[Mod] 3D noise floatlands [0.2.0] [fracture]

Post Reply
User avatar
paramat
Developer
Posts: 3699
Joined: Sun Oct 28, 2012 00:05
GitHub: paramat
IRC: paramat
Location: UK

[Mod] 3D noise floatlands [0.2.0] [fracture]

by paramat » Post

Image


Download and rename to 'fracture' https://github.com/paramat/fracture/archive/master.zip
Browse code https://github.com/paramat/fracture

For latest stable Minetest back to 0.4.8
Depends default
Licenses: code WTFPL

Use with mapgen v6 or v7.
Every few thousand nodes a weblike wall of floatlands will emerge, at it's thickest the wall creates an almost continuous route upwards, with minimal (and therefore more enjoyable) stair/pillar building. The large scale web extends through all space and creates a survival-travel challenge to reach any realm that may be stacked above.

Basic 3 biomes: appletree forest with flowers, grass. Desert with cacti and shrub. Taiga with snowy pines.
Dirt/sand stability system.
Vertical overgeneration for no discontinuities at chunk borders.
Layers of 16x16 clouds every chunk but not within 1kn of core clouds.
All default ores.
Fissure systems, large central voids.
Use of 2 simillar 3D noises with their wavelengths in the golden ratio for maximum dissonance: this breaks up the slightly gridlike appearence of 3D noise, the structures are more organic and have less grid alignments.

The option of using this mod as a realm in singlenode remains, edit the boolean in 'functions.lua' file, and YMIN YMAX parameters.
Last edited by paramat on Sun Feb 15, 2015 23:18, edited 18 times in total.

User avatar
HeroOfTheWinds
Member
Posts: 470
Joined: Wed Apr 23, 2014 23:16
GitHub: HeroOfTheWinds
IRC: WindHero
Location: Hawaii

Re: [Mod] 3D noise floatlands [0.1.0] [fracture]

by HeroOfTheWinds » Post

Cool! These look even better than the regular floatlands.

Just out of curiosity as a programmer, what exactly do you mean by "overgeneration"? I ask because it sounds like it could solve my problem of lakes I generate being leaky and overwritten at chunk edges.
Nam ex spatio, omnes res venire possunt.
Why let the ground limit you when you can reach for the sky?
Back to college now, yay for sophomore year schedules. :P

User avatar
paramat
Developer
Posts: 3699
Joined: Sun Oct 28, 2012 00:05
GitHub: paramat
IRC: paramat
Location: UK

Re: [Mod] 3D noise floatlands [0.1.0] [fracture]

by paramat » Post

I use a basic vertical overgeneration in this mod and watershed, explained here
viewtopic.php?p=138338#p138338

It means overgenerating the perlin noise maps, you do the noise and maths for a volume larger than the chunk being generated, hmmmm is using horizontal 16 node overgen in his MGV7 rewrite, to allow terrain blurring and his new biome system.

User avatar
paramat
Developer
Posts: 3699
Joined: Sun Oct 28, 2012 00:05
GitHub: paramat
IRC: paramat
Location: UK

Re: [Mod] 3D noise floatlands [0.1.1] [fracture]

by paramat » Post

Version 0.1.1
Vertical overgeneration. Tune parameters. Multilayer 16x16 clouds

User avatar
Krock
Developer
Posts: 4577
Joined: Thu Oct 03, 2013 07:48
GitHub: SmallJoker
Location: Switzerland
Contact:

Re: [Mod] 3D noise floatlands [0.1.1] [fracture]

by Krock » Post

This version of the floatlands looks much better than the other,
could you add some ore generation, so the stone is not just stone :)
Look, I programmed a bug for you. >> Mod Search Engine << - Mods by Krock - DuckDuckGo mod search bang: !mtmod <keyword here>

User avatar
paramat
Developer
Posts: 3699
Joined: Sun Oct 28, 2012 00:05
GitHub: paramat
IRC: paramat
Location: UK

Re: [Mod] 3D noise floatlands [0.1.2] [fracture]

by paramat » Post

Version 0.1.2
Singlenode option (autospawn on land coming), default is a realm added above the clouds in standard mapgen.
Ores.
Fissures.
Cloud layers now separated by 160n.
Mod's own dirt and grass for a smoother game with fewer default abms active.
2nd 3D noise added in golden ratio for more organic less gridlike structures.
Last edited by paramat on Tue Jan 06, 2015 03:26, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
HeroOfTheWinds
Member
Posts: 470
Joined: Wed Apr 23, 2014 23:16
GitHub: HeroOfTheWinds
IRC: WindHero
Location: Hawaii

Re: [Mod] 3D noise floatlands [0.1.2] [fracture]

by HeroOfTheWinds » Post

Keeps looking better! Have you considered having the ores generate in clusters? I found one solution to simulating clusters using abms and custom blocks, I can duplicate the code for it (from my updated skylands) if you like.


That tree looks like it's sitting on top of a gun. @_@
Nam ex spatio, omnes res venire possunt.
Why let the ground limit you when you can reach for the sky?
Back to college now, yay for sophomore year schedules. :P

User avatar
Krock
Developer
Posts: 4577
Joined: Thu Oct 03, 2013 07:48
GitHub: SmallJoker
Location: Switzerland
Contact:

Re: [Mod] 3D noise floatlands [0.1.2] [fracture]

by Krock » Post

HeroOfTheWinds wrote:That tree looks like it's sitting on top of a gun. @_@
gun?
That's a clock!
Look, I programmed a bug for you. >> Mod Search Engine << - Mods by Krock - DuckDuckGo mod search bang: !mtmod <keyword here>

User avatar
paramat
Developer
Posts: 3699
Joined: Sun Oct 28, 2012 00:05
GitHub: paramat
IRC: paramat
Location: UK

Re: [Mod] 3D noise floatlands [0.1.2] [fracture]

by paramat » Post

Looks like a big gun turret to me.

Hero', thanks but i have my own ore generation methods that i prefer. I've decided to keep ores simple for now, i'm not sure where this mod is going, i started it as a simplified mapgen to experiment with floatland generation, then it seemed popular so i added some essentails like ores and fissures, now it's stuck halfway between experimental and playable. I have been thinking about how to add water pools to these floatlands, in a faster and simpler way than 'highlandpools', that challenge was the original reason for experimenting with this mod.
I intend to try your new floatland mod soon.

User avatar
kpuonyer
New member
Posts: 9
Joined: Fri Sep 13, 2013 18:50
Location: Nowhere anyone would recognize

Re: [Mod] 3D noise floatlands [0.1.2] [fracture]

by kpuonyer » Post

So, this might be a stupid reply, but I load the mod into my game, but I don't see anything. I made a new world and set the generation to v6, then I enabled the mod, but there was nothing there. Am I doing something wrong?

User avatar
paramat
Developer
Posts: 3699
Joined: Sun Oct 28, 2012 00:05
GitHub: paramat
IRC: paramat
Location: UK

Re: [Mod] 3D noise floatlands [0.1.2] [fracture]

by paramat » Post

The floatlands are above y = 208 you may need to fly around or a few minutes to find one.
If you set 'local SINGLENODE = true' in the functions.lua file there will be no minetest mapgen, only floatlands, and you will probably spawn falling through air.

User avatar
kpuonyer
New member
Posts: 9
Joined: Fri Sep 13, 2013 18:50
Location: Nowhere anyone would recognize

Re: [Mod] 3D noise floatlands [0.1.2] [fracture]

by kpuonyer » Post

Oh, ok. Thanks!

User avatar
paramat
Developer
Posts: 3699
Joined: Sun Oct 28, 2012 00:05
GitHub: paramat
IRC: paramat
Location: UK

Re: [Mod] 3D noise floatlands [0.1.2] [fracture]

by paramat » Post

Version 0.1.4
By default the singlenode option is enabled, because i want to show off my new spawn player function :) This searches the space out to +-1280 nodes xyz and spawns players on stable ground.
Singlenode option also disables the core clouds.

User avatar
paramat
Developer
Posts: 3699
Joined: Sun Oct 28, 2012 00:05
GitHub: paramat
IRC: paramat
Location: UK

Re: [Mod] 3D noise floatlands [0.1.2] [fracture]

by paramat » Post

Im amazed to see there's a server using this :) So im making improvements. Need to work on how to integrate fresh water.
Version 0.1.4 disables core clouds in singlenode by using 'setting set', this will actually change your config file which will then need to be reset for other worlds. This is 'inconvenient' and i now miss the core clouds drifting through a floatland world so core clouds return in the next version.

User avatar
paramat
Developer
Posts: 3699
Joined: Sun Oct 28, 2012 00:05
GitHub: paramat
IRC: paramat
Location: UK

Re: [Mod] 3D noise floatlands [0.1.5] [fracture]

by paramat » Post

Version 0.1.5
Enable core clouds in singlenode. Add pinetree, pinewood, flowers, grass. Remove flora noise. 4 octave terrain.
Saplings grown by voxelnips coming soon.

User avatar
paramat
Developer
Posts: 3699
Joined: Sun Oct 28, 2012 00:05
GitHub: paramat
IRC: paramat
Location: UK

Re: [Mod] 3D noise floatlands [0.1.6] [fracture]

by paramat » Post

0.1.6
At last i learned how to grow saplings with voxelmanip, appletree and pine saplings added (the pine will spawn with snow).
Stone drops default:cobble.
Soil depth table added, soil must be as deep as the roots for a tree to generate. This keeps trees off the thin ledges with a single node depth of soil.
New noise parameters for larger floatlands.
Smaller pines.

Next i might create original and more suitable (drier) biomes for these floatlands

EDIT
New commit at github:
Yet again i forgot to update the spawnplayer function ... now fixed.
Player scatter at spawn is now set by parameter 'PSCA' in the functions.lua file, in units of chunks from (0, 0, 0). I have reduced the default to 8 = 640n.

Kurtzmusch
Member
Posts: 41
Joined: Sat Oct 21, 2017 18:12
In-game: Kurtzmusch

Re: [Mod] 3D noise floatlands [0.2.0] [fracture]

by Kurtzmusch » Post

im making a mapgen based on this = ) i have added a heightmap that controls the height of the layer and also a gradient that is aplyed over the density of the 3d, noise to make the top of the layer seamless instead of flat
pic related shows the top of the layer, very organic results
if anyone is interested: https://notabug.org/Kurtzmusch/ether_lands
Image
Attachments
Screenshot from 2019-09-19 16-21-51.png
(707.28 KiB) Not downloaded yet
Like Puzzles? Escape The Dungeon

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests