[Mod] Compass GPS [compassgps]

User avatar
SpaghettiToastBook
Member
Posts: 52
Joined: Sun Feb 22, 2015 21:11
In-game: STB
Location: The Milky Way

Re: [Mod] Compass GPS [compassgps]

by SpaghettiToastBook » Post

These are indeed great. I think the maps should stay the same size regardless of distance, though it seems like it would be simple to make a configuration option for it.

Miner59
Member
Posts: 46
Joined: Mon Sep 22, 2014 19:14

Re: [Mod] Compass GPS [compassgps]

by Miner59 » Post

Hi, I know map size is a bit extreme.
Maybe limit it to about 3 blocks in lenght and height?
You currently need to go away 5000 blocks to get a bigger map, because I thought without teleport this is a really big distance and not much players even reach this.

User avatar
Kilarin
Member
Posts: 779
Joined: Mon Mar 10, 2014 00:36

Re: [Mod] Compass GPS [compassgps]

by Kilarin » Post

SpaghettiToastBook wrote:it seems like it would be simple to make a configuration option for it.
great idea. And done https://github.com/Kilarin/compassgps/a ... master.zip
in cgpsmaps.lua change
local growing_wall_maps=false to true and the incredibly cool growing wall mounted maps will come back. leave it false and the wall mounted maps will be more boring but practical sized.
Miner59 wrote: I know map size is a bit extreme.
Yeah, but it IS awesome!

However, I seem to have found a bug on further testing. The growing maps all shrink back to small once you exit the game and reload?

User avatar
Don
Member
Posts: 1643
Joined: Sat May 17, 2014 18:40
GitHub: DonBatman
IRC: Batman
In-game: Batman

Re: [Mod] Compass GPS [compassgps]

by Don » Post

I tried to use this mod but it keeps crashing. The download was from today and I am running Minetest - dev as of 3 days ago. The game crashes right away.

Code: Select all

2015-05-11 09:12:33: ERROR[main]: ServerError: /home/don/.minetest/mods/compassgps/init.lua:1034: attempt to perform arithmetic on field 'x' (a nil value)
2015-05-11 09:12:33: ERROR[main]: stack traceback:
2015-05-11 09:12:33: ERROR[main]: 	/home/don/.minetest/mods/compassgps/init.lua:1034: in function </home/don/.minetest/mods/compassgps/init.lua:989>
2015-05-11 09:12:33: ERROR[main]: 	/usr/share/minetest/builtin/game/register.lua:341: in function </usr/share/minetest/builtin/game/register.lua:329>
compassgps writing settings
2015-05-11 09:12:33: ACTION[ServerThread]: singleplayer leaves game. List of players: 
compassgps writing settings
Many of my mods are now a part of Minetest-mods. A place where you know they are maintained!

A list of my mods can be found here

User avatar
TeTpaAka
Member
Posts: 141
Joined: Sat Dec 28, 2013 21:54

Re: [Mod] Compass GPS [compassgps]

by TeTpaAka » Post

Don wrote:I tried to use this mod but it keeps crashing. The download was from today and I am running Minetest - dev as of 3 days ago. The game crashes right away.

Code: Select all

2015-05-11 09:12:33: ERROR[main]: ServerError: /home/don/.minetest/mods/compassgps/init.lua:1034: attempt to perform arithmetic on field 'x' (a nil value)
2015-05-11 09:12:33: ERROR[main]: stack traceback:
2015-05-11 09:12:33: ERROR[main]: 	/home/don/.minetest/mods/compassgps/init.lua:1034: in function </home/don/.minetest/mods/compassgps/init.lua:989>
2015-05-11 09:12:33: ERROR[main]: 	/usr/share/minetest/builtin/game/register.lua:341: in function </usr/share/minetest/builtin/game/register.lua:329>
compassgps writing settings
2015-05-11 09:12:33: ACTION[ServerThread]: singleplayer leaves game. List of players: 
compassgps writing settings
Weird. I can't reproduce the bug. Could you post the content of your bookmarks file out of the world folder? Maybe there is a mistake, but I doubt it.
Looking at the code, neither pos nor target could be nil.
The strangest thing there is, is the double occurrence of "compassgps writing settings" after the crash. (EDIT: Ok, this is probably because it saves after a player leaves and on shutdown.)
Is this a fresh world or are there other mods installed? Maybe it collides with another mod. If so, could you post a list of your mods?
Thanks.

EDIT: Oh, and could you also post the content of minetest.conf? Thanks.

User avatar
Don
Member
Posts: 1643
Joined: Sat May 17, 2014 18:40
GitHub: DonBatman
IRC: Batman
In-game: Batman

Re: [Mod] Compass GPS [compassgps]

by Don » Post

I just compiled 4.11 and tried it. It works fine. Must be an issue in minetest 4.12-dev.

I was testing to see why LazerRay had an issue with mymillwork. He posted this on my thread.
LazerRay wrote:I ran into a very nasty crash bug when I had this mod active, every 2 or 3 minutes I would get a "Bad Allocation" error and then Minetest crashed to desk top.

