[Mod] River / mountain range mapgen [0.7.2] [watershed]

User avatar
afflatus
Member
Posts: 325
Joined: Tue Apr 01, 2014 19:47
GitHub: 0-afflatus
IRC: afflatus
In-game: afflatus
Location: Avalonia
Contact:

Re: [Mod] River / mountain range mapgen [0.5.0] [watershed]

by afflatus » Post

Thanks Paramat.

That gets it close enough for gameplay purposes. I'm getting some weird effects due to the way snow is placed and I'm not quite sure where the snow line / vegetation line really ought to be. I daresay I'll figure it out.
paramat wrote:The whole river system was carefully tuned, each time you change one parameter you may need to adjust others to make things work.
Rivers are tricksy. I'm understanding how much work this must have been.
screenshot_1844407673.png
(2.29 MiB) Not downloaded yet
screenshot_1844875568.png
(1.88 MiB) Not downloaded yet
screenshot_1844621598.png
(2.86 MiB) Not downloaded yet

User avatar
paramat
Developer
Posts: 3626
Joined: Sun Oct 28, 2012 00:05
GitHub: paramat
IRC: paramat
Location: UK

Re: [Mod] River / mountain range mapgen [0.5.0] [watershed]

by paramat » Post

Snow should collect on stone too in snow biomes, as in my more recent mapgens, i have made a note for the next version.

User avatar
trev
Member
Posts: 45
Joined: Fri Sep 26, 2014 16:49
In-game: trev

Re: [Mod] River / mountain range mapgen [0.5.0] [watershed]

by trev » Post

One word:

Awesome!
Do what you love, and you will love what you do! :)

User avatar
Minetestforfun
Member
Posts: 936
Joined: Tue Aug 05, 2014 14:09
GitHub: Darcidride
IRC: Darcidride + MinetestForFun
In-game: Darcidride + MinetestForFun
Location: On earth
Contact:

Re: [Mod] River / mountain range mapgen [0.5.0] [watershed]

by Minetestforfun » Post

This mapgen is it possible with a mapgen in version 6 ?
I tried it with a mapgen v6 and a new world in a local server with a 0.4.12-stable and it seems to change near nothing, maybe it's incompatible or i missed something to do ?
I can't also see flotting islands after more than 1hour of flying with speef privs, are they often generated or very rarrely ?

Thnka you in advance for your answers

User avatar
paramat
Developer
Posts: 3626
Joined: Sun Oct 28, 2012 00:05
GitHub: paramat
IRC: paramat
Location: UK

Re: [Mod] River / mountain range mapgen [0.5.0] [watershed]

by paramat » Post

By default, whatever mapgen you choose, this mod will override and select singlenode.

If you want to add this mod as a realm stacked above mgv5/6/7 then in functions.lua edit line 215 to:

local SINGLENODE = false

Then in init.lua edit all these parameters to new y values:

local YMIN = -33000 -- Approximate base of realm stone
local YMAX = 33000 -- Approximate top of atmosphere / mountains / floatlands
local TERCEN = -128 -- Terrain zero level, average seabed
local YWAT = 1 -- Sea surface y
local YSAV = 5 -- Average sandline y, dune grasses above this
local YCLOMIN = 207 -- Minimum height of mod clouds

Floatlands only appear directly over the summit of the mountain ridge (which is also the 'watershed' of the rivers) and are fairly rare, you could try editing parameter 'ATANAMP' to 1.0 or 0.9 for more and larger floatlands:

local ATANAMP = 1.0 -- Arctan function amplitude, smaller = more and larger floatlands above ridges

User avatar
paramat
Developer
Posts: 3626
Joined: Sun Oct 28, 2012 00:05
GitHub: paramat
IRC: paramat
Location: UK

Re: [Mod] River / mountain range mapgen [0.7.0] [watershed]

by paramat » Post

Updated after a year and a half with the 0.4.13 noise buffer memory optimisation.
Should use less memory for storing noise values, hopefully less prone to 'Out Of Memory' crashes.
Huge code cleanup, it really needed it.
Liquids should flow in mod fog and cloud now thanks to 'floodable = true'.

No parameters have been changed so old worlds are supported.

User avatar
paramat
Developer
Posts: 3626
Joined: Sun Oct 28, 2012 00:05
GitHub: paramat
IRC: paramat
Location: UK

Re: [Mod] River / mountain range mapgen [0.7.2] [watershed]

by paramat » Post

v0.7.2

Use data buffer memory optimisation. Correct noise buffer memory optimisation. Change source code license to LGPL. Improve license docs.

Memory optimisations had errors and were not functional, now finally fixed. Also data buffer memory optimisation added.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Animetrom and 4 guests