestidigitator on Wed Jan 29, 2014 08:56, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
sfan5
Moderator
Posts: 3938
Joined: Wed Aug 24, 2011 09:44
GitHub: sfan5
IRC: sfan5
Location: Germany

by sfan5 » Post

I generated an 1600x96x1600 map today and made an overview map:
Image
Edit: This is not the full map, for the full map see viewtopic.php?pid=134164#p134164
Last edited by sfan5 on Sat Mar 22, 2014 11:56, edited 1 time in total.
Mods: Mesecons | WorldEdit | Nuke & Minetest builds for Windows (32-bit & 64-bit)

Sokomine
Member
Posts: 4170
Joined: Sun Sep 09, 2012 17:31
GitHub: Sokomine

by Sokomine » Post

sfan5 wrote: I generated an 1600x96x1600 map today and made an overview map:
Looks fine. It seems far more structured/less small-scale than the usual mapgen.
A list of my mods can be found here.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 12 guests