[Mod] Farming Redo [1.48] [farming]

User avatar
TenPlus1
Member
Posts: 3700
Joined: Mon Jul 29, 2013 13:38
In-game: TenPlus1
Contact:

Re: [Mod] Farming Redo [1.40] [farming]

by TenPlus1 » Post

Right-click one at a time, but it's fast and will replant and usually save you 1x crop by doing so.

User avatar
BuckarooBanzay
Member
Posts: 435
Joined: Tue Apr 24, 2018 05:58
GitHub: BuckarooBanzay
IRC: BuckarooBanzai
In-game: BuckarooBanzai

Re: [Mod] Farming Redo [1.40] [farming]

by BuckarooBanzay » Post

I think there is a mistake in the current scythe code:

This should invoke with a node not a name:

Code: Select all

diff --git a/hoes.lua b/hoes.lua
index 6417582..6ffa98f 100644
--- a/hoes.lua
+++ b/hoes.lua
@@ -433,7 +433,7 @@ minetest.register_tool("farming:scythe_mithril", {
 
                -- Run script hook
                for _, callback in pairs(core.registered_on_dignodes) do
-                       callback(pos, node.name)
+                       callback(pos, node)
                end
 
                -- play sound
See: https://github.com/minetest/minetest/bl ... .txt#L3596

Code: Select all

minetest.register_on_dignode(function(pos, oldnode, digger))
I had a few errors in the woodcutting mod... which expects a node={ name="" }

Besides that: cool update :D
¯\_(ツ)_/¯ Not active here anymore, contact me on the minetest discord, irc, lemmy or github (for programming issues)

User avatar
TenPlus1
Member
Posts: 3700
Joined: Mon Jul 29, 2013 13:38
In-game: TenPlus1
Contact:

Re: [Mod] Farming Redo [1.40] [farming]

by TenPlus1 » Post

Thanks for noticing the bug dude :) git updated...

ThorfinnS
Member
Posts: 311
Joined: Mon Feb 25, 2019 22:05
GitHub: ThorfinnS

Re: [Mod] Farming Redo [1.40] [farming]

by ThorfinnS » Post

IRL, hemp grows pretty much everywhere and prodigiously.

Is it limited for gamelay reasons? I'm explaining the discrepancy to my special needs kids as this is a game balance issue. Is there a good reason to keep it as limited in the wild as it is?

Thanks

--Steph

P.S. I mean, they have spent a dozen or so hours the last couple days looking for a single hemp plant, to no avail. When they can go out to the nearest ditch and find one.

What do I have to nerf in order to keep finding hemp easily from being overwhelming? Seems to me the slow growth in the farming mod should be enough, but maybe not?


Thanks

--Steph

User avatar
TenPlus1
Member
Posts: 3700
Joined: Mon Jul 29, 2013 13:38
In-game: TenPlus1
Contact:

Re: [Mod] Farming Redo [1.40] [farming]

by TenPlus1 » Post

The faring.rarety value defaults to 0.002 which makes most crops rare on a map, but you could easily add a farming.conf file and make this value higher so that crops appear more often e.g.

farming.rarety = 0.01

ThorfinnS
Member
Posts: 311
Joined: Mon Feb 25, 2019 22:05
GitHub: ThorfinnS

Re: [Mod] Farming Redo [1.40] [farming]

by ThorfinnS » Post

Thanks.

Most of the rest of the plants are plenty common already. If anything, I think I'd prefer to tweak it down a bit, make it a bit more special. Strangely enough, on my mapgens, the only plants that are hard to find are the ones that have spawnby = "group:tree". They have found only 1 garlic, 1 pepper and 1 chili, yet the rest of the veggies they've foraged are a full stack or more,at least the ones that grow on green. Might tree mods be interfering somehow? I'm using lemon, clementine, cherry and moretrees.

Anyway, if I were to change line 69 in mapgen.lua from:

Code: Select all

		scale = farming.rarety, -- 0.06,
to

Code: Select all

		scale = farming.hemp_rarety, -- 0.06,
and put

Code: Select all

		farming.rarety = 0.001
		farming.hemp_rarety = 0.01
into the farming.conf, off the top of your head, would that cause other issues?


I hate to tweak code like that, particularly when mt 5 is any day now, and if it were just me, I wouldn't do it but there are a few of the students with serious OCD who NEED to have a complete garden.

--Steph

[EDIT]
Incidentally, individual rareties might be an elegant way to define which crops are allowed, and how common each is, rather than just boolean. For example, set farming.chili in the .conf to 0 if you want it disabled, or set it to 0.01 if you want it to be like kudzu.