With out the mod activated things work fine, even with a heavily modded game and a 32 pixel texture pack running.


(I run a Windows 7 based gaming based laptop, maxed out with 4GB of physical RAM and I run Minetest through Game Booster to shut down un-needed programs)
+ Spoiler
Many of my mods are now a part of Minetest-mods. A place where you know they are maintained!

A list of my mods can be found here

User avatar
TeTpaAka
Member
Posts: 141
Joined: Sat Dec 28, 2013 21:54

Re: [Mod] Compass GPS [compassgps]

by TeTpaAka » Post

Don wrote:I just compiled 4.11 and tried it. It works fine. Must be an issue in minetest 4.12-dev.

I was testing to see why LazerRay had an issue with mymillwork. He posted this on my thread.
LazerRay wrote:I ran into a very nasty crash bug when I had this mod active, every 2 or 3 minutes I would get a "Bad Allocation" error and then Minetest crashed to desk top.

With out the mod activated things work fine, even with a heavily modded game and a 32 pixel texture pack running.


(I run a Windows 7 based gaming based laptop, maxed out with 4GB of physical RAM and I run Minetest through Game Booster to shut down un-needed programs)
+ Spoiler
I don't think so. I have nearly current master and it works for me.
Did you compile in a new folder? If this is the case, your minetest.conf file is different. And this might be the issue. The only thing there might be as far as I see is a difficulty with static_spawnpoint. Do you have a setting like this?
But anyway, I'm glad it works.

User avatar
Don
Member
Posts: 1643
Joined: Sat May 17, 2014 18:40
GitHub: DonBatman
IRC: Batman
In-game: Batman

Re: [Mod] Compass GPS [compassgps]

by Don » Post

For some reason I did have a static spawn point. I do not remember doing that. It works fine now.
Thanks.
Many of my mods are now a part of Minetest-mods. A place where you know they are maintained!

A list of my mods can be found here

User avatar
TeTpaAka
Member
Posts: 141
Joined: Sat Dec 28, 2013 21:54

Re: [Mod] Compass GPS [compassgps]

by TeTpaAka » Post

Could you please post your static_spawnpoint?
At this point, I'm pretty sure, this caused the problem. I can make minetest crash with ",," but I wonder if there is a valid spawnpoint that would cause such a crash.

EDIT: I made a pull request that should fix the problem (At least, if I was right with my assumption that only faulty spawnpoints would cause a crash like this.)

User avatar
Don
Member
Posts: 1643
Joined: Sat May 17, 2014 18:40
GitHub: DonBatman
IRC: Batman
In-game: Batman

Re: [Mod] Compass GPS [compassgps]

by Don » Post

Sorry but I deleted the spawn point and never backed it up. But after deleting it I have not been able to reproduce the issue.
I set static_spawnpoint to 0,0,0, created a new world and tried again but it would not crash.

Wish i could be more help. I am just glad that is was a simple issue with my setup.
Many of my mods are now a part of Minetest-mods. A place where you know they are maintained!

A list of my mods can be found here

User avatar
Kilarin
Member
Posts: 779
Joined: Mon Mar 10, 2014 00:36

Re: [Mod] Compass GPS [compassgps]

by Kilarin » Post

Thanks for reporting this Don, and thanks for tracking down the probable cause and a fix TeTpaAka. Pull request pulled! And what an elegant fix!

https://github.com/TeTpaAka/compassgps/ ... 829c13fb62

User avatar
Don
Member
Posts: 1643
Joined: Sat May 17, 2014 18:40
GitHub: DonBatman
IRC: Batman
In-game: Batman

Re: [Mod] Compass GPS [compassgps]

by Don » Post

That's the first time using this mod. I really like it.
Many of my mods are now a part of Minetest-mods. A place where you know they are maintained!

A list of my mods can be found here

User avatar
Kilarin
Member
Posts: 779
Joined: Mon Mar 10, 2014 00:36

Re: [Mod] Compass GPS [compassgps]

by Kilarin » Post

Don wrote:That's the first time using this mod. I really like it.
Glad to hear it! It's the combined work of several people.

User avatar
Kilarin
Member
Posts: 779
Joined: Mon Mar 10, 2014 00:36

Re: [Mod] Compass GPS [compassgps]

by Kilarin » Post

Two bug fixes:
https://github.com/Kilarin/compassgps/a ... master.zip
bug fix from myoung008, type causing crashes when entering bad color.
bug fix from TeTpaAka fix bug when static_spawnpoint is invalid

User avatar
Kilarin
Member
Posts: 779
Joined: Mon Mar 10, 2014 00:36

Re: [Mod] Compass GPS [compassgps]

by Kilarin » Post

Version 2.7 available for download:
https://github.com/Kilarin/compassgps/a ... master.zip
amadin reported a bug. After a catastrophic server crash, the compassgps_settings file existed, but was empty. When compassgps tried to load the file, the table ended up as nil instead of empty and that crashed the server on startup. VERY BAD!!!!

I corrected the code so that on an existing but empty file it resets the table to empty (avoiding the server crash) and puts a error in the log warning the server owner that the file was empty and they should restore settings or bookmarks from backup if possible.

