[Mod] Monorail [0.1.2] [monorail]

sapier
Developer
Posts: 763
Joined: Tue Aug 16, 2011 18:17

Re: [Mod] Monorail [0.1.1] [monorail]

by sapier » Post

Quite some time since you reported that bug but finally I managed to fix it. 0.1.1 has different inventories for each cart again.

User avatar
Inocudom
Member
Posts: 3121
Joined: Sat Sep 29, 2012 01:14
IRC: Inocudom
In-game: Inocudom

Re: [Mod] Monorail [0.1.2] [monorail]

by Inocudom » Post

Still no servers testing this mod...

sapier
Developer
Posts: 763
Joined: Tue Aug 16, 2011 18:17

Re: [Mod] Monorail [0.1.2] [monorail]

by sapier » Post

true, seems like mods not beeing updated frequently because they're feature complete get lost :-)

Sokomine
Member
Posts: 4290
Joined: Sun Sep 09, 2012 17:31
GitHub: Sokomine
IRC: Sokomine
In-game: Sokomine

Re: [Mod] Monorail [0.1.2] [monorail]

by Sokomine » Post

Inocudom wrote: Still no servers testing this mod...
I just saw one where a small monorail system was installed, but don't remember which server it was.
sapier wrote: true, seems like mods not beeing updated frequently because they're feature complete get lost :-)
Yes. That seems so. It's a bit diffrent if the mod is used on many popular servers. Otherwise, mods witch are buried deep inside the mod releases part of the forum are more or less lost. I've tried to start a page on the wiki where I assigned categories to mods so that people looking for something in particular have at least a chance to find a mod, but that's a lot of work and will not progress further until I write (or get) a script for doing part of that automaticly. There're just too many mods for manual cut&paste.
A list of my mods can be found here.

Miner59
Member
Posts: 46
Joined: Mon Sep 22, 2014 19:14

Re: [Mod] Monorail [0.1.2] [monorail]

by Miner59 » Post

Hello together,

I think I found a little bug in your code. In line 330 of cart_generic.lua there's this line

current_state.pos.x = math.floor(current_state.pos.x + 0.5)

you need to replace x with z:

current_state.pos.z = math.floor(current_state.pos.z + 0.5)

I think this caused the cart to stop when it goes in this kind of curves because the cart could hang in the wall.
Was not easy to find this :-)

Also I recognised the mesecon signal from the Cart Detector Block switches to off for short moments, although there is a cart standing in front of it the whole time. This gave me some problems when controlling a switch with a Cart Detector Block, but I found some mesecon logic to avoid it.

Maybe you could add support for moreores:copper_rails to your mod, too?

I used it with normal carts, not monorails and started a little cart network, with seems to work very good now. Thanks!

Miner59
Member
Posts: 46
Joined: Mon Sep 22, 2014 19:14

Re: [Mod] Monorail [0.1.2] [monorail]

by Miner59 » Post

Hi,
I had again problems with carts stopping at always the same curve and found that two if blocks are missing in your code.

Code: Select all


    if (node_z_prev ~= nil and is_slider(node_z_prev.name)) and 
       (node_x_prev_below ~= nil and is_slider(node_x_prev_below.name))
         then
        return "x-"
    end

    if (node_z_next ~= nil and is_slider(node_z_next.name)) and 
       (node_x_next_below ~= nil and is_slider(node_x_next_below.name))
	 then
        return "z+"
    end

Add this code to function handle_curves in slider.lua, line 618, after the other if blocks.
Thanks.

bloodpuddingyum
New member
Posts: 1
Joined: Fri Oct 24, 2014 11:58

Re: [Mod] Monorail [0.1.2] [monorail]

by bloodpuddingyum » Post

I can't figure out how to get the "vertical sliders" to work. Any guide or hints or explanation? I just can't figure it out.

arifsaha
New member
Posts: 2
Joined: Sun Mar 29, 2015 14:10
GitHub: arifsaha
Contact:

How to use Accelerator, Switch, etc.

by arifsaha » Post

polletfa wrote:@Brick : The accelerator pushes a cart when powered on by mesecons (so you can start a cart automatically). The cart detector can be use to power a mesecons circuit on when a cart passes by. The switch select a direction and can be turned on/off with mesecons or by hand.
How to place the accelerator and switch so they work? I tried to put an accelerator behind a cart on a turn, but nothing happened when I powered it up. I also tried switches at various location around a branch but so far could not figure it out.

Thanks!

User avatar
Sane
Member
Posts: 103
Joined: Tue Jun 17, 2014 09:31
GitHub: mt-sane
In-game: Sane

Re: [Mod] Monorail [0.1.2] [monorail]

by Sane » Post

bloodpuddingyum wrote:I can't figure out how to get the "vertical sliders" to work. Any guide or hints or explanation? I just can't figure it out.
Any progress on that matter?
Trying to stay me.

User avatar
Inocudom
Member
Posts: 3121
Joined: Sat Sep 29, 2012 01:14
IRC: Inocudom
In-game: Inocudom

Re: [Mod] Monorail [0.1.2] [monorail]

by Inocudom » Post

Sane wrote:
bloodpuddingyum wrote:I can't figure out how to get the "vertical sliders" to work. Any guide or hints or explanation? I just can't figure it out.
Any progress on that matter?
Don't get your hopes up, for it doesn't look like there ever will be.

User avatar
Sane
Member
Posts: 103
Joined: Tue Jun 17, 2014 09:31
GitHub: mt-sane
In-game: Sane

Re: [Mod] Monorail [0.1.2] [monorail]

by Sane » Post

Inocudom wrote:
Sane wrote:
bloodpuddingyum wrote:I can't figure out how to get the "vertical sliders" to work. Any guide or hints or explanation? I just can't figure it out.
Any progress on that matter?
Don't get your hopes up, for it doesn't look like there ever will be.
Oh, too bad.
I am still looking for something to get me down to mine levels and up again without teleporting, and without endless manual ladder climbing.
Trying to stay me.

Sokomine
Member
Posts: 4290
Joined: Sun Sep 09, 2012 17:31
GitHub: Sokomine
IRC: Sokomine
In-game: Sokomine

Re: [Mod] Monorail [0.1.2] [monorail]

by Sokomine » Post

Sane wrote: I am still looking for something to get me down to mine levels and up again without teleporting, and without endless manual ladder climbing.
Well, the down part usually isn't the problem....Although, in the end, having to load all those blocks inbetween is not that entertaining. Teleporting is a practical approach.
A list of my mods can be found here.

wilkgr76
Member
Posts: 832
Joined: Wed Feb 18, 2015 02:44
GitHub: wilkgr76

Re: [Mod] Monorail [0.1.2] [monorail]

by wilkgr76 » Post

Sane wrote:without endless manual ladder climbing.
Yep, that's very annoying.
N/A

User avatar
LRV
Helper
Posts: 378
Joined: Mon Dec 19, 2016 17:29
GitHub: Mooncarguy
In-game: Mooncarman Mooncarguy

Re: [Mod] Monorail [0.1.2] [monorail]

by LRV » Post

Download link broke.
This is a cool signature. :)

User avatar
orwell
Member
Posts: 958
Joined: Wed Jun 24, 2015 18:45
GitHub: orwell96
IRC: orwell96_mt
In-game: orwell
Location: Raxacoricofallapatorius

Re: [Mod] Monorail [0.1.2] [monorail]

by orwell » Post

Hm, this mod is abandoned ever since I started playing Minetest...
Lua is great!
List of my mods
I like singing. I like dancing. I like ... niyummm...

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot] and 39 guests