Looks like there are only 5 conditionals in the mapgen.lua that would change, but I haven't looked at too much of the rest of your code. Maybe not even that. Is LUA like other similar languages where false is the same as 0, any other value is true?
[/EDIT]

[EDIT2]
I should clarify that I am running mt 5, in case it matters.
[/EDIT2]

[EDIT3]
If the only place you use rarity or crop enabled is in mapgen, it might be as easy as changing "enabled" in the parameter list in function register_plant to "scale", change the conditional from "enabled" to "scale", commenting out the line

Code: Select all

scale = farming.rarety, -- 0.006,
Looking now to see where you set all the crops to boolean values. That would need to change, too. Or maybe I'll just set them in the .conf. That should override wherever you've initialized them to true, right?

I'll give it a whirl this afternoon.
[/EDIT3]

mase
Member
Posts: 91
Joined: Tue Feb 21, 2017 20:16
In-game: mase

Re: [Mod] Farming Redo [1.40] [farming]

by mase » Post

Is this mod for use with minetest 5.0.0?
I am unable to plant strawberries and some other stuff.

ThorfinnS
Member
Posts: 311
Joined: Mon Feb 25, 2019 22:05
GitHub: ThorfinnS

Re: [Mod] Farming Redo [1.40] [farming]

by ThorfinnS » Post

Strawberries? Are you talking about farming plus?
Last edited by ThorfinnS on Sun Mar 10, 2019 22:57, edited 1 time in total.

mase
Member
Posts: 91
Joined: Tue Feb 21, 2017 20:16
In-game: mase

Re: [Mod] Farming Redo [1.40] [farming]

by mase » Post

Yes, I have strawberries and other fruits.

ThorfinnS
Member
Posts: 311
Joined: Mon Feb 25, 2019 22:05
GitHub: ThorfinnS

Re: [Mod] Farming Redo [1.40] [farming]

by ThorfinnS » Post

Quick answer, yes, it is for MT 5. No, it does not have strawberries, at least as of a week ago when I cloned the master. The berries in redo are blueberries and raspberries. (Oh, and grapes. Maybe coffee and cocoa. I'm not a botanist.)

Check with whatever it is that installed them.

[EDIT]
Just checked. Both farming plus and ethereal implement strawberries, though they are done differently. Check the doc on whichever you are using.
[/EDIT]

[EDIT2]
If you are using ethereal, it calls the exact same function in farming to place the seed. Just like all the rest of farming redo plants, you need to have default dirt within 2 tiles of water, and use a hoe on the dirt. Then you can place it, not before.

Looks to me as if you should be able to plant the strawberry seed from farming plus or the strawberry fruit from ethereal like that.
[/EDIT]

mase
Member
Posts: 91
Joined: Tue Feb 21, 2017 20:16
In-game: mase

Re: [Mod] Farming Redo [1.40] [farming]

by mase » Post

I wonder where these fruits belong to. When I disable farming redo, there are no more strawberries available.
You are right, I cannot find any strawberries in the code of farming redo.

User avatar
TenPlus1
Member
Posts: 3700
Joined: Mon Jul 29, 2013 13:38
In-game: TenPlus1
Contact:

Re: [Mod] Farming Redo [1.40] [farming]

by TenPlus1 » Post

Farming Redo has items for strawberries, bananas and oranges for Farming Plus compatibility so you dont lose these items in your inventory, they do not grow... To have growing fruits you need Ethereal mod installed.

User avatar
TenPlus1
Member
Posts: 3700
Joined: Mon Jul 29, 2013 13:38
In-game: TenPlus1
Contact:

Updated to version 1.42

by TenPlus1 » Post

- Each crop has it's own spawn rate which can be changed inside farming.conf
- Soil needs water to be present within 3 blocks horizontal and 1 below
- Jack 'o Lanterns now check for protection when a player turns them on/off

u18398

soil abm

by u18398 » Post

I think your soil abm is a bit outdated, which makes it difficult to other mods to work with your farming redo.

original code from farming mode is:

Code: Select all


minetest.register_abm({
	label = "Farming soil",
	nodenames = {"group:field"},
	interval = 15,
	chance = 4,
	action = function(pos, node)
		local n_def = minetest.registered_nodes[node.name] or nil
		local wet = n_def.soil.wet or nil
		local base = n_def.soil.base or nil
		local dry = n_def.soil.dry or nil
		if not n_def or not n_def.soil or not wet or not base or not dry then
			return
		end

		pos.y = pos.y + 1
		local nn = minetest.get_node_or_nil(pos)
		if not nn or not nn.name then
			return
		end
		local nn_def = minetest.registered_nodes[nn.name] or nil
		pos.y = pos.y - 1

		if nn_def and nn_def.walkable and minetest.get_item_group(nn.name, "plant") == 0 then
			minetest.set_node(pos, {name = base})
			return
		end
		-- check if there is water nearby
		local wet_lvl = minetest.get_item_group(node.name, "wet")
		if minetest.find_node_near(pos, 3, {"group:water"}) then
			-- if it is dry soil and not base node, turn it into wet soil
			if wet_lvl == 0 then
				minetest.set_node(pos, {name = wet})
			end
		else
			-- only turn back if there are no unloaded blocks (and therefore
			-- possible water sources) nearby
			if not minetest.find_node_near(pos, 3, {"ignore"}) then
				-- turn it back into base if it is already dry
				if wet_lvl == 0 then
					-- only turn it back if there is no plant/seed on top of it
					if minetest.get_item_group(nn.name, "plant") == 0 and minetest.get_item_group(nn.name, "seed") == 0 then
						minetest.set_node(pos, {name = base})
					end

				-- if its wet turn it back into dry soil
				elseif wet_lvl == 1 then
					minetest.set_node(pos, {name = dry})
				end
			end
		end
	end,
})


the dry, base and wet is missing in your definition and abm.


Also you disable desert_sand_soil, which is not too important, but why ?

It would be pretty cool if you could update your soil abm.

User avatar
BuckarooBanzay
Member
Posts: 435
Joined: Tue Apr 24, 2018 05:58
GitHub: BuckarooBanzay
IRC: BuckarooBanzai
In-game: BuckarooBanzai

Re: [Mod] Farming Redo [1.42] [farming]

by BuckarooBanzay » Post

Hey tenplus1

I think you messed up all the plants on my server :D (kidding, no big deal...)

The loop in https://notabug.org/TenPlus1/farming/sr ... t.lua#L272 does not really iterate.
It should instead be done with

Code: Select all

pairs()
otherwise the node_timer won't get registered...
¯\_(ツ)_/¯ Not active here anymore, contact me on the minetest discord, irc, lemmy or github (for programming issues)

User avatar
TenPlus1
Member
Posts: 3700
Joined: Mon Jul 29, 2013 13:38
In-game: TenPlus1
Contact:

Re: [Mod] Farming Redo [1.42] [farming]

by TenPlus1 » Post

Thanks for noticing Buckaroo, has been fixed and git updated :)

Merak
Member
Posts: 116
Joined: Sat Nov 05, 2016 20:34

Re: [Mod] Farming Redo [1.42] [farming]

by Merak » Post

If you have a pepper, can you grow more? How? You can not plant them on tilled soil.

ThorfinnS
Member
Posts: 311
Joined: Mon Feb 25, 2019 22:05
GitHub: ThorfinnS

Re: [Mod] Farming Redo [1.42] [farming]

by ThorfinnS » Post

Merak wrote:If you have a pepper, can you grow more? How? You can not plant them on tilled soil.
Try putting the peppers in your crafting grid..

User avatar
linushsao
Member
Posts: 418
Joined: Mon Jan 27, 2014 12:56
IRC: linushsao
In-game: linus
Location: Taipei,Taiwan(R.O.C)
Contact:

Re: [Mod] Farming Redo [1.42] [farming]

by linushsao » Post

How could i make Farming Redo mod work with unified_inventory mod?

tks for all.
1)Server:Mars World
2).address:139.59.238.211:30016
3).manual(in processing):http://tinyurl.com/jyjkrgl
4).for my(admin's) role in all my servers,i'll be as the earth/water/fire/wind. i maintain that system,but not manage/touch players directly in game,not own the crafts on planet. i just keep watching the worlds.
5).TODO-List

redblade7
Member
Posts: 316
Joined: Sun Feb 15, 2015 07:14
IRC: redneonglow redblade7
In-game: redblade7 redblade7_owner

Re: [Mod] Farming Redo [1.42] [farming]

by redblade7 » Post

linushsao wrote:How could i make Farming Redo mod work with unified_inventory mod?.
All my servers run both unified_inventory and Farming Redo and both work fine together, in creative mode and non-creative modes.

