[Mod] Skylands [4.2.1] [skylands]

Kilarin
Member
 
Posts: 764
Joined: Mon Mar 10, 2014 00:36

Re: [Mod] Skylands [3.1] [skylands]

by Kilarin » Wed Jun 25, 2014 01:50

Holey Toledo! Just upgraded xubuntu and now I can run other games besides minetest_game for the first time. I've got some strange problem that keeps me form using the helicopter, but I just granted myself fly and started exploring in skylands and... Oh... my... WORD!!!!!

THIS is what minetest was meant to be! you go up and up and up and you just keep finding more floating islands and more and more. WOW.

Now, if you combined this with the underground realms, I would be the happiest guy on the forums!

I haven't actually PLAYED very much yet, just some exploring. But if I were going to make any suggestions, I think it would be a request for some floating islands to be larger in scale. Both thicker and wider. A floating island a few hundred blocks from top to bottom and up to even a thousand wide would make an impressive sight! But perhaps I would change my mind after some more playtime.

Anyway, AWESOME!!!!!

[edit] I take back the width thing. I was mistaking the edge of what was loaded for the edge of the islands. these things are HUGE! I love it![/edit]
 

User avatar
HeroOfTheWinds
Member
 
Posts: 470
Joined: Wed Apr 23, 2014 23:16
Location: Hawaii
GitHub: HeroOfTheWinds
IRC: WindHero

Re: [Mod] Skylands [3.1] [skylands]

by HeroOfTheWinds » Thu Jun 26, 2014 01:37

Glad you like it so much! I myself am not sure what causes the problems with the helicopters, it hasn't happened to me at all... yet. Something on my to-do list to examine and hopefully improve...

I wonder, are you playing the version of skylands found in SkyTest? If so, those are outdated, I've been terrible about updating SkyTest. Using the new version here, islands can and will end up being hundreds of blocks tall in some places, with liberal outcroppings of lowlands.

Now, if you combined this with the underground realms, I would be the happiest guy on the forums!


I can't say I haven't toyed with this idea. ;) However, I think I'll wait until I have a surface world mod to complete the trio until I make something like that.
Nam ex spatio, omnes res venire possunt.
Why let the ground limit you when you can reach for the sky?
Back to college now, yay for sophomore year schedules. :P
 

Kilarin
Member
 
Posts: 764
Joined: Mon Mar 10, 2014 00:36

Re: [Mod] Skylands [3.1] [skylands]

by Kilarin » Thu Jun 26, 2014 03:10

HeroOfTheWinds wrote:are you playing the version of skylands found in SkyTest?

Sure enough, I DID download the old skytest version. I just downloaded the skylands version and will restart with that.

I'm not planning on using the helicopter anyway. I added my bridgetool mod, and am playing "austere", no flying allowed. I've got to build bridges to every island I want to visit. And I'm having crazy fun. Will be even better with the updated version I'm certain!
 

User avatar
HeroOfTheWinds
Member
 
Posts: 470
Joined: Wed Apr 23, 2014 23:16
Location: Hawaii
GitHub: HeroOfTheWinds
IRC: WindHero

Re: [Mod] Skylands [4.0] [skylands]

by HeroOfTheWinds » Fri Jul 18, 2014 04:01

Pushed a new update, a beta version for SkyLands 4.0. In this version, the lake generator was majorly overhauled, nearly rewritten. Much more efficient now, it no longer performs a search for the surface of the islands, but rather generates a table of positions on the surface of the island (Furthermore, only those in biomes where lakes will occur), and then loops through them after the terrain is generated, seeing if any of them are in a basin that can hold water/lava/ice. It's a beta version because I'm sure there are some bugs in the new method I haven't discovered. ;)

Also, I added another new biome: Sandstone biomes!
Image
These have lots of sand as well as sandstone underneath the sand, thus providing the first naturally harvestable sandstone in the game (as far as I know).

Finally, I laid the groundwork for the creation of Heaven Islands. They aren't complete yet, so they won't appear during normal play, but expect them to be added very soon. Once I get those in, I will update SkyTest with the new update.

Til then, enjoy!
Nam ex spatio, omnes res venire possunt.
Why let the ground limit you when you can reach for the sky?
Back to college now, yay for sophomore year schedules. :P
 

User avatar
HeroOfTheWinds
Member
 
Posts: 470
Joined: Wed Apr 23, 2014 23:16
Location: Hawaii
GitHub: HeroOfTheWinds
IRC: WindHero

Re: [Mod] Skylands [4.0] [skylands]

by HeroOfTheWinds » Sun Jul 27, 2014 00:39

Version 4.0 is now out!

Image

The Heaven biome, complete with Parthenon-esque buildings, golden trees and apples, healing springs, and columns of quartz, is now fully implemented! Rich grass upon rich soil is all around, and white stone along with white cobble and white stone bricks makes up the strata of the islands. Furthermore, the buildings and columns are made of quartz and [craftable] quartz pillars. Stand in the healing springs to recover 4 hearts worth of health every 20 seconds. (Or until you're ready to say "I'm finished!")

I also made a couple more changes, most notably that those ugly stacks of dirt_with_grass style nodes will correct themselves over time to have only grass at the top of the column. Stairs were also added, coming in varieties of white stone, white cobble, white stone bricks, quartz, quartz pillars, acacia wood, pine wood, and cinder blocks.

I should be bringing these changes over to SkyTest sometime within the next week, as well as changes to the included mods to have wider and more comprehensive support of the unique elements that SkyLands brings to the table.
Nam ex spatio, omnes res venire possunt.
Why let the ground limit you when you can reach for the sky?
Back to college now, yay for sophomore year schedules. :P
 

User avatar
ExeterDad
Member
 
Posts: 1717
Joined: Sun Jun 01, 2014 20:00
Location: New Hampshire U.S.A
In-game: ExeterDad
 

Kilarin
Member
 
Posts: 764
Joined: Mon Mar 10, 2014 00:36

Re: [Mod] Skylands [4.0] [skylands]

by Kilarin » Sun Jul 27, 2014 04:22

Wow! Looking forward to this.

We need a server running skytest! I think it would make a really cool multi-player environment.
 

User avatar
HeroOfTheWinds
Member
 
Posts: 470
Joined: Wed Apr 23, 2014 23:16
Location: Hawaii
GitHub: HeroOfTheWinds
IRC: WindHero

Re: [Mod] Skylands [4.0] [skylands]

by HeroOfTheWinds » Tue Jul 29, 2014 01:44

Made a few more small changes. Added Acacia, Pine, and Golden Tree saplings, and tested to make sure that ALL saplings grow above an elevation of 400 blocks. (In fact, they still grow even at 8200)

Also, since I made the blunder of having additional textures in the file that were unnecessary, I made them useful: at the top of nodes.lua, there is now a variable you can change to switch between the dark-green or yellowish heaven grass colors, since I know people like both versions, with their own preferences.
Nam ex spatio, omnes res venire possunt.
Why let the ground limit you when you can reach for the sky?
Back to college now, yay for sophomore year schedules. :P
 

User avatar
HolyPhoenix
Member
 
Posts: 27
Joined: Sun Mar 31, 2013 18:20
 

Spirits Rising
New member
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Thu Jul 31, 2014 11:27

Re: [Mod] Skylands [4.0] [skylands]

by Spirits Rising » Thu Jul 31, 2014 11:34

Just wanted to let you know that this mod conflicts with another: Technic. I am also letting the creator of Technic know of this conflict. The following is the error that pops up when I attempt to run these two mods together.

Code: Select all
07:30:58: ERROR[main]: Failed to load and run script from
07:30:59: ERROR[main]: D:\minetest-0.4.10-win32-msvc\minetest-0.4.10\bin\..\mods
\technic\technic_worldgen\init.lua:
07:30:59: ERROR[main]: ...st-0.4.10\bin\..\mods\technic\technic_worldgen/nodes.l
ua:154: bad argument #1 to 'ipairs' (table expected, got string)
07:30:59: ERROR[main]: stack traceback:
07:30:59: ERROR[main]:  [C]: in function 'ipairs'
07:30:59: ERROR[main]:  ...st-0.4.10\bin\..\mods\technic\technic_worldgen/nodes.
lua:154: in function 'action'
07:30:59: ERROR[main]:  ...st-0.4.10\bin\..\mods\technic\technic_worldgen/nodes.
lua:141: in function 'for_each_registered_node'
07:30:59: ERROR[main]:  ...st-0.4.10\bin\..\mods\technic\technic_worldgen/nodes.
lua:145: in main chunk
07:30:59: ERROR[main]:  [C]: in function 'dofile'
07:30:59: ERROR[main]:  ...est-0.4.10\bin\..\mods\technic\technic_worldgen\init.
lua:10: in main chunk
 

User avatar
HeroOfTheWinds
Member
 
Posts: 470
Joined: Wed Apr 23, 2014 23:16
Location: Hawaii
GitHub: HeroOfTheWinds
IRC: WindHero

Re: [Mod] Skylands [4.0] [skylands]

by HeroOfTheWinds » Thu Jul 31, 2014 18:30

Spirits Rising wrote:Just wanted to let you know that this mod conflicts with another: Technic. I am also letting the creator of Technic know of this conflict. The following is the error that pops up when I attempt to run these two mods together.

Code: Select all
...technic error...


This is strange, considering that the code in question has to do with redefining nodes with steel in their names to say "Wrougt Iron". Not sure what exactly is causing this to happen, but I'll run some tests later to see if my mod is really at fault. I've been on a server with both technic and skylands installed, both in their latest releases, and haven't seen the server crash... I have a couple ideas though.
Nam ex spatio, omnes res venire possunt.
Why let the ground limit you when you can reach for the sky?
Back to college now, yay for sophomore year schedules. :P
 

User avatar
HeroOfTheWinds
Member
 
Posts: 470
Joined: Wed Apr 23, 2014 23:16
Location: Hawaii
GitHub: HeroOfTheWinds
IRC: WindHero

Re: [Mod] Skylands [4.0] [skylands]

by HeroOfTheWinds » Fri Aug 01, 2014 00:10

Alright, I finally found the error. Apparently, I messed up with two node definitions in the most inexplicable way... By forgetting the enclose the names of the images for two nodes (see lines 545 and 551) with { and }, it doesn't create a compile error unless another mod (i.e. technic) tries to grab and modify the tables containing the images for a node. So it's a simple fix to do by hand, but I shall update the download as well.

EDIT: Done, and ported to SkyTest as well. So have fun blowing up an island with a nuclear reactor. :)
Nam ex spatio, omnes res venire possunt.
Why let the ground limit you when you can reach for the sky?
Back to college now, yay for sophomore year schedules. :P
 

Spirits Rising
New member
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Thu Jul 31, 2014 11:27
 

User avatar
HeroOfTheWinds
Member
 
Posts: 470
Joined: Wed Apr 23, 2014 23:16
Location: Hawaii
GitHub: HeroOfTheWinds
IRC: WindHero

Re: [Mod] Skylands [4.2] [skylands]

by HeroOfTheWinds » Sat Aug 16, 2014 00:48

Finally, another new update for SkyLands!

After having sat on it for too long, I finally started implementing cavorite in the mod and making it useful. As of this version, cavorite can now be used for tool upgrades! Simply place two lumps of cavorite above each other on the crafting table to get a cavorite handle. Then take any of the default tools ([wood, stone, steel, bronze, mese, diamond] [pick, shovel, axe, sword]) and place two cavorite handles below it, like so:
tool
handle
handle

These upgraded "Cavorite-Enhanced" tools have a few universal properties: 33% decreased punch-interval (swords can hurt mobs faster), 1.5x as fast at digging, but only 75% of the original durability. The explanation is that, since cavorite makes things weightless, all the weight is concentrated at the end of the tool, lending it greater force and requiring less strength needed to swing it. However, it is very malleable, so it breaks faster.

Future additions are planned, but I figured I had to get something done so that people wouldn't simply start discarding it. :P Expect cavorite blocks that cause the player to float upward when standing over them in the near future. ;)

On a side note, the optional dependency on technic has been brought over from SkyTest, so veins of marble and granite will also appear now.
Nam ex spatio, omnes res venire possunt.
Why let the ground limit you when you can reach for the sky?
Back to college now, yay for sophomore year schedules. :P
 

User avatar
HeroOfTheWinds
Member
 
Posts: 470
Joined: Wed Apr 23, 2014 23:16
Location: Hawaii
GitHub: HeroOfTheWinds
IRC: WindHero

Re: [Mod] Skylands [4.2.1] [skylands]

by HeroOfTheWinds » Sat Aug 16, 2014 06:28

Quick bugfix: When tools were upgraded, all previous wear was lost. Hence, people could use a tool until it was almost spent, and then upgrade it to get a brand new tool. Needless to say, fixed. :) Wear carries over completely with no alteration.
Nam ex spatio, omnes res venire possunt.
Why let the ground limit you when you can reach for the sky?
Back to college now, yay for sophomore year schedules. :P
 

User avatar
Topywo
Member
 
Posts: 1721
Joined: Fri May 18, 2012 20:27

Re: [Mod] Skylands [4.2] [skylands]

by Topywo » Sat Aug 16, 2014 09:12

HeroOfTheWinds wrote:The explanation is that, since cavorite makes things weightless, all the weight is concentrated at the end of the tool, lending it greater force and requiring less strength needed to swing it. However, it is very malleable, so it breaks faster.


Nice explanation. Maybe it's an idea to have an opposite ore in caverealms?
 

User avatar
HeroOfTheWinds
Member
 
Posts: 470
Joined: Wed Apr 23, 2014 23:16
Location: Hawaii
GitHub: HeroOfTheWinds
IRC: WindHero

Re: [Mod] Skylands [4.2] [skylands]

by HeroOfTheWinds » Sun Aug 17, 2014 02:02

Topywo wrote:
HeroOfTheWinds wrote:The explanation is that, since cavorite makes things weightless, all the weight is concentrated at the end of the tool, lending it greater force and requiring less strength needed to swing it. However, it is very malleable, so it breaks faster.


Nice explanation. Maybe it's an idea to have an opposite ore in caverealms?

Hmm, I hadn't thought of that... I guess the reason why is two-fold: first, caverealms removes nodes more than it places them, so any ore generation would basically be the default or else be embedded in stalagmites or stalactites. That being said, the yellow and red glowing crystals have mese ore bases.
The other reason is that Cavorite is actually based off a work of fiction, H. G. Well's The First Men on the Moon. Metal that removes the weight of an object (or as the book says, is opaque to gravity just as steel is opaque to light). I'm not sure what use a weight-adding ore would have, but I can try thinking it over... Maybe have lead be an ore, and use it for various things like bearings and diving-weight belts...? If you have ideas, fire away.
Nam ex spatio, omnes res venire possunt.
Why let the ground limit you when you can reach for the sky?
Back to college now, yay for sophomore year schedules. :P
 

User avatar
Topywo
Member
 
Posts: 1721
Joined: Fri May 18, 2012 20:27

Re: [Mod] Skylands [4.2] [skylands]

by Topywo » Sun Aug 17, 2014 08:35

HeroOfTheWinds wrote:Maybe have lead be an ore, and use it for various things like bearings and diving-weight belts...? If you have ideas, fire away.


I was thinking of (the old fashioned) slower but strong and durable tools. After your explanation you might find a use for it as a block that puts a lot of pressure on the node(s) under it, thus changing them into other material. Or use it as a part of a machine that transforms blocks by pressure.
 

Kilarin
Member
 
Posts: 764
Joined: Mon Mar 10, 2014 00:36

Re: [Mod] Skylands [4.2.1] [skylands]

by Kilarin » Sun Aug 17, 2014 15:33

HeroOfTheWinds wrote: Expect cavorite blocks that cause the player to float upward when standing over them in the near future. ;)

I would love something that worked sort of like this: https://forum.minetest.net/viewtopic.php?f=11&t=4587
The images are gone, but it's a really awesome mod.

One bug would need to be fixed though, in my opinion. The antigravity field does not disappear when you remove the generator. I think that is a serious game balance issue. But fixing it might be difficult when dealing with unloaded blocks on very long anti-gravity fields? I'm not certain.

On thing I would like to see. There are quite a few ores for which there are few uses. For example, since copper is used to make bronze, tin has no use at all that I've discovered. I would love if there was some way to use it to repair items? Take a diamond pickaxe that is nearly used up, combine it with a "repair block" made out of tin (or some other nearly useless material) and bump its repair status up by say 1/3 or even half?

Not certain if this would work well game balance wise. Just an idea I was playing with.
 

User avatar
HeroOfTheWinds
Member
 
Posts: 470
Joined: Wed Apr 23, 2014 23:16
Location: Hawaii
GitHub: HeroOfTheWinds
IRC: WindHero

Re: [Mod] Skylands [4.2.1] [skylands]

by HeroOfTheWinds » Mon Aug 18, 2014 20:03

@Topywo: Hmm, I suppose those ideas could work. The pressure block is an interesting idea as well, could probably work something like technic's LV Compressor in some cases. Could make gravel become stone... Also could have optional depend on moreblocks to make it so that if the block is placed above stone_with_iron or stone_with_coal, it would become ironstone or coalstone.

@Kilarin: That does seem like it could work very well. I was actually considering a companion mod for Caverealms to make a "rope" block that, when placed, would make climbable rope drop down. Your idea could work better with more style. ;)
That bug with fields not being removed when a chunk is unloaded can actually be fixed fairly easily: use an ABM on top of the usual remove-when-dug code to check if a field has anything but a generator or field above it, and remove itself if not. Conversely, the ABM can also cause automatic calibration, as that would allow the field to check if the space below is empty and fill it if so.
You're right about tin being hardly useful at all... I'll work on finding some way to make it useful. :)

I have never claimed that SkyTest was "balanced". xD I'm usually so into coding that I don't test my own game to see if it feels balanced... That's what I'm relying on the community for. ;) (That being said, when I code other games in say, Unity3D, I definitely make a point of checking for balance.)
Nam ex spatio, omnes res venire possunt.
Why let the ground limit you when you can reach for the sky?
Back to college now, yay for sophomore year schedules. :P
 

User avatar
Topywo
Member
 
Posts: 1721
Joined: Fri May 18, 2012 20:27

Re: [Mod] Skylands [4.2.1] [skylands]

by Topywo » Tue Aug 19, 2014 09:23

HeroOfTheWinds wrote:I was actually considering a companion mod for Caverealms to make a "rope" block that, when placed, would make climbable rope drop down. Your idea could work better with more style. ;)


I'm not sure if those are all the drop down rope mods:

Bas080 has made a vines and rope mod:
viewtopic.php?f=11&t=2344

And this one (I couldn't find the forum post) from MirkoKa:
https://github.com/MirkoKa/Rope-mod-for-Minetest
 

User avatar
Wuzzy
Member
 
Posts: 3410
Joined: Mon Sep 24, 2012 15:01
GitHub: Wuzzy2
IRC: Wuzzy
In-game: Wuzzy

Re: [Mod] Skylands [4.2.1] [skylands]

by Wuzzy » Tue Oct 21, 2014 17:39

Skylands lists moreblocks and technic as optional dependencies, but I get these error messages when running Skylands without those mods:

19:34:50: ERROR[main]: generateImage(): Could not load image "moreblocks_coal_stone.png" while building texture
19:34:50: ERROR[main]: generateImage(): Creating a dummy image for "moreblocks_coal_stone.png"
19:34:50: ERROR[main]: generateImage(): Could not load image "moreblocks_iron_stone.png" while building texture
19:34:50: ERROR[main]: generateImage(): Creating a dummy image for "moreblocks_iron_stone.png"
19:34:50: ERROR[main]: generateImage(): Could not load image "moreores_mineral_tin.png" while building texture
19:34:50: ERROR[main]: generateImage(): Creating a dummy image for "moreores_mineral_tin.png"
19:34:50: ERROR[main]: generateImage(): Could not load image "moreores_mineral_silver.png" while building texture
19:34:50: ERROR[main]: generateImage(): Creating a dummy image for "moreores_mineral_silver.png"
19:34:50: ERROR[main]: generateImage(): Could not load image "moreores_mineral_mithril.png" while building texture
19:34:50: ERROR[main]: generateImage(): Creating a dummy image for "moreores_mineral_mithril.png"
19:34:50: ERROR[main]: generateImage(): Could not load image "technic_mineral_uranium.png" while building texture
19:34:50: ERROR[main]: generateImage(): Creating a dummy image for "technic_mineral_uranium.png"
19:34:50: ERROR[main]: generateImage(): Could not load image "technic_mineral_chromium.png" while building texture
19:34:50: ERROR[main]: generateImage(): Creating a dummy image for "technic_mineral_chromium.png"
19:34:50: ERROR[main]: generateImage(): Could not load image "technic_mineral_zinc.png" while building texture
19:34:50: ERROR[main]: generateImage(): Creating a dummy image for "technic_mineral_zinc.png"


Please fix this.
 

User avatar
HeroOfTheWinds
Member
 
Posts: 470
Joined: Wed Apr 23, 2014 23:16
Location: Hawaii
GitHub: HeroOfTheWinds
IRC: WindHero

Re: [Mod] Skylands [4.2.1] [skylands]

by HeroOfTheWinds » Fri Oct 24, 2014 22:54

Wuzzy wrote:Skylands lists moreblocks and technic as optional dependencies, but I get these error messages when running Skylands without those mods:

19:34:50: ERROR[main]: ...


Please fix this.


Ah, sorry about that. I believe that is because the nodes for those nodes are registered anyway even without the mods installed, although they still aren't used in island generation. I believe there was a reason I had to do it that way when I first made the mod, but I can't remember it right now. Still, I'll see what I can do.

EDIT: Alright, problem fixed. Not sure why I never did that to begin with... Anyways, enjoy!
Nam ex spatio, omnes res venire possunt.
Why let the ground limit you when you can reach for the sky?
Back to college now, yay for sophomore year schedules. :P
 

User avatar
HeroOfTheWinds
Member
 
Posts: 470
Joined: Wed Apr 23, 2014 23:16
Location: Hawaii
GitHub: HeroOfTheWinds
IRC: WindHero

Re: [Mod] Skylands [4.2.1] [skylands]

by HeroOfTheWinds » Fri Nov 07, 2014 21:43

UPDATE: Added the Air Sword!

I'll give you the crafting recipes, but you need to figure out where to capture the right quality of air... YOURSELF.

Cavorite Jar (for the air):
Image

Holy Hilt (since regular sticks have no chance of containing this amount of power):
Image

The Holy Air Sword:
Image
Nam ex spatio, omnes res venire possunt.
Why let the ground limit you when you can reach for the sky?
Back to college now, yay for sophomore year schedules. :P
 

Kilarin
Member
 
Posts: 764
Joined: Mon Mar 10, 2014 00:36
 

PreviousNext

Return to Mod Releases



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests