Page 1 of 1

[Mod] Kerova [1.2] [kerova]

Posted: Fri Dec 20, 2013 17:30
by rommiekerova
[Mod] Kerova [1.2] [kerova]

By AndromedaKerova (AKA; RommieKerova, Rommie, Andromeda) (rommiekerova@gmail.com)
License: WTFPL
Version: 1.2

WHAT IS ADDED?
  • More chests and locked chests -- (which are coloured by placing a chest/locked chest in the bottom centre space and a dye in the middle centre space of the crafting window.)
  • 10 Decorative Wooden nodes which are perfect as floor tiles.
  • 2 Rainbow Valley Picture tiles which are placed on the wall and form a full picture when used next to each other.
  • 2 Icelake Picture tiles which are placed on the wall and form a full picture when used next to each other.
  • 2 new, single tile pictures.
  • Black wood planks which are perfect for a gothic floor. -- (Crafted with a wood plank and a black dye)
  • Bamboo mat node which is again, perfect for flooring.
  • 2 new stone tile nodes which make great walls. Flagstone and Rusticstone.
DEPENDENCIES:
Default
Dye (already included with minetest)

KNOWN BUGS:
+ Spoiler
CHANGELOG:
+ Spoiler
TO DO LIST:
+ Spoiler
SCREENSHOTS:
+ Spoiler
CRAFT RECIPES:
+ Spoiler
DOWNLOAD:
+ Spoiler

Posted: Fri Dec 20, 2013 18:24
by DeepGaze
the textures on the wood are very nicely detailed welldone

Posted: Fri Dec 20, 2013 18:37
by rommiekerova
DeepGaze wrote:the textures on the wood are very nicely detailed welldone
Thank you very much. I endeavor to create things that are not only functional but nice looking too. I couldn't find any coloured chests out there so I decided I had to make my own. The new nodes and picture I added came about because I didn't feel a simple addition of coloured chests was enough to let it become a mod to share.

Posted: Fri Dec 20, 2013 19:46
by Sokomine
rommiekerova wrote: I couldn't find any coloured chests out there so I decided I had to make my own.
Perhaps you'll love RealTest then - it comes with chests in diffrent wood colors plus chests for diffrent minerals.

From what I can see on the picture, the textures look intresting. Might make very nice floors. Unfortionately, downloading your mod isn't possible for me as it's hosted by Mediafire - which requires JavaScript enabled. And I don't enable JavaScript for something that would work far better without. Would it be possible for you to use forum attachment? That's very easy to use and much more convenient for a mod. In the future, github might also be of intrest to you. Perhaps using zip as an archive format may also help, although that may be less critical.

Posted: Fri Dec 20, 2013 20:43
by Krock
rommiekerova wrote:KNOWN BUGS:
- hide spoiler
The nodes added with this Mod have no sound when walked over.
I couldn't figure out how to get the sounds to play without causing errors so for now they have been muted.
If you know how I can readd the sounds so they work properly please let me know.
put "default" into your depends.txt and add this code snippet to your node definition:

Code: Select all

sounds = default.node_sound_[wood/stone/dirt/sand/...]_defaults(),
if it didn't work, use this:

Code: Select all

sounds = {name="default_[sand/hard/dirt/wood/...]_footstep", gain=0.5},
and this would be some codes from the MT game...

Code: Select all

function default.node_sound_wood_defaults(table)
    table = table or {}
    table.footstep = table.footstep or
            {name="default_wood_footstep", gain=0.5}
    table.dug = table.dug or
            {name="default_wood_footstep", gain=1.0}
    default.node_sound_defaults(table)
    return table
end
EDIT: MT and LUA act the same way on all operating systems, you don't need to verify it for linux machines (depends how complex your mod is...)

Posted: Fri Dec 20, 2013 21:07
by Pitriss
Some details.. Download link should be zip (because for linux users) and textures should be in png format.

Posted: Fri Dec 20, 2013 22:54
by rommiekerova
I'm aware of other chest mods that add chests made of other minerals and woods ect but I wanted one that added coloured wood ones like I created.

Thanks ever so much for the suggestions.

I've switched file providers to dropbox.
Changed the file type to .zip
Corrected the textures that were jpg to png.
Reintroduced sounds.

Please re-download/download v1.1


github isn't an option as the whole thing just confuses me and I can't figure out how to just host the file.

Posted: Sat Dec 21, 2013 22:03
by falsegrayburger
....?

cool mod!

Posted: Mon Dec 23, 2013 15:23
by rommiekerova
Thanks for your interest so far.

New version now ready. v1.2

Icelake dual Picture tiles added.
2 new, single tile pictures added.
See screenshots.

Please download v1.2

I'm happy for suggestions and links for pictures to add in the next versions. If you submit a picture for considerations they must follow these rules:
1. NO NUDITY OR ADULT/MATURE THEMES. They must me clean PG.
2. They MUST NOT be copyrighted photos or artwork. Public domain or similar is accepted.
3. They MUST NOT be bigger than 1024 pixels wide and high.

Posted: Mon Dec 23, 2013 15:38
by Krock
rommiekerova wrote:I'm happy for suggestions and links for pictures to add in the next versions. If you submit a picture for considerations
Image
Image

Posted: Mon Dec 23, 2013 17:36
by rommiekerova
Oh heck yes! That To-Do List pic definitely has to go into 1.3. The Minetest logo too. ^_^

Posted: Tue Jan 07, 2014 16:59
by rommiekerova
Hello again you lovely people.

v1.3 is almost ready for release!
The 2 pictures suggested by Krock have been added.

But there are a few problems that MUST be solved before I can release 1.3

I added a new mineral, lump and ingot called Rommielite as well as the appropriate tools created from them.
The problem is I cannot figure out how to make this ore populate the world like the others.

The second problem is I cannot figure out how to make the Rommielite Chest and its locked equivalent have an increased inventory size compared to other normal chests.

So again, I'd appreciate help in fixing these incredibly frustrating issues before I can release 1.3 as I don't feel 2 new pictures is enough for a new release.

As always I'd appreciate more suggestions and picture submissions for consideration for 1.3 and/or future versions.

Posted: Fri Jan 31, 2014 22:01
by Sokomine
rommiekerova wrote: The problem is I cannot figure out how to make this ore populate the world like the others.
The function that handles the ore distribution is called minetest.register_ore(ore definition). You can find more information about it in the doc/lua_api.txt file.
rommiekerova wrote: The second problem is I cannot figure out how to make the Rommielite Chest and its locked equivalent have an increased inventory size compared to other normal chests.
The relevant line for the size of the inventory of a chest is this one:

Code: Select all

inv:set_size("main", 8*4)
It stands for 8 rows in 4 lines. You may also have to change the formspec of the chest so that the extra slots can be seen and used. Take a look at e.g. the gold chest from technic.

Posted: Fri Jan 31, 2014 23:33
by Inocudom
It would be nice if your treasure chests were supported by Sokomine's coloring_machine mod, rommiekerova.

If you are up to it, hosting your mod on GitHub would make it easier for others to help you.

Posted: Wed Feb 12, 2014 14:40
by rommiekerova
I don't understand GitHub or I would have it there already.
As for the coloring machine I dunno if I have to change anything in the code.
I don't really want to lose the regular method I already have for crafting in case people don't have the coloring machine.

Posted: Thu Feb 13, 2014 19:37
by Sokomine
rommiekerova wrote: As for the coloring machine I dunno if I have to change anything in the code.
You don't have to. My colormachine now supports your colored chests and your colored locked chests.
rommiekerova wrote: I don't really want to lose the regular method I already have for crafting in case people don't have the coloring machine.
No need to do that. Removing the chests from the creative inventory is just an option that becomes useful once there are many mods installed.

Posted: Wed Mar 05, 2014 23:31
by rommiekerova
Awsome! Thanks.
Well, when I have the ore populating correctly I'll put up a version removing the chests from the creative inventory for better compatibility with your machine.
Of course I'll have a normal version too.

Posted: Mon Mar 10, 2014 11:16
by CheerfulCherub
Thank-you for this mod, it works great, had no problem install and using, love the decorative block, I was just wondering if you could make decorative stone blocks. Please and thank-you.

Re: [Mod] Kerova [1.2] [kerova]

Posted: Mon Jun 30, 2014 04:39
by Inocudom
Anything happening with this mod lately?

Re: [Mod] Kerova [1.2] [kerova]

Posted: Thu Jul 10, 2014 19:02
by rommiekerova
I'm still working on stone decorative blocks to match the wood ones plus the Rommielite ore, blocks, tools etc.

Unfortunately due to having no proper net, nothing is going to be able to be done for quite a while but this isn't a dead mod yet.

Re: [Mod] Kerova [1.2] [kerova]

Posted: Sat Dec 06, 2014 19:32
by rommiekerova
I've been working on getting Rommielite to propagate like a proper ore should but everything I've done ends up in errors.

The lumps smelt correctly and ingots can be turned to tools but without the ore being unavailable, I don't feel I can release 1.3.

A few new picture tiles just aren't enough for a new release.

Re: [Mod] Kerova [1.2] [kerova]

Posted: Sat Dec 06, 2014 23:15
by Don
rommiekerova wrote:I've been working on getting Rommielite to propagate like a proper ore should but everything I've done ends up in errors.

The lumps smelt correctly and ingots can be turned to tools but without the ore being unavailable, I don't feel I can release 1.3.

A few new picture tiles just aren't enough for a new release.
What if you leave this thread as 1.2 for now and start a new one in wip. Then you can post 1.3 in there so the community can help. Once it is working right you can update the mod thread and use the wip thread for 1.4

Re: [Mod] Kerova [1.2] [kerova]

Posted: Fri Dec 26, 2014 18:38
by Sokomine
rommiekerova wrote: I've been working on getting Rommielite to propagate like a proper ore should but everything I've done ends up in errors.
There are a lot of people who have used ores successfully in their mods. If you're able to describe how you want your ores to be distributed, I'm sure i.e. Calinou might come up with an example. Or someone else who's used that function.

Re: [Mod] Kerova [1.2] [kerova]

Posted: Thu Jan 08, 2015 05:58
by rommiekerova
I've managed to get the ore to appear underground successfully. Just need some tweaking to the heights and then 1.3 will be available. I've also fixed up the problem with the coloured chests. They now correctly have a larger space than regular chests.