Thank you amadin for reporting the bug and sorry for the problem!

amadin
Member
Posts: 548
Joined: Tue Jun 16, 2015 16:23

Re: [Mod] Compass GPS [compassgps]

by amadin » Post

I propose to replace the picture in craft guide and default picture in inventory (compass_0) with a compass_c0 because it better seems on compass.

amadin
Member
Posts: 548
Joined: Tue Jun 16, 2015 16:23

Re: [Mod] Compass GPS [compassgps]

by amadin » Post

How to replace compass in the hand with one constant static image? Because it moving and jumping while player walk and it is a bit irritate. I tried, but could not find where it.

User avatar
Kilarin
Member
Posts: 779
Joined: Mon Mar 10, 2014 00:36

Re: [Mod] Compass GPS [compassgps]

by Kilarin » Post

amadin wrote:How to replace compass in the hand with one constant static image? Because it moving and jumping while player walk and it is a bit irritate. I tried, but could not find where it.
I wish I could find a solution to this one. It didn't used to do this, now it does, and it drives me BATTY.
If anyone has any clue how to fix this, I would really appreciate it.

User avatar
LazerRay
Member
Posts: 147
Joined: Sun Jul 27, 2014 01:32
GitHub: LazerRay

Re: [Mod] Compass GPS [compassgps]

by LazerRay » Post

I usually have my compass in the last slot in my hotbar and only select it when I set bookmarks or teleport, it still points in the correct directions in the inventory icon, there is not much of a need to have it held in hand when exploring.

As for fixing the bug, I have no clue where to look, but is seems to be related to engine updates with Minetest itself.

Martno
Member
Posts: 78
Joined: Thu May 28, 2015 07:09
Location: Hungary

Re: [Mod] Compass GPS [compassgps]

by Martno » Post

I like this mod very much!
A question: is there a way to erase the content of a marked map if I don't need that any more? If I want it to be blank again. Or I just have to throw it away and craft another one?

User avatar
Kilarin
Member
Posts: 779
Joined: Mon Mar 10, 2014 00:36

Re: [Mod] Compass GPS [compassgps]

by Kilarin » Post

Glad you are enjoying the mod!
Martno wrote:is there a way to erase the content of a marked map if I don't need that any more?
Hmmm, I don't think so, but that is a very good ideal. I don't have time to patch it right now, but if you want to offer a pull request, I'd certainly take it.

User avatar
poikilos
Member
Posts: 64
Joined: Thu Feb 18, 2016 13:45
GitHub: poikilos
In-game: Abiyahh

Re: [Mod] Compass GPS [compassgps]

by poikilos » Post

Kilarin wrote:Compass GPS version 2.7
Echo created a compass mod back in 2012: viewtopic.php?id=3785
PilzAdams made a modification of it, which I can not find the source to, I don't know how much of PilzAdams changes made it into the later versions of Echo's mod.
Here is the link to PilzAdam's fork of Echo's compass:
https://github.com/PilzAdam/MiniTest/tr ... ds/compass

Please run a diff between echo and PilzAdam compass to see any improvements or bugfixes. However, he reduced compass updates so make sure it is still often enough for updating inventory compass texture.

Merak
Member
Posts: 95
Joined: Sat Nov 05, 2016 20:34

Re: [Mod] Compass GPS [compassgps] Error

by Merak » Post

Error when using with Minetest from current Git head after 0.4.14 .

Code: Select all

ERROR[Main]: ServerError: Runtime error from mod 'compassgps' in callback environment_Step(): Attempt to access external file /usr/local/share/minetest/games/minetest_game/mods/sethome/homes with mod security on.
ERROR[Main]: stack traceback:
ERROR[Main]:       [C]: in function 'open'
ERROR[Main]:       /home/fakeusername/.minetest/mods/compassgps/init.lua:909: in function 'read_spawns'
ERROR[Main]:       /home/fakeusername/.minetest/mods/compassgps/init.lua:997: in function </home/fakeusername/.minetest/mods/compassgps/init.lua:994>
ERROR[Main]:       /usr/local/share/minetest/builtin/game/register.lua:412: in function </usr/local/share/minetest/builtin/game/register.lua:392>

User avatar
Nathan.S
Member
Posts: 1045
Joined: Wed Sep 24, 2014 17:47
GitHub: NathanSalapat
IRC: NathanS21
In-game: NathanS21
Location: Bigsby Texas
Contact:

Re: [Mod] Compass GPS [compassgps]

by Nathan.S » Post

Merak you need to go to the settings tab in minetest, advanced settings, and turn mod security off.
I record Minetest videos, Mod reviews, Modding tutorials, and Lets plays.
Check out my website, and brand new Minetest Modding Course

Merak
Member
Posts: 95
Joined: Sat Nov 05, 2016 20:34

Re: [Mod] Compass GPS [compassgps]

by Merak » Post

Thank you. Instead, I was able to list compassgps specifically in the settings, and thus in minetest.conf.

Code: Select all

secure.trusted_mods = compassgps

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 5 guests