[Mod] BitChange (money) [bitchange]

User avatar
Krock
Developer
 
Posts: 3920
Joined: Thu Oct 03, 2013 07:48
Location: Switzerland
GitHub: SmallJoker

by Krock » Sat Jan 04, 2014 11:49

Well, you think everything getscheaper when there got alot ores mined (= money) but that's not always happening:
1) When still alot new users come
2) When rich users stop playing (and can't give away their money anymore)
3) When someone looses money by buying other money from the bank (there's a little loss in the calculation included)
4) When bones got too old and disappear
5) When server admin disables ore generation or does something else to decrease money
6) When players almost can't reach the beginning of the generation position
7) When rich people have everything they need (= no buying of new stuff)

I think there are alot factors to stop the inflation :)

EDIT: You should take it easier...Minetest is not the "world", there aren't much other factors which could make an inflation.
Last edited by Krock on Sat Jan 04, 2014 11:50, edited 1 time in total.
Mod Search Engine - Mods by Krock - DuckDuckGo mod search bang: !mtmod <keyword here>
 

User avatar
aldobr
Member
 
Posts: 316
Joined: Sun Nov 25, 2012 05:46

by aldobr » Sat Jan 04, 2014 12:20

krock, what i said does not apply to coins minted from ores, if you allow the coins to be back convertible to ores.

when the ammount of coins becomes too high, their value drops. this makes people start back converting coins to ores and using the ores somewhere else, reducing the ammount of coins and increasing their value.
 

User avatar
Krock
Developer
 
Posts: 3920
Joined: Thu Oct 03, 2013 07:48
Location: Switzerland
GitHub: SmallJoker

by Krock » Sat Jan 04, 2014 12:34

aldobr wrote:krock, what i said does not apply to coins minted from ores, if you allow the coins to be back convertible to ores.

when the ammount of coins becomes too high, their value drops. this makes people start back converting coins to ores and using the ores somewhere else, reducing the ammount of coins and increasing their value.

This depends on the usage of gold..anyway we'll see on some test servers if it would work good or not.

Since the last version is converting coins into gold possible. Let's hope they won't convert in hardcore style the tin/zinc into gold :)
Last edited by Krock on Sat Jan 04, 2014 12:34, edited 1 time in total.
Mod Search Engine - Mods by Krock - DuckDuckGo mod search bang: !mtmod <keyword here>
 

User avatar
aldobr
Member
 
Posts: 316
Joined: Sun Nov 25, 2012 05:46

by aldobr » Sat Jan 04, 2014 14:27

tin zinc are not good candidates for coins due to not having many uses.

gold makes pickaxes that are quick and wear quickly : a nice gold drain
 

User avatar
Krock
Developer
 
Posts: 3920
Joined: Thu Oct 03, 2013 07:48
Location: Switzerland
GitHub: SmallJoker

by Krock » Tue Jan 21, 2014 18:17

A short list of updates for people which could be interested:

- Quartz support (1) Get a crafting guide to see crafting recipes or browse through the codes
- Crafting recipes on 1st post
- Tool repair, costs money to repair:
Image

Do you have more ideas how to waste money?

(1) Why I do this is simple: There are some some ores, which have no big use but some servers have them anyways.
Therefore I give them now an use: converting to money and wasting with the tool repair node ;)
If you don't like the additional ore generation which comes with - well - it's WTFPL.
Last edited by Krock on Tue Jan 21, 2014 18:22, edited 1 time in total.
Mod Search Engine - Mods by Krock - DuckDuckGo mod search bang: !mtmod <keyword here>
 

Xlaits
New member
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Sat Sep 20, 2014 23:11
In-game: Xlaits

Re: [Mod] BitChange (money) [bitchange]

by Xlaits » Sun Sep 28, 2014 21:10

I get this when bitchange_use_moreores_tin = true.

Code: Select all
17:07:52: ACTION[main]: WARNING: Mod name conflict detected: "tnt"
17:07:52: ACTION[main]: Will not load: /usr/share/minetest/games/minetest/mods/tnt
17:07:52: ACTION[main]: Overridden by: /home/xlaits/.minetest/mods/tnt
[UnifiedDyes] Loaded!
growing_cactus mod 0.0.5 loaded
[OK] Mesecons
Pipeworks loaded!
17:07:52: ERROR[main]: ========== ERROR FROM LUA ===========
17:07:52: ERROR[main]: Failed to load and run script from
17:07:52: ERROR[main]: /home/xlaits/.minetest/mods/bitchange/init.lua:
17:07:52: ERROR[main]: /home/xlaits/.minetest/mods/bitchange/moreores.lua:16: ')' expected (to close '(' at line 15) near 'end'
17:07:52: ERROR[main]: stack traceback:
17:07:52: ERROR[main]:    [C]: in function 'dofile'
17:07:52: ERROR[main]:    /home/xlaits/.minetest/mods/bitchange/init.lua:29: in main chunk
17:07:52: ERROR[main]: ======= END OF ERROR FROM LUA ========
17:07:52: ERROR[main]: Server: Failed to load and run /home/xlaits/.minetest/mods/bitchange/init.lua
17:07:52: ERROR[main]: ERROR: An unhandled exception occurred: ModError: Failed to load and run /home/xlaits/.minetest/mods/bitchange/init.lua

In thread 7f0eedfbf780:
/build/minetest/src/minetest-0.4.10/src/main.cpp:1941: int main(int, char**): Assertion '0' failed.
Debug stacks:
DEBUG STACK FOR THREAD 7f0eedfbf780:
#0  int main(int, char**)
(Leftover data: #1  Dedicated server branch)
Aborted (core dumped)


EDIT:

Nevermind. You missed a few ')' in moreores.lua. Fixed it.
 

User avatar
lightonflux
Member
 
Posts: 384
Joined: Mon Nov 11, 2013 07:22
Location: Germany
In-game: lof

Re: [Mod] BitChange (money) [bitchange]

by lightonflux » Thu Mar 12, 2015 20:14

Some servers have silver, but there isn't much to do with it. Could you add a recipe so one can craft ninth with silver?
 

User avatar
Samson1
Member
 
Posts: 93
Joined: Wed Apr 01, 2015 19:41
IRC: Samson1
In-game: Samson1

Re: [Mod] BitChange (money) [bitchange]

by Samson1 » Tue Dec 08, 2015 18:31

This mod used to be on my server, for some reason the Bank does not seem to be in the inventory.

Could some one help?
MT name: Samson1

MC name: MoJo4000
 

User avatar
benrob0329
Member
 
Posts: 1233
Joined: Thu Aug 06, 2015 22:39
GitHub: Benrob0329
In-game: benrob03

Re: [Mod] BitChange (money) [bitchange]

by benrob0329 » Tue Dec 08, 2015 21:21

The bank might only appear if you have another money mod that uses credits (e.g. money2)
 

User avatar
Krock
Developer
 
Posts: 3920
Joined: Thu Oct 03, 2013 07:48
Location: Switzerland
GitHub: SmallJoker

Re: [Mod] BitChange (money) [bitchange]

by Krock » Fri Dec 09, 2016 18:53

Finally there's a new update \o/

In the latest master HEAD, there's a fix that allowed players to repair tools by using their own shops. Also the code and the main topic is now a bit cleaner and better formatted. Looks like my programming style changed a bit in these three years :)
Mod Search Engine - Mods by Krock - DuckDuckGo mod search bang: !mtmod <keyword here>
 

User avatar
Krock
Developer
 
Posts: 3920
Joined: Thu Oct 03, 2013 07:48
Location: Switzerland
GitHub: SmallJoker

Re: [Mod] BitChange (money) [bitchange]

by Krock » Sat Nov 25, 2017 12:01

Update - Tweaks and feature drop

Tweaks:
  • Exchange shop: 80 character limit for the title
  • Disabled ore generation by default (use gold to convert)
  • Ore nodes are no longer shown in the inventory

Removed:
  • Coin base: Replaced by MineNinths
  • Bank: Unpopular/unused feature, removed entirely
  • Freeminer compatibility code
  • bitchange privilege: Replaced by protection_bypass
  • Exchange shop: use better-looking 16px textures

As the exchange shop code does not depend on any features in this mod - would you like to have an option to disable everything other? I believe that shops are a must-have on servers, but a new currency might not be wanted, as there's already gold and steel.
Mod Search Engine - Mods by Krock - DuckDuckGo mod search bang: !mtmod <keyword here>
 

User avatar
Stix
Member
 
Posts: 828
Joined: Fri Aug 04, 2017 14:19
Location: USA
IRC: Stix_ + Demolisher_
In-game: [CTF] Demolisher

Re: [Mod] BitChange (money) [bitchange]

by Stix » Mon May 21, 2018 13:11

Krock wrote:Update - Tweaks and feature drop

Tweaks:
  • Exchange shop: 80 character limit for the title
  • Disabled ore generation by default (use gold to convert)
  • Ore nodes are no longer shown in the inventory

Removed:
  • Coin base: Replaced by MineNinths
  • Bank: Unpopular/unused feature, removed entirely
  • Freeminer compatibility code
  • bitchange privilege: Replaced by protection_bypass
  • Exchange shop: use better-looking 16px textures

As the exchange shop code does not depend on any features in this mod - would you like to have an option to disable everything other? I believe that shops are a must-have on servers, but a new currency might not be wanted, as there's already gold and steel.

could you update the screenie on the OP?
Video-games are the only escape from the harsh reality of some peoples lives. #Hi-five for no good reason --Caleb
Need to know something? "Google it" --GreenDimond
Want to know whats gonna be in the next release of your favorite game? "Bugfixes" --Wuzzy
The new Minetest-offtopic can be found here: https://minetestoftopic.createaforum.com/index.php
 

User avatar
Punk
Member
 
Posts: 132
Joined: Sun Dec 25, 2016 06:52

Re: [Mod] BitChange (money) [bitchange]

by Punk » Mon May 21, 2018 16:50

Good idea! I think gold coin coinage would be more realistic for a monetary system in this game.
DON'T STEAL! The government hates competition.
 

User avatar
Punk
Member
 
Posts: 132
Joined: Sun Dec 25, 2016 06:52

Re: [Mod] BitChange (money) [bitchange]

by Punk » Mon May 21, 2018 16:55

I don't get it... Why do you want to create inflation?
Bitcoin is a deflationary currency, lol.
DON'T STEAL! The government hates competition.
 

Previous

Return to Mod Releases



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests