[Mod] Ethereal [1.16] [ethereal]

Xanthin
Member
Posts: 126
Joined: Fri Mar 07, 2014 14:05
GitHub: Xanthin
IRC: Xanthin
In-game: Xanthin
Location: Germany

Re: [Mod] Ethereal [1.16] [ethereal]

by Xanthin » Post

Merurino wrote:TenPlus1, just another question that I wasn't able to sort by reading the "secret GuIde of The ninja forbidden arts", if you know what I mean.

Do fruits grow back on the trees?
For example, if I collect just the bananas from the banana tree, will they grow back eventually? Or I have to plant a new tree?

Thanks.
The fruits like apple and banana don't grow back (only cocoa beans from the farming redo mod used at Xanadu what you probably refere can, iirc) so you will have to grow up a new tree.

Side note: Glünggi made a mod for this (general) purpose, named refruit. With some modifiactions both mods could work well together, I think.
Last edited by Xanthin on Thu Nov 19, 2015 16:17, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
firefox
Member
Posts: 1582
Joined: Wed Jan 14, 2015 07:34
In-game: Red_Fox
Location: Xanadu

Re: [Mod] Ethereal [1.16] [ethereal]

by firefox » Post

cocoa does not really regrow on it's own.
you have to "plant" it first, then it grows like any other farming plant.
but instead of wet soil, cocoa needs jungle trees.

it sounds simple, but there are quite a few conditions that you have to meet.
use the Ninja Art of Clairvoyance to see how it works. ;)
=(^.^)= nyan~

Xanthin
Member
Posts: 126
Joined: Fri Mar 07, 2014 14:05
GitHub: Xanthin
IRC: Xanthin
In-game: Xanthin
Location: Germany

Re: [Mod] Ethereal [1.16] [ethereal]

by Xanthin » Post

Yes, you're right firefox. In the meantime I remembered that too. Simply a year ago I farmed cocoa the last time. :)
edit: and that's why I had to look into it again and see: no need to "plant" cocoa. Just needs (without modifications, ehem) a good "portion of patience and time". That's why attaching a cocoa to a trunk with leaves is just much more efficient.

If anyone like, there is my port of Glünggi's refruit mod (mentioned in my last post) for ethereal. I hope I made no mistakes. I just had to try it.

------
edit: Deleted the already outdated attachement after some more changes.
You can download the mod from its github repo.
(for usage delete the automatic added "-master" in the mod name)

amadin
Member
Posts: 548
Joined: Tue Jun 16, 2015 16:23

Re: [Mod] Ethereal [1.16] [ethereal]

by amadin » Post

Hi. Does noise_params will work for biome in mapgen_v7n.lua? Or maybe is another way to change biome size. Because bamboo biomes is too large for me.

User avatar
TenPlus1
Member
Posts: 2832
Joined: Mon Jul 29, 2013 13:38
GitHub: tenplus1

Re: [Mod] Ethereal [1.16] [ethereal]

by TenPlus1 » Post

For Ethereal the heat and humidity of a biome typically determines it's size which is why I am working on the values to make them more even.

Updated to 1.19

- Added new biome routine
- Tweaked biome values (no more huge bamboo biome)
- Tweaked plant and tree decorations
- Fixed farming compatibility when using hoe on ethereal grass
- Dirt with dry grass changed into green dirt when near water
- Ice or snow above sea level melts into river water

https://github.com/tenplus1/ethereal
Last edited by TenPlus1 on Fri Nov 27, 2015 09:27, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
tulenitata
Member
Posts: 67
Joined: Mon Nov 09, 2015 17:30
In-game: ulmo
Location: Holy Roman Empire

Re: [Mod] Ethereal [1.16] [ethereal]

by tulenitata » Post

Ethereal + Mineclone
Attachments
screenshot_873669058.png
(337.25 KiB) Not downloaded yet
excuse the bad English Thanks
It is my subgame viewtopic.php?f=50&t=13986

User avatar
Hybrid Dog
Member
Posts: 2767
Joined: Thu Nov 01, 2012 12:46
GitHub: HybridDog

Re: [Mod] Ethereal [1.16] [ethereal]

by Hybrid Dog » Post

tulenitata wrote:Ethereal + Mineclone
How about putting basalt?
Image
Attachments
screenshot_20151123_173235.png
(899.81 KiB) Not downloaded yet

‮‪‮
‮‪‮
‮‪‮
‮‪‮
‮‪‮
‮‪‮
‮‪‮
‮‪‮
‮‪

User avatar
TenPlus1
Member
Posts: 2832
Joined: Mon Jul 29, 2013 13:38
GitHub: tenplus1

Re: [Mod] Ethereal [1.16] [ethereal]

by TenPlus1 » Post

Fixed waterlily bug for 0.4.13 stable users and removed mushroom spores so that shrooms spread like flowers in shady areas on top of soil.

https://github.com/tenplus1/ethereal

MoNTE48
Member
Posts: 320
Joined: Sat Apr 06, 2013 11:58
GitHub: MoNTE48
In-game: MoNTE48
Location: Internet

Re: [Mod] Ethereal [1.16] [ethereal]

by MoNTE48 » Post

I think some of the biomes very, very large. Is it possible to somehow reduce their size?

SamCinnamon
New member
Posts: 4
Joined: Fri Jan 01, 2016 03:19

Re: [Mod] Ethereal [1.16] [ethereal]

by SamCinnamon » Post

Would it be possible to add a flat or "field" biome to ethereal, with no trees, plants, or hills?

I'm only interested in using Minetest to make a neighborhood of homes and buildings on completely flat, green ground.

I realize you can use mg_flags = flat, notrees, nocaves, but that doesn't limit the map to only green ground (the random biomes look bad), and I really want to use the ethereal blocks in the buildings themselves.

I hope this feature is added soon, or something close to it.

User avatar
duane
Member
Posts: 1631
Joined: Wed Aug 19, 2015 19:11
GitHub: duane-r
Location: Oklahoma City
Contact:

Re: [Mod] Ethereal [1.16] [ethereal]

by duane » Post

SamCinnamon wrote:Would it be possible to add a flat or "field" biome to ethereal, with no trees, plants, or hills?
The easiest way to do that is to add the following to the start of the ethereal/init.lua file:

Code: Select all

minetest.set_mapgen_params({mgname="flat", flags="nodungeons, nocaves, nodecorations"})
Then set your temperature and humidity to give you grass by adding something like this to your minetest.conf file:

Code: Select all

mg_biome_np_heat = 15, 1, (750, 750, 750), 5349, 3, 0.5, 2.0
mg_biome_np_humidity = 39, 1, (750, 750, 750), 842, 3, 0.5, 2.0
Or if you like nothing but purple grass, omit the heat and humidity lines.
Believe in people and you don't need to believe anything else.

User avatar
Kilarin
Member
Posts: 779
Joined: Mon Mar 10, 2014 00:36

Re: [Mod] Ethereal [1.16] [ethereal]

by Kilarin » Post

BUT, if you just want a flat landscape with no trees plants or hills, Why on earth run ethereal, which is all about bizarre landscapes?

User avatar
paramat
Developer
Posts: 3679
Joined: Sun Oct 28, 2012 00:05
GitHub: paramat
IRC: paramat
Location: UK

Re: [Mod] Ethereal [1.16] [ethereal]

by paramat » Post

^ what duane wrote.

SamCinnamon
New member
Posts: 4
Joined: Fri Jan 01, 2016 03:19

Re: [Mod] Ethereal [1.16] [ethereal]

by SamCinnamon » Post

Thanks, but I can't get it to work. I'm still getting random biomes.
No mods activated, mapgen v6, and added the following to minetest.conf:

mg_flags = flat, notrees, nocaves, nodecorations
mg_biome_np_heat = 15, 1, (750, 750, 750), 5349, 3, 0.5, 2.0
mg_biome_np_humidity = 39, 1, (750, 750, 750), 842, 3, 0.5, 2.0

Edit:
Nevermind, I used the flatgen mod and it's working perfectly.
Thanks!

User avatar
duane
Member
Posts: 1631
Joined: Wed Aug 19, 2015 19:11
GitHub: duane-r
Location: Oklahoma City
Contact:

Re: [Mod] Ethereal [1.16] [ethereal]

by duane » Post

SamCinnamon wrote:Thanks, but I can't get it to work. I'm still getting random biomes.
No mods activated, mapgen v6, and added the following to minetest.conf:

mg_flags = flat, notrees, nocaves, nodecorations
mg_biome_np_heat = 15, 1, (750, 750, 750), 5349, 3, 0.5, 2.0
mg_biome_np_humidity = 39, 1, (750, 750, 750), 842, 3, 0.5, 2.0
That's not the same thing. There's a "flat" mapgen, which you can activate by adding a line to the ethereal/init.lua. Try my original instructions. They work on my system.

Edit: You will, of course, have to create a new world after making the changes.
Believe in people and you don't need to believe anything else.

User avatar
TenPlus1
Member
Posts: 2832
Joined: Mon Jul 29, 2013 13:38
GitHub: tenplus1

Re: [Mod] Ethereal [1.16] [ethereal]

by TenPlus1 » Post

SamCinnamon: Ethereal is a v5/v7 mapgen only so it will not work properly with v6.

SamCinnamon
New member
Posts: 4
Joined: Fri Jan 01, 2016 03:19

Re: [Mod] Ethereal [1.16] [ethereal]

by SamCinnamon » Post

I prefer the simplicity of mods opposed to editing code. I think the more mods and in-game settings created for stuff, the more accessible minetest will be.

Some more ideas for Ethereal biomes:

- Strange Fields (small hills, minimal trees, bushes, completely covered with cotton, or some other unique plant)
- Vivid Islands (small islands in turquoise water, or some other vivid color: purple, pink?)

User avatar
trev
Member
Posts: 45
Joined: Fri Sep 26, 2014 16:49
In-game: trev

Re: [Mod] Ethereal [1.16] [ethereal]

by trev » Post

OMG! I love this. I'm slapping it on my new survival server now! :)
Do what you love, and you will love what you do! :)

User avatar
fireglow
Member
Posts: 93
Joined: Fri Mar 28, 2014 11:36
IRC: fireglow
In-game: fireglow
Location: Germany

Re: [Mod] Ethereal [1.16] [ethereal]

by fireglow » Post

Hi,
I've been using this mod for a few weeks on one of my servers.
We've noticed, with some shock, that all default:dirt_with_grass has been replaced with ethereal:green_dirt.
Why is that?

User avatar
TenPlus1
Member
Posts: 2832
Joined: Mon Jul 29, 2013 13:38
GitHub: tenplus1

Re: [Mod] Ethereal [1.16] [ethereal]

by TenPlus1 » Post

Ethereal has it's own biome grass types which is uses for the look of the biome and specific tree growth... Abm's take care of grass updates and Mobs Redo spawns specific mobs on each one also.

User avatar
duane
Member
Posts: 1631
Joined: Wed Aug 19, 2015 19:11
GitHub: duane-r
Location: Oklahoma City
Contact:

Re: [Mod] Ethereal [1.16] [ethereal]

by duane » Post

Image
Believe in people and you don't need to believe anything else.

User avatar
ufa
Member
Posts: 70
Joined: Mon Feb 27, 2012 14:19

Re: [Mod] Ethereal [1.16] [ethereal]

by ufa » Post

TenPlus1 wrote:SamCinnamon: Ethereal is a v5/v7 mapgen only so it will not work properly with v6.

I have an ongoing v6 world, with a lot of stuff and players. Is it possible to convert it do v7 or adapt this mod to v6?

User avatar
TenPlus1
Member
Posts: 2832
Joined: Mon Jul 29, 2013 13:38
GitHub: tenplus1

Re: [Mod] Ethereal [1.16] [ethereal]

by TenPlus1 » Post

sorry ufa but this mod will not function properly on v6 maps and writing a new lua mapgen for v6 will take too long, although I'm not sure but you may be able to convert your v6 world to v7 instead and use ethereal for all newly generated areas ?!?!

User avatar
firefox
Member
Posts: 1582
Joined: Wed Jan 14, 2015 07:34
In-game: Red_Fox
Location: Xanadu

Re: [Mod] Ethereal [1.16] [ethereal]

by firefox » Post

i haven't tried it, but in theory the mapgen only creates new unexplored areas.
so switching from 6 to 7 should work, but it may create sharp edges at mapchunk borders where the old and the new areas meet. (but this could also look very interesting and it makes it easier to see the difference between 6 and 7)
=(^.^)= nyan~

User avatar
TenPlus1
Member
Posts: 2832
Joined: Mon Jul 29, 2013 13:38
GitHub: tenplus1

Re: [Mod] Ethereal [1.16] [ethereal]

by TenPlus1 » Post

Update:

- Optimized and tidied code
- Set leaves to allfaces by default (blocky instead of leaftype)
- Set walk on leaves by default (setting in init.lua)
- Cave generation cuts through soil by default (setting in init.lua)
- Added glowing vines (1x fire dust surrounded by vines)

https://github.com/tenplus1/ethereal

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 12 guests