Are you using the latest version of unified_inventory?

viewtopic.php?t=12767
https://github.com/minetest-mods/unified_inventory
-redblade7, admin of: THE CREATIVE GARDENS (creative), THE VALLEYS (sandbox), and THE DIGITAL FARMS (farming/hunger/shops)

User avatar
linushsao
Member
Posts: 418
Joined: Mon Jan 27, 2014 12:56
IRC: linushsao
In-game: linus
Location: Taipei,Taiwan(R.O.C)
Contact:

Re: [Mod] Farming Redo [1.42] [farming]

by linushsao » Post

redblade7 wrote:
linushsao wrote:How could i make Farming Redo mod work with unified_inventory mod?.
All my servers run both unified_inventory and Farming Redo and both work fine together, in creative mode and non-creative modes.

Are you using the latest version of unified_inventory?

viewtopic.php?t=12767
https://github.com/minetest-mods/unified_inventory
tks,redblade7. my MT&unified_inventory are updated to latest version(on archlinux). i'm try to make a game for my world,maybe i do something wrong to collect mods,so i delete all mods in my game and restart to collect mods and it works.

tks for all.
1)Server:Mars World
2).address:139.59.238.211:30016
3).manual(in processing):http://tinyurl.com/jyjkrgl
4).for my(admin's) role in all my servers,i'll be as the earth/water/fire/wind. i maintain that system,but not manage/touch players directly in game,not own the crafts on planet. i just keep watching the worlds.
5).TODO-List

User avatar
FreeGamers
Member
Posts: 650
Joined: Sat May 25, 2019 00:15
GitHub: is proprietary I use NotABug
Location: United States
Contact:

Re: [Mod] Farming Redo [1.42] [farming]

by FreeGamers » Post

Whats up with the blueberry crop in this mod?

It creates a duplicate blueberry when used with default/MTG. Is this intended?

I suppose I'm wondering if it overrides the default:blueberries or if I should alter this since its creating some confusion with my players. I like the crafts it creates, but I may disable the crop and just use the recipes without relying on farming_redo blueberries.
FreeGamers.org has moved to MeseCraft.net | FreeGamers on this forum is now MeseCraft

User avatar
TenPlus1
Member
Posts: 3700
Joined: Mon Jul 29, 2013 13:38
In-game: TenPlus1
Contact:

Re: [Mod] Farming Redo [1.42] [farming]

by TenPlus1 » Post

i keep the blueberries for 0.4.16/17 compatibility but recipes will work with either of the blueberries if you want to disable it :)

User avatar
FreeGamers
Member
Posts: 650
Joined: Sat May 25, 2019 00:15
GitHub: is proprietary I use NotABug
Location: United States
Contact:

Re: [Mod] Farming Redo [1.42] [farming]

by FreeGamers » Post

Ah! I see. OK that makes sense. Thanks for clarifying that. I can adjust my world based off that information.
FreeGamers.org has moved to MeseCraft.net | FreeGamers on this forum is now MeseCraft

User avatar
Imk
Member
Posts: 490
Joined: Mon Nov 05, 2018 19:15
In-game: Imk
Location: Crimea, Russia
Contact:

Re: [Mod] Farming Redo [1.42] [farming]

by Imk » Post

Code: Select all

2019-10-01 21:24:16: ERROR[Main]: ServerError: AsyncErr: ServerThread::run Lua: Runtime error from mod 'brewing' in callback item_OnUse(): /home/imk/minetest/bin/../builtin/game/item.lua:260: attempt to index local 'itemstack' (a nil value)
2019-10-01 21:24:16: ERROR[Main]: stack traceback:
2019-10-01 21:24:16: ERROR[Main]:       /home/imk/minetest/bin/../builtin/game/item.lua:260: in function 'item_place_node'
2019-10-01 21:24:16: ERROR[Main]:       ...k/minetest/bin/../mods/cool_trees/jacaranda/init.lua:103: in function <...k/minetest/bin/../mods/cool_trees/jacaranda/init.lua:102>
2019-10-01 21:24:16: ERROR[Main]:       (tail call): ?
2019-10-01 21:24:16: ERROR[Main]:       ...e/imk/minetest/bin/../mods/brewing/brewing/wands.lua:44: in function <...e/imk/minetest/bin/../mods/brewing/brewing/wands.lua:10>
[Thread 0x7fffe10de700 (LWP 7364) exited]
Re: [MOD] Brewing (Magic) (WIP) [v0.15.2]
by runs » Tue Oct 01, 2019 20:33
Related to farming_redo.

In farming redo edit the init.lua file and change the line 424
from
if placer and def and def.on_rightclick then
to
if placer and itemstack and def and def.on_rightclick then

Please report this issue to TenPlus1

viewtopic.php?f=9&t=21051&p=358585#p358553
Attachments
init.zip
(4.85 KiB) Downloaded 85 times

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 14